Articles tagged "Jean-Luc Bannalec"

Thriller Thursday (4/26/18 Edition)

Sleuths abound in today’s #ThrillerThursday reads!

ANTIQUE BLUES by Jane K. Cleland
Josie Prescott must confront suspicious antiques dealers and her own friend’s killer in the twelfth mystery in this beloved cozy series set in New Hampshire. “The 12th title in Cleland’s character-driven series is as fascinating as its predecessors with plenty of details that capture the excitement of the hunt for the history and provenance of particular art objects. Also appealing are the engaging and sympathetic characters who bring warmth to this cozy mystery.” — Library Journal, starred review

SHATTERED MIRROR by Iris Johansen
When forensic sculptor Eve Duncan receives a package containing a skull, her reconstruction reveals a beautiful woman’s faces. But when Eve is introduced to the dead woman’s mirror image, a game is on where her twin’s life hangs in the balance. “Fans of paranormal suspense will be rewarded.” — Publishers Weekly

THE GLASS ROOM by Ann Cleeves
Also available in trade paperback
From CWA Diamond Dagger Award winner Ann Cleeves comes the fifth book in the Vera Stanhope series, published for the first time in the US. “Cleeves crafts a subtle, complex mystery, and the curmudgeonly Vera and her distinctive view of the world make this series stand out in a crowded genre.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (8/4/16 Edition)

thrillerthurs-8.4Happy #ThrillerThursday, lovely librarians! Before we get to our six new mysteries, we’re pleased to say that Hideo Yokoyama’s SIX FOUR has been shortlisted for the CWA’s International Dagger Award.

The winner will be announced on October 11. Now on to the books!

DIE LIKE AN EAGLE by Donna Andrews 
An August 2016 LibraryReads pick! Agatha-winner Andrews’s “charming”* 20th mystery in the funny cozy series finds heroine Meg Langslow tangling with Biff Brown, the petty, vindictive league head of her twin sons’ youth baseball team, the Caerphilly Eagles. When Biff’s lookalike brother is found dead in the porta-potty at the ball field on opening day, Meg suspects he may actually have been the intended victim. “With its well-spun plots and distinctive characters, Andrews’s amusing avian-named series shows no signs of growing stale.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

PARADIME by Alan Glynn
The new standalone doppelganger thriller from the award-winning author of LIMITLESS brings to mind Orphan Black with Hitchcockian undertones. “Deliciously creepy… The plot keeps moving with plenty of effective surprises, and the final chapters successfully navigate to an even darker tone.” — Kirkus Reviews

MISS DIMPLE AND THE SLIGHTLY BEWILDERED ANGEL by Mignon Ballard
Ballard’s beloved series heroines, first grade teacher Miss Dimple Kilpatrick and guardian angel Augusta Goodnight, must work together to find a murderer. “Ballard expertly weaves the lives of her endearing small-town characters with details of the wartime home front.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (6/18/15 Edition)

Where else would you find detectives, reporters, and a serial killer, but in our latest #ThrillerThursday roundup?!

THE PRECIPICE by Paul Doiron
libraryreads logo squareA June 2015 LibraryReads pick! In the riveting new novel from Edgar finalist Doiron, Mike Bowditch joins a desperate search for two missing hikers as Maine wildlife officials deal with a frightening rash of coyote attacks. “This is one of the finest entries in a uniformly strong series that has quietly taken its place among the very best outdoors-based crime dramas.” – Booklist (two starred reviews)

DEATH IN SALEM by Eleanor Kuhns
“Fourth in the Will Rees series, this post–Revolutionary period mystery showcases Kuhns’ talent for unusual historical detail, plot complexity, and diverse characters. [A] psychologically astute puzzle suited for fans of David Liss and James McGee.”
Booklist

DEATH IN BRITTANY by Jean-Luc Bannalec
Two starred reviews for this international bestseller, which introduces Commisaire Dupin—a witty, quintessential traditional police inspector in an idyllic French seaside village. “Bannelec excels at plotting and pacing, as well as vivid descriptions of the Finistère countryside. Readers will look forward to seeing more Dupin books from this talented author.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday – Stars Edition

We’ve got an all-STAR line-up for this #ThrillerThursday, but first Edgar Awards news: THE STRANGER YOU KNOW by Jane Casey won the Mary Higgins Clark award! Click here to see the full list of 2015 Edgar Award winners. Now, on to the books!

SIGNAL by Patrick Lee (THREE stars!)
“Two books into this series, and it’s clear that Lee has hit the jackpot. Expect the horde of out-of-breath readers gasping to keep up with Lee’s breakneck pace to keep growing exponentially with each new appearance of Sam Dryden.” Booklist, starred review

“Lee’s thriller featuring a loner hero compares to Lee Child’s ‘Jack Reacher’ series but with the added kick of technology. Readers will wait with bated breath for the next Dryden adventure.” Library Journal, starred review

“A credible hero and a plot filled with nonstop cinematic action will leave thriller fans eager for the next installment.” Publishers Weekly, starred & boxed review

BADLANDS by C.J. Box (THREE stars!)
“Although he’s placed kids in danger in other books, this could be the most effective of his thrillers since his Edgar-winning BLUE HEAVEN. The temperature on the northern plains may fall to 40 below, but the engine of this thriller races red hot, providing plenty of warmth to keep readers going all night.” Booklist, starred review

“Suspenseful—you can’t put it down.” Library Journal, starred review

“[A] superior thriller…” Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE PRECIPICE by Paul Doiron
“Doiron brings his gift for making the Maine woods live and breathe to a taut whodunit in his stellar sixth novel featuring game warden Mike Bowditch. Multidimensional characters and a high level of suspense help make this a winner.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“This is one of the finest entries in a uniformly strong series that has quietly taken its place among the very best outdoors-based crime dramas.” Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

css.php