Articles tagged "gay"

New Nonfiction – May 2017

Essays, books about books, and a librarian’s memoir are just some of the new nonfiction books available this week:

THE END OF EDDY by Édouard Louis
Two starred reviews! The most talked-about European novel since MY STRUGGLE—a sexually frank, brutally honest coming-of-age story that captures the violence and desperation of life in a French factory town. “Translated into 20 languages and a huge hit in France, author Louis’ unsparingly autobiographical novel is the story of a gay boy’s attempts to come to terms with himself. …a seamless, universal portrait of the experience of growing up gay and gradually coming to accept oneself.” — Booklist, starred review

MY LIFE WITH BOB: Flawed Heroine Keeps Book of Books, Plot Ensues by Pamela Paul
Two starred reviews! The editor of The New York Times Book Review reveals her personal reading journal named BOB (a.k.a. her “Book of Books”) and the books that have shaped her life. “Titles about reading and books abound, but this memoir stands in a class by itself. Bibliophiles will treasure, but the addictive storytelling and high-quality writing will vastly increase its audience. Highly recommended.” — Library Journal, starred review

ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul
One of Buzzfeed’s “Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017!” For readers of Mindy Kaling, Luvvie Ajayi, and Rupi Kaur comes a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants, addressing sexism, cultural stereotypes and the universal miseries of life by rising star Scaachi Koul. “Simultaneously uproarious and affecting….” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

HOW TO BUILD A TIME MACHINE by Darren Manley
A librarian’s heartfelt memoir about growing up with much older parents and coming to appreciate the bonds that cross generations. readmoreremove

2017 Lammy Awards Finalists

2017LammysThe Lambda Literary Foundation (LLF) announced the finalists for the 29th annual Lambda Literary Awards (a.k.a. the “Lammys”) celebrating achievements in LGBT literature. We’re waving our rainbow flag in support of these nine nominees from Macmillan!

Lesbian Fiction
THEY MAY NOT MEAN TO, BUT THEY DO by Cathleen Schine

Gay Fiction
BLACK DEUTSCHLAND by Darryl Pinckney
HIDE by Matthew Griffin
MOONSTONE by Sjón
WHAT BELONGS TO YOU by Garth Greenwell

Transgender Fiction
IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo

Lesbian Poetry
BESTIARY by Donika Kelly

Gay Poetry
RAPTURE by Sjohnna McCray

Gay Memoir/Biography
LUST & WONDER by Augusten Burroughs readmoreremove

2016 Triangle Awards Finalists

The 2016 Publishing Triangle Awards finalists, honoring the best LGBTQ fiction, nonfiction and poetry, as well as the year’s best trans and gender-variant literature, include these six Macmillan books:

Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction
THE NARROW DOOR by Paul Lisicky (Graywolf Press)

Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry
BESTIARY by Donika Kelly (Graywolf Press)

Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry
RAPTURE by Sjohnna McCray (Graywolf Press)

Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction
HIDE by Matthew Griffin (Bloomsbury USA)

Ferro-Grumley Award for LGBTQ Fiction
MOONSTONE by Sjón; translated by Victoria Cribb (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
THEY MAY NOT MEAN TO, BUT THEY DO by Cathleen Schine (Sarah Crichton Books/Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

UPDATE 4/28/17: Congratulations to THEY MAY NOT MEAN TO, BUT THEY DO by Cathleen Schine (Sarah Crichton Books/Farrar, Straus and Giroux) for winning the Ferro-Grumley Award for LGBTQ Fiction!

readmoreremove

Nonfiction Stars

The stars are aligning for these new and forthcoming nonfiction books:

HAVANA: A Subtropical Delirium by Mark Kurlansky
“This little gem of a book by the prolific Kurlansky is a revelation. At a most auspicious moment in the history of Cuba and Havana, Kurlansky, who has spent much time in the country as a journalist, writes an eloquent love letter to one of the world’s great cities.” — Booklist, starred review

“This extremely readable book is not preachy, not dogmatic, not shrill. As in life, there is a mixture of both good and evil, and Kurlansky, a frequent Cuba correspondent, covers it well.” Library Journal, starred review

FEAR CITY: New York’s Fiscal Crisis and the Rise of Austerity Politics by Kim Phillips-Fein
“Phillips-Fein, professor of history at NYU’s Gallatin School of Individualized Study, makes municipal bonds exciting in this painstakingly researched revisionist account of the 1970s fiscal crisis that shook New York to its core. The book should be required reading for all those interested in the past, present, and future of democratic politics.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Sobering, smart reading with many pointed lessons for activists.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review
readmoreremove

Booklist’s Spotlight on First Novels, 2016

Booklist‘s recent Spotlight on First Novels revealed several favorite Macmillan debuts:
Top 10 First Novels: 2016* (full list)

HIDE by Matthew Griffin
Griffin follows the relationship between two gay men living on the fringes of society, in constant fear of being found out, through the decades, recalling in flashbacks how they met and stayed together, and capturing the quotidian moments of life.

Top 10 First Novels for Youth: 2016* (full list)

AMERICAN GIRLS by Alison Umminger
Anna, 15, escapes upheaval at home by spending the summer with her half-sister, Delia, in L.A., where Anna becomes involved in a project about Charles Manson that helps her comes to terms with her family and herself.

Top 10 First Novels on Audio: 2016* (full list)

THE BOOK OF SPECULATION by Erika Swyler, read by Ari Fliakos
Myths, mermaids, tarot cards, and a family curse flow together in this tale of a librarian who receives an unsolicited package that opens up the secrets of his family history. Fliakos captures character and tone in this splendidly performed tale.

THE FORGETTING TIME by Sharon Guskin, read by Susan Bennett and David Pittu
Guskin’s debut intertwines two imaginative stories: a preschooler continually asks for his “other mother,” and a psychiatrist studies reincarnation in young children. Pitch-perfect performances from Bennett and Pittu add drama and emotion to the complex story.

IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo, read by Samia Mounts
Russo draws heavily on her real-life experiences as a transgender woman in this powerful coming-of-age novel. Mounts’ moving performance perfectly depicts teenage Amanda’s struggles to find love, acceptance, and safety.

*Titles included were reviewed between October 15, 2015 and October 1, 2016.

June is Pride Month

Read out loud & proud with these new LGBTQ titles:

Adult:
WHAT BELONGS TO YOU by Garth Greenwell
HIDE by Matthew Griffin
THE AMERICAN PEOPLE: Volume 1: Search for My Heart by Larry Kramer
THE LESBIAN SEX HAIKU BOOK (WITH CATS!) by Anna Pulley & Kelsey Beyer
EVERY HEART A DOORWAY by Seanan McGuire

YA:
IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo
SUMMER DAYS AND SUMMER NIGHTS, edited by Stephanie Perkins
YOU KNOW ME WELL by David Levithan & Nina LaCour
CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell
ABOUT A GIRL by Sarah McCarry

Big congratulations to our 2016 Lammy Award-winning books:

Bisexual Literature
IRREPRESSIBLE: The Jazz Age Life of Henrietta Bingham by Emily Bingham

Gay Poetry
RECONNAISSANCE by Carl Phillips

Don’t miss our Pride Month e-Book sale happening now!

2016 Lammy Awards Finalists

The Lambda Literary Foundation (LLF) announced the finalists for the 28th annual Lambda Literary Awards (a.k.a. the “Lammys”) celebrating achievements in LGBT literature. We’re waving our rainbow flag in support of these eight nominees from Macmillan!

Gay Fiction
A POET OF THE INVISIBLE WORLD by Michael Golding
STILL LIFE, LAS VEGAS by James Sie

Bisexual Literature
IRREPRESSIBLE: The Jazz Age Life of Henrietta Bingham by Emily Bingham

Gay Poetry
RECONNAISSANCE by Carl Phillips

Lesbian Mystery
THE GRAVE SOUL by Ellen Hart

Gay Memoir/Biography
CHASING LOST TIME: The Life of C. K. Scott Moncrieff: Soldier, Spy, and Translator by Jean Findlay
A HOUSE IN ST. JOHN’S WOOD by Matthew Spender

LGBT Children’s/Young Adult
ABOUT A GIRL by Sarah McCarry readmoreremove

Booklist Top LGBTQ Picks

In light of the recent Supreme Court decision making same-sex marriage the law of the land (YAY!), Booklist announced their top LGBTQ picks, including these noteworthy Macmillan titles:

Top 10 LGBTQ Literature

FRANK: A Life in Politics from the Great Society to Same-Sex Marriage by Barney Frank

IRREPRESSIBLE: The Jazz Age Life of Henrietta Bingham by Emily Bingham

THE REBELLION OF MISS LUCY ANN LOBDELL by William Klaber

Read-alikes: Prominent Lesbian Modernists

ALL WE KNOW: Three Lives by Lisa Cohen

FLAPPERS: Six Women of a Dangerous Generation by Judith Mackrell readmoreremove

Happy Belated #BookBday (3/18/14 Edition)

Today we wish a happy belated #BookBday to leaders—in politics and in fashion!

FRANK: A Life in Politics from the Great Society to Same-Sex Marriage by Barney Frank
In his candid and witty political memoir which received THREE starred pre-pub reviews, Barney Frank relates his journey from the outskirts of New York City to Boston’s city hall and the Massachusetts legislature, and then to the U.S. Congress, where he played a vital role in the struggle for personal freedom and economic fairness for more than four decades.

“Much more entertaining than most political memoirs, Frank’s story isn’t just revealing; it may be the most fun you can have reading about the United States Congress.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

This detailed and accessible memoir certainly lives up to its title, as former Massachusetts Congressman Frank offers a warts-and-all portrait of his life in public service.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“This is an illuminating look at behind-the-scenes politics and larger societal changes and one man’s struggle with sexual politics and identity.” Booklist, starred review

THE BATTLE OF VERSAILLES: The Night American Fashion Stumbled into the Spotlight and Made History by Robin Givhan
Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Givhan gives a vivid account of one of the most important moments in fashion: the 1973 runway event at Versailles, where five Americans—Oscar de la Renta, Bill Blass, Anne Klein, Halston, and Stephen Burrows—faced off against the five French designers considered the best in the world—Yves Saint Laurent, Hubert de Givenchy, Pierre Cardin, Emanuel Ungaro, and Marc Bohan of Christian Dior—and emerged as the dominant force in style.

“Givhan’s entertaining history captures the high cultural stakes in the budding American fashion industry that led to the fateful showdown and makes a case for the event’s continued reverberations in the fashion world. Every reader with an eye to fashion will relish this.” — Booklist, starred review
readmoreremove

2014 Lambda Award Finalists

The 27th annual Lambda Literary Award finalists were announced today and we have eight terrific nominees from Macmillan!

Gay General Fiction
BITTER EDEN by Tatamkhulu Afrika

Gay Memoir/Biography
INSIDE A PEARL: My Years in Paris by Edmund White

Lesbian General Fiction
NEW YORK 1, TEL AVIV 0 by Shelly Oria

Lesbian Mystery
THE OLD DEEP AND DARK: A Jane Lawless Mystery by Ellen Hart

LGBT Graphic Novels
SECOND AVENUE CAPER: When Goodfellas, Divas, and Dealers Plotted Against the Plague by Joyce Brabner and Mark Zingarelli

LGBT SF/F/Horror
AFTERPARTY by Daryl Gregory
CHILD OF A HIDDEN SEA by A.M. Dellamonica
FULL FATHOM FIVE by Max Gladstone

Winners will be announced on June 1 in New York City. Click here to see the full list of nominees.
css.php