Articles tagged "Jeff VanderMeer"

NYPL Summer 2018 Staff Picks

New York Public Library’s Summer 2018 Staff Picks for Adults includes 8 excellent Macmillan titles:

ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer
THE BALLAD OF BLACK TOM by Victor LaValle
BEHIND HER EYES by Sarah Pinborough
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado
REGISTERS OF ILLUMINATED VILLAGES: Poems by Tarfia Faizullah
TRUE CRIME ADDICT: How I Lost Myself in the Mysterious Disappearance of Maura Murray by James Renner
WALKAWAY by Cory Doctorow
WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan-Cullors & asha bandele

2018 Locus Award Finalists

Congratulations to our out-of-this-world 2018 Locus Award finalists!

Best Science Fiction Novel
WALKAWAY by Cory Doctorow
LUNA: Wolf Moon by Ian McDonald
SEVEN SURRENDERS by Ada Palmer
THE COLLAPSING EMPIRE by John Scalzi
BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer

Best Fantasy Novel
THE STONE IN THE SKULL by Elizabeth Bear
THE RUIN OF ANGELS by Max Gladstone
THE DELIRIUM BRIEF by Charles Stross
HORIZON by Fran Wilde

Best Horror
UNIVERSAL HARVESTER by John Darnielle
AFTER THE END OF THE WORLD by Jonathan L. Howard
BEHIND HER EYES by Sarah Pinborough
MORMAMA by Kit Reed

Best Young Adult
CHALK by Paul Cornell

Best First Novel
AMBERLOUGH by Lara Elena Donnelly
WINTER TIDE by Ruthanna Emrys
AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz

Best Novella
RIVER OF TEETH by Sarah Gailey
AGENTS OF DREAMLAND by Caitlin R. Kiernan
PASSING STRANGE by Ellen Klages
DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire
BINTI: HOME by Nnedi Okarafor
ALL SYSTEMS RED by Martha Wells
THE BLACK TIDES OF HEAVEN by JY Yang
THE RED THREADS OF FORTUNE by JY Yang

Best Anthology
THE YEAR’S BEST SCIENCE FICTION: Thirty-Fourth Annual Collection, edited by Gardner Dozois
INVISIBLE PLANETS, edited by Ken Liu

Best Collection
SIX MONTHS, THREE DAYS, FIVE OTHERS by Charlie Jane Anders
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado

Best Non-Fiction
NOT SO GOOD A GAY MAN by Frank M. Robinson readmoreremove

Stokercon 2018 Book Buzz (& Happy #ThrillerThursday, John Hart!)

Happy #ThrillerThursday / #BookBirthday week to THE HUSH by John Hart!
Also available in audio
A March 2018 Indie Next pick! New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Hart’s sequel to THE LAST CHILD picks up ten years later when Johnny Merrimon is living in the wilds beyond the town where a dangerous force is at play. “Hart continues to deepen his palette in this ambitious sequel, which is distinctive enough in story and tone to be read as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane’s SHUTTER ISLAND and Tom Franklin’s CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER.” — Library Journal

Today in Providence, RI, our librarian pals Kristi Chadwick & Becky Spratford are buzzing about our books to librarians at Stokercon 2018! Here’s what they covered (in addition to our 2017 Stoker Award nominees):

ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer (movie tie-in edition)
BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire
GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Mallory Ortberg
GLIMPSE by Jonathan Maberry readmoreremove

January 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases

Our sales team created an Edelweiss collection of our month’s bestsellers and recently released titles — what a perfect collection development tool for you! Here are some of the top titles for January 2018:

Fiction (movie tie-ins are popular!):
ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer
CALL ME BY YOUR NAME by Andre Aciman
THE DRY by Jane Harper
THE WIFE BETWEEN US by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen
YEAR ONE by Nora Roberts

Nonfiction:
FIRE AND FURY: Inside the Trump White House by Michael Wolff
THE DANGEROUS CASE OF DONALD TRUMP: 27 Psychiatrists and Mental Health Experts Assess a President by Bandy X. Lee
PRAIRIE FIRES: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Caroline Fraser
PROMISE ME, DAD: A Year of Hope, Hardship, and Purpose by Joe Biden
WHEN TO JUMP: If the Job You Have Isn’t the Life You Want by Michael Lewis

This Edelweiss collection will be updated on a monthly basis so check back often!

Friday Reads: MTI Edition

Have you already seen (and read!) all the Oscar nominees? Check out these books making the leap to the big and small screens:

ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer
The first book in VanderMeer’s bestselling Southern Reach trilogy is now one of the most anticipated films of 2018, starring Natalie Portman, Oscar Isaac, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Gina Rodriguez, and Tessa Thompson, directed by Ex Machina‘s Alex Garland.

THE COMPLETE PATRICK MELROSE NOVELS by Edward St. Aubyn
By turns harrowing and hilarious, St. Aubyn’s omnibus follows Patrick Melrose’s story of abuse, addiction, and recovery in a darkly funny and self-loathing world of privilege. Soon to be a major Showtime miniseries starring Benedict Cumberbatch, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Hugo Weaving, Blythe Danner, Allison Williams, and Anna Madeley.

readmoreremove

TxLA’s 2018 Lariat List

We’re proud to have six books on the Texas Library Association’s 2018 Lariat Reading List!

THE ATLAS OF FORGOTTEN PLACES by Jenny D. Williams
BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer
THE DRY by Jane Harper
GONE TO DUST by Matt Goldman
GOODBYE, VITAMIN by Rachel Khong
SOURDOUGH by Robin Sloan readmoreremove

People, Time Magazine, HuffPo & More “Best of 2017” Picks

People Magazine‘s Top 10 Books of 2017

THE VANITY FAIR DIARIES by Tina Brown
THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS by Laurie Frankel

Time Magazine

Fiction (full list)
THE NINTH HOUR by Alice McDermott
TRANSIT by Rachel Cusk

Nonfiction (full list)
THE VANITY FAIR DIARIES by Tina Brown
THE MEANING OF MICHELLE: 16 Writers on the Iconic First Lady and How Her Journey Inspires Our Own by Veronica Chambers

Huffington Post‘s Best Fiction Books of 2017

THE ANSWERS by Catherine Lacey
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado
MARLENA by Julie Buntin
THE DARK DARK by Samantha Hunt
BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer
GOODBYE, VITAMIN by Rachel Khong

GQ‘s Best Books of 2017

GHOSTS OF THE TSUNAMI: Death and Life in Japan’s Disaster Zone by Richard Lloyd Parry
LIFE IN CODE: A Personal History of Technology by Ellen Ullman
LOCKING UP OUR OWN: Crime and Punishment in America by James Forman Jr.

Vulture’s (New York Magazine) 10 Best Books of 2017

NOTES ON A FOREIGN COUNTRY: An American Abroad in a Post-American World by Suzy Hansen
SO MUCH BLUE by Percival Everett

Slate (Laura Miller’s) 10 Favorite Books of 2017

THE AGE OF ANGER: A History of the Present by Pankaj Mishra
LIFE IN CODE: A Personal History of Technology by Ellen Ullman

Buzzfeed’s Best Fiction Books of 2017

HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado
GOODBYE, VITAMIN by Rachel Khong
MARLENA by Julie Buntin
THE DARK DARK by Samantha Hunt

See these and many more titles in Macmillan’s Best Books of 2017 Edelweiss collection. We’ll update it as more “Best of 2017” lists come in. #CollectionDevelopmentMadeEasy

Los Angeles Times Best Books of 2017

The Los Angeles Times‘s Best Books of 2017 lists include 5 Macmillan titles!

Best Fiction (full list)
SO MUCH BLUE by Percival Everett
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado
BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer

Best Nonfiction (full list)
HIGH NOON: The Hollywood Blacklist and the Making of an American Classic by Glenn Frankel
BUNK: The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-facts, and Fake News by Kevin Young

See these and many more titles in Macmillan’s Best Books of 2017 Edelweiss collection. We’ll update it as more “Best of 2017” lists come in. #CollectionDevelopmentMadeEasy

Chicago Public Library’s “Best of the Best Books of 2017”

We’ve got 15 books on Chicago Public Library’s “Best of the Best Books 2017” list! Selected by a team of CPL librarians, the list represents the year’s most outstanding titles, books of exceptional quality for a diverse, city-wide readership.

Fiction
BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer
THE DRY by Jane Harper
GOOD ME, BAD ME by Ali Land
GRIEF COTTAGE by Gail Godwin
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado
LILLIAN BOXFISH TAKES A WALK by Kathleen Rooney
THE NINTH HOUR by Alice McDermott
SOURDOUGH by Robin Sloan
THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS by Laurie Frankel

Nonfiction
BUNK: The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-Facts, and Fake News by Kevin Young
THE FACT OF A BODY: A Murder and a Memoir by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich
NOTES ON A FOREIGN COUNTRY: An American Abroad in a Post-American World by Suzy Hansen
TEARS WE CANNOT STOP: A Sermon to White America by Michael Eric Dyson readmoreremove

SLJ Best Adult Books 4 Teens 2017

Two Macmillan titles are included in School Library Journal‘s Best Books of 2017 & SLJ’s Best Adult Books 4 Teens list:

DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire
Escaping a stifling home environment, the Wolcott twins descend a set of stairs that turn out to be a portal to the bleak and brutal world of the Moors. There they find themselves, but not each other, in this beautiful and devastating prequel to EVERY HEART A DOORWAY.

BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer
While scrounging for food in a ruined city, Rachel brings home a small creature of unknown origin, whom she names Borne. This unusual dystopian story is also a poignant, harsh, and yet hopeful double coming-of-age. readmoreremove

css.php