Articles tagged "James Runcie"

2017 Anthony Award Nominees

Happy #ThrillerThursday! First, congrats to our 2017 Anthony Award nominees:

Best Novel
A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny

Best First Novel
DESIGN FOR DYING by Renee Patrick

The winners will be announced at Bouchercon on October 15. Now on to this week’s new mysteries:

PERISH THE DAY by John Farrow
The “excellent”* final volume in Farrow’s Storm Murders trilogy has retired Montreal detective Émile Cinq-Mars investigating a series of murders during a fierce rainstorm at a New Hampshire college campus. “John Verdon fans will be pleased by Farrow’s pitting of his well-rounded lead against a puzzle worthy of the detective’s acuity.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

SIDNEY CHAMBERS AND THE PERSISTENCE OF LOVE by James Runcie
Also available in trade paperback
The sixth book in Runcie’s much-loved series, which has been adapted for ITV’s Grantchester starring James Norton, sees full-time priest, part-time detective Sidney Chambers plunged back into sleuthing when he discovers a body in a bluebell wood. “Superior… Fans of the earlier volumes and the successful TV adaptations will relish the latest chapters in the lives of a richly drawn and diverse cast of characters—and shed some tears along the way.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

2016 Macavity Award Nominees

Happy #ThrillerThursday, lovely librarians! First, some awards news: we have 6 nominees for the 2016 Macavity Awards!

Best Mystery
LITTLE BLACK LIES by Sharon Bolton

Best First Mystery
THE UNQUIET DEAD by Ausma Zehanat Khan

Best Critical/Biographical
A IS FOR ARSENIC: The Poisons of Agatha Christie by Kathryn Harkup
THE LOST DETECTIVE: Becoming Dashiell Hammett by Nathan Ward

Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award
THE MASQUE OF A MURDERER by Susanna Calkins
TOM & LUCKY (and George & Cokey Flo) by C. Joseph Greaves

Now for some new mysteries hitting shelves this month:

WIDOWMAKER by Paul Doiron
A June 2016 LibraryReads pick! In this riveting new novel from Edgar finalist Doiron, Game Warden Mike Bowditch is on the trail of a ruthless vigilante amid the snow-covered mountains of Maine. “The suspense is strong and the action is well rendered. WIDOWMAKER will go down well with armchair outdoorsfolk, especially fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson.” — Booklist

PRESSURE by Brian Keane
A free diver is called in to investigate a seismological event in the Indian Ocean when events take a deadly turn and she and her crew must fight the monsters in the depths and those ashore. “Don’t just suggest to horror readers—although Keene does include a few fun insider references for genre fans. This is a perfect beach read for fans of Michael Crichton, Mira Grant, or Preston and Child—if you dare to take this book anywhere near an open body of water.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Mystery & Mayhem from Macmillan

Macmillan’s got the best new mysteries & thrillers right here!

Highly Anticipated New Books from Bestselling Authors
CITY OF THE LOST by Kelley Armstrong (a May 2016 LibraryReads pick!)
REDEMPTION ROAD by John Hart (a May 2016 LibraryReads pick!)
ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker
REPO MADNESS by W. Bruce Cameron
PARADIME by Alan Glynn
BOAR ISLAND by Nevada Barr

Next in the Series
SIDNEY CHAMBERS AND THE DANGERS OF TEMPTATION by James Runcie
AMONG THE WICKED by Linda Castillo
LET THE DEVIL OUT by Bill Loehfelm
VITA BREVIS by Ruth Downie
SORROW ROAD by Julia Keller
WIDOWMAKER by Paul Doiron
DIE LIKE AN EAGLE by Donna Andrews

Debuts
MISSION HILL by Pamela Wechsler
COLLECTING THE DEAD by Spencer Kope
ARSENIC WITH AUSTEN by Katherine Bolger Hyde
THE SILENT DEAD by Tetsuya Honda

Nonfiction
A GOOD MONTH FOR MURDER: The Inside Story of a Homicide Squad by Del Quentin Wilber
THE JOLLY ROGER SOCIAL CLUB: A True Story of a Killer in Paradise by Nick Foster

Fall 2016 Blockbuster Preview
BEHIND CLOSED DOORS by B.A. Paris
A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny
THE ONE MAN by Andrew Gross
ALL THE LITTLE LIARS by Charlaine Harris
THE DRY by Jane Harper
THE NEXT by Stephanie Gangi

Many forthcoming titles have e-galleys available to read on Edelweiss.

If you don’t see the green “Download Review Copy” button, then get whitelisted to be pre-approved for Macmillan e-galleys!

Already read it & loved it? Then nominate it for LibraryReads!

More information on the program can be found here.

Need another mystery fix?

Check MacmillanLibrary.com every Thursday for our weekly #ThrillerThursday recommendations.

LJ Genre Spotlight: Mystery

Happy Monday, friends! Our pal and Library Journal Mover & Shaker Kristi Chadwick recently wrote a genre spotlight column on mysteries for LJ and we’re thrilled (pun intended) that it includes so many Macmillan titles:
Breaking the Color Barrier

SKIES OF ASH by Rachel Howzell Hall (Detective Elouise Norton series)
On sale May 19, 2015
The second novel starring Los Angeles homicide detective Elouise “Lou” Norton (after LAND OF SHADOWS) finds Lou and her partner search for an arsonist.

Diverse Voices For a Diverse World

DEAD SOON ENOUGH by Steph Cha (Juniper Song mysteries)
On sale August 11, 2015
Los Angeles-based P.I. Juniper Song is back in a thrillingly written, masterfully plotted story of how far a mother will go for her child.

More diverse Minotaur authors mentioned: Solomon Jones, Qiu Xialong, Ed Lin, Ian Vasquez, Laura Joh Rowland and Vikas Swarup.

Into the Genre Blender

MADE TO KILL by Adam Christopher
On sale November 3, 2015
A BEA 2015 galley giveaway title! Raymond Chandler’s detective fiction meets Lawrence Block’s Keller novels…with robots!

TIME OF DEPARTURE by Douglas Schoenfeld
On sale December 1, 2015
A debut mystery with a surprising twist, featuring a young state prosecutor investigating a series of murders dating back to the 1970s, and a mysterious ex cop who knows way too much about her. readmoreremove

css.php