Articles tagged "immigrants"

New Nonfiction – May 2017

Essays, books about books, and a librarian’s memoir are just some of the new nonfiction books available this week:

THE END OF EDDY by Édouard Louis
Two starred reviews! The most talked-about European novel since MY STRUGGLE—a sexually frank, brutally honest coming-of-age story that captures the violence and desperation of life in a French factory town. “Translated into 20 languages and a huge hit in France, author Louis’ unsparingly autobiographical novel is the story of a gay boy’s attempts to come to terms with himself. …a seamless, universal portrait of the experience of growing up gay and gradually coming to accept oneself.” — Booklist, starred review

MY LIFE WITH BOB: Flawed Heroine Keeps Book of Books, Plot Ensues by Pamela Paul
Two starred reviews! The editor of The New York Times Book Review reveals her personal reading journal named BOB (a.k.a. her “Book of Books”) and the books that have shaped her life. “Titles about reading and books abound, but this memoir stands in a class by itself. Bibliophiles will treasure, but the addictive storytelling and high-quality writing will vastly increase its audience. Highly recommended.” — Library Journal, starred review

ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul
One of Buzzfeed’s “Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017!” For readers of Mindy Kaling, Luvvie Ajayi, and Rupi Kaur comes a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants, addressing sexism, cultural stereotypes and the universal miseries of life by rising star Scaachi Koul. “Simultaneously uproarious and affecting….” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

HOW TO BUILD A TIME MACHINE by Darren Manley
A librarian’s heartfelt memoir about growing up with much older parents and coming to appreciate the bonds that cross generations. readmoreremove

#FridayReads From Our Fave Indian Authors

TGIF! Today’s #FridayReads are by two of our favorite Indian authors:

ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul
One of Buzzfeed’s “Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017!” For readers of Mindy Kaling, Luvvie Ajayi, and Rupi Kaur comes a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants, addressing sexism, cultural stereotypes and the universal miseries of life by rising star Scaachi Koul.

NO ONE CAN PRONOUNCE MY NAME by Rakesh Satyal
A humorous and tender multi-generational novel about immigrants and outsiders, those trying to find their place in American society and within their own families. “…an enjoyable read with an East Indian American flair.” — Library Journal

Share your #FridayReads with us @MacmillanLib. Happy weekend!

For Your Consideration: May 2017 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the May 2017* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due March 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines.

BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer
One of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2017 with THREE starred reviews! “VanderMeer, author of the acclaimed Southern Reach trilogy, has made a career out of eluding genre classifications, and with BORNE he essentially invents a new one. Reading like a dispatch from a world lodged somewhere between science fiction, myth, and a video game, the textures of BORNE shift as freely as those of the titular whatsit.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Borne.”*

COME SUNDOWN by Nora Roberts
When Mustang-tough Bodine Longbow’s long-missing aunt returns to the family ranch in Montana 25 years later with a fantastical story of abduction and abuse, Bodine realizes that something really bad is lurking in the mountains. “With its take-no-guff heroine, who understands the importance of family and friends, and a compelling plot peppered with domestic details and composed of equal measures of spine-tingling suspense and sexy romance, this is quintessential Roberts.” — Booklist

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss or request a print ARC by emailing library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Come Sundown” and your mailing address.*

THE BEST OF ADAM SHARP by Graeme Simsion
From the bestselling author of THE ROSIE PROJECT comes a romantic novel about true love, second chances, and decades of great music. “Sensitive, witty Adam is a terrifically chummy narrator for fan-favorite Simsion’s funny, sexy, and above all musical portrayal of the roles memory and fantasy play in midlife’s yearnings.” — Booklist

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE FACT OF A BODY: A Murder and a Memoir by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich
“In this haunting hybrid of memoir and true crime account, Marzano-Lesnevich describes how a law school internship set her on a collision course with Ricky Langley, a pedophile and murderer, forcing her to contend with past trauma and preexisting prejudice. Her writing is remarkably evocative and taut with suspense, with a level of nuance that sets this effort apart from other true crime accounts.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Fact of a Body.”* readmoreremove

Marie Marquardt on Immigrants, Issues & the Healing Power of Libraries

Last year, Marie Marquardt leapt onto the YA scene with her debut novel, DREAM THINGS TRUE, a modern-day Romeo and Juliet story in which a wealthy Southern boy falls in love with an undocumented Mexican girl and together they face perils in their hostile Georgia town. Her second YA novel, THE RADIUS OF US, explores the American dream again, but this time through the lenses of two traumatized teens who find healing in love.

Marie Marquardt has a message for librarians, but first, we’re offering complimentary advance readers copies of THE RADIUS OF US to any U.S.-based librarian who requests one (limited quantity available).

To get your copy, email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: Radius of Us) and don’t forget to include your library’s mailing address.

Take it away, Marie!

Dear YA Librarian,

I am thrilled to write to you about my new young adult novel, THE RADIUS OF US, which will be published by St. Martin’s Press on January 17, 2017. As a story featuring immigrants and asylum-seekers seeking refuge in the United States, this book addresses timely and important themes, and I hope you’ll be willing to tell your young patrons about it.

I’ve spent two decades working with Latin American immigrant families in the South. I also run a non-profit called El Refugio that serves immigrants and asylum-seekers in detention. This work inspired my debut novel, DREAM THINGS TRUE, which was published in 2015. To research THE RADIUS OF US, I traveled to El Salvador and to detention facilities across the U.S., where I met with teenagers fleeing gang violence and seeking asylum.

Told in alternating first person points of view, THE RADIUS OF US is a story of love, sacrifice, and the journey from victim to survivor. It’s about a boy from El Salvador, who ran from a city torn-through with violence, looking for a safe place to call home. It’s about an American girl who no longer feels safe anywhere, except maybe when she’s with him. And most importantly, THE RADIUS OF US is about two people struggling to overcome trauma and find healing in love.

I’m especially enthusiastic to share this story with librarians and library patrons, because for thirty-three years, libraries have been my refuge, and librarians have been the ones that welcomed me in. readmoreremove

Teen Talk Tuesday (10/18/16 Edition)

Hey hey, YA librarians! We’ve got a bunch of new teen and YA-OK adult books for you this month. Check ’em out then share your favorites during today’s Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya).

WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS by Anna-Marie McLemore
Ages 12 to 18
Longlisted for the 2016 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature and three starred reviews! From Morris Award finalist Anna-Marie McLemore comes a second stunning novel tinged with magic, about a girl with roses that grow from her wrist who happens to be hiding the truth, a boy with past secrets who paints moons and hangs them in trees, and four sisters rumored to be witches, who could ruin them both. “With luminous prose infused with Latino folklore and magical realism, this mixes fairy-tale ingredients with the elegance of a love story, with all of it rooted in a deeply real sense of humanity. Lovely, necessary, and true.” — Booklist, starred review

MOON CHOSEN by P.C. Cast
Ages 12 to 18
#1 New York Times bestselling author, P.C. Cast, returns with a new epic fantasy. Mari is an Earth Walker, heir to the unique healing powers of her Clan; but she has cast her duties aside, until she is chosen by a special animal ally, altering her destiny forever. When a deadly attack tears her world apart, Mari reveals the strength of her powers and the forbidden secret of her dual nature as she embarks on a mission to save her people. “While many fantasy series style themselves as epic, this one may actually be worthy of the description. Fantasy lovers who are fans of Cinda Williams Chima’s ‘Seven Realms’ novels will fall in love with Mari and Nik.”
School Library Journal

HOW TO KEEP A BOY FROM KISSING YOU by Tara Eglington
Ages 12 to 18
Aurora Skye is sweet sixteen and never been kissed—and that’s the way she wants it to be. But when she’s cast in her high school’s production of Much Ado About Nothing, she must avoid having her first kiss with Hayden Paris, her co-star, next door neighbor, and the bane of her existence. OR IS HE? “Eglington celebrates female friendship and loyalty, too, and Aurora’s sunny outlook will satisfy readers looking for a romantic comedy with a dash of Shakespeare.”
Publishers Weekly

MIDNIGHT HOUR by C.C. Hunter (Shadow Falls series)
Ages 12 to 18
In the conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shadow Falls saga, Miranda Kane is preparing to graduate when a near-death experience threatens to ruin it all.

ROLLING BLACKOUTS: Dispatches from Turkey, Syria, and Iraq by Sarah Glidden
In this graphic novel, cartoonist Glidden details her two-month long journey through Turkey, Iraq, and Syria as she accompanies two reporters while they research stories on the Iraq War’s effect on the Middle East and, specifically, the war’s refugees. “Glidden’s understated, face-focused illustration style gets under your skin—by removing her own personality from the writing, the author sucks readers in so deeply that you really feel present, seeing her journey through her eyes.”
Library Journal, starred review

SHIRLEY JACKSON’S “THE LOTTERY”: The Authorized Graphic Adaptation by Miles Hyman
Available simultaneously in trade paperback
Two starred reviews! Published in time for Jackson’s centennial, this graphic adaptation masterfully reimagines her iconic story with a striking visual narrative created by her grandson, Miles Hyman. “A stunning graphic adaptation of a chilling classic.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

css.php