Articles tagged "HAPPINESS FOR BEGINNERS"

Stars for HOW TO WALK AWAY

We’ve adored Katherine Center ever since we read HAPPINESS FOR BEGINNERS, and we think her new novel, HOW TO WALK AWAY, will be a breakout book perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

Don’t believe us? Then read these starred reviews:

“Center knows how to keep the pages turning, ensuring readers will be completely swept up in Margaret’s story. With its appealing characters and wisdom about grappling with life’s challenges, Center’s sixth novel has all the makings of a breakout hit.” — Booklist, starred review

“A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“So, I just finished HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center. I loved, loved, loved this book. It was involving, and funny, and touching, and romantic. The voice of the main character, Margaret reminded me so much of Louisa Clark from ME BEFORE YOU.Janet Lockhart, Wake County Public Library, Raleigh NC

Going to TxLA 2018? Don’t miss your chance to meet Katherine at the Authors for Your Book Club Panel on Thursday, April 5 from 2:45-3:45pm. readmoreremove

TxLA 2015 – Tuesday events

Today’s the day for TxLA! Come visit us in the Austin Convention Center at booth #1359 starting at 5:30pm where you can get a free signed copy of HAPPINESS FOR BEGINNERS by Katherine Center.

See you soon!

Get Yourself Whitelisted on Edelweiss!

Unless you hate having everything you ever wanted to read months ahead of publication at your fingertips… Get yourself Whitelisted on Edelweiss for Macmillan E-Galleys!

1. Register for Edelweiss with your library-issued e-mail address.

2. Send Talia a note that includes the e-mail address you registered with, your full name, and your current library (subject: Edelweiss).

Please note: Whitelisting is only available to adult and teen librarians currently employed in the U.S.  Macmillan e-galleys on Edelweiss are NOT formatted for the Kindle and we apologize for any inconvenience that may cause.

For those of you already Whitelisted we have a few recommendations listed below. And for those of you on the fence maybe one of these upcoming titles will entice you into signing up!

If you read something you love, then make sure to nominate it for LibraryReads! LibraryReads is a new program which harnesses the value of “library staff picks” into a single nation-wide discovery tool, a monthly list of ten newly released must- reads.  Any public library staff member can nominate books. For more information about how to participate in LibraryReads, read our FAQ.

Get started with our recommendations!
(updated December 31, 2014)

FEBRUARY 2015

Coming-of-Age Debuts:

MAKING NICE by Matt Sumell

DISGRUNTLED by Asali Solomon

Debut Novels with a Hint of Fantasy:

FINN FANCY NECROMANCY by Randy Henderson

Mysteries:

A MURDER OF MAGPIES by Judith Flanders (aka Talia’s favorite book jacket award winner)

DREAMLESS by Jørgen Brekke

From the dude who wrote THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS: A HISTORY OF LONELINESS by John Boyne

From the dude who wrote CLOCKERS and LUSH LIFE: THE WHITES by Harry Brandt AKA RICHARD PRICE aka the most incredible writer of realistic NYC-based cop novels

MARCH 2015

From the sassy gal who wrote WHAT DO YOU DO ALL DAY?  A FIREPROOF HOME FOR THE BRIDE by Amy Scheibe

Trying to find yourself… in the wilderness?  READ: HAPPINESS FOR BEGINNERS by Katherine Center

Debut Novels with a WWII Backdrop:

THE SCENT OF TRIUMPH by Jan Moran

THE LAST FLIGHT OF POXL WEST by Daniel Torday

Debut Novel:

GWENDOLEN by Diana Souhami

Fantasy:

VOYAGE OF THE BASILISK: A MEMOIR BY LADY TRENT by Marie Brennan

Romance:

MAD, BAD, AND DANGEROUS IN PLAID by Suzanne Enoch (OMG HIGHLANDERS!!!)

Mysteries:

ASYLUM by Jeannette de Beauvoir

THE FRIENDSHIP OF CRIMINALS by Robert Glinski

FRACTURED by Kate Watterson

readmoreremove

css.php