Articles tagged "Jeannette de Beauvoir"

RT Book Reviews 2016 Reviewer’s Choice Awards

Congratulations to the 20 Macmillan titles nominated for Romantic Times Book Reviews’ 2016 Reviewer’s Choice Awards!

Best Mainstream Fiction
CONFUCIUS JANE by Katie Lynch
THE REAL MRS. PRICE by J.D. Mason

Best Contemporary Mystery

THE LANGUAGE OF SECRETS by Ausma Zehanat Khan
DEADLY JEWELS by Jeannette de Beauvoir
DAISY IN CHAINS by Sharon Bolton

Best Historical Mystery
A PRISONER IN MALTA by Phillip de Poy
THE ONE MAN by Andrew Gross

Best Suspense
NIGHT AND DAY by Iris Johansen

Best Thriller
PANACEA by F. Paul Wilson

Best Historical Romance
THE HUNTER by Kerrigan Byrne

Best Contemporary Love & Laughter
ONE HOT SUMMER by Melissa Cutler

Best Erotic Romance
ONE WITH YOU by Sylvia Day

Best Romantic Suspense
BECAUSE I’M WATCHING by Christina Dodd

Best Futuristic Romance
BORN OF LEGEND by Sherrilyn Kenyon readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/17/16 Edition)

History + mystery = new #ThrillerThursday picks!

THE ELOQUENCE OF THE DEAD by Conor Brady
In former Irish Times editor Brady’s “stellar second whodunit set in Victorian Dublin,”* Sergeant Joe Swallow investigates the murder of a pawnbroker and his missing sister, who might be to blame. “The astute Swallow is a particularly well-rounded lead, and he’s matched with a complex, but logical, page-turner of a plot.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE MIDWIFE AND THE ASSASSIN by Sam Thomas
Midwife Bridget Hodgson and her deputy Martha Hawkins are forced into service under Jonathan Marlowe, Oliver Cromwell’s chief spymaster, to seek out Parliament’s enemies in London. “Thomas expertly integrates the tumult of the time into a fair-play mystery.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

DEADLY JEWELS by Jeannette de Beauvoir
“In Martine’s second outing (after ASYLUM), de Beauvoir transforms a historical tidbit (the shipping of British gold reserves and securities to Canada for safekeeping during World War II) into a fascinating premise; an absorbing endnote details the historical record. An intriguing choice for readers of James Houston’s THE BLOOD FLAG or Jon Land’s THE LAST PROPHECY.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/12/15 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday! Did you mystery junkies know about HitListReads.com? It’s a brand new website dedicated to thrillers, action, and suspense novels. On the site you’ll also find author interviews, free book contests, and read-alike recommendations.

The current Author of the Month is Olen Steinhauer, whose fabulous new book ALL THE OLD KNIVES has four starred pre-publication reviews, not to mention current raves, such as this one from the New York Times: “Mr. Steinhauer sustains the difficult balancing act of melding a heart-racing espionage plot with credible dinner table conversation.”

Also out this week is ASYLUM by Jeannette de Beauvoir: a chilling mystery set in Montreal, featuring amateur sleuth Martine Leduc and an investigation into the violent deaths of four women that are linked to a dark secret from the past. “The story alternates between the present-day investigation and the first-person story of one of the orphans, an approach that succeeds in giving the tragedy a human dimension. A complex and heartbreaking mystery.” — Booklist

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: March 2015 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles now for the March 2015* LibraryReads list!
*Nominations are due January 20! Click here  for the full list of 2015 deadlines.

All the Old Knives by Olen Steinhauer

“After the rescue of a hijacked plane in Vienna fails spectacularly, leaving everyone on board dead, CIA types stationed in Vienna wonder if their agent on the case had been somehow compromised. Nine years later, two of the agents, former lovers Henry Pelham and Celia Harrison, who has left the agency, meet near Celia’s California home to reconsider the question—and eye each other warily. Steinhauer, a Dashiell Hammett Award winner and two-time Edgar Award finalist, is big enough to get a one-day laydown.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

Download a copy from Edelweiss

The Patriot Threat by Steve Berry

“When his former boss in the Justice Department asks him to track down a rogue North Korean possibly in possession of some hush-hush Treasury Department files, beloved Berry protagonist Cotton Malone finds himself chasing from Venice to Croatia in a tight 24 hours. The plot hinges on whether the 16th Amendment to the Constitution, which legalizes federal income tax, was properly ratified. Joining a new publisher with that nice little controversy, hugely best-selling author Berry gets red-carpet treatment, including a one-day laydown.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

Download a copy from Edelweiss

The Tragic Age by Stephen Metcalfe

“Metcalfe snares readers’ attention with rich, fantastic characters…A wonderful read that is hard to put down, THE TRAGIC AGE will continue to haunt readers long after the last page has been turned.” — VOYA magazine

Download a copy from Edelweiss


Mad, Bad and Dangerous in Plaid
by Suzanne Enoch

The next book in the deliciously sexy Scandalous Highlanders series from New York Times bestseller Suzanne Enoch

Download a copy from Edelweiss

Bones & All by Camille DeAngelis

A haunting coming-of-age story about a young outcast as she sets out on a journey to find her long-lost father, who can tell her why she does the bad thing she does.

Download a copy from Edelweiss

The Last Flight of Poxl West by Daniel Torday

“Elijah Goldstein’s devoted Uncle Poxl is a Jewish World War II fighter pilot and an overnight literary sensation. What more could a boy want? While Torday is more likely to be compared to Philip Roth or Michael Chabon than Gillian Flynn, his debut novel has two big things in common with Gone Girl-it’s a story told in two voices, and it’s almost impossible to discuss without revealing spoilers. The reversal that defines this novel arrives late and changes the meaning of everything that’s come before, but that’s all you’ll hear about it here.”–Kirkus, starred review

Download a copy from Edelweiss

A Fireproof Home for the Bride by Amy Sceibe

“When her fiancé behaves shockingly, Emmeline (“Emmy”) Nelson kicks against her strict Lutheran upbringing in late 1950s Minnesota, getting a newspaper job and falling for a warm and charming Catholic boy. Then she learns that the Ku Klux Klan is active in the area—and that her family is involved. An in-house favorite that’s called part Annie Proulx and part Kent Haruf.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

Download a copy from Edelweiss

Start Me Up by Nicole Michaels

Sparks fly between a sexy mechanic and a DIY loving single mom in the first book in this sexy contemporary romance series

Download a copy from Edelweiss

readmoreremove

Get Yourself Whitelisted on Edelweiss!

Unless you hate having everything you ever wanted to read months ahead of publication at your fingertips… Get yourself Whitelisted on Edelweiss for Macmillan E-Galleys!

1. Register for Edelweiss with your library-issued e-mail address.

2. Send Talia a note that includes the e-mail address you registered with, your full name, and your current library (subject: Edelweiss).

Please note: Whitelisting is only available to adult and teen librarians currently employed in the U.S.  Macmillan e-galleys on Edelweiss are NOT formatted for the Kindle and we apologize for any inconvenience that may cause.

For those of you already Whitelisted we have a few recommendations listed below. And for those of you on the fence maybe one of these upcoming titles will entice you into signing up!

If you read something you love, then make sure to nominate it for LibraryReads! LibraryReads is a new program which harnesses the value of “library staff picks” into a single nation-wide discovery tool, a monthly list of ten newly released must- reads.  Any public library staff member can nominate books. For more information about how to participate in LibraryReads, read our FAQ.

Get started with our recommendations!
(updated December 31, 2014)

FEBRUARY 2015

Coming-of-Age Debuts:

MAKING NICE by Matt Sumell

DISGRUNTLED by Asali Solomon

Debut Novels with a Hint of Fantasy:

FINN FANCY NECROMANCY by Randy Henderson

Mysteries:

A MURDER OF MAGPIES by Judith Flanders (aka Talia’s favorite book jacket award winner)

DREAMLESS by Jørgen Brekke

From the dude who wrote THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS: A HISTORY OF LONELINESS by John Boyne

From the dude who wrote CLOCKERS and LUSH LIFE: THE WHITES by Harry Brandt AKA RICHARD PRICE aka the most incredible writer of realistic NYC-based cop novels

MARCH 2015

From the sassy gal who wrote WHAT DO YOU DO ALL DAY?  A FIREPROOF HOME FOR THE BRIDE by Amy Scheibe

Trying to find yourself… in the wilderness?  READ: HAPPINESS FOR BEGINNERS by Katherine Center

Debut Novels with a WWII Backdrop:

THE SCENT OF TRIUMPH by Jan Moran

THE LAST FLIGHT OF POXL WEST by Daniel Torday

Debut Novel:

GWENDOLEN by Diana Souhami

Fantasy:

VOYAGE OF THE BASILISK: A MEMOIR BY LADY TRENT by Marie Brennan

Romance:

MAD, BAD, AND DANGEROUS IN PLAID by Suzanne Enoch (OMG HIGHLANDERS!!!)

Mysteries:

ASYLUM by Jeannette de Beauvoir

THE FRIENDSHIP OF CRIMINALS by Robert Glinski

FRACTURED by Kate Watterson

readmoreremove

css.php