Articles tagged "Hover"

Happy #BookBday (7/12/16 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday!

ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker
The must-read summer thriller of 2016 with movie rights snapped up by Reese Witherspoon is also a July 2016 Library Reads & Indie Next pick, and a Maximum Shelf Awareness selection! In a small affluent town, a teenage girl is attacked at a local party and in the hours immediately after is given a controversial drug to medically erase her memory of the violent assault. Except she can’t really forget and the person narrating the story wants her to remember what happened. But why? “Exceptional… While secret after secret about the residents of Fairview add to the suspense, Forrester’s secrets may be the most stunning of all.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review


HEARTBREAKER by Maryse Meijer
A scarily brilliant debut story collection in the vein of Lindsay Hunter and Katherine Faw Morris. “The edgy stories in Meijer’s debut collection cut like so many wild teeth: sharp, deep, and unforgiving. A dark and surprising new voice in short fiction.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: July 2016 LibraryReads Titles

July16LRcollage-editDownload, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the July 2016* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due May 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines.

ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker
The must-read summer thriller of 2016 with movie rights snapped up by Reese Witherspoon! In a small affluent town, a teenage girl is attacked at a local party and in the hours immediately after is given a controversial drug to medically erase her memory of the violent assault. Except she can’t really forget and the person narrating the story wants her to remember what happened. But why? “I’m a sucker for dark, twisty, intricately-plotted psychological thrillers. I’m betting we’ll be seeing this title in a LOT of beach bags over the summer.” — Gregg Winsor, Johnson County Public Library, Overland Park KS

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

TRULY MADLY GUILTY by Liane Moriarty
The first new book by #1 New York Times bestselling author Liane Moriarty in two years! Six responsible adults. Three cute kids. One small dog. It’s just a normal weekend. What could possibly go wrong?

There are a limited quantity of print ARCs available only for public librarians​ actively nominating titles for LibraryReads. To request an ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Truly Madly Guilty” and your mailing address.*

AMONG THE WICKED by Linda Castillo
In the eighth book in Castillo’s bestselling series, Kate Burkholder goes undercover in an isolated and secretive Amish community in rural, upstate New York to investigate the death of a young girl. “Ripped-from-the-headlines writing from the New York Times best-selling author…” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Among the Wicked.”*

ABSALOM’S DAUGHTERS by Suzanne Feldman
Winner of the Missouri Review Editors’ Prize, Feldman takes on a lot of themes in this literary debut. Self-educated African American Cassie works in the family laundry in rural Mississippi, starry-eyed Judith is her white half-sister, and when they learn about an inheritance from their father, they jump in a banged-up old car and head through the 1950s Jim Crow South for Virginia. Not your ordinary road-trip novel; big in-house enthusiasm.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss
readmoreremove

Inspiring Women of Fiction & Mystery

SS2016 Womens Fiction_Mystery TPB Sell SheetWe love a good story, and our friends at Forge have five of ’em for you coming soon* from some talented ladies:

The Charlotte McNally series from Hank Phillippi Ryan
PRIME TIME
On sale: Feb. 9, 2016
FACE TIME
On sale: April 12, 2016
AIR TIME
On sale: June 14, 2016

MER by Katie Schickel
On sale: June 14, 2016
HOVER by Anne A. Wilson
Available now; trade paperback on sale May 3, 2016 readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (6/2/15 Edition)

Tuesday brings a brand new (& belated) #BookBday for 3 debuts, a thriller featuring a female U.S. Navy helicopter pilot, and a brain surgeon’s memoir:

DO NO HARM by Henry Marsh
This gripping, brutally honest account from neurosurgeon Marsh has already received THREE starred reviews and is garnering raves from the New York Times (both the daily AND the Book Review), The Wall Street Journal, and more.

LETTERS TO THE LOST by Iona Grey
Grey’s engaging, poignant, and romantic debut treats readers to an absorbing story within a story. Her detailed narrative chronicles the lives of these intriguing characters while fluidly traveling from past to present. The author’s subtle depictions of social and moral intolerances of the past and the gentle hand of fate that guides this tale makes her novel an excellent choice for fans of Beatrice Williams, Jon Clinch, and Kristina McMorris.” — Library Journal

THE SUNLIT NIGHT by Rebecca Dinerstein
Dinerstein’s debut novel about two lives that intersect ninety-five miles above the Arctic Circle is one of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2015. “With provocative insights about the cruelty of abandonment, the concept of home, and the limits of parental and filial love, Dinerstein’s novel is a rich reading experience.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE UNFORTUNATES by Sophie McManus
A Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Spring 2015 Pick! “In her assured first novel, McManus dissects such headline topics as Wall Street corruption, income inequality, and the vagaries of class and power in contemporary America. To her great credit, McManus uncovers the humanity of a group that rarely receives our empathy even as she exposes the dark side of privilege and entitlement in a timely novel enriched with touches of Edith Wharton.” — Booklist
readmoreremove

css.php