Articles tagged "Inspector Erlendur series"

Thriller Thursday (11/9/17 Edition)

Go armchair traveling to Iceland and Virginia’s wine country with this week’s #ThrillerThursday mysteries:

THE SHADOW DISTRICT by Arnaldur Indridason
A November 2017 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! “The award-winning author of the ‘Inspector Erlendur’ series (INTO OBLIVION) continues his modus operandi of simultaneously covering a current and cold case in this new series set during the war years. The inspectors, past and present, are formidable characters, and the blend of police procedural with Icelandic folklore is intriguing. VERDICT While not as dark as lndridason’s previous works, this is a welcome addition from a master of the genre. ” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

PRAIRIE FIRES and THE SHADOW DISTRICT are November 2017 LibraryReads Picks!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has two books on the November 2017 LibraryReads list!

The #9 pick is PRAIRIE FIRES: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Caroline Fraser
“The sesquicentennial observance of the birth of the author of the celebrated Little House books (65 million copies sold in 45 languages) has been the catalyst for the publication of a spate of books, now including this magisterial biography, which surely must be called definitive. Richly documented…. But it is its marriage of biography and history—the latter providing such a rich context for the life—that is one of the great strengths of this indispensable book, an unforgettable American story.” — Booklist, starred review

Available from Metropolitan Books on November 21.

Rounding out the list at #10 is THE SHADOW DISTRICT by Arnaldur Indridason
Two starred reviews! “The award-winning author of the ‘Inspector Erlendur’ series (INTO OBLIVION) continues his modus operandi of simultaneously covering a current and cold case in this new series set during the war years. The inspectors, past and present, are formidable characters, and the blend of police procedural with Icelandic folklore is intriguing. VERDICT While not as dark as lndridason’s previous works, this is a welcome addition from a master of the genre. ” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

Stars for Eugenides & Indridason!

Does your library have copies of these new books from these two bestselling authors? (You should!)

FRESH COMPLAINT by Jeffrey Eugenides
“Pulitzer Prize–winning Eugenides’ first story collection, and his first book since THE MARRIAGE PLOT, is gifted with the strong voices and luminous prose his novels are known for. Readers will enjoy lamenting that this complete and utterly human collection must, after all, end.” Booklist, starred review

“These stories skillfully explore the often elusive quest for happiness and self-knowledge, along with the many complexities that attend relationships with family, friends, and lovers. Essential for all fans of literary fiction.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE SHADOW DISTRICT by Arnaldur Indridason
“Indridason provides a great window into Icelandic culture as he explores his recurring themes of greed and abuse of power.” Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (2/11/16 Edition)

Detectives are on the case in today’s #ThrillerThursday picks:

INTO OBLIVION by Arnaldur Indridason
“Set in Iceland in 1979, several years after the events of 2015’s REYKJAVIK NIGHTS, Indridason’s elegantly crafted procedural traces two parallel cases: recently divorced Erlendur Sveinsson’s private investigation of the disappearance of a school girl named Dagbjört a quarter-century earlier; and his professional probe, with his enigmatic mentor Marion Briem, of the mysterious death of Kristvin, an Icelandic mechanic who worked at Naval Air Station Keflavík, a large American military installation with an active black market between base personnel and locals. ” Publishers Weekly, starred review

MURDER ON A SUMMER’S DAY by Frances Brody
When the India Office seek help in finding Maharajah Narayan, last seen hunting on the Bolton Abbey estate, they call upon the expertise of renowned amateur detective Kate Shackleton to investigate. “Fans of Maisie Dobbs and Daisy Dalrymple will enjoy the authentic period detail.” — Publishers Weekly

What’s tingling your spine this #ThrillerThursday? Share your reads with us @MacmillanLib.

LJ Genre Spotlight: Mystery

Happy Monday, friends! Our pal and Library Journal Mover & Shaker Kristi Chadwick recently wrote a genre spotlight column on mysteries for LJ and we’re thrilled (pun intended) that it includes so many Macmillan titles:
Breaking the Color Barrier

SKIES OF ASH by Rachel Howzell Hall (Detective Elouise Norton series)
On sale May 19, 2015
The second novel starring Los Angeles homicide detective Elouise “Lou” Norton (after LAND OF SHADOWS) finds Lou and her partner search for an arsonist.

Diverse Voices For a Diverse World

DEAD SOON ENOUGH by Steph Cha (Juniper Song mysteries)
On sale August 11, 2015
Los Angeles-based P.I. Juniper Song is back in a thrillingly written, masterfully plotted story of how far a mother will go for her child.

More diverse Minotaur authors mentioned: Solomon Jones, Qiu Xialong, Ed Lin, Ian Vasquez, Laura Joh Rowland and Vikas Swarup.

Into the Genre Blender

MADE TO KILL by Adam Christopher
On sale November 3, 2015
A BEA 2015 galley giveaway title! Raymond Chandler’s detective fiction meets Lawrence Block’s Keller novels…with robots!

TIME OF DEPARTURE by Douglas Schoenfeld
On sale December 1, 2015
A debut mystery with a surprising twist, featuring a young state prosecutor investigating a series of murders dating back to the 1970s, and a mysterious ex cop who knows way too much about her. readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (4/23/15 Edition)

Whether you’re looking to read true crime, a psychological thriller, or settle in with your favorite old (or new) detective, we’ve got the perfect #ThrillerThursday mystery for you:

ONE OF US by Åsne Seierstad
The nonfiction horror story told in ONE OF US moves slowly, inexorably and with tremendous authority. It’s said that exact detail is uniquely helpful when it comes to mending after terrible events. If it is true, as Stephen Jay Gould contended, that ‘nothing matches the holiness and fascination of accurate and intricate detail,’ then Ms. Seierstad has delivered a holy volume indeed.” — The New York Times

REYKJAVIK NIGHTS by Arnaldur Indridason
In this “riveting” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) prequel set in late-1960s Reykjavík, Indridason plumbs the backstory of his series lead, somber Insp. Erlendur Sveinsson. “The Icelandic author’s latest novel, REYKJAVIK NIGHTS nicely illustrates the qualities that make his books so deeply pleasurable.” — New York Times Book Review

A JUNE OF ORDINARY MURDERS by Conor Brady
This debut Victorian-era mystery finds Dublin detective sergeant Joe Swallow on the trail of a series of crimes that paints a much bigger picture. “Fans of mysteries that capture the flavor of the past will hope that Swallow has a long literary life.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE MASQUE OF A MURDERER by Susanna Calkins
“Third in the Lucy Campion historical-mystery series, this absorbing puzzler touches on the religious, social, and political changes in Restoration London as experienced by a wide cast of characters. Calkins’ tantalizing clues and rich historical details depicting everyday life and class differences draw readers into the seventeenth century, led by the piquant and elusive Lucy, whose heart is split between two suitors, her job precarious, and whose dauntless curiosity never flags.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (8/14/14 Edition)

Our #ThrillerThursday picks guarantee an edge-of-your-seat, heart-pounding, and action-packed thrill ride!

DON’T LOOK BACK by Gregg Hurwitz
Eve Hardaway, newly single mother of one, finds herself up against a mysterious man with a violent past on a trip in the remote jungles and mountains of southern Mexico. “Hurwitz has crafted another satisfying thriller that will keep readers turning the pages to find out what happens next. A taut, smart, suspense-filled ride to satisfy the most discerning of thrill seekers.” — Library Journal, starred review
Bonus: Watch the Kirkus video interview with Hurwitz on DON’T LOOK BACK!

PAYOFF by Douglas Corleone
U.S. Marshal Simon Fisk is back in a second “pedal-to-the-metal thriller”* where he must venture to South America to get a Hollywood mogul’s kidnapped daughter back. “Like GOOD AS GONE, the novel accelerates to high speed almost immediately and doesn’t slow down until the book is finished. Another winner.”
— *Booklist

GUN METAL HEART by Dana Haynes
Freelance operative Daria Gibron was injured on her last case, but she cuts her recovery short after an old colleague needs her help evading a dangerous Serbian mercenary group. “In her fourth adventure, former Shin-Bet operative Daria reads even more like the twenty-first century’s 007 as she punctuates breathless action with sharp wit, inventive strategy, and fashion commentary. A fine entry in a series that’s espionage at its most fun.” — Booklist

STRANGE SHORES by Arnaldur Indridason
Indridason’s beloved Inspector Erlendur returns to hunt for a missing woman who disappeared from the frozen fjords of Iceland, as well as his long-lost brother, whose disappearance in a snowstorm when they were children has colored his entire life. “Having been absent in Indridason’s previous two mysteries, Erlendur’s return will thrill fans. While series veterans get more insight on Bergur’s disappearance, no knowledge of the backstory is required for full enjoyment of this satisfying mystery.” — Library Journal

What are you reading this #ThrillerThursday? Share your picks with us @MacmillanLib.
css.php