Articles tagged "Indie Next"

Sneak Peek: January 2019 Indie Next List

The January 2019 Indie Next list includes three Macmillan titles! 

GHOST WALL by Sarah Moss 
“Moss delivers a powerful and unsettling novel about an Iron Age reenactment that steadily morphs into something sinister…. This is a haunting, astonishing novel.”Publishers Weekly, starred review

“This novella-length story is thought provoking on multiple levels, with insights into primitive and modern societies, and coming of age in the face of family violence.” 
Library Journal, starred review

AN ANONYMOUS GIRL by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen 
Three starred reviews!

“For those who relished the creepy stalking in Hendricks and Pekkanen’s THE WIFE BETWEEN US, this unnerving tale will have them rethinking what secrets are safe to share and if morals and ethics really matter when protecting the ones you love.”
Library Journal, starred review

“The juxtaposed points of view, with reactions of each protagonist to the other, keep the reader guessing until the end. A great follow-up to THE WIFE BETWEEN US.”
Booklist, starred review

IN AN ABSENT DREAM by Seanan McGuire 
“McGuire’s fourth in the ‘Wayward Children’ series takes the concepts of fairness and common sense and twists them through the doorways of a portal fantasy with an amazing landscape and characters. Lyrical prose cuts with an honesty of losing childhood innocence that eases the heartache that sometimes accompanies coming of age.”Library Journal, starred review

Sneak Peek: December 2018 Indie Next List

The December 2018 Indie Next List includes six Macmillan titles! 

A WELL-BEHAVED WOMAN: A Novel of the Vanderbilts by Therese Anne Fowler 

“Watching Fowler’s heroine vanquish the gatekeepers and minions who stand in her way is nothing short of mesmerizing.”Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Though the novel’s lavish sweep and gorgeous details evoke a vanished world, Fowler’s exploration of the way powerful women are simultaneously devalued and rewarded resonates powerfully.”     Publishers Weekly, starred review

KINGDOM OF THE BLIND: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel by Louise Penny 
LibraryReads Hall of Fame Author

“Few mystery writers intertwine the personal lives of their characters with the crimes being investigated more skillfully than Penny does, and she is at her best here, as several key players face turning points in their lives, suggesting that if the past can strangle the present, it can also help clear the way for the future.”Booklist, starred review

“Well-known characters return and new faces add richness to a narrative that will keep readers intrigued until the last page.”Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

Author Spotlight: Graywolf’s Alyson Hagy (10/8/18)

We love ourselves an underdog, a hidden gem, and Graywolf Press, to us, is just that. Their earnest pursuit to publish  “underrepresented and diverse voices” is #winning and we love ’em. So should you. Start with Alison Hagy’s #1 Indie Next PickSCRIBE, and thank us later.

SCRIBE
by Alyson Hagy
November 2018 #1 Indie Next Pick  + two starred reviews for this gothic, apocalyptic, dystopian novel filled with myth and folklore from the hills of Appalachia!

“Set after a civil war and deadly fevers decimate the country, Hagy’s new novel is a slim and affecting powerhouse. Timely and timeless; a deft novel about the consequences and resilience of storytelling.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Taut and tense, with both a dreamlike quality and a strong sense of place, Hagy’s brief but powerful tale will indelibly haunt readers long after the final page is turned.” Booklist, starred review

“Hagy probes the weight of responsibility and the desperation of survival in a deteriorated society in this evocative, opaque tale.”— Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

Belated #bookbday

Happiest of belated book birthdays to our new pals below!

Autonomous by Annalee Newitz

An October Indie Next Selection

“The cofounder of the sf website io9.com takes some of today’s key social and technical issues (the nature of artificial intelligence, the notion of property and ownership) and wraps them in a compelling, original story line acted out by memorable characters. VERDICT Lovers of original, thought-provoking sf should not miss this one.”–Library Journal, starred review

The Exact Nature of Our Wrongs by Janet Peery

An October Indie Next Selection

“Powerful… This is a potent and memorable novel.”–Publishers Weekly

The Ninth Hour by Alice McDermott

An October Indie Next Selection + 3 starred reviews!

“National Book Award winner McDermott (Someone) delivers an immense, brilliant novel about the limits of faith, the power of sacrifice, and the cost of forgiveness…”–Publishers Weekly, starred + boxed review

Risking It All  by Nina Darnton

“Fans of Jodi Picoult and Janelle Brown will enjoy this poignant and thought-provoking novel.” —Booklist

“Thoughtfully written and thoroughly engaging?a tale of compromise, tough decisions…and love.”–Kirkus Reviews

#bookbday (07/11/17)

Happy #bookbday!

Goodbye, Vitamin by Rachel Khong

A July Indie Next List Selection!

“In her tender, well-paced debut novel, which spans Ruth’s year at home, Khong writes heartbreaking family drama with charm, perfect prose, and deadpan humor.”–Booklist (starred review)

“A heartfelt family dramedy in a debut novel that ruminates on love, loss, and memory.”–Kirkus Reviews

The Atlas of Forgotten Places by Jenny D. Williams

“Williams’s book paints the contours of the real-life conflict admirably, making the thrilling disappearance story relatable with nuanced characterizations and a wealth of strong subplots concerning reclaiming love, protecting family, and guarding hope for a new future when the present seems to be teetering on disaster.”–Publishers Weekly

Read an excerpt now.

The Delirium Brief by Charles Stross

The eighth case in Charles Stross’ Laundry Files, the Hugo Award–winning series described by Kirkus Reviews as “a weirdly alluring blend of super-spy thriller, deadpan comic fantasy, and Lovecraftian horror.”

Summer 2017 Indie Next Picks for Book Clubs

S17IndieBookClubThe Summer 2017 Indie Next List for Reading Groups includes seven Macmillan titles!

Top Ten
SLEEPING ON JUPITER by Anuradha Roy
ALL THE BIRDS IN THE SKY by Charlie Jane Anders

Small Bites
100 ESSAYS I DON’T HAVE TIME TO WRITE by Sarah Ruhl
WHEREAS by Layli Long Soldier readmoreremove

Indie Next Picks for Book Clubs

The Summer 2015 Indie Next List for Reading Groups features six Macmillan titles!

Top Ten
THE EMPATHY EXAMS by Leslie Jamison
THE PLOVER by Brian Doyle
RADIANCE OF TOMORROW by Ishmael Beah
SHOTGUN LOVESONGS by Nickolas Butler

Familes… And Other Challenges
THE GLASS KITCHEN by Linda Francis Lee

Exciting New Voices
THE WIVES OF LOS ALAMOS by TaraShea Nesbit readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: February 2015 Indie Next list

The February 2015 Indie Next List was recently announced and it includes two Macmillan titles!

THE NIGHTINGALE by Kristin Hannah

“Hannah  departs from the contemporary novels she’s known for with this engrossing tale of two sisters’ bravery in occupied France during WWII… Hannah’s latest is a page-turner that will no doubt have readers reaching for tissues. This moving, emotional tribute to the brave women who fought behind enemy lines during the war is bound to gain the already immensely popular Hannah an even wider audience.  HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: With a 350,000 initial print run and a multiplatform promotional campaign, best-selling Hannah’s new novel is positioned to take the book world by storm.”–Booklist (starred review)

FIRST FROST by Sarah Addison Allen

“You can go home again, and in returning to the Waverley household, the winsomely wise Allen demonstrates that sometimes it’s necessary to embrace the magic to find out what’s real in life and in one’s own heart.”–Booklist (starred review)

 

December 2014 Indie Next list Includes 4 Macmillan Titles!

Great news! 4 Macmillan titles have been selected for the December 2014 Indie Next List!

THE GIGANTIC BEARD THAT WAS EVIL by Stephen Collins

“There’s no denying the charm of his Gorey-like drawing style and whimsical story.”–Booklist

THE PARIS WINTER by Imogen Robertson

“For readers of historical fiction looking for a complex story, this is a sure bet and most likely the next big hit of any book discussion group.”–Library Journal

THE HEART DOES NOT GROW BACK by Fred Venturini

“Venturini’s melancholy but fascinating first novel is an invitation to think about altruism, ethics, and the tangled precincts of the human heart.”–Booklist, starred review

THE MIDNIGHT PLAN OF THE REPO MAN by W. Bruce Cameron

“A perfect vehicle for a wild joy ride.”– Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Sneak Peek: November 2014 Indie Next list

indie nextThe November 2014 Indie Next list was recently announced and it includes some fabulous Macmillan titles!

THE LAUGHING MONSTERS by Denis Johnson
“In a work that’s part spy novel and part buddy tale, Johnson aptly locates his portrayal of a shadowy world of complicated relationships and ever-shifting alliances in one of the more broken places on the planet. This is what you might get if you combined Casablanca‘s cynicism and sense of intrigue with a touch of Heart of Darkness post-9/11.” — Library Journal, starred review
readmoreremove

css.php