Articles tagged "ghost story"

Happy #BookBday (6/6/17 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday, especially when they’re great summer reads!

THE PEOPLE WE HATE AT THE WEDDING by Grant Ginder
One of Entertainment Weekly‘s Summer’s Must-Read Books and PW‘s Best Books of Summer 2017 with two starred reviews! A bitingly funny, hugely entertaining novel in which a fractured family from the Chicago suburbs must gather in London for their eldest daughter’s marriage to an upper-crust Englishman. “Ginder takes family dysfunction to its hysterical limit in this joyously ribald, sharply cynical, and impossible-to-put-down examination of love and loyalty.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE ANSWERS by Catherine Lacey
One of Buzzfeed’s “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer” with two starred reviews!Startling and stunning and compulsively strange, Lacey’s sophomore novel is a haunting investigation into the nature of love. With otherworldly precision and subtle wit, Lacey creates a gently surreal dreamscape that’s both intoxicating and profound. A singular novel; as unexpected as it is rich.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

GRIEF COTTAGE by Gail Godwin
One of Buzzfeed’s “Thrillers You Will Devour This Summer” with two starred reviews! The haunting tale of a desolate cottage, a tragic accident, and the hair-thin junction between this life and the next, from bestselling National Book Award finalist Godwin. “With intriguingly eccentric supporting characters and a dramatic setting, Godwin’s riveting and wise story of the slow coalescence of trust and love between a stoic artist and a grieving boy, and of nature’s glory and indifference, subtly and insightfully explores different forms of haunting and vulnerability, strength and survival. Word will spread quickly about Godwin’s tender and spellbinding supernatural novel.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Memorial Day Weekend 2017 Reading Roundup

Memorial Day weekend is here (hooray!) and we’re stacking our to-read piles with these major media-recommended books:
Entertainment Weekly — Summer’s Must-Read Books

BOUNDLESS by Jillian Tamaki
Cartoonist Tamaki dazzles with her impressive range in this collection, marrying each short story to a different artistic style. Whether she’s writing and drawing about the pitfalls of technology or ruminating on nostalgia, her work is lush, vibrant, and packed with emotion.

LIFE IN CODE by Ellen Ullman
Ullman, a computer programmer since the ’70s, expands on the themes she covered in 1997’s CLOSE TO THE MACHINE with pieces about what it was like on the forefront of the tech revolution, being a woman in a male-donimated industry, and how the tech landscape has (and hasn’t) changed.

THE PEOPLE WE HATE AT THE WEDDING by Grant Ginder
In Ginder’s glitzy beach read, things spiral out of control in the days leading up to a wedding as a charmingly dysfunctional family—brimming with oddball stepsiblings—does everything it can to sabotage the nuptials.

The New York TimesSummer Reading Recommendations, From Novelists Who Own Bookstores

Jonathan Lethem, author of A GAMBLER’S ANATOMY & owner of Red Gap Books, a used and rare bookstore in Blue Hill, ME recommends BROKEN RIVER by J. Robert Lennon
“It’s a tense, surprising thriller, with perverse overtones of the Coen brothers variety, but containing an enigmatic narrative device, a kind of ‘haunting of the point-of-view’ – one which proves, as ever, that the novel can do things nothing but the novel can do. I’m almost ready to reread it.”

Jeff Kinney, author of the bestselling “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” series and owner of An Unlikely Story in Plainville, MA recommends RADICAL CANDOR by Kim Scott (“Scott’s experiences leading teams at Google and Apple led to this book, which espouses a workplace culture where leaders care deeply about their employees and challenge them to be their best selves.”) and BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer (“The cover alone had me hooked. Is the protagonist a plant? An animal? Something in between?”).

Louise Erdrich, author of LAROSE & owner of Birchbark Books in Minneapolis, MN recommends THE SONG POET by Kao Kalia Yang
“The exquisite story of Kao Kalia Yang’s father, village life, war life, refugee life, then a St. Paul housing project; America’s secret war in Laos; and a people’s history as sung by Bee Yang and remembered in fascinating and poetic detail by his daughter.”

Buzzfeed’s “Thrillers You Will Devour This Summer

IT’S ALWAYS THE HUSBAND by Michele Campbell
Fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn meet your next obsession. Kate, Aubrey, and Jenny were inseparable in college. 20 years later, one of them is found dead. How did it come to this? Alternating between their college years and the present day, readers slowly come to realize that their friendship was anything but perfect. But can feelings that strong really lead to murder, or will everyone assume, as is often the case, that it’s always the husband? Only one way for you to find out… readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (10/13/16 Edition)

Terror and thrills lurk behind the pages of these #ThrillerThursday picks:

A MOST NOVEL REVENGE by Ashley Weaver
In librarian Weaver’s third entry in the LibraryReads/Edgar-nominated charming mystery series set in 1930s England, Amory and Milo Ames are drawn into the investigation of a years-old murder by a salacious novelist in the English countryside. “Fascinating and stylish characters fill out a finely tuned traditional mystery.”
Publishers Weekly

THE GRAVEYARD APARTMENT by Mariko Koike
A terrifying tale of a young family who moves into an apartment building next to a graveyard, and the horrors that are unleashed upon them. “The haunting itself is well done and scary. The atmosphere and anticipation build perfectly to create an apartment building one would be quite hesitant to live in. Fans of classic ghost stories, such as THE HAUNTING OF HILL HOUSE, will appreciate the subtle chills.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/27/14 Edition) plus Left Coast Crime Award winners!

Happy #ThrillerThursday, friends! We've got a creepy new crop of mysteries, plus Left Coast Crime Award Winners! Read on for more:

THE COAL BLACK ASPHALT TOMB by David Handler
Romantic crime-fighting duo Mitch Berger and Desiree Mitry must go up against the town's aristocracy to solve the forty-year-old murder of a missing Navy flyer, found during overdue construction on a quaint New England road. "The affable Burger mines town gossip, and Mitry digs into some sordid town history en route to the satisfying resolution of the murder case." — Publishers Weekly

I REMEMBER YOU by Yrsa Sigurdardottir
"Sigurdardottir has written an excellent and seriously scary mystery with tangible and supernatural elements that will appeal to fans of John Ajvide Lindqvist (LET THE RIGHT ONE IN)." Library Journal, starred review.
We loved this one (and some of you did, too!).

THE REVENANT OF THRAXTON HALL by Vaughn Entwistle
In Entwistle's debut, Arthur Conan Doyle and Oscar Wilde team up to investigate the future death of a medium at a manor in the English countryside. "Entwistle assembles an intriguing cast, including a levitator whose acts go awry, an enigmatic foreign count, and a Russian mystic who warns of dangerous revenants (returning spirits), for his whimsical plot." — Publishers Weekly

NOTORIOUS by Allison Brennan
In this start of a new series, bestselling author Brennan introduces tough-as-nails TV reporter Max Revere, who's got a knack for solving cold cases–except for the one from her own past. "[A] terrific new series. Sandra Brown and Hank Phillippi Ryan fans will feel right at home." – Booklist, starred review

WITHOUT WARNING by David Rosenfelt
When a small town in Maine is devastated by a hurricane, it unearths a time capsule that includes predictions about past murders...and future ones to come. "Descriptions of Rosenfelt’s latest stand-alone: Spooky. Creepy. Edgy. Chilling. Shuddery. What more could anyone want? The novel steps into Michael Connelly ground... highly recommended for readers craving that elusive 'something different.'” — Booklist  

The Left Coast Crime Awards were recently announced and we're thrilled to have three winners from Minotaur Books:

The Lefty: Best humorous mystery novel
THE GOOD COP by Brad Parks 

The Bruce Alexander Memorial Historical Mystery Award: Best historical mystery novel covering events before 1960
DANDY GILVER AND A BOTHERSOME NUMBER OF CORPSES by Catriona McPherson

The Calamari: Best mystery set anywhere else in the world
HOW THE LIGHT GETS IN by Louise Penny


Click here
to see the full list of nominees and winners. Congratulations to all winners! 

readmoreremove

Stars for I REMEMBER YOU

TGIF! We hope y’all survived the polar vortex on the couch under a blanket with a good book and steaming mug of cocoa. (No? There's your weekend plan. You’re welcome.)

Today we've got a great ghost story with two early starred reviews and love from readers: I REMEMBER YOU by Yrsa Sigurdardottir. 

Partly based on a true story, this supernatural thriller weaves together two separate tales–a young doctor investigating the suicide of an elderly woman who was obsessed with the doctor's vanished son and three friends who are disturbed by a presence while renovating a rundown house in an isolated village–into an unforgettable read. 

"In a departure from her series featuring lawyer Thora Gudmundsdottir, Iceland’s queen of suspense combines modern crime detection with mysticism to chilling effect. Sigurdardottir skillfully builds the early ominous warnings...as the unexplained becomes terrifying. Nordic mystery writers can raise goosebumps as few others can, and Sigurdardottir shows she’s one of the best." – Booklist, starred review  

"Sigurdardottir has written an excellent and seriously scary mystery with tangible and supernatural elements that will appeal to fans of John Ajvide Lindqvist (LET THE RIGHT ONE IN)." – Library Journal, starred review  

I Remember You tweet

Get whitelisted on Edelweiss and read I REMEMBER YOU
css.php