Articles tagged "HALCYON"

Fear Not – LJ Genre Spotlight on Horror

Terrified to recommend horror in your library? RAforAll.com / horror guru Becky Spratford‘s recent Library Journal genre spotlight on horror has you (and Macmillan) covered:

According to Melissa Ann Singer, senior editor at Tor/Forge, horror “becomes increasingly popular during times of societal unease. When people are worried that the world is going to pieces around them, when they have lost faith in the idea that things will soon (or even someday) be better than they now are…. The struggle of the horror novel is often the struggle to restore order and normality to a chaotic world, community, or family.”

Horror is also a genre in which critically acclaimed authors of color, such as Victor LaValle (THE BALLAD OF BLACK TOM), Linda Addison, Carmen Maria Machado (HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES), Silvia Moreno-Garcia (CERTAIN DARK THINGS; THE BEAUTIFUL ONES), and Stephen Graham Jones (MAPPING THE INTERIOR), are seeing critical and commercial success, offering inclusive tales that mine terror from both real-world racism and supernatural monsters.

BIG NAMES AND NEW VOICES

The conclusion of Glen Hirshberg’s “Motherless Children Trilogy,” NOTHING TO DEVOUR (Tor, Nov.), contemplates how far a mother—both a human mother and an undead one—will go for her children.

As Michael Homler, an editor at St. Martin’s, explains, the horror genre is ever evolving. “You can have a story that relies on victims getting killed in very painful ways or stories that are more psychological or ones that deal with race and/or religion. They can be literary; they can be commercial. It’s not a one-fits-all genre ­anymore.”

One sign that horror is becoming more mainstream is the willingness of major publishers to take a chance on newer voices. Beginning in July, Rio Youers’s supernatural thriller HALCYON (St. Martin’s) is set on an island oasis in the middle of Lake Ontario, where paradise comes at a horrifying price.

Come September, Brendan Deneen takes the mundane fear of adult responsibility and melds it with the haunted house trope in the fast-paced, chillingly twisted THE CHRYSALIS (Tor). readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (7/12/18 Edition)

Serial killers, sexual predators, and a mystery island…yep, it’s an average #ThrillerThursday!

HALCYON by Rio Youers
On the heels of tragedy, Martin Lovegrove moves his family to Halcyon, a self-sustaining community on a beautiful island in the middle of Lake Ontario. But he soon suspects there is something sinister beneath Halcyon’s perfect veneer and sets out to discover the truth. “[An] exceptional paranormal thriller… Youers humanizes all his characters and makes readers feel the pain of the events he describes.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

A GATHERING OF SECRETS by Linda Castillo
Also available in audio
“Bestseller Castillo addresses the topic of sexual assault in Amish communities in her riveting 10th mystery featuring Painters Mill, Ohio, police chief Kate Burkholder. Castillo’s sensitive handling of her subject matter builds a nuanced, often troubling picture of insular, patriarchal communities in which silence allows predators to thrive. Details of Amish crafts, family life, and commerce contrast with the ugliness of the crimes…armchair travelers should find this a satisfying outing.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Stokercon 2018 Book Buzz (& Happy #ThrillerThursday, John Hart!)

Happy #ThrillerThursday / #BookBirthday week to THE HUSH by John Hart!
Also available in audio
A March 2018 Indie Next pick! New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Hart’s sequel to THE LAST CHILD picks up ten years later when Johnny Merrimon is living in the wilds beyond the town where a dangerous force is at play. “Hart continues to deepen his palette in this ambitious sequel, which is distinctive enough in story and tone to be read as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane’s SHUTTER ISLAND and Tom Franklin’s CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER.” — Library Journal

Today in Providence, RI, our librarian pals Kristi Chadwick & Becky Spratford are buzzing about our books to librarians at Stokercon 2018! Here’s what they covered (in addition to our 2017 Stoker Award nominees):

ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer (movie tie-in edition)
BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire
GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Mallory Ortberg
GLIMPSE by Jonathan Maberry readmoreremove

css.php