Articles tagged "Indie Next"

#bookbday (07/11/17)

Happy #bookbday!

Goodbye, Vitamin by Rachel Khong

A July Indie Next List Selection!

“In her tender, well-paced debut novel, which spans Ruth’s year at home, Khong writes heartbreaking family drama with charm, perfect prose, and deadpan humor.”–Booklist (starred review)

“A heartfelt family dramedy in a debut novel that ruminates on love, loss, and memory.”–Kirkus Reviews

The Atlas of Forgotten Places by Jenny D. Williams

“Williams’s book paints the contours of the real-life conflict admirably, making the thrilling disappearance story relatable with nuanced characterizations and a wealth of strong subplots concerning reclaiming love, protecting family, and guarding hope for a new future when the present seems to be teetering on disaster.”–Publishers Weekly

Read an excerpt now.

The Delirium Brief by Charles Stross

The eighth case in Charles Stross’ Laundry Files, the Hugo Award–winning series described by Kirkus Reviews as “a weirdly alluring blend of super-spy thriller, deadpan comic fantasy, and Lovecraftian horror.”

Summer 2017 Indie Next Picks for Book Clubs

S17IndieBookClubThe Summer 2017 Indie Next List for Reading Groups includes seven Macmillan titles!

Top Ten
SLEEPING ON JUPITER by Anuradha Roy
ALL THE BIRDS IN THE SKY by Charlie Jane Anders

Small Bites
100 ESSAYS I DON’T HAVE TIME TO WRITE by Sarah Ruhl
WHEREAS by Layli Long Soldier readmoreremove

Indie Next Picks for Book Clubs

The Summer 2015 Indie Next List for Reading Groups features six Macmillan titles!

Top Ten
THE EMPATHY EXAMS by Leslie Jamison
THE PLOVER by Brian Doyle
RADIANCE OF TOMORROW by Ishmael Beah
SHOTGUN LOVESONGS by Nickolas Butler

Familes… And Other Challenges
THE GLASS KITCHEN by Linda Francis Lee

Exciting New Voices
THE WIVES OF LOS ALAMOS by TaraShea Nesbit readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: February 2015 Indie Next list

The February 2015 Indie Next List was recently announced and it includes two Macmillan titles!

THE NIGHTINGALE by Kristin Hannah

“Hannah  departs from the contemporary novels she’s known for with this engrossing tale of two sisters’ bravery in occupied France during WWII… Hannah’s latest is a page-turner that will no doubt have readers reaching for tissues. This moving, emotional tribute to the brave women who fought behind enemy lines during the war is bound to gain the already immensely popular Hannah an even wider audience.  HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: With a 350,000 initial print run and a multiplatform promotional campaign, best-selling Hannah’s new novel is positioned to take the book world by storm.”–Booklist (starred review)

FIRST FROST by Sarah Addison Allen

“You can go home again, and in returning to the Waverley household, the winsomely wise Allen demonstrates that sometimes it’s necessary to embrace the magic to find out what’s real in life and in one’s own heart.”–Booklist (starred review)

 

December 2014 Indie Next list Includes 4 Macmillan Titles!

Great news! 4 Macmillan titles have been selected for the December 2014 Indie Next List!

THE GIGANTIC BEARD THAT WAS EVIL by Stephen Collins

“There’s no denying the charm of his Gorey-like drawing style and whimsical story.”–Booklist

THE PARIS WINTER by Imogen Robertson

“For readers of historical fiction looking for a complex story, this is a sure bet and most likely the next big hit of any book discussion group.”–Library Journal

THE HEART DOES NOT GROW BACK by Fred Venturini

“Venturini’s melancholy but fascinating first novel is an invitation to think about altruism, ethics, and the tangled precincts of the human heart.”–Booklist, starred review

THE MIDNIGHT PLAN OF THE REPO MAN by W. Bruce Cameron

“A perfect vehicle for a wild joy ride.”– Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Sneak Peek: November 2014 Indie Next list

indie nextThe November 2014 Indie Next list was recently announced and it includes some fabulous Macmillan titles!

THE LAUGHING MONSTERS by Denis Johnson
“In a work that’s part spy novel and part buddy tale, Johnson aptly locates his portrayal of a shadowy world of complicated relationships and ever-shifting alliances in one of the more broken places on the planet. This is what you might get if you combined Casablanca‘s cynicism and sense of intrigue with a touch of Heart of Darkness post-9/11.” — Library Journal, starred review
readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (8/26/14 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to these fabulous new titles:

LOCK IN by John Scalzi
Scalzi’s near-future thriller landed on the August 2014 LibraryReads list and received three starred pre-publication reviews, like this one from Kirkus: “This SF thriller provides yet more evidence that Scalzi is a master at creating appealing commercial fiction.”

FIVES AND TWENTY FIVES by Michael Pitre
Early buzz has been building for Pitre’s incredible debut novel (it’s a B&N Discover New Writers pick, a Library Journal Best Summer Debut, a September 2014 Indie Next selection, a “Summer/Fall Indies Introduce Promotion” selection, and a featured Maximum Shelf Awareness title) and now major media is ramping up. Pitre will be interviewed on NPR’s “All Things Considered” (air date TBD), and reviews are coming in from USA Today, the Washington Post, and the New York Times, which called FIVES AND TWENTY FIVES, “an unblinking, razor-edged portrait of the war.”

THE FURIES by Natalie Haynes
Another Library Journal Best Summer Debut selection is Haynes’s “accomplished psychological mystery” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) about a drama teacher whose students react to Greek tragedies in dark and surprising ways. “Fans of suspense fiction with depth will especially enjoy this read.” — Library Journal

THE PHANTOM COACH: A Connoisseur’s Collection of Victorian Ghost Stories by Michael Sims
Sims’s collection of “delightfully creepy”* Victorian ghost stories from famous writers such as Charles Dickens, Edith Wharton, Henry James, Thomas Hardy, and Arthur Conan Doyle is “a great collection for literature fans who enjoy lesser-known stories by famous novelists.” — *Booklist

Sneak Peek: September 2014 Indie Next list

The September 2014 Indie Next list was recently announced and we’re thrilled that it includes some of our favorite titles!

THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny
Unsurprisingly, Penny’s tenth and most personal Chief Inspector Gamache novel yet made the list and the media coverage for her continues to ramp up. She’ll be interviewed by Linda Wertheimer for NPR’s “Weekend Edition” (air date TBD) and will be reviewed in the New York Times, Washington Post Book World, USA Today, and much more. All that’s in addition to the glowing, starred reviews THE LONG WAY HOME has already received.

ISLAND OF A THOUSAND MIRRORS by Nayomi Munaweera
We’ve been hyping this literary debut novel about two young women on opposite sides of the Sri Lankan Civil War, which won the Commonwealth Book Prize for Asia. Library Journal named it one of their Best Summer Debuts and Publishers Weekly said, “The paradisiacal landscapes of Sri Lanka are as astonishing as the barbarity of its revolution, and Munaweera evokes the power of both in a lyrical debut novel worthy of shelving alongside her countryman Michael Ondaatje or her fellow writer of the multigenerational immigrant experience Jhumpa Lahiri.”

FIVES AND TWENTY FIVES by Michael Pitre
Another Library Journal Best Summer Debut pick is former marine Pitre’s novel about three men from a road repair platoon in Iraq and the struggles they face in the war and at home. FIVES AND TWENTY FIVES was also picked for the “Summer/Fall Indies Introduce Promotion” at BEA, was named a B&N Discover Great New Writers pick, and was a featured Maximum Shelf Awareness title. “A war novel with a voice all its own, this will stand as one of the definitive renderings of the Iraq experience.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Indie Next Edition

Congratulations! You made it to another weekend!
We know what we’re doing—settling in with a bowl of ice cream and two great books that also happen to be August Indie Next picks:


SMALL BLESSINGS
by Martha Woodroof

Readers who loved MAJOR PETTIGREW’S LAST STAND will adore this inspiring debut of a small-town college professor, a remarkable new woman at a bookshop, and the ten-year old son he never knew he had.
“What could have become a sappy tale in less capable hands is a warm, caring, and thoroughly entertaining debut that reads remarkably well. NPR pro Woodroof is no novice writer, and her first novel will have readers eager for more.” — Library Journal, starred review

A COLDER WAR by Charles Cumming
New York Times bestselling author Cumming’s masterful follow-up to A FOREIGN COUNTRY is an espionage tale that two starred reviews rank on par with John le Carré and Olen Steinhauer.
“Cumming has established himself, along with Olen Steinhauer, as one of the best of today’s old-school espionage novelists…. Superb espionage fiction in the grand tradition.” — Booklist, starred review

“This fast-paced thriller is full of twists, turns, and surprises. With well-developed, complex characters and plenty of details about spycraft, it’s a perfect summer read for fans of Stella Rimington and John le Carré.” — Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

Belated #BookBday (4/15/14 Edition)

We're a day late in wishing these books a Happy #BookBday, but it's only to keep the party going!

THE OTHER STORY by Tatiana de Rosnay
The internationally bestselling author of SARAH'S KEY returns with another absorbing novel about a young writer who, while digging into his family’s deeply buried secrets, finds the key to his future. A May 2014 Indie Next selection!
“...de Rosnay's fans and readers who enjoy contemporary interior novels will not be disappointed.” — Library Journal
 

A PARIS APARTMENT by Michelle Gable
An antique furniture appraiser finds a treasure trove—and secrets of its courtesan owner—in a Paris apartment in the ninth arrondissement. “With its well-developed, memorable characters and the author's skillful transitioning between story lines...this stunning and fascinating debut will capture the interest of a wide audience but particularly those interested in stories about women behind famous men like Melanie Benjamin's THE AVIATOR'S WIFE or Nancy Horan's UNDER THE WIDE AND STARRY SKY. Highly recommended.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE SEA HOUSE by Elisabeth Gifford
Set in Scotland's remote Outer Hebrides, THE SEA HOUSE is a beguiling tale of love and loss, a meditation on motherhood, and how we find our identity through the stories we tell. “Hints of magic abound in Gifford’s haunting fiction debut, which follows two story lines... Gifford has an ability to bring depth to her characters, whether they live in the 19th century or the 20th, and this helps hold together her sweeping tale.” — Publishers Weekly

'TIL THE WELL RUNS DRY by Lauren Francis-Sharma
This buzzed about debut novel is a glorious and moving multi-generational, multicultural saga that begins in the 1940s and sweeps through the 1960s in Trinidad and the United States. “Francis-Sharma’s spellbinding, intimately detailed, psychologically lush, and suspenseful tale of racial and sexual trauma, hard work, love, and family devotion makes personal the injustice people endured in the years leading up to the civil rights movement in both multicultural Trinidad and segregated America.” — Booklist, starred review

css.php