Articles tagged "horror"

Library Journal Best Books of 2019

Library Journal chose their Best Books of 2019, and 22 Macmillan titles made the list!

Pop Fiction

MIRACLE CREEK by Angie Kim
WOMEN TALKING by Miriam Toews
IN WEST MILLS by De’Shawn Charles Winslow

Horror

TINFOIL BUTTERFLY by Rachel Eve Moulton

SF/Fantasy

THE RUIN OF KINGS by Jenn Lyons
A MEMORY CALLED EMPIRE by Arkady Martine
GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir

Romance

RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston

Crime Fiction

THE LONG CALL by Ann Cleeves
THE LOST MAN by Jane Harper
A DEADLY DIVIDE by Ausma Zehanat Khan

Graphic Novels

GRASS by Keum Suk Gendry-Kim
CLYDE FANS by Seth

Social Science

NO VISIBLE BRUISES: What We Don’t Know About Domestic Violence Can Kill Us by Rachel Louise Snyder

Poetry

DEAF REPUBLIC: Poems by Ilya Kaminsky
OCULUS: Poems by Sally Wen Mao

readmoreremove

Vote Now in the Goodreads Choice Awards 2019

Voting for the 11th Annual Goodreads Choice Awards is now open, and there are MANY Macmillan titles awaiting your votes!

Fiction

WHEN ALL IS SAID by Anne Griffin

Mystery/Thriller

THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North
MIRACLE CREEK by Angie Kim
THE LOST MAN by Jane Harper
THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
AN ANONYMOUS GIRL by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen
THE MOTHER-IN-LAW by Sally Hepworth

Historical Fiction

THE NIGHT TIGER by Yangsze Choo

Fantasy

MIDDLEGAME by Seanan McGuire
THE PRIORY OF THE ORANGE TREE by Samantha Shannon
OF BLOOD AND BONE by Nora Roberts
NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo
MAGIC FOR LIARS by Sarah Gailey

Romance

THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by Tracey Garvis Graves
THE FLATSHARE by Beth O’Leary
THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center
RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston

Science Fiction

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
THE FUTURE OF ANOTHER TIMELINE by Annalee Newitz
A MEMORY CALLED EMPIRE by Arkady Martine
THE CITY IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT by Charlie Jane Anders

Horror

THE TOLL by Cherie Priest

Humor

MR. KNOW-IT-ALL: The Tarnished Wisdom of a Filth Elder by John Waters

Nonfiction

THE COLLECTED SCHIZOPHRENIAS: Essays by Esmé Weijun Wang
STAY SEXY & DON’T GET MURDERED: The Definitive How-To Guide by Karen Kilgariff and Georgia Hardstark
THE MOMENT OF LIFT: How Empowering Women Changes the World by Melinda Gates

Memoir and Autobiography

IN THE DREAM HOUSE: A Memoir by Carmen Maria Machado
TOIL & TROUBLE: A Memoir by Augusten Burroughs
LONG LIVE THE TRIBE OF FATHERLESS GIRLS: A Memoir by T Kira Madden

History and Biography

THE FIRST CONSPIRACY: The Secret Plot to Kill George Washington by Brad Meltzer and Josh Mensch
THE BRITISH ARE COMING: The War for America, Lexington to Princeton, 1775-1777 by Rick Atkinson
HOW TO HIDE AN EMPIRE: A History of the Greater United States by Daniel Immerwahr

Science and Technology

WE ARE THE WEATHER: Saving the Planet Begins at Breakfast by Jonathan Safran Foer

Food and Cookbooks

MIDNIGHT CHICKEN & Other Recipes Worth Living For by Ella Risbridger

Poetry

DEAF REPUBLIC: Poems by Ilya Kaminsky
THE TRUTH ABOUT MAGIC: Poems by Atticus
A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill

Debut Novel

WHEN ALL IS SAID by Anne Griffin
THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
MIRACLE CREEK by Angie Kim
RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston

Young Adult Fiction

AGAIN, BUT BETTER by Christine Riccio

Young Adult Fantasy and Science Fiction

WAYWARD SON by Rainbow Rowell
FINALE by Stephanie Garber

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER

A young woman confronts ancient forces in the depths of the bayou in Andy Davidson’s gorgeous, moody, horrifying novel, THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER.

Miranda Crabtree has spent a quiet life ferrying contraband for a mad preacher and his declining band of followers to make ends meet and to protect an old witch and a secret child from harm. But dark forces are at work in the bayou, both human and supernatural, conspiring to disrupt the rhythms of Miranda’s peculiar and precarious life. And when the preacher makes an unthinkable demand, it sets Miranda on a desperate, dangerous path, forcing her to consider what she is willing to sacrifice to keep her loved ones safe.

A great combination of Gothic horror, fantastic world-building, and thrilling pacing, Davidson’s unique voice will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Joe Hill, Justin Cronin, and Jeff VanderMeer. The author’s debut was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for First Novel, so we’re very excited for him to join our list!

Download an e-galley of THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER from Edelweiss here.

Happy #PubDay (10/08)

A YA powerhouse makes her adult debut, a book lover in Paris, horror + feminism in a collection of short stories, falling in love with Ireland, alternate universes + stolen identities, and a dilapidated mansion in nineteenth-century Hyde Park. Find it all in today’s #PubDay.

NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo

An October LibraryReads pick, Indie Next pick, PW Most Anticipated Book of Fall 2019, Kirkus Most Anticipated Fall Fiction + 4 starred reviews!

“Fantasy readers, particularly those who love ghosts, will hungrily devour this novel.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The worldbuilding is rock solid, the plot is propulsive, and readers will be clamoring for a sequel as soon as they read the last page.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Adults are just as enamored of Bardugo’s YA novels as teens are, and many have been anxiously and curiously awaiting this one.”–Booklist, starred review

“With an aura of both enchantment and authenticity, Bardugo’s compulsively readable novel leaves a portal ajar for equally dazzling sequels.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Kirkus’s 30 Most Anticipated Fiction Books for Fall

Watch out for Kirkus’s most anticipated Fall fiction!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz

A September Indie Next pick + 2 starred reviews! A novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother.

THE FUTURE OF ANOTHER TIMELINE by Annalee Newitz

FOUR starred reviews! A story of time travel, murder, and the lengths we’ll go to protect the ones we love.

NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo

A PW Most Anticipated + FOUR starred reviews! The mesmerizing adult debut from Leigh Bardugo: a tale of power, privilege, dark magic, and murder set among the Ivy League elite.

THE TOPEKA SCHOOL by Ben Lerner

A tender and expansive family drama set in the American Midwest at the turn of the century: a tale of adolescence, transgression, and the conditions that have given rise to the trolls and tyrants of the New Right.

SUICIDE WOODS by Benjamin Percy

A spine-tingling new collection of stories from the acclaimed author of THRILL ME and THE DARK NET.

Booklist’s 2019 Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror Spotlight

Booklist‘s top Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror reading lists of 2019 include these Macmillan titles!

Top 10

MAGIC FOR LIARS by Sarah Gailey
An Indie Next Pick + LibraryReads Pick + 2 starred reviews!

Top 10 Debuts

THE RUIN OF KINGS: A Chorus of Dragons (Volume 1) by Jenn Lyons
A Library Journal Best Debut + 4 starred reviews!

THE STARS NOW UNCLAIMED: The Universe After (Volume 1) by Drew Williams

Core Collection: Humorous SF/Fantasy & Horror

THE BUS ON THURSDAY by Shirley Barrett

FKA USA by Reed King
An Indie Next pick!

REDSHIRTS by John Scalzi
A Hugo + Locus Award Winner!

ZERO SUM GAME by S.L. Huang
A Library Journal Best Debut + Amazon Best of 2018 + 2 starred reviews!

PW’s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2019

This Fall certainly has some whoppers! Publishers Weekly has selected their most anticipated books of the season, including these Macmillan titles:

Fiction
FIND ME by André Aciman

Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror
NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo

Comics/Graphic Novels
MAKING COMICS by Lynda Barry

Literary Essays/Criticism/Biographies
HUMAN RELATIONS AND OTHER DIFFICULTIES: Essays by Mary-Kay Wilmers

Politics/Current Events
TRANSACTION MAN: The Rise of the Deal and the Decline of the American Dream by Nicholas Lemann

Religion/Spirituality
ASTRO POETS: Your Guides to the Zodiac by Alex Dimitrov and Dorothea Lasky
UNFOLLOW: A Memoir of Loving and Leaving the Westboro Baptist Church by Megan Phelps-Roper

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE + THE WHISPER MAN = August LibraryReads Picks!

You voted, they counted, and THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE + THE WHISPER MAN are officially LibraryReads picks for August 2019!

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center

2 starred reviews!

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The follow-up to Center’s breakout hit, HOW TO WALK AWAY (2018), in which Cassie had a brief cameo, has all the hallmarks that made readers fall in love with the previous book: an appealing (if guarded, in this case) heroine, a compelling love story, a tear-jerking twist, and a thoroughly absorbing story. Another winner from Center.”–Booklist, starred review

THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North

A PW Best Book of Summer 2019 + 2 starred reviews!

“With redemption for some and none for others, this thriller will satisfy readers of Thomas Harris and Stephen King.”–Booklist, starred review

“Readers will have a tough time putting down this truly unnerving tale, with its seemingly unexplainable elements and glimpses of broken and dangerous minds.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

For Your Consideration: September 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite September 2019 titles for the September 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due August 1!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz

“Cruz’s winning novel will linger in the reader’s mind long after the close of the story.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A moving, sad, and sometimes disarmingly funny take on migration and the forces that propel us into the world.”–Kirkus Reviews

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr

“Thrilling action, madcap humor, and a larger-than-life cast energize this cleverly plotted take on a traditional mystery. Barr surprises and entertains from start to finish.”–Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

2019 Locus Award Finalists

Congratulations to our out-of-this-world 2019 Locus Award finalists and winners!

Science Fiction Novel

THE CALCULATING STARS by Mary Robinette Kowal–WINNER!
IF TOMORROW COMES: Book 2 of the Yesterday’s Kin Trilogy by Nancy Kress

Fantasy Novel

THE MONSTER BARU CORMORANT by Seth Dickinson
DEEP ROOTS by Ruthanna Emrys
THE MERE WIFE by Maria Dahvana Headley

First Novel

SEMIOSIS by Sue Burke
WITCHMARK by C. L. Polk
SEVERANCE by Ling Ma

Novella

THE BLACK GOD’S DRUMS by P. Djèlí Clark
BLACK HELICOPTERS by Caitlín R. Kiernan
TIME WAS by Ian McDonald
GODS, MONSTERS, AND THE LUCKY PEACH by Kelly Robson
ARTIFICIAL CONDITION: The Murderbot Diaries by Martha Wells–WINNER!
ROGUE PROTOCOL: The Murderbot Diaries by Martha Wells
THE DESCENT OF MONSTERS by JY Yang

Novelette

NO FLIGHT WITHOUT THE SHATTER by Brooke Bolander
THE ONLY HARMLESS GREAT THING by Brooke Bolander–WINNER!
THE LAST BANQUET OF TEMPORAL CONFECTIONS by Tina Connolly
NINE LAST DAYS ON PLANET EARTH by Daryl Gregory

Anthology

WORLDS SEEN IN PASSING: Ten Years of Tor.com Short Fiction edited by Irene Gallo
THE YEAR’S BEST SCIENCE FICTION: THIRTY-FIFTH ANNUAL COLLECTION edited by Gardner Dozois

Nonfiction

AN INFORMAL HISTORY OF THE HUGOS: A Personal Look Back at the Hugo Awards, 1953-2000 by Jo Walton

And congrats to our pals at Tor and Tor.com for WINNING Best Publisher and Best Magazine!

css.php