Articles tagged "Indie Next list"

Sneak Peek: May Indie Next List

The May Indie Next list features five Macmillan titles including THE GUEST BOOK at #1!

1–THE GUEST BOOK by Sarah Blake

Two starred reviews!

“This novel sets out to be more than a juicy family saga—it aims to depict the moral evolution of a part of American society. Its convincing characters and muscular narrative succeed on both counts.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Blake deftly interrogates the many shades of prejudice and ‘the ordinary, everyday wickedness of turning away.’ Blake’s brilliant and ravishing novel promises to hit big”–Booklist, starred review

LANNY by Max Porter

Three starred reviews!

“This imaginative novel starts off dreamily, picks up speed, and races to a propulsive conclusion. A guaranteed edge-of-your-seat read.”–Library Journal, starred review

“This is a dark and thrilling excavation into a community’s legend-packed soil.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Elegantly mysterious: a story worthy of an M.R. James or even a Henry James and a welcome return by an author eminently worth reading.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: April 2019 Indie Next List

The April 2019 Indie Next List includes FIVE Macmillan titles!

WOMEN TALKING by Miriam Toews

Three starred reviews!
“[A] sharp blade of a novel…. Toews’ eviscerating fictionalization of this incendiary reality focuses not on the violence but, rather, on the keen, subversive intelligence of the Mennonite women, their philosophical casts of mind, clashing personalities, and deep concerns about family and faith.”–Booklist, starred review

“[A]n inspiring and unforgettable novel.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“An exquisite critique of patriarchal culture…. Stunningly original and altogether arresting.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

WICKED SAINTS makes the Spring 2019 Kids’ Indie Next List!

The Spring 2019 Kids’ Indie Next List was announced and includes WICKED SAINTS by Emily A. Duncan in the Top Ten!

WICKED SAINTS by Emily A. Duncan
Available April 2, 2019 from Wednesday Books
In this stunning debut, Nadya—a peasant girl who can speak to the gods—must find a way to work with a deadly adversary to turn the tide of the war and assassinate the mad king. When their scheme leads them straight to the royal family, Nadya must decide whether to trust the High Prince—her country’s enemy—or the boy with powers that may ignite something worse than the war they’re trying to end.

“Rarely does a dark, magical epic have so effective a character-grounded sense of humor.”
Bulletin of the Center of Children’s Books

readmoreremove

March 2019 Indie Next List

The March 2019 Indie Next list has officially been released, and Macmillan has four titles on the list!

AERIALISTS: Stories by Mark Mayer
“An ambitious collection of short stories that heralds the coming of a new voice in American fiction.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE PRIORY OF THE ORANGE TREE by Samantha Shannon
February 2019 LibraryReads pick!
“This extraordinary saga includes heroism, romance, friendship, pirates, plague, diplomacy, and, of course, dragons. A well-drawn feminist fantasy with broad appeal for fans of the epic and readers of Zen Cho, Naomi Novik, and V. E. Schwab. Highly recommended.”–Booklist, starred review

LONG LIVE THE TRIBE OF FATHERLESS GIRLS: A Memoir by T Kira Madden
“A deeply courageous work that chronicles one artist’s jagged-and surprisingly beautiful-path to wholeness. Affecting, fearless, and unsparingly honest.”–Kirkus Reviews

WHEN ALL IS SAID by Anne Griffin
“Newcomer Griffin’s storytelling, while economical, is rich and evocative, and her deft pacing maintains suspense across several narrative arcs spanning multiple time lines…. Highly recommended; this unforgettable first novel introduces Griffin as a writer to watch.”–Library Journal, starred review

Sneak Peek: February 2019 Indie Next List

The February Indie Next List includes three Macmillan titles!

THE COLLECTED SCHIZOPHRENIAS: Essays by Esmé Weijun Wang
“A collection of autobiographical essays on schizophrenia, which ‘shirks reality in favor of its own internal logic’….quite powerful and certainly useful for fellow sufferers.”
Kirkus Reviews

THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET by Yara Zgheib
“In her powerful debut, Zgheib masterfully chronicles the pain of an anorexic’s distorted thinking and intense fear of food in a riveting diarylike structure… This is an impressive, deeply moving debut.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
“This edgy, intricately plotted psychological thriller establishes Michaelides as a major player in the field.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE GILDED WOLVES makes the Winter 2019 Kids’ Indie Next List!

The Winter 2019 Kid’s Indie Next List was announced yesterday and includes THE GILDED WOLVES by Roshani Chokshi in the Top Ten!

THE GILDED WOLVES by Roshani Chokshi
Available January 15, 2019 from Wednesday Books
FOUR STARRED REVIEWS!!
Paris, 1889: In this city, no one keeps tabs on secrets better than treasure-hunter and wealthy hotelier, Séverin Montagnet-Alarie. But when the all-powerful society, the Order of Babel, seeks him out for help, Séverin is offered a treasure that he never imagined: his true inheritance. To find the ancient artifact the Order seeks, Séverin will need help from a band of experts. Together, they’ll have to use their wits and knowledge to hunt the artifact through the dark and glittering heart of Paris. readmoreremove

Summer 2018 Indie Next Picks for Book Clubs

The Summer 2018 Indie Next List for Reading Groups includes 6 Macmillan titles!

Top Ten
WAITING FOR TOMORROW by Nathacha Appanah
4 3 2 1: A Novel by Paul Auster

Family Ties
EDGAR & LUCY by Victor Lodato
GRIEF COTTAGE by Gail Godwin

Coming of Age
TOMB SONG by Julián Herbert

Mysteries and Thrillers
THE DRY by Jane Harper

Find more resources for your book club online at ReadingGroupGold.com.

SADIE and MIRAGE make the Fall 2018 Kids’ Indie Next List!

The Fall 2018 Kids’ Indie Next List was announced last week and includes SADIE by Courtney Summers (in the Top Ten!) and MIRAGE by Somaiya Daud!

SADIE by Courtney Summers
Available September 4, 2018 from Wednesday Books
FOUR STARRED REVIEWS!!
SADIE is the story of a missing girl on a journey of revenge and a Serial-like podcast following the clues she’s left behind. When Sadie’s little sister, Mattie, is found dead, Sadie hits the road on a mission to find her sister’s killer. But when West McCray—a radio personality working on a segment about small, forgotten towns in America—overhears Sadie’s story at a local gas station, he becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. He starts his own podcast as he tracks Sadie’s journey, trying to figure out what happened, hoping to find her before it’s too late.

MIRAGE by Somaiya Daud
Available August 28, 2018 from Flatiron Books
Also available in audio
TWO STARRED REVIEWS!!
MIRAGE is an epic fantasy inspired by the author’s Moroccan heritage about Amani, a poor girl who must become the body double of a princess of a ruthless empire. As Amani is forced into her new role, she can’t help but enjoy the palace’s beauty and her time with the princess’ fiancé, Idris. But the glitter of the royal court belies a world of violence and fear. If Amani ever wishes to see her family again, she must play the princess to perfection . . . because one wrong move could lead to her death. readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: September 2018 Indie Next List

Four Macmillan titles made the September 2018 Indie Next List!

SHE WOULD BE KING by Wayétu Moore — the #1 pick!
A BookExpo 2018 Editor’s Buzz book, one of Library Journal’s Best Fall 2018 Debuts, and one of Publishers Weekly’s Most Anticipated Fall 2018 Debuts! Moore’s powerful debut novel blends history and magical realism in a reimagining of the dramatic story of Liberia’s early years through three unforgettable characters who share an uncommon bond. “Moore is a brisk and skilled storyteller who weaves her protagonists’ disparate stories together with aplomb yet is also able to render her sprawling cast of characters in ways that feel psychologically compelling. In addition, the novel’s various settings—Virginia, Jamaica, and West Africa—are depicted so lushly that readers will find themselves enchanted.” — Kirkus Reviews

SEVERANCE by Ling Ma
One of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts with two starred reviews! An offbeat office novel turns apocalyptic satire as a young woman transforms from orphan to worker bee to survivor. “A biting indictment of late-stage capitalism and a chilling vision of what comes after… Ma also offers lovely meditations on memory and the immigrant experience. Smart, funny, humane, and superbly well-written.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

ONE PERSON, NO VOTE: How Voter Suppression Is Destroying Our Democracy by Carol Anderson
“Esteemed professor and award-winning author of the bestselling WHITE RAGE Anderson examines the treacherous machinations of a government actively working to exclude voters based on undisguised racial profiling. This a whiplash-inducing chronicle of how a nation that just a few short years ago elected its first black president now finds itself in the throes of a deceitful and craven effort to rip this most essential of American rights from millions of its citizens.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: August 2018 Indie Next List

Five Macmillan titles made the August 2018 Indie Next List!

MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson
For readers of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY, an epistolary debut novel about a farmer’s wife who begins writing letters to a museum curator and, as he writes back, gradually allows herself to find happiness and love again. “This is the kind of book you clutch to your heart when you finish and sigh with contentment.” — Kelly Moore, Adult Services Librarian, Carrollton Public Library, TX

THE FAMILY TABOR by Cherise Wolas
From the acclaimed author of THE RESURRECTION OF JOAN ASHBY, a new novel set over the course of a single weekend, as five members of a family confront the lies upon which their lives are built. “Read ASHBY if you haven’t, then grab this.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage
Also available in audio
A July 2018 LibraryReads pick and one of PW’s Best Books of Summer 2018 / Most Anticipated Debuts with THREE starred reviews! “WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN meets GONE GIRL meets THE OMEN. Interested? That might be the best way to describe Zoje Stage’s highly anticipated debut novel, BABY TEETHa twisty, delirious read that will constantly question your sympathies for the two characters as their bond continues to crumble.” Entertainment Weekly readmoreremove

css.php