Articles tagged "Jeff VanderMeer"

New Titles for the NEA Big Read Library

Each year the National Endowment for the Arts gathers new books to add to their NEA Big Read library, which is chock-full of titles sure to inspire fun opportunities and discussions for your community-wide reading programs. Today, the NEA Big Read committee announced six new books that will now be included, and we have three titles that made the list!

BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer

THE PAPERBARK SHOE by Goldie Goldbloom

ADVICE FROM THE LIGHTS by Stephanie (previously Stephen) Burt

readmoreremove

The BIG Book Club Resource Guide

Ready to rev up your library’s book club? Great! We’ve got a TON of resources to help:

Reading Group Gold is the destination for reading group news, sweepstakes and giveaways, early copies of upcoming books, and reading guides for select titles from Macmillan. You can also sign up for their newsletter.

Our “One Book, One City” community reading recommendations are a good source for discussable fiction AND nonfiction titles. View the current catalog here (backlist: 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014).

Our NEA Big Read Picks (2016) and Indie Next Picks for Book Clubs are solid choices:

Summer 2018
Winter 2017-2018
Summer 2017
Winter 2016-2017

We also recommend discussable titles during Booklist book club webinars and at other book buzzes. Don’t forget you can download these presentations to give in your own library!

BooklistSummer Book Club Bash” Webinar Titles
BooklistBest Bets for Book Clubs” Webinar Titles
BooklistBook Clubs Abuzz” Webinar Titles
Ocean County Library (NJ) Book Club Buzz Titles

Invite an author to your library! These authors are willing to Skype in to book club meetings if they can’t attend in person.

Download a sortable spreadsheet (with ISBNs!!) of adult titles with reading group guides.

Our personal favorites include these timely titles on immigration, social justice, race relations, and feminism by Carol Anderson, Michael Eric Dyson, Diane Guerrero, Anthony Ray Hinton, and more.
And Seanan McGuire‘s Alex-Award winning Wayward Children series is highly discussable!

Top Macmillan Book Club titles (according to Bookscan rankings):

NIGHT by Elie Wiesel
BEING MORTAL by Atul Gawande
ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer (the Southern Reach trilogy)
A LONG WAY GONE by Ishmael Beah
All titles by Kristin Hannah, especially THE NIGHTINGALE, THE GREAT ALONE, and WINTER GARDEN
SALVAGE THE BONES & MEN WE REAPED by Jesmyn Ward
THE SPIRIT CATCHES YOU AND YOU FALL DOWN by Anne Fadiman
STILL LIFE by Louise Penny (Armand Gamache series)
MR. PENUMBRA’S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan
GILEAD by Marilynne Robinson readmoreremove

NYPL Summer 2018 Staff Picks

New York Public Library’s Summer 2018 Staff Picks for Adults includes 8 excellent Macmillan titles:

ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer
THE BALLAD OF BLACK TOM by Victor LaValle
BEHIND HER EYES by Sarah Pinborough
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado
REGISTERS OF ILLUMINATED VILLAGES: Poems by Tarfia Faizullah
TRUE CRIME ADDICT: How I Lost Myself in the Mysterious Disappearance of Maura Murray by James Renner
WALKAWAY by Cory Doctorow
WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan-Cullors & asha bandele

2018 Locus Award Finalists

Congratulations to our out-of-this-world 2018 Locus Award finalists!

Best Science Fiction Novel
WALKAWAY by Cory Doctorow
LUNA: Wolf Moon by Ian McDonald
SEVEN SURRENDERS by Ada Palmer
THE COLLAPSING EMPIRE by John Scalzi
BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer

Best Fantasy Novel
THE STONE IN THE SKULL by Elizabeth Bear
THE RUIN OF ANGELS by Max Gladstone
THE DELIRIUM BRIEF by Charles Stross
HORIZON by Fran Wilde

Best Horror
UNIVERSAL HARVESTER by John Darnielle
AFTER THE END OF THE WORLD by Jonathan L. Howard
BEHIND HER EYES by Sarah Pinborough
MORMAMA by Kit Reed

Best Young Adult
CHALK by Paul Cornell

Best First Novel
AMBERLOUGH by Lara Elena Donnelly
WINTER TIDE by Ruthanna Emrys
AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz

Best Novella
RIVER OF TEETH by Sarah Gailey
AGENTS OF DREAMLAND by Caitlin R. Kiernan
PASSING STRANGE by Ellen Klages
DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire
BINTI: HOME by Nnedi Okarafor
ALL SYSTEMS RED by Martha Wells
THE BLACK TIDES OF HEAVEN by JY Yang
THE RED THREADS OF FORTUNE by JY Yang

Best Anthology
THE YEAR’S BEST SCIENCE FICTION: Thirty-Fourth Annual Collection, edited by Gardner Dozois
INVISIBLE PLANETS, edited by Ken Liu

Best Collection
SIX MONTHS, THREE DAYS, FIVE OTHERS by Charlie Jane Anders
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado

Best Non-Fiction
NOT SO GOOD A GAY MAN by Frank M. Robinson readmoreremove

Stokercon 2018 Book Buzz (& Happy #ThrillerThursday, John Hart!)

Happy #ThrillerThursday / #BookBirthday week to THE HUSH by John Hart!
Also available in audio
A March 2018 Indie Next pick! New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Hart’s sequel to THE LAST CHILD picks up ten years later when Johnny Merrimon is living in the wilds beyond the town where a dangerous force is at play. “Hart continues to deepen his palette in this ambitious sequel, which is distinctive enough in story and tone to be read as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane’s SHUTTER ISLAND and Tom Franklin’s CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER.” — Library Journal

Today in Providence, RI, our librarian pals Kristi Chadwick & Becky Spratford are buzzing about our books to librarians at Stokercon 2018! Here’s what they covered (in addition to our 2017 Stoker Award nominees):

ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer (movie tie-in edition)
BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire
GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Mallory Ortberg
GLIMPSE by Jonathan Maberry readmoreremove

January 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases

Our sales team created an Edelweiss collection of our month’s bestsellers and recently released titles — what a perfect collection development tool for you! Here are some of the top titles for January 2018:

Fiction (movie tie-ins are popular!):
ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer
CALL ME BY YOUR NAME by Andre Aciman
THE DRY by Jane Harper
THE WIFE BETWEEN US by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen
YEAR ONE by Nora Roberts

Nonfiction:
FIRE AND FURY: Inside the Trump White House by Michael Wolff
THE DANGEROUS CASE OF DONALD TRUMP: 27 Psychiatrists and Mental Health Experts Assess a President by Bandy X. Lee
PRAIRIE FIRES: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Caroline Fraser
PROMISE ME, DAD: A Year of Hope, Hardship, and Purpose by Joe Biden
WHEN TO JUMP: If the Job You Have Isn’t the Life You Want by Michael Lewis

This Edelweiss collection will be updated on a monthly basis so check back often!

Friday Reads: MTI Edition

Have you already seen (and read!) all the Oscar nominees? Check out these books making the leap to the big and small screens:

ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer
The first book in VanderMeer’s bestselling Southern Reach trilogy is now one of the most anticipated films of 2018, starring Natalie Portman, Oscar Isaac, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Gina Rodriguez, and Tessa Thompson, directed by Ex Machina‘s Alex Garland.

THE COMPLETE PATRICK MELROSE NOVELS by Edward St. Aubyn
By turns harrowing and hilarious, St. Aubyn’s omnibus follows Patrick Melrose’s story of abuse, addiction, and recovery in a darkly funny and self-loathing world of privilege. Soon to be a major Showtime miniseries starring Benedict Cumberbatch, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Hugo Weaving, Blythe Danner, Allison Williams, and Anna Madeley.

readmoreremove

TxLA’s 2018 Lariat List

We’re proud to have six books on the Texas Library Association’s 2018 Lariat Reading List!

THE ATLAS OF FORGOTTEN PLACES by Jenny D. Williams
BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer
THE DRY by Jane Harper
GONE TO DUST by Matt Goldman
GOODBYE, VITAMIN by Rachel Khong
SOURDOUGH by Robin Sloan readmoreremove

People, Time Magazine, HuffPo & More “Best of 2017” Picks

People Magazine‘s Top 10 Books of 2017

THE VANITY FAIR DIARIES by Tina Brown
THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS by Laurie Frankel

Time Magazine

Fiction (full list)
THE NINTH HOUR by Alice McDermott
TRANSIT by Rachel Cusk

Nonfiction (full list)
THE VANITY FAIR DIARIES by Tina Brown
THE MEANING OF MICHELLE: 16 Writers on the Iconic First Lady and How Her Journey Inspires Our Own by Veronica Chambers

Huffington Post‘s Best Fiction Books of 2017

THE ANSWERS by Catherine Lacey
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado
MARLENA by Julie Buntin
THE DARK DARK by Samantha Hunt
BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer
GOODBYE, VITAMIN by Rachel Khong

GQ‘s Best Books of 2017

GHOSTS OF THE TSUNAMI: Death and Life in Japan’s Disaster Zone by Richard Lloyd Parry
LIFE IN CODE: A Personal History of Technology by Ellen Ullman
LOCKING UP OUR OWN: Crime and Punishment in America by James Forman Jr.

Vulture’s (New York Magazine) 10 Best Books of 2017

NOTES ON A FOREIGN COUNTRY: An American Abroad in a Post-American World by Suzy Hansen
SO MUCH BLUE by Percival Everett

Slate (Laura Miller’s) 10 Favorite Books of 2017

THE AGE OF ANGER: A History of the Present by Pankaj Mishra
LIFE IN CODE: A Personal History of Technology by Ellen Ullman

Buzzfeed’s Best Fiction Books of 2017

HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado
GOODBYE, VITAMIN by Rachel Khong
MARLENA by Julie Buntin
THE DARK DARK by Samantha Hunt

See these and many more titles in Macmillan’s Best Books of 2017 Edelweiss collection. We’ll update it as more “Best of 2017” lists come in. #CollectionDevelopmentMadeEasy

Los Angeles Times Best Books of 2017

The Los Angeles Times‘s Best Books of 2017 lists include 5 Macmillan titles!

Best Fiction (full list)
SO MUCH BLUE by Percival Everett
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado
BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer

Best Nonfiction (full list)
HIGH NOON: The Hollywood Blacklist and the Making of an American Classic by Glenn Frankel
BUNK: The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-facts, and Fake News by Kevin Young

See these and many more titles in Macmillan’s Best Books of 2017 Edelweiss collection. We’ll update it as more “Best of 2017” lists come in. #CollectionDevelopmentMadeEasy
css.php