Articles tagged "Hollywood"

B&N Summer 2017 Discover Picks

Barnes & Noble’s Summer 2017 Discover Great New Writers program includes five Macmillan titles!

ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul
One of Buzzfeed’s “Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017!” For readers of Mindy Kaling, Luvvie Ajayi, and Rupi Kaur comes a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants, addressing sexism, cultural stereotypes and the universal miseries of life by rising star Scaachi Koul. “Simultaneously uproarious and affecting….” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE CITY ALWAYS WINS by Omar Robert Hamilton
A Library Journal Debut Novels pick and one of Buzzfeed’s “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer!”  A vivid, powerful portrait of Egypt’s failed revolution in 2011 shown through the eyes of Mariam and Khalil, two young people fighting at the front lines of the revolution in the streets of Cairo and its political underground. “Cofounder of the Palestine Festival of Literature, Hamilton turns in a relentlessly readable work that both informs and humbles.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE MIGHTY FRANKS: A Memoir by Michael Frank
A psychologically acute memoir about an unusual and eccentric Hollywood family. “Complex and fascinating… Readers will be enthralled by the affecting portraits of the two central figures: the aunt whose drive and charming idiosyncrasies concealed an impulsive cruelty, and the child struggling to make sense of the complex, damaged woman trying to control him.” — Publishers Weekly

HAPPINESS: The Crooked Little Road to Semi-Ever After by Heather Harpham
“An award-winning writer, performer, and teacher of physical theater/improvisation, Harpham tells a heartrending story of young love, getting pregnant, her partner’s lack of interest in having children, returning home alone, then discovering hours after giving birth that something was dangerously wrong with her baby. There are terrible choices to make and a crooked little road to follow toward some kind of radiant happiness.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (5/23/17 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday!

A GOOD COUNTRY by Laleh Khadivi
Three starred reviews! An achingly timely novel about the radicalization of a Muslim teen in California—about where identity truly lies, and how we find it. “Brilliantly channeling the minds of angst-filled teenagers with barely formed worldviews who seesaw between brash self-confidence and deflating insecurities, Whiting and Pushcart Prize winner Khadivi has written an important, smart, timely novel that rivals such standouts as Karan Mahajan’s THE ASSOCIATION OF SMALL BOMBS or Mohsin Hamid’s THE RELUCTANT FUNDAMENTALIST.” — Library Journal, starred review

ISADORA by Amelia Gray
One of Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of Summer 2017! “Historical novels about artists abound, but few attain the psychological intricacy, fluency of imagination, lacerating wit, or intoxicating beauty of Gray’s tale of Isadora Duncan, the courageous mother of modern dance. The spellbinding result is a mythic, fiercely insightful, mordantly funny, and profoundly revelatory portrait of an intrepid and indelible artist.” — Booklist, starred review

MOLLY AND THE CAT CAFE by Melissa Daley
When two-year-old tabby, Molly, loses her beloved owner, she decides to take matters into her own paws and embarks on a grueling journey to the nearest town to find a new home. “As comforting as a purring cat on a cold winter night, Daley’s feel-good feline escapade will warm pet lovers’ hearts. Watch for future Cat Café novels.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (4/13/17 Edition)

We’ve got two amazing debuts and three excellent series entries for you this #ThrillerThursday:

IF WE WERE VILLAINS by M.L. Rio
A literary debut in the tradition of Donna Tartt’s THE SECRET HISTORY about a group of seven young actors studying Shakespeare at an elite arts school who find their friendship turned into nasty rivalry that leaves one of them dead after a teacher switches around the in-character casting. “This novel about obsession at the conservatory will thoroughly obsess you.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THREE ENVELOPES by Nir Hezroni
A thrilling debut that delves into the twisted mind of a rogue agent in the Israeli intelligence agency and his mysterious plot for revenge. “Hezroni’s superior thriller debut will send chills up the spines of even jaded genre fans. Hezroni maintains a high level of suspense as he expertly toggles between past and present en route to the heart-stopping conclusion.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

DEVIL’S BREATH by G.M. Malliet
Max Tudor must contend with his new role as a father as well as the murder of a glamorous film star in the next installment in Malliet’s wildly popular series. “Though dedicated readers may miss local favorites, it’s great to see the return of Malliet’s wit in a high-seas whodunit that deftly skewers the Hollywood high life.” — Kirkus Reviews readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (4/6/17 Edition)

It’s a rainy & foggy #ThrillerThursday here in Gotham—perfect for curling up with one of these mysteries:

THE LOST ORDER by Steve Berry
The Knights of the Golden Circle was the largest and most dangerous clandestine organization in American history, hiding billions in stolen gold and silver across the United States. Now, 160 years later, two factions of what remains of the Knights of the Golden Circle want that lost treasure—one to spend it for their own ends, the other to preserve it. Thrust into this battle is former Justice Department agent Cotton Malone, whose connection to the knights is deeper than he ever imagined. “Berry’s fans will love his latest endeavor as he brings more detail into Malone’s past and how he came to be known as Cotton. …Berry has written another gripping novel.” — Associated Press

DATE WITH DEATH by Julia Chapman
The debut of a delightful new English village mystery series set in the Yorkshire Dales starring Delilah Metcalfe, the owner of The Dales Dating Agency, and Samson O’Brien, private investigator. “The cozy-sounding title notwithstanding, this series launch by Chapman (a pen name for British author Julia Stagg) is an atmospheric traditional mystery with a vivid sense of place and spirited characters who drive the engaging plot. Recommended for Julia Spencer-Fleming fans or those who appreciate complex mysteries set in English villages.” — Library Journal, starred review

DYING ON THE VINE by Marla Cooper
Spirited wedding planner Kelsey McKenna juggles a sabotaged wedding and a cold-blooded killer in beautiful California wine country in this hilarious follow-up to TERROR IN TAFFETA. “The second in this cozy series offers both a behind-the-scenes look at what goes into making the perfect wedding and a surprisingly tricky mystery.” — Kirkus Reviews readmoreremove

css.php