Articles tagged "IT’S ALWAYS THE HUSBAND"

Memorial Day Weekend 2017 Reading Roundup

Memorial Day weekend is here (hooray!) and we’re stacking our to-read piles with these major media-recommended books:
Entertainment Weekly — Summer’s Must-Read Books

BOUNDLESS by Jillian Tamaki
Cartoonist Tamaki dazzles with her impressive range in this collection, marrying each short story to a different artistic style. Whether she’s writing and drawing about the pitfalls of technology or ruminating on nostalgia, her work is lush, vibrant, and packed with emotion.

LIFE IN CODE by Ellen Ullman
Ullman, a computer programmer since the ’70s, expands on the themes she covered in 1997’s CLOSE TO THE MACHINE with pieces about what it was like on the forefront of the tech revolution, being a woman in a male-donimated industry, and how the tech landscape has (and hasn’t) changed.

THE PEOPLE WE HATE AT THE WEDDING by Grant Ginder
In Ginder’s glitzy beach read, things spiral out of control in the days leading up to a wedding as a charmingly dysfunctional family—brimming with oddball stepsiblings—does everything it can to sabotage the nuptials.

The New York TimesSummer Reading Recommendations, From Novelists Who Own Bookstores

Jonathan Lethem, author of A GAMBLER’S ANATOMY & owner of Red Gap Books, a used and rare bookstore in Blue Hill, ME recommends BROKEN RIVER by J. Robert Lennon
“It’s a tense, surprising thriller, with perverse overtones of the Coen brothers variety, but containing an enigmatic narrative device, a kind of ‘haunting of the point-of-view’ – one which proves, as ever, that the novel can do things nothing but the novel can do. I’m almost ready to reread it.”

Jeff Kinney, author of the bestselling “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” series and owner of An Unlikely Story in Plainville, MA recommends RADICAL CANDOR by Kim Scott (“Scott’s experiences leading teams at Google and Apple led to this book, which espouses a workplace culture where leaders care deeply about their employees and challenge them to be their best selves.”) and BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer (“The cover alone had me hooked. Is the protagonist a plant? An animal? Something in between?”).

Louise Erdrich, author of LAROSE & owner of Birchbark Books in Minneapolis, MN recommends THE SONG POET by Kao Kalia Yang
“The exquisite story of Kao Kalia Yang’s father, village life, war life, refugee life, then a St. Paul housing project; America’s secret war in Laos; and a people’s history as sung by Bee Yang and remembered in fascinating and poetic detail by his daughter.”

Buzzfeed’s “Thrillers You Will Devour This Summer

IT’S ALWAYS THE HUSBAND by Michele Campbell
Fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn meet your next obsession. Kate, Aubrey, and Jenny were inseparable in college. 20 years later, one of them is found dead. How did it come to this? Alternating between their college years and the present day, readers slowly come to realize that their friendship was anything but perfect. But can feelings that strong really lead to murder, or will everyone assume, as is often the case, that it’s always the husband? Only one way for you to find out… readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (5/18/17 Edition)

Terrific true crime, a debut about frenemies, and the next entry in a Southern cozy series are today’s #ThrillerThursday picks:

THE FACT OF A BODY: A Murder and a Memoir by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich
A June 2017 Indie Next pick and one of Buzzfeed’s “31 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Spring” with three starred reviews! “In this haunting hybrid of memoir and true crime account, Marzano-Lesnevich describes how a law school internship set her on a collision course with Ricky Langley, a pedophile and murderer, forcing her to contend with past trauma and preexisting prejudice. Her writing is remarkably evocative and taut with suspense, with a level of nuance that sets this effort apart from other true crime accounts.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

IT’S ALWAYS THE HUSBAND by Michele Campbell
A suspenseful debut novel about the troubled friendship among three women and the aftermath when one of them is found dead. “Demonstrating diabolical plotting chops and an ability to convincingly conjure settings, Campbell crafts a twisty page-turner…” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Booklist “Spring the Trap: Mysteries That Won’t Let Go” Webinar Titles

Here are all the spine-tingling Macmillan mysteries that Talia “the terror” Sherer presented at Booklist‘s “Spring the Trap: Mysteries That Won’t Let Go” collection development webinar today (see the action on Twitter via hashtag #Mysteries17):

COME SUNDOWN by Nora Roberts
EXPOSED by Lisa Scottoline
PARADISE VALLEY by C.J. Box
THE BREAKDOWN by B.A. Paris
DOWN A DARK ROAD by Linda Castillo
PROVING GROUND by Peter Blauner
HE SAID/SHE SAID by Erin Kelly
IT’S ALWAYS THE HUSBAND by Michele Campbell
THE FACT OF A BODY by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich
LOVEMURDER by Saul Black
YOU BELONG TO ME by Colin Harrison
KNIFE CREEK by Paul Doiron
GONE TO DUST by Matt Goldman
SHIVER HITCH by Linda Greenlaw
THE OTHER GIRL by Erica Spindler
THE CHICK AND THE DEAD by Carla Valentine
INDIGO by Charlaine Harris, Christopher Golden, Jonathan Maberry, Kelley Armstrong, Kat Richardson, Seanan McGuire, Tim Lebbon, Cherie Priest, James A. Moore, and Mark Morris
SAFE by Ryan Gattis
GLASS HOUSES by Louise Penny
SECRETS IN DEATH by J.D. Robb
THE SABOTEUR by Andrew Gross
EMMA IN THE NIGHT by Wendy Walker
AMERICAN DRIFTER by Heather Graham & Chad Michael Murray

Click here to view the archived webinar. Here’s a link to the full presentation slides and you can download the Excel sheet of all titles presented (with ISBNs).

Many of these titles have an e-galley available on Edelweiss, so download, read, and nominate for LibraryReads!
Don’t see the green button? Then get whitelisted on Edelweiss.

For Your Consideration: May 2017 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the May 2017* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due March 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines.

BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer
One of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2017 with THREE starred reviews! “VanderMeer, author of the acclaimed Southern Reach trilogy, has made a career out of eluding genre classifications, and with BORNE he essentially invents a new one. Reading like a dispatch from a world lodged somewhere between science fiction, myth, and a video game, the textures of BORNE shift as freely as those of the titular whatsit.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Borne.”*

COME SUNDOWN by Nora Roberts
When Mustang-tough Bodine Longbow’s long-missing aunt returns to the family ranch in Montana 25 years later with a fantastical story of abduction and abuse, Bodine realizes that something really bad is lurking in the mountains. “With its take-no-guff heroine, who understands the importance of family and friends, and a compelling plot peppered with domestic details and composed of equal measures of spine-tingling suspense and sexy romance, this is quintessential Roberts.” — Booklist

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss or request a print ARC by emailing library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Come Sundown” and your mailing address.*

THE BEST OF ADAM SHARP by Graeme Simsion
From the bestselling author of THE ROSIE PROJECT comes a romantic novel about true love, second chances, and decades of great music. “Sensitive, witty Adam is a terrifically chummy narrator for fan-favorite Simsion’s funny, sexy, and above all musical portrayal of the roles memory and fantasy play in midlife’s yearnings.” — Booklist

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE FACT OF A BODY: A Murder and a Memoir by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich
“In this haunting hybrid of memoir and true crime account, Marzano-Lesnevich describes how a law school internship set her on a collision course with Ricky Langley, a pedophile and murderer, forcing her to contend with past trauma and preexisting prejudice. Her writing is remarkably evocative and taut with suspense, with a level of nuance that sets this effort apart from other true crime accounts.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Fact of a Body.”* readmoreremove

ALA Midwinter 2017 “Three’s Company” Book Buzz Titles

Here are LOTS of reading recommendations courtesy of Talia’s “Three’s Company” Book Buzz at ALA Midwinter 2017:

ECHOES IN DEATH by J.D. Robb | 9781250123114 | Out: Feb. 7
COME SUNDOWN by Nora Roberts | 9781250123077 | Out: June 6 (LR: 4/20)
EXTRAORDINARY ADVENTURES by Daniel Wallace | 9781250118455 | Out: May 30 (LR: 3/20)
THE SUPREMES SING THE HAPPY HEARTACHE BLUES by Edward Kelsey Moore | 9781250107947 | Out: June 20 (LR: 4/20)
4 3 2 1* by Paul Auster | 9781627794466 | Out: Jan. 31
EDGAR & LUCY* by Victor Lodato | 9781250096982 | Out: March 7
THE MOTHER’S PROMISE* by Sally Hepworth | 9781250077752 | Out: Feb. 21
THE HOPE CHEST* by Viola Shipman | 9781250105073 | Out: March 21
ALMOST MISSED YOU by Jessica Strawser | 9781250107602 | Out: March 28
GONE TO DUST by Matthew Goldman | 9780765391285 | Out: Aug. 15 (LR: 6/20)
PROVING GROUND* by Peter Blauner | 9781250117441 | Out: May 2 (LR: 3/20)
IT’S ALWAYS THE HUSBAND* by Michele Campbell | 9781250081803 | Out: May 16 (LR: 3/20)
HE SAID / SHE SAID by Erin Kelly | 9781250113696 | Out: June 6 (LR: 4/20)
NEVER LET YOU GO by Chevy Stevens | 9781250034564 | Out: March 14
THE FACT OF A BODY: A Murder and a Memoir* by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich | 9781250080547 | Out : May 16 (LR: 3/20)
MARLENA by Julie Buntin | 9781627797641 | Out: April 4 (LR: 2/20)
THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR by Yewande Omotoso | 9781250124579 | Out: Feb. 7
THE STANDARD GRAND by Jay Baron Nicorvo | 9781250108944 | Out: April 25 (LR: 2/20)
THE BEST OF ADAM SHARP* by Graeme Simsion | 9781250130402 | Out: May 2 (LR: 3/20)
THE MAP THAT LEADS TO YOU* by J.P. Monninger | 9781250060761 | Out: June 13 (LR: 4/20)
THE PEOPLE WE HATE AT THE WEDDING* by Grant Ginder | 9781250095206 | Out: June 6 (LR: 4/20)
UNIVERSAL HARVESTER by John Darnielle | 9780374282103 | Out: Feb. 7
THE CLAIRVOYANTS by Karen Brown | 9781627797054 | Out: Feb. 7
BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer | 9780374115241 | Out: April 25 (LR: 2/20)
TEARS WE CANNOT STOP* by Michael Eric Dyson | 9781250135995 | Available Now
IN THE GREAT GREEN ROOM by Amy Gary | 9781250065360 | Available Now
MY LIFE, MY LOVE, MY LEGACY* by Coretta Scott King | 9781627795982 | Available Now
NO ONE CAN PRONOUNCE MY NAME by Rakesh Satyal | 9781250112118 | Out : May 2 (LR: 3/20)

One of the #alaleftbehind? Then download the handout here and watch a video of the recorded buzz.

readmoreremove

css.php