Articles tagged "HAMMERS ON BONE"

2017 Locus Award Finalists

The Locus Science Fiction Foundation has announced the top ten finalists in each category of the 2017 Locus Awards and Macmillan has a strong showing!

Best Science Fiction Novel
COMPANY TOWN by Madeline Ashby
DEATH’S END by Cixin Liu
LAST YEAR by Robert Charles Wilson

Best Fantasy Novel
ALL THE BIRDS IN THE SKY by Charlie Jane Anders
NECESSITY by Jo Walton

Best Horror
THE BROTHERHOOD OF THE WHEEL by R.S. Belcher
CERTAIN DARK THINGS by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
HEX by Thomas Olde Heuvelt
THE FAMILY PLOT by Cherie Priest

Best First Novel
WAYPOINT KANGAROO by Curtis Chen
THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN by Roshani Chokshi
ARABELLA OF MARS by David D. Levine
INFOMOCRACY by Malka Older
EVERFAIR by Nisi Shawl

Best Novella
THE LOST CHILD OF LYCHFORD by Paul Cornell
THE DREAM-QUEST OF VELLITT BOE by Kij Johnson
HAMMERS ON BONE by Cassandra Khaw
THE BALLAD OF BLACK TOM by Victor LaValle
EVERY HEART A DOORWAY by Seanan McGuire
A TASTE OF HONEY by Kai Ashante Wilson

Best Anthology
THE YEAR’S BEST SCIENCE FICTION: Thirty-Third Annual Collection, edited by Gardner Dozois
INVISIBLE PLANETS, edited by Ken Liu

Best Non-Fiction
THE GEEK FEMINIST REVOLUTION by Kameron Hurley readmoreremove

Tor.com’s Spring/Summer 2017 Season

Greedy Pigs, Hungry Hippos, Demonic Deer and the Summer of Space Opera come to Tor.com Publishing!

RIVER OF TEETH by Sarah Gailey
Out: May 23
“Man-eating hippo mayhem is my new favorite mayhem. Gailey’s debut is a gift of violent, unexpected glee.” — Kevin Hearne

THE RUIN OF ANGELS by Max Gladstone
Out: September 5
The critically acclaimed epic fantasy Craft Sequence that Patrick Rothfuss called “stupefyingly good” begins anew on Tor.com Publishing, with a heist in a god-haunted desert.

THE LAMB WILL SLAUGHTER THE LION by Margaret Killjoy
Out: August 15
The Dispossessed meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in this dropkick-in-the-mouth punk fantasy that Alan Moore calls “scary and energetic.”

A SONG FOR QUIET by Cassandra Khaw
Out: August 29
A subversive Persons Non Grata Lovecraftian horror novella from Cassandra Khaw, author of HAMMERS ON BONE, set in 1940s America in the grips of Jim Crow.

ALL SYSTEMS RED by Martha Wells
Out: May 2
The first novella in the Murderbot Diaries, a new science fiction action and adventure series that tackles questions of the ethics of sentient robotics, perfect for fans of Westworld and Ex Machina.

KILLING GRAVITY by Corey J. White
Out: May 9
This debut novella begins the Voidwitch Saga—a butt-kicking, mind-expanding space opera series starring a psychic supersoldier fleeing from an organization that terrorizes the galaxy.

GREEDY PIGS by Matt Wallace
Out: May 16
The fifth Sin du Jour Affair by Matt Wallace subjects the caterers of Sin du Jour to clients fouler than demons, more decadent than goblin kings, and more dangerous than anything they’ve faced before: politicians.

LIGHTNING IN THE BLOOD by Marie Brennan
Out: May 30
In the sequel to COLD-FORGED FLAME, Ree, a roaming Archeron, spirit of legend and time and physically now bound to her current form, must fully uncover her true identity.

MAPPING THE INTERIOR by Stephen Graham Jones
Out: June 20
Walking through his own house at night, a fifteen-year-old thinks he sees another person stepping through a doorway. Instead of the people who could be there, his mother or his brother, the figure reminds him of his long-gone father, who died mysteriously before his family left the reservation. When he follows it he discovers his house is bigger and deeper than he knew.

THE GHOST LINE by Andrew Neil Gray and J. S. Herbison
Out: July 11
Not all is as it seems on the Martian Queen in this haunting work of science fiction by debut authors Andrew Neil Gray and J. S. Herbison that blends the Expanse series with the grandeur of the Titanic. readmoreremove

Tor.com Fall 2016 Season

TordotcomF16Return to Lychford, explore new love with Kai Ashante Wilson, and explore what it means to be human in the second year of Tor.com Publishing!

HAMMERS ON BONE by Cassandra Khaw
On Sale: October 11
John Persons is a private investigator with a distasteful job from an unlikely client. Can he can take down an abusive stepdad without releasing the holds on his own horrifying potential?

EVERYTHING BELONGS TO THE FUTURE by Laurie Penny
On Sale: October 18
What happens when the rich, but only the rich, get an extra century of life?

A TASTE OF HONEY by Kai Ashante Wilson
On Sale: October 25
A new heart-rending romance from the author of THE SORCERER OF THE WILDEEPS.

THE LOST CHILD OF LYCHFORD by Paul Cornell
On Sale: November 1
Our trio of witches (they don’t approve of “coven”) are about to face their toughest battle, yet!

COLD-FORGED FLAME by Marie Brennan
On Sale: September 13
Setting off on an unexplained quest from which she is compelled to complete, and facing unnatural challenges in a land that doesn’t seem to exist, a mysterious woman will discover the secrets of herself, or die trying. readmoreremove

css.php