Articles tagged "Gail Godwin"

Happy #BookBday (6/6/17 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday, especially when they’re great summer reads!

THE PEOPLE WE HATE AT THE WEDDING by Grant Ginder
One of Entertainment Weekly‘s Summer’s Must-Read Books and PW‘s Best Books of Summer 2017 with two starred reviews! A bitingly funny, hugely entertaining novel in which a fractured family from the Chicago suburbs must gather in London for their eldest daughter’s marriage to an upper-crust Englishman. “Ginder takes family dysfunction to its hysterical limit in this joyously ribald, sharply cynical, and impossible-to-put-down examination of love and loyalty.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE ANSWERS by Catherine Lacey
One of Buzzfeed’s “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer” with two starred reviews!Startling and stunning and compulsively strange, Lacey’s sophomore novel is a haunting investigation into the nature of love. With otherworldly precision and subtle wit, Lacey creates a gently surreal dreamscape that’s both intoxicating and profound. A singular novel; as unexpected as it is rich.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

GRIEF COTTAGE by Gail Godwin
One of Buzzfeed’s “Thrillers You Will Devour This Summer” with two starred reviews! The haunting tale of a desolate cottage, a tragic accident, and the hair-thin junction between this life and the next, from bestselling National Book Award finalist Godwin. “With intriguingly eccentric supporting characters and a dramatic setting, Godwin’s riveting and wise story of the slow coalescence of trust and love between a stoic artist and a grieving boy, and of nature’s glory and indifference, subtly and insightfully explores different forms of haunting and vulnerability, strength and survival. Word will spread quickly about Godwin’s tender and spellbinding supernatural novel.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Memorial Day Weekend 2017 Reading Roundup

Memorial Day weekend is here (hooray!) and we’re stacking our to-read piles with these major media-recommended books:
Entertainment Weekly — Summer’s Must-Read Books

BOUNDLESS by Jillian Tamaki
Cartoonist Tamaki dazzles with her impressive range in this collection, marrying each short story to a different artistic style. Whether she’s writing and drawing about the pitfalls of technology or ruminating on nostalgia, her work is lush, vibrant, and packed with emotion.

LIFE IN CODE by Ellen Ullman
Ullman, a computer programmer since the ’70s, expands on the themes she covered in 1997’s CLOSE TO THE MACHINE with pieces about what it was like on the forefront of the tech revolution, being a woman in a male-donimated industry, and how the tech landscape has (and hasn’t) changed.

THE PEOPLE WE HATE AT THE WEDDING by Grant Ginder
In Ginder’s glitzy beach read, things spiral out of control in the days leading up to a wedding as a charmingly dysfunctional family—brimming with oddball stepsiblings—does everything it can to sabotage the nuptials.

The New York TimesSummer Reading Recommendations, From Novelists Who Own Bookstores

Jonathan Lethem, author of A GAMBLER’S ANATOMY & owner of Red Gap Books, a used and rare bookstore in Blue Hill, ME recommends BROKEN RIVER by J. Robert Lennon
“It’s a tense, surprising thriller, with perverse overtones of the Coen brothers variety, but containing an enigmatic narrative device, a kind of ‘haunting of the point-of-view’ – one which proves, as ever, that the novel can do things nothing but the novel can do. I’m almost ready to reread it.”

Jeff Kinney, author of the bestselling “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” series and owner of An Unlikely Story in Plainville, MA recommends RADICAL CANDOR by Kim Scott (“Scott’s experiences leading teams at Google and Apple led to this book, which espouses a workplace culture where leaders care deeply about their employees and challenge them to be their best selves.”) and BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer (“The cover alone had me hooked. Is the protagonist a plant? An animal? Something in between?”).

Louise Erdrich, author of LAROSE & owner of Birchbark Books in Minneapolis, MN recommends THE SONG POET by Kao Kalia Yang
“The exquisite story of Kao Kalia Yang’s father, village life, war life, refugee life, then a St. Paul housing project; America’s secret war in Laos; and a people’s history as sung by Bee Yang and remembered in fascinating and poetic detail by his daughter.”

Buzzfeed’s “Thrillers You Will Devour This Summer

IT’S ALWAYS THE HUSBAND by Michele Campbell
Fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn meet your next obsession. Kate, Aubrey, and Jenny were inseparable in college. 20 years later, one of them is found dead. How did it come to this? Alternating between their college years and the present day, readers slowly come to realize that their friendship was anything but perfect. But can feelings that strong really lead to murder, or will everyone assume, as is often the case, that it’s always the husband? Only one way for you to find out… readmoreremove

May 2017 Fiction Stars

The stars are aligning for these forthcoming works of fiction:

THE PEOPLE WE HATE AT THE WEDDING by Grant Ginder
“Ginder takes family dysfunction to its hysterical limit in this joyously ribald, sharply cynical, and impossible-to-put-down examination of love and loyalty.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Ginder successfully captures the clash between people who are intimately connected yet deeply at odds. These characters are completely clueless and utterly self-absorbed yet highly likable, their trials and tribulations painful at times and joyful at others but always entertaining. Ginder’s latest is a fascinating exploration of family dynamics and the complex way we interact with those who know us best.” Booklist, starred review

THE DARK DARK: Stories by Samantha Hunt
“These short stories are works of dark, dark magic that skitter between worlds both recognizable and wholly new. Fans of Hunt’s work will revel in her first story collection, which marries her signature flare for the fantastic with keen observation and sharp prose. Grab your comforter and a flashlight for this tour de force collection from one of our most inventive storytellers.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This excellent, inventive collection…is rife with observant asides, sly humor, and surprises.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
readmoreremove

Starred Reviews for Flora

Book clubs, take note! Reviewers are giving Gail Godwin's latest, FLORA, high praise. Here's a quick summary to get you familiar:

Ten-year-old Helen and her summer guardian, Flora, are isolated together in Helen's decaying family house while her father is doing secret war work during the final months of World War II. At three, Helen lost her mother, and the beloved grandmother who raised her has just died. Flora, who cries at the drop of a hat, is ardently determined to do her best for Helen. Their relationship and its fallout will haunt Helen for the rest of her life.

"Unsparing yet compassioante; a fine addition to Godwin's long list of first-rate faction bringing 19th-century richness of detail and characterization to the ambiguities of modern life." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"[A] stirring and wondrous novel from Godwin…. [her] thoughtful portrayal of their boredom, desires, and the eventual heartbreak of their summer underscores the impossible position of children, who are powerless against the world and yet inherit responsibility for its agonies." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Godwin’s under-your-skin characters are perfectly realized, and the held-breath plot is consummately choreographed. But the wonder of this incisive novel of the endless repercussions of loss and remorse at the dawn of the atomic age is how subtly Godwin laces it with exquisite insights into secret family traumas, unspoken sexuality, class and racial divides,indie next and the fallout of war while unveiling the incubating mind of a future writer." —Booklist (starred review)

FLORA was also on the May 2013 Indie Next List!

readmoreremove

css.php