Articles tagged "IN PRIOR’S WOOD"

Thriller Thursday (4/19/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday, friends! First, some nice news: the Albany Public Library Foundation has named Frankie Y. Bailey (THE RED QUEEN DIES; WHAT THE FLY SAW) a 2018 Literary Legends honoree. A gala honoring Bailey and others will take place on Saturday, October 20, 2018 at the Albany Public Library’s historic Howe Branch.

Don’t forget to RSVP for next Thursday’s “Crime Fiction for Mystery Month” Booklist webinar at 1pm Central.
Now for this week’s new books!

OUR LITTLE SECRET by Roz Nay
One of Library Journal’s best Spring/Summer 2018 debuts with two starred reviews! “Remarkable. OUR LITTLE SECRET, a debut novel by Roz Nay, superficially resembles Paula Hawkins’ THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN and similar psychological thrillers that have stormed the best-seller lists in the last decade. But Nay’s work transcends the subgenre. The plot is more textured and heartbreaking, and her prose contains startling turns of phrase that reveal the soul of a poet.”Associated Press

THE DARK SIDE OF TOWN by Sasscer Hill
Undercover agent Fia McKee returns in another thrilling mystery set in the seamy underbelly of horse racing. “Filled with sense-laden descriptions and ever-tightening suspense, this is gripping mystery fare and a terrific successor to the racecourse mystery world first carved out by Dick Francis.” — Booklist, starred review

WHISPERS OF THE DEAD by Spencer Kope
A series of bizarre murders, the victims nearly unidentifiable, forces “Steps” Craig to match wits with the most cold-blooded killer he’s ever encountered in this sequel to COLLECTING THE DEAD. “This novel more than lives up to the acclaimed first installment. Thriller devotees will devour this unpredictable mystery, wanting more from Steps and Jimmy.” — Library Journal, starred review

IN PRIOR’S WOOD by G.M. Malliet
“Malliet continues her top-notch spy-turned-cleric Max Tudor series with a seventh intricately structured mystery. Miss Marple would have the time of her life helping Max unravel a series of deaths involving the village’s elderly matriarch, the newly seated lord of the manor, his wife and her young lover, and the lover’s librarian wife. Perfect for fans of the wickedly funny cozy writers M. C. Beaton and Catriona McPherson, as well as devotees of Louise Penny who appreciate a redemptive ending.” — Booklist readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: April 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the April 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due February 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

AFTER ANNA by Lisa Scottoline
Anna is a drop-dead gorgeous sixteen-year-old with a secret dark side and when she turns up dead, all fingers point to her stepfather. “[A] nail-biting domestic thriller…. Filled with plenty of twists and complex characters, this entertaining story builds to a satisfying conclusion.” — Publishers Weekly

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “After Anna.”*

LOOK ALIVE OUT THERE by Sloane Crosley
THREE starred reviews! The New York Times–bestselling author’s brand-new collection of essays is filled with her characteristic heart and punch-packing observations, but with a newfound coat of maturity. A thin coat. More of a blazer, really. “Crosley is exceedingly clever and has a witticism for all occasions, but it is her willingness to confront some of life’s darker corners with honesty and vulnerability that elevates this collection.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE COMEDOWN by Rebekah Frumkin
One of Nylon’s “50 Books We Can’t Wait To Read In 2018!” A dazzling epic that follows two very different families in Cleveland, where a drug deal gone wrong forces them to become irrevocably intertwined. “[F]rom page to page, character to character, this is a powerful debut. Frumkin has talent to burn…” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

WONDERBLOOD by Julia Whicker
A post-apocalyptic fantasy about religious war, a perverse faith, and waiting for the space shuttles to return. “This is an original and well-formed entry into the crowded field of dystopian fiction. For fans of Emily St. John Mandel’s STATION ELEVEN, N.K. Jemisin’s ‘Broken Earth’ series, and George R.R. Martin’s ‘Song of Ice and Fire’ books.” — Library Journal

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

VOICES FROM THE RUST BELT by Anne Trubek
A timely anthology of distinct voices exploring life in the Rust Belt today, from the Flint water crisis to white flight in Detroit to growing up female in a heavily male, steel mill town. “A good companion piece to J. D. Vance’s HILLBILLY ELEGY.” — Booklist

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

css.php