Articles tagged "gothic"

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE WOMAN IN THE MIRROR

This week’s forthcoming #FridayReads spotlight features a chilling modern gothic novel of a family consumed by the shadows and secrets of its past–Rebecca James’ THE WOMAN IN THE MIRROR.

For more than two centuries, Winterbourne Hall has stood atop a bluff overseeing the English countryside of Cornwall and the sea beyond.

In 1947, Londoner Alice Miller accepts a post as governess at Winterbourne, looking after Captain Jonathan de Grey’s twin children. Falling under the de Greys’ spell, Alice believes the family will heal her own past sorrows. But then the twins’ adoration becomes deceitful and taunting. Their father, ever distant, turns spiteful and cruel. The manor itself seems to lash out. Alice finds her surroundings subtly altered, her air slightly chilled. Something malicious resents her presence, something clouding her senses and threatening her very sanity.

readmoreremove

New E-Galleys for October 2019

Hello e-galley readers! Check out some of the exciting e-galleys that were added to Edelweiss this month for your downloading pleasure:

GONE BY MIDNIGHT by Candice Fox

Crimson Lake is where people with dark pasts come to disappear—and where others vanish into thin air.

A BAD DAY FOR SUNSHINE by Darynda Jones

Police chief Sunshine Vicram finds her cup o’ joe more than half full when the small village of Del Sol, New Mexico, becomes the center of national attention for a killer on the loose.

HID FROM OUR EYES: A Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne Mystery by Julia Spencer-Fleming

New York Times bestseller Julia Spencer-Fleming returns to her beloved Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne mystery series with new crimes that span decades.

readmoreremove

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER

A young woman confronts ancient forces in the depths of the bayou in Andy Davidson’s gorgeous, moody, horrifying novel, THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER.

Miranda Crabtree has spent a quiet life ferrying contraband for a mad preacher and his declining band of followers to make ends meet and to protect an old witch and a secret child from harm. But dark forces are at work in the bayou, both human and supernatural, conspiring to disrupt the rhythms of Miranda’s peculiar and precarious life. And when the preacher makes an unthinkable demand, it sets Miranda on a desperate, dangerous path, forcing her to consider what she is willing to sacrifice to keep her loved ones safe.

A great combination of Gothic horror, fantastic world-building, and thrilling pacing, Davidson’s unique voice will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Joe Hill, Justin Cronin, and Jeff VanderMeer. The author’s debut was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for First Novel, so we’re very excited for him to join our list!

Download an e-galley of THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER from Edelweiss here.

Day’s YA – WICKED SAINTS

Happy Friday, YA pals!

My latest pick is a dark, gothic-inspired fantasy that had me hooked from the first chapter.

WICKED SAINTS by Emily A. Duncan
9781250195661
Available April 2, 2019 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

My name is Nadezhda Lapteva, she thought. I am from the monastery in the Baikkle Mountains. I am a cleric of the divine. I am here to kill the king and end this war.
She would bring this country to its knees.”

Meet the last living Kalyazi cleric with the ability to communicate with the gods, Nadya. She is strong, smart, and her unique power is key to defeating her nation’s enemy (the Tranavians) and their evil blood magic.

Meet Tranavian blood mage and Nadya’s biggest enemy, Malachiasz. He is monstrous, beautiful, and a little bit broken.

readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Graywolf Press

Ahwoooooo! That’s the howl of Graywolf Press crushing the 2018 Man Booker Prize shortlist and rocking our #FridayReads with these super-star gems:

SCRIBE by Alyson Hagy
Two starred reviews for this gothic, apocalyptic, dystopian novel filled with myth and folklore from the hills of Appalachia!

“Set after a civil war and deadly fevers decimate the country, Hagy’s new novel is a slim and affecting powerhouse. Timely and timeless; a deft novel about the consequences and resilience of storytelling.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Taut and tense, with both a dreamlike quality and a strong sense of place, Hagy’s brief but powerful tale will indelibly haunt readers long after the final page is turned.” — Booklist, starred review

THE LAST ENGLISHMEN: Love, War, and the End of Empire by Deborah Baker
Two starred reviews for this sumptuous biographical saga, both intimate and epic, about the waning of the British Empire in India!

“A Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award finalist takes readers on a journey through the Indian subcontinent at the closing of the British Empire. Seemingly covering disparate topics, Baker beautifully connects them all with an incisive, clear writing style and sharp descriptions of the terrain. A book for any readers curious about India after 1900.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

Happy Halloween 2016!

halloween2016-editHappy Halloween! Talia “Terror Cat” Sherer and “Anna Banana” share their spooky reads to celebrate the day:

THE MOTION OF PUPPETS by Keith Donohue
An October 2016 LibraryReads pick! This new horror novel from the bestselling author of the LibraryReads pick THE BOY WHO DREW MONSTERS (which has been optioned for film) is a chilling tale of romance and enchantment set in a Québec toy shop, patterned after the Greek myth of Orpheus and Eurydice. “Intricately plotted, absorbing, and suspenseful, this is a moving, modern story set in what feels like a fairy-tale world but is actually terrifyingly realistic.” — Booklist, starred review

SHIRLEY JACKSON’S “THE LOTTERY”: The Authorized Graphic Adaptation by Miles Hyman
Available simultaneously in trade paperback
Two starred reviews! Published in time for Jackson’s centennial, this graphic adaptation masterfully reimagines her iconic story with a striking visual narrative created by her grandson, Miles Hyman. “A stunning graphic adaptation of a chilling classic.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE FAMILY PLOT by Cherie Priest
“In Priest’s gothic haunted-house story, workers at failing architectural salvage company are given a once-in-a-lifetime chance to reverse their fortunes, if they can survive the ghosts plaguing the property. Priest spices up a standard haunting with an irresistible premise focused on the “hidden treasure” aspect of salvage work. Highly recommended for fans of contemporary ghost stories.” — Booklist, starred review

THE GRAVEYARD APARTMENT by Mariko Koike
A terrifying tale of a young family who moves into an apartment building next to a graveyard, and the horrors that are unleashed upon them. “The haunting itself is well done and scary. The atmosphere and anticipation build perfectly to create an apartment building one would be quite hesitant to live in. Fans of classic ghost stories, such as THE HAUNTING OF HILL HOUSE, will appreciate the subtle chills.” — Booklist readmoreremove

css.php