Articles tagged "grief"

For Your Consideration: February 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the February 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due December 20Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah
Two starred reviews! From the author of the worldwide phenomenon, THE NIGHTINGALE, comes a story of a family in crisis and a young girl struggling to survive at the edge of the world, in America’s last true frontier: Alaska. “Hannah’s follow-up to her series of blockbuster bestsellers will thrill her fans with its combination of Greek tragedy, Romeo and Juliet-like coming-of-age story, and domestic potboiler. A tour de force.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


FORCE OF NATURE
by Jane Harper

When a whistleblower goes missing on a corporate team-building hike, Agent Aaron Falk must uncover secrets and betrayals among friends to find out what happened in this new thriller from the New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author of THE DRY. “…[Harper] manages to match her debut’s intensity with another riveting, tension-driven thriller. Perfect for fans of Tana French and readers who enjoy literary page-turners.” — Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


THE HUSH
by John Hart

New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Hart’s sequel to THE LAST CHILD picks up ten years later when Johnny Merrimon is living in the wilds beyond the town where a dangerous force is at play.  “Hart continues to deepen his palette in this ambitious sequel, which is distinctive enough in story and tone to be read as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane’s SHUTTER ISLAND and Tom Franklin’s CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER.” — Library Journal

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


THE CHATEAU
by Paul Goldberg

The acclaimed author of THE YID takes us behind the scenes of a Florida condo board election, delivering a wild spin on Miami Beach, petty crime, Jewish identity, and life in Trump’s America. “A master of dark, cutting humor, restless and allusive… Goldberg confirms his status as one of Jewish fiction’s liveliest new voices, walking in the shoes of such deadpan provocateurs as Mordecai Richler and Stanley Elkin.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


GIRL UNKNOWN
by Karen Perry

When a young woman appears in David Connolly’s university office and says, “I think you might be my father,” the Connollys may have a chance to expand their family and how much they can love—or they may be making themselves vulnerable to menace. “Writing duo Karen Gillece and Paul Perry’s second novel (after THE INNOCENT SLEEP, 2014), is must-read literary suspense, with dueling character perspectives and sly twists forming a gut-wrenching exploration of trust, manipulation, and obsession.” — Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


ELOQUENT RAGE: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower
by Brittney Cooper

With searing honesty, intimacy, and humor in the Black feminist tradition of Audre Lorde, America’s leading young black feminist reminds us that anger is a powerful source of energy that can give the strength to keep on fighting. “An ambitious, electrifying memoir. Recommended for readers seeking contemporary social commentary that’s unrelenting yet humorous.” — Library Journal, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

May 2017 Fiction Stars

The stars are aligning for these forthcoming works of fiction:

THE PEOPLE WE HATE AT THE WEDDING by Grant Ginder
“Ginder takes family dysfunction to its hysterical limit in this joyously ribald, sharply cynical, and impossible-to-put-down examination of love and loyalty.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Ginder successfully captures the clash between people who are intimately connected yet deeply at odds. These characters are completely clueless and utterly self-absorbed yet highly likable, their trials and tribulations painful at times and joyful at others but always entertaining. Ginder’s latest is a fascinating exploration of family dynamics and the complex way we interact with those who know us best.” Booklist, starred review

THE DARK DARK: Stories by Samantha Hunt
“These short stories are works of dark, dark magic that skitter between worlds both recognizable and wholly new. Fans of Hunt’s work will revel in her first story collection, which marries her signature flare for the fantastic with keen observation and sharp prose. Grab your comforter and a flashlight for this tour de force collection from one of our most inventive storytellers.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This excellent, inventive collection…is rife with observant asides, sly humor, and surprises.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
readmoreremove

Summer 2016 Indie Love

Terrific news: the ABA just announced their Summer/Fall 2016 Indies Introduce picks, the June 2016 Indie Next list, and the Summer 2016 Kids’ Indie Next List, including these seven Macmillan titles:
Summer/Fall 2016 Indies Introduce

A WHOLE LIFE by Robert Seethaler
Shortlisted for the 2016 Man Booker International Prize! Set in the mid-twentieth century and told with beauty and tenderness, this is a story of man’s relationship with an ancient landscape, of the value of solitude, of the arrival of the modern world, and above all, of the moments that make us who we are.

CHILDREN OF THE NEW WORLD by Alexander Weinstein
“Director of The Martha’s Vineyard Institute of Creative Writing, Weinstein explains that ‘these stories arose from my growing concern over the effects that the internet age is having on our social, emotional, and psychological interactions.’ As a result, his stories look like SF—consider the childless couple living in a virtual-reality community whose child there is wiped out by a computer virus—but read like literary fiction. Calling all fans of Margaret Atwood and Emily St. John Mandel.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

June 2016 Indie Next list

GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS by Max Porter
Part novella, part polyphonic fable, part essay on grief, Porter’s extraordinary debut combines compassion and bravura style to dazzling effect. “Elegant, imaginative, and perfectly paced. A contribution to the literature of grief and to literature in general.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

Teen Talk Tuesday (11/17/15 Edition)

Hey hey YA Librarians! This month we’re thrilled that one of our favorite fall Griffin Teen titles is now on your shelves: HOW TO BE BRAVE by E. Katherine Kottaras, an emotional contemporary story about love, loss, and having the courage to chase the life you truly want.

“Georgia’s realistically profane voice aptly captures her personality, carrying the novel; her traverse through grief and experimentation make for a believable and satisfying character arc. A thoughtful exploration of grief and life.” — Kirkus Reviews

“This is a solid story of loss that fits in well with other recent stories of grief in the face of a parent’s death, like Jennifer Castle’s THE BEGINNING OF AFTER and Jennifer Brown’s TORN AWAY. The book’s strongest sections are the lyrical flashbacks that tell the story of her mother’s life and death, but Georgia’s struggles with weight and body image are also handled with care. A perfect book for anyone trying to figure out what they want their life to look like, and how to be brave enough to make that life a reality.” — Booklist

“Georgia’s Greek-American heritage offers a distinctive backdrop for the novel’s themes of emotional healing and self-discovery, while Georgia herself emerges as a realistically flawed and genuine protagonist.” — Publishers Weekly

YOU KNOW ME WELL FINALPlus, Entertainment Weekly just ran a cover reveal and posted the first two chapters of YOU KNOW ME WELL by David Levithan & Nina LaCour! 

Don’t forget to join @earlyword later today at 5pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya) to brag about your favorite teen reads! Looking for books to add to your TBR pile? Check out our Books for Teens Twenty-SixTEEN!

Stars & More for ROSALIE LIGHTNING!

ROSALIE LIGHTNING is Eisner-nominated cartoonist Tom Hart’s beautiful and touching graphic memoir about the untimely death of his young daughter, Rosalie. Using the graphic form to articulate his and his wife’s on-going search for meaning in the aftermath of Rosalie’s death, Hart explores themes of grief, hopelessness, rebirth, and eventually finding hope again.

A January 2015 Indie Next pick
A Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers pick
THREE starred reviews:

“Using stories from popular culture, mythology, and folklore as metaphors for his own experiences, Hart takes an extremely personal experience of loss and grief and makes it universal. Incredibly moving, and stunningly executed.” — Booklist, starred review

“The death of a child is one of the heaviest subjects imaginable, and to capture that devastation in a very cartoony style, as Hart does here, is no small feat. Beautiful and gut-wrenching…a gift to every reader and to anyone who has grieved.”
Library Journal, starred review

“What catapults this graphic novel into greatness, however, is its honesty. Hart delves into details other creators might have excised—Rosalie’s favorite phrases, the odd thoughts one fixates on in the midst of catastrophe—and it is this candor that will likely leave many readers in tears. ROSALIE LIGHTNING is a masterpiece—and a luminous tribute to a brief, beautiful life.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

 

Watch the amazing book trailer. readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (3/31/15 Edition)

Today we wish Happy #BookBday to two new books destined for the bestseller list:

THE PATRIOT THREAT by Steve Berry
Minotaur’s first novel from renowned New York Times bestseller Berry continues the riveting, history-based Cotton Malone series with a dangerous question: What if the federal income tax is illegal?

The Associated Press calls THE PATRIOT THREAT “one of Berry’s best books to date.” Plus, there’s a good chance you’ll see him on the road during his massive cross-country tour that includes several library stops and the Texas Library Association Conference!

4/2 Carnegie Library – 3 events in Pittsburgh, PA
4/9 Highlands Ranch Library in Denver, CO
4/16 Texas Library Association Conference in Austin, TX
4/18 St. Louis County Library in St. Louis, MO
4/22 Nashville Public Library Foundation in Nashville, TN
4/23 Warren County Public Library in Bowling Green, KY
4/24 Gwinnett County Public Library in Atlanta, GA
4/25 Cobb Library Foundation in Kennesaw, GA

UNFORGETTABLE by Scott Simon
@nprscottsimon: Mother called: “I can’t talk. I’m surrounded by handsome men.” Emergency surgery. If you can hold a thought for her now…

@nprscottsimon: I am getting a life’s lesson about grace from my mother in the ICU. We never stop learning from our mothers, do we?

“In this tender memoir developed from a series of Twitter messages, Simon, the host of NPR’s Weekend Edition Saturday, finds the last week of his mother’s life to be a time for them to cherish each other and tenderly reminisce. He takes his quirky, devoted, gracious mother on her own terms, and his work shimmers as a touching tribute.” — Publishers Weekly

“Simon’s memoir is so captivating that everyone, not just fans of NPR’s Weekend Edition Saturday, will enjoy learning about the wellspring that nourished the award-winning journalist’s wit, intelligence, heart, and chutzpah.” — Booklist, starred review

For a truly immersive experience, listen to the audiobook edition, narrated by Simon (clip available here).

 

css.php