Articles tagged "ghosts"

Fall 2016 & Winter 2017 Sci-Fi Preview

We loved seeing Booklist‘s Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror picks and are excited for Tor.com’s Fall 2016 season. Here’s even MORE sci-fi and fantasy we’re looking forward to this fall and in Winter 2017, plus a special video for all you lovely librarians from Leanna Renee Hieber, author of ETERNA & OMEGA (available now).

SPELLBREAKER by Blake Charlton – THREE STARS!!!
“The thrilling conclusion to the Spellwright trilogy answers some lingering questions about Leandra’s parents and brings descriptive depth to her character. … It will appeal to readers who enjoy high fantasy, complex worlds, and characters that change and grow throughout the story.” —Booklist, starred review

“There is significant emotional depth to the story, and ponderings on fate, love, and the purpose of human society give the novel some gravitas. Intricate plotting, strong characters, and a wonderfully imagined world make this a winner.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The worldbuilding and the conflict are expertly delineated, but much of the trilogy’s focus is far more intimate: a richly textured portrait of personal growth . . . Vivid, intelligent, and painful in an authentically laudable way.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

EVERFAIR by Nisi Shawl
A Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Book of Fall 2016! In this deeply compelling debut novel, Shawl takes readers to an alternate Earth where the inhumane history of the Belgian Congo is brilliantly rewritten when Africa’s indigenous populations learn about steam power. “This highly original story blends steampunk and political intrigue in a compelling new view of a dark piece of human history.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

CLOUDBOUND by Fran Wilde
The sequel to UPDRAFT, which won the 2015 Nebula Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy. “What makes this a must-read are the further explorations of Wilde’s City of Towers and the residents who soar the skies between them. Those who have always wondered what was beneath the clouds will finally get their answer.” — Library Journal

GHOST TALKERS by Mary Robinette Kowal
Ginger Stuyvesant, an American heiress living in London during World War I, is working as a medium for the Spirit Corps when she discovers a traitor. “The well-drawn characters and the story’s gripping action and deep emotion will captivate readers.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

NEVERNIGHT by Jay Kristoff
“Launching the Nevernight fantasy series, Kristoff (the Lotus War trilogy) creates a splendid world of corruption and violence. Absorbing in its complexity and bold in its bloodiness, this beginning promises (and delivers) equal shares of beauty and decay. With a delicate balance of the ancient and the magical, this tense and brutal tale is unflinching, thrilling, and satisfying.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

REPORTS ON THE INTERNET APOCALYPSE by Wayne Gladstone
In the third and final installment of the Internet Apocalypse Trilogy, Gladstone, the would-be Internet Messiah, finds himself in exile from America, falsely accused of terrorism and murder. When the World Wide Web returns in a highly compromised and commercialized state, possibly due to the efforts of a billionaire presidential candidate, Gladstone and his pursuers must collaborate in an attempt to reclaim a free and open Internet.

Winter 2017:

readmoreremove

Booklist’s Best SF/Fantasy/Horror of 2016

Booklist recently unveiled their Top 10 SF/Fantasy/Horror reading lists of 2016, including these Macmillan titles:
Top 10 SF/Fantasy: 2016 (full list)

ARABELLA OF MARS by David D. Levine
The alternate-world science is novel, and the plot is thrilling in this Verne-inspired tale, a joyous throwback to sf adventure of old.

Top 10 Horror: 2016 (full list)

PRESSURE by Brian Keane
Carrie free-dives deep underwater to help determine why the ocean floor is collapsing. As if that’s not scary enough, she encounters a creature that destroys everything in its path. A gory, winning horror thriller—a different kind of beach read, you might say.

Top 10 Youth SF/Fantasy/Horror on Audio (full list)

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell, read by Euan Morton
Dramatizing a Harry Potter–like world filled with wizards, vampires, ghosts, pixies, and shape-shifting demons coexisting with “Normals,” Morton displays a chimerical skill at voicing characters and captivates with his humor- and horror-steeped performance.

CARRY ON was also mentioned in Michael Cart’s Carte Blanche column on Speculative Fiction and LGBTQ Literature.

Core Collection: Space Operas (full list)

THE DARK BETWEEN THE STARS by Kevin J. Anderson
Anderson (also famous for his many series titles) hits it out of the galaxy again: space opera doesn’t get much more exciting, or much more richly populated with alien races, technologies, and cultures, than it does in this sprawling, engrossing epic. A joint exploratory mission to the edge of the galaxy reveals an alien presence, one so powerful that it could conceivably wipe out all life in the galaxy.

EARTH UNAWARE by Orson Scott Card and Aaron Johnston
The beginning of this prequel series to the ever-popular ENDER’S GAME finds young Victor Delgado risking his life to warn earth of the impending invasion.

REDSHIRTS by John Scalzi
Ensign Andrew Dahl, assigned to the spaceship Intrepid, begins to notice that things are a bit weird. His shipmates frequently behave in an unpredictable or unmotivated manner, and problems are often resolved by the use of the Box, a mysterious vessel that, when you input a seemingly unsolvable problem, spits out a resolution after a suitably dramatic pause. As he tries to figure out what the heck is going on around him, Andy discovers a truth so staggering that he has no choice but to believe it. readmoreremove

Sci-Fi/Fantasy Roundup

These new & forthcoming science fiction & fantasy titles will transport you to another world:

SPELLS OF BLOOD AND KIN by Claire Humphrey
“Human warmth underlies this exciting and furiously paced fable of fur, fangs, and family. Emphasizing intricate family dynamics alongside shape-changing and magic, Humphrey’s debut merges victim and victimizer, reality and the occult. This paranormal tale stands out even in its very crowded field.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE BIG SHEEP by Robert Kroese
Sherlock meets Blade Runner in this novel that explores society’s fascination with celebrity in a futuristic dystopic LA, with a genetically modified sheep in the center of it all. “Fans of Sherlock Holmes and Douglas Adams’s ‘Dirk Gently’ novels will find things to love in Kroese’s latest.” — Library Journal, starred review

TIME SIEGE by Wesley Chu
“In this engrossing sequel to TIME SALVAGER, Chu continues a futuristic saga that pits fugitive time traveler James Griffin-Mars and his allies, who seek to rescue a ravaged Earth from utter destruction, against Valta, the megacorporation that rules the galaxies. The story’s intricate plotting, breathtaking battles, and hefty doses of cruelty, betrayal, sacrifice, courage, and hope culminate in a cliff-hanger that will leave readers longing for the next installment.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

INFOMOCRACY by Malka Older
Little Brother meets The West Wing in this “sparkling debut”* high-tech political cyberthriller about a global information monopoly attempting to prevent election sabotage and world war. “This intriguing thought experiment is perfectly timed to leave readers pondering the meaning of voting and representative government in the run-up to the 2016 elections.” — *Publishers Weekly

LAST NIGHT A SUPERHERO SAVED MY LIFE: Neil Gaiman!! Jodi Picoult!! Brad Meltzer!!…and an All-Star Roster on the Caped Crusaders That Changed Their Lives by Liesa Mignogna
An anthology of essays exploring the origins of bestselling and award-winning authors’ relationships to their favorite superheroes. “This is a collection with a lot of heart and variety; each piece takes the premise in a different direction and unveils in compelling ways why these superheroes are so revered.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (8/26/14 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to these fabulous new titles:

LOCK IN by John Scalzi
Scalzi’s near-future thriller landed on the August 2014 LibraryReads list and received three starred pre-publication reviews, like this one from Kirkus: “This SF thriller provides yet more evidence that Scalzi is a master at creating appealing commercial fiction.”

FIVES AND TWENTY FIVES by Michael Pitre
Early buzz has been building for Pitre’s incredible debut novel (it’s a B&N Discover New Writers pick, a Library Journal Best Summer Debut, a September 2014 Indie Next selection, a “Summer/Fall Indies Introduce Promotion” selection, and a featured Maximum Shelf Awareness title) and now major media is ramping up. Pitre will be interviewed on NPR’s “All Things Considered” (air date TBD), and reviews are coming in from USA Today, the Washington Post, and the New York Times, which called FIVES AND TWENTY FIVES, “an unblinking, razor-edged portrait of the war.”

THE FURIES by Natalie Haynes
Another Library Journal Best Summer Debut selection is Haynes’s “accomplished psychological mystery” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) about a drama teacher whose students react to Greek tragedies in dark and surprising ways. “Fans of suspense fiction with depth will especially enjoy this read.” — Library Journal

THE PHANTOM COACH: A Connoisseur’s Collection of Victorian Ghost Stories by Michael Sims
Sims’s collection of “delightfully creepy”* Victorian ghost stories from famous writers such as Charles Dickens, Edith Wharton, Henry James, Thomas Hardy, and Arthur Conan Doyle is “a great collection for literature fans who enjoy lesser-known stories by famous novelists.” — *Booklist

css.php