Articles tagged "Graham Greene"

Genre Stars!

We’re seeing many stars for these great genre reads:

BY GASLIGHT by Steven Price
“With its intricate cat-and-mouse game, array of idiosyncratic characters, and brooding atmosphere, BY GASLIGHT has much to please fans of both classic suspense and Victorian fiction.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The author’s blend of quest, grief, betrayal, and the mysteries of identity will appeal to readers of literary crime fiction.” — Library Journal, starred review

BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
“Another morally and emotionally fraught thriller from British writer Doughty (APPLE TREE YARD), this one about an operative for an Amsterdam-based black-ops organization grappling with fallout from his personal and professional history in Indonesia. Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Doughty takes a page from John le Carré, crafting a riveting, psychological, morally ambiguous tale. Harper’s backstory is richly detailed, and his budding relationship with Rita is convincing. Finally, the role of mercenaries in world affairs adds a new perspective to the spy novel genre.” Library Journal, starred review

DESOLATION FLATS by Andrew Hunt
“Set in 1938, Hunt’s outstanding third mystery featuring Mormon policeman Art Oveson (after A KILLING IN ZION) combines a moving portrayal of a man attempting to deal with his wife’s depression with a clever whodunit story line. The richness of the characters, including secondary ones, and the imaginative plot make this the best yet in the series.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“[A] knockout of a novel… so powerful it can be taken as a stand-alone. The real magic here, though, is the author’s ability to make this ordinary man so fascinating. Credit Hunt’s writing. Like his hero, it’s only plain on the surface.” Booklist, starred review
readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (9/15/16 Edition)

Historical mysteries, a spy thriller, and a tropical debut get our #ThrillerThursday stamp of approval:

THE SECRETS OF WISHTIDE by Kate Saunders
A September 2016 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! “Combining the strengths of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin, Laetitia Rodd towers over both of these genteel sleuths in wit, tact, and ingenuity. The book is a sheer delight, with its deliciously intricate puzzle and well-drawn characters whom readers are sure to continue to enjoy in volumes to come.”
Booklist, starred review

BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
From the author of APPLE TREE YARD comes a masterful espionage thriller “in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review). “Doughty takes a page from John le Carré, crafting a riveting, psychological, morally ambiguous tale. Harper’s backstory is richly detailed, and his budding relationship with Rita is convincing. Finally, the role of mercenaries in world affairs adds a new perspective to the spy novel genre.” — Library Journal, starred review

SUN, SAND, MURDER by John Keyse-Walker
Winner of the Minotaur Books/MWA First Crime Novel Award! Teddy Creque’s life turns upside down when a tourist is murdered on his peaceful, remote tropical island, Anegada. “Spectacular as a Caribbean sunset, Keyse-Walker’s debut is a well-paced puzzler no one should miss.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (3/8/16 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to these new titles on shelves now:

PEACEKEEPING by Mischa Berlinski
Two stars for this sophomore novel from National Book Award nominee Berlinski, in which a former deputy sheriff and failed politician takes a job in Haiti where he befriends an American-educated judge and falls in love with the judge’s wife. “[Berlinski] is a kind of heir to Graham Greene and Robert Stone, both for his excellent storytelling and for the way it can reveal a bigger picture.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CRAZY BLOOD by T. Jefferson Parker
A ferocious rivalry between brothers takes place in the high octane world of Olympic skiing. “In a change of pace from his crime novels, three-time Edgar Award winner Parker delivers an intricate and atmospheric family drama reminiscent of the works of T.C. Boyle and John Steinbeck.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

css.php