Articles tagged "Geoff Manaugh"

2018 Texas Topaz List

We’re proud to have four books on the 2018 Texas Topaz Nonfiction Reading List!

A BURGLAR’S GUIDE TO THE CITY by Geoff Manaugh

DO NO HARM: Stories of Life, Death, and Brain Surgery by Henry Marsh

I’M JUDGING YOU: The Do-Better Manual by Luvvie Ajayi

THE MONOPOLISTS: Obsession, Fury and the Scandal Behind the World’s Favorite Board Game by Mary Pilon

The purpose of the Topaz Nonfiction Reading List is to provide children and adults with recommended nonfiction titles that stimulate reading for pleasure and personal learning. Click here to view the full Topaz list or download a copy here.

Librarians “Read ‘n Rave” Their Favorite ALA Annual 2015 Picks!

Last Monday we rounded out a terrific ALA Annual 2015 with a standing-room only Read ‘n Rave panel (similar to BEA’s Shout ‘n Share) moderated by Booklist‘s Rebecca Vnuk. Here’s what the all-star collection development specialists found on the exhibit floor to share with you:

Seattle Public Library’s David Wright kicked it off with A BURGLAR’S GUIDE TO THE CITY by Geoff Manaugh, noting that “You don’t have to get very far in before you start casing every place you’re in.” He also mentioned GIVE US THE BALLOT by Ari Berman, saying that it’s incredibly important to the civil rights movement still occurring today.

Kansas City Public Library’s Kaite Mediatore Stover called Sally Hepworth’s THE THINGS WE KEEP, “A gut-puncher about early onset Alzheimer’s.”

Chicago Public Library’s Stephen Sposato had lots of love for many Macmillan books, starting with THE FISH LADDER by Katharine Norbury. He described it as a “very scenic” adoption story with the appeal of Cheryl Strayed’s WILD and THE SHEPHERD’S LIFE by James Rebanks. Sposato said that the BEA Buzz Book BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT by Damon Tweedy “lives up to the hype” and that it would make an excellent pair with neurosurgeon Henry Marsh’s DO NO HARM. His final recommendation was THE WAKE by Paul Kingsnorth, a postapocalyptic novel set after the Norman Invasion optioned for film by Mark Rylance (Wolf Hall).

Hillsboro Public Library’s Stephanie Chase (and several audience members) were crazy about Jenny Lawson’s FURIOUSLY HAPPY. Chase mentioned that you could get your picture taken with the giant cut-out in the Macmillan booth. She also gave two thumbs up for THE END OF ALL THINGS by John Scalzi and gave the briefest of shout outs for CARRY ON “because it’s Rainbow Rowell.”

Last but not least, King County Library System’s Alene Moroni enticed the audience with HOME IS BURNING by Dan Marshall after reading the tag line on the galley aloud (“For the Marshalls, laughter is the best medicine, especially when combined with alcohol, pain pills, excessive cursing, sexual escapades, actual medicine, and more alcohol.”), adding “these are MY people!”

Looking for more recommendations? Check out what Talia presented at the “Three’s Company” Book Buzz at ALA Annual!

Librarians “Shout ‘n Share” Their Favorite BEA 2015 Picks!

Last Friday we rounded out a terrific BEA 2015 with the annual Shout ‘n Share panel. Here’s what your librarian pals found on the show floor to rave about:

Columbus Metropolitan Library’s Robin Nesbitt kicked it off with some genre love, highlighting THE TRAITOR BARU CORMORANT by Seth Dickinson (“It’s like THE HUNDRED THOUSAND KINGDOMS meets GUNS, GERMS, AND STEEL!”) and Sarah Ward’s debut mystery, IN BITTER CHILL, which she said is perfect for fans of Louise Penny, Sharon Bolton, and Elizabeth George.

New York Public Library/Bookops’s Charlene Rue was captivated by Damon Tweedy’s medical memoir, BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT, which was also a BEA Editor’s Buzz pick.

Massachusetts Library System’s Kristi Chadwick loved Elsa Hart’s historical mystery debut about an exiled librarian, JADE DRAGON MOUNTAIN. “The language, the prose is so beautiful it takes you into the story and keeps you going page after page.” She also gave two enthusiastic thumbs up for Jenny Lawson’s humorous memoir of mental illness, FURIOUSLY HAPPY, saying, “she knows how to hit the heart and make sure you know you’re not alone if you’re struggling with this.”

Baltimore County Public Library’s Jamie Watson tweeted that if she had more time she would have called out Maggie Mitchell’s PRETTY IS.

Library Journal‘s Wilda Williams shared that reading THE KILLING LESSONS by Saul Black “will make you want to lock all the doors in your house,” and she revealed that Saul Black is a pseudonym for bestselling author Glen Duncan, who wrote THE LAST WEREWOLF. She also recommended THE MARK AND THE VOID by Paul Murray, noting that “it has the same humor, warmth and pathos as SKIPPY DIES.”

From the floor, Michael Santangelo of Brooklyn Public Library gave a shout out to THE BURGLAR’S GUIDE TO THE CITY by Geoff Manaugh.

Curious about other buzzworthy books? Check out Publishers Weekly‘s recap of the AAP Librarian’s Book Buzz, Part 2 which includes a photo of Anne and our other library marketing pals!

Library Journal’s Day of Dialog 2015

Today we saw many of you at Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog (hello!).
For those who couldn’t make it, Sloane Crosley charmed on a First Novels author panel, promoting THE CLASP, and Farrar, Straus & Giroux editor Sean McDonald presented his top five titles as part of an Editor’s Buzz Panel:

THE CLASP by Sloane Crosley | 9780374124410 | On Sale: 10/6/15
THE MAKING OF ZOMBIE WARS by Aleksandar Hemon | 9780374203412 | Available now
BEHIND THE GLASS WALL: Inside the United Nations by Aleksandar Hemon | 9780374110239 | On Sale: 10/20/15
THE PICKLE INDEX by Eli Horowitz | 9780374535810 | On Sale: 11/10/15
A BURGLAR’S GUIDE TO THE CITY by Geoff Manaugh | 9780374117269 | On Sale: 10/13/15

Click here to download our snazzy handout of Editor’s Buzz Panel titles.

Plus, your colleagues are tweeting fast and furiously via the hashtag #ljdod15.

readmoreremove

css.php