Articles tagged "FridayReads"

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER

A young woman confronts ancient forces in the depths of the bayou in Andy Davidson’s gorgeous, moody, horrifying novel, THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER.

Miranda Crabtree has spent a quiet life ferrying contraband for a mad preacher and his declining band of followers to make ends meet and to protect an old witch and a secret child from harm. But dark forces are at work in the bayou, both human and supernatural, conspiring to disrupt the rhythms of Miranda’s peculiar and precarious life. And when the preacher makes an unthinkable demand, it sets Miranda on a desperate, dangerous path, forcing her to consider what she is willing to sacrifice to keep her loved ones safe.

A great combination of Gothic horror, fantastic world-building, and thrilling pacing, Davidson’s unique voice will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Joe Hill, Justin Cronin, and Jeff VanderMeer. The author’s debut was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for First Novel, so we’re very excited for him to join our list!

Download an e-galley of THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER from Edelweiss here.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: OONA OUT OF ORDER

A young woman explores family, love, and life as she bounces through time in Margarita Montimore’s OONA OUT OF ORDER.

Our story starts on New Years Eve 1982, which also happens to be the day before Oona Lockhart’s 19th birthday. She has big decisions to make about her future, with a boyfriend who loves her, and her whole life ahead of her. On the stroke of midnight, Oona passes out and wakes up in 2015 in her 51 year old body. Thus begins Oona’s life of jumping forwards and backwards through time to a random different year in her life every New Years Eve, experiencing life out of order. The novel is moving and surprisingly funny as it explores the power of love, the bonds of family, and wonders of life, making it perfect for readers of Chloe Benjamin’s THE IMMORTALISTS, THE TIME TRAVELLER’S WIFE, and THE CLOCKMAKER’S DAUGHTER, and definitely great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for OONA OUT OF ORDER

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “OONA OUT OF ORDER” to request a download widget.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: SAINT X

Today’s #FridayReads spotlight features Alexis Schaitkin’s psychological drama debut that explores grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters–welcome to SAINT X.

At the beginning of SAINT X, we meet a family on a luxury vacation in the Caribbean–there’s one 18 year old daughter and one just seven years old. One night the older daughter goes missing, and soon her body is found, with two local men who worked at the resort suspected of the murder, but ultimately released. Flash forward, the younger daughter is now an adult working in publishing in New York City. She gets in a cab one night, and that cab driver is one of the men suspected of her sister’s murder. Bum bum buuuum. She soon spirals into obsession, desperately trying to find out what happened the night of her sister’s death and who her sister really was. This debut will hit both psychological suspense and literary readers, and will definitely be great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for SAINT X:

Download the SAINT X e-galley from Edelweiss here.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE SECRET GUESTS

Benjamin Black, pen name of the Man Booker Prize-winning novelist John Banville, shares a little-known secret of World War II in his forthcoming historical fiction, THE SECRET GUESTS.

Ahead of the German Blitz during World War II, English parents from every social class sent their children to the countryside for safety, and in THE SECRET GUESTS, the British royal family takes this evacuation a step further, secretly moving the princesses Elizabeth and Margaret to a Duke’s estate in Ireland, accompanied by a female English secret agent and a young Irish detective. There, suspicions, tension, and passions arise. Fun fact, the author has good information that the princesses were indeed in Ireland for a time during the Blitz, though this has never been confirmed by the royal family.

Dive into a novel as tender as the homesickness of the sisters, as intriguing as Irish-English relations during WWII, and as suspenseful and ultimately action-packed as war itself.

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “THE SECRET GUESTS” to request a download widget.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: IN THE SHADOW OF VESUVIUS

Tasha Alexander continues her historical Lady Emily Mystery series with IN THE SHADOW OF VESUVIUS.

Lady Emily and her husband Colin are in Italy when they discover a body hidden in plain sight amongst the ruins of Pompeii. Surrounded by archaeologists with secrets of their own, introduced to a shocking character from Colin’s past, and faced with someone who wants her off the case–for good–Lady Emily will find out how far below the surface can she dig before she risks burying herself along with the truth.

Praise for UNEASY LIES THE CROWN:

“Engrossing… English history lovers will be enthralled.”—Publishers Weekly

“Readers are in the author’s trustworthy hands, and the working out of the puzzle will delight mystery and history buffs alike.” —Booklist

Download the IN THE SHADOW OF VESUVIUS e-galley from Edelweiss here.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: AMERICAN DIRT

Jeanine Cummins’ AMERICAN DIRT has been making major waves in the publishing world for months now, and y’all, seriously, this is THE book of Winter 2020.

In the opening scene, a mother and her 8-year-old son are hiding in the bathroom as their entire family is gunned down by the local cartel during a BBQ birthday party. And so begins their new life, with the pair on the run–an epically fraught and terrifying journey across and out of Mexico and toward American dirt.

The author started writing this story in 2013, before immigration was quite the hot button topic it is today, and it is especially necessary now, giving a face to migrants and showing what it’s like to make that journey. There will also be an author’s note at the end of the finished book explaining Jeanine’s personal connections to the novel.

So much love for AMERICAN DIRT!

“AMERICAN DIRT will punch you in the gut one minute and fill you with hope the next. The stirring descriptions, complex characters and heart-pounding race to stay alive combine for a gripping plot, while the themes of injustice and human determination take it to a much higher level than an average thriller novel. This is an important story being told at a vital point in time. On one hand it’s a single woman’s plight, but on the other, it’s the human condition. Powerful!”–Shelf Awareness

Read an excerpt here, or email me at amanda.rountree@macmillan.com to request the full e-galley on NetGalley.

Starred Reviews For Your #FridayReads

These forthcoming titles all received multiple starred reviews!

THE MAN WHO SAW EVERYTHING by Deborah Levy

“Multiple versions of history collide—literally—in a superbly crafted, enigmatic new story from an author of note… Levy defies gravity in a daring, time-bending new novel.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Booker Prize–finalist Levy (HOT MILK) explores the fragile connections and often vast chasms between self and others in this playful, destabilizing, and consistently surprising novel.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

EROSION: Essays of Undoing by Terry Tempest Williams

“In a collection of passionate, galvanizing essays… activist and teacher Williams (THE HOUR OF LAND) shares her intimate connection to the as-yet untamed landscapes of the American West.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Williams’ exquisite testimony of wonder and wisdom is vitalizing and crucial.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Celebrities!

TGIF, librarian friends! Today’s #FridayReads are books by and about celebrities:

SUPERFICIAL: More Adventures from the Andy Cohen Diaries by Andy Cohen
If THE ANDY COHEN DIARIES was deemed “the literary equivalent of a Fresca and tequila” by Jimmy Fallon, SUPERFICIAL is a double: dishier, juicier, and friskier. In this account of his escapades—personal, professional, and behind-the-scenes—Andy tells us not only what goes down, but exactly what he thinks of it. “It’s tasty and hard to put down…” — Booklist

KATHY GRIFFIN’S CELEBRITY RUN-INS: My A-Z Index by Kathy Griffin
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Kathy Griffin, an A-Z compendium of the celebrities she’s met over the years and the outrageous, charming, and sometimes bizarre anecdotes only she can tell about them.

PETER O’TOOLE: The Definitive Biography by Robert Sellers
“This new book about legendary actor O’Toole… [is] as energetic, unpredictable, and entertaining as the man himself. Sellers gives equal weight to the actor’s personal and professional lives—with O’Toole, at times, the line between personal and professional was nearly nonexistent anyway—and gives film buffs one of the best biographies of any actor to hit the shelves in many a year.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Fantasy

An assassin, a saint, and a warrior walk into our #FridayReads

NEVERNIGHT by Jay Kristoff
“Launching the Nevernight fantasy series, Kristoff (the Lotus War trilogy) creates a splendid world of corruption and violence. Absorbing in its complexity and bold in its bloodiness, this beginning promises (and delivers) equal shares of beauty and decay. With a delicate balance of the ancient and the magical, this tense and brutal tale is unflinching, thrilling, and satisfying.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Literary Gems

Happy Friday, friends! We’re celebrating #FridayReads with a couple of literary gems released this week:

GOD’S KINGDOM by Howard Frank Mosher
An October 2015 Indie Next pick! A young man comes of age—and uncovers his family’s deepest secret in the little known mountains of northern Vermont by the Canadian border. “No Catcher in the Rye angst here. Instead you’ll find a welcome dose of nostalgic realism laced with hard-edged wisdom.” — Kirkus Reviews

A POET OF THE INVISIBLE WORLD by Michael Golding
In the tradition of Paolo Coelho’s The Alchemist, this spiritual fable about a boy born in thirteenth-century Persia with four ears documents his remarkable journey through pain and loss to transcendence. “Beautifully imagined… This mesmerizing novel is a gift to anyone looking for a transcendent reading experience.” — Library Journal, starred review

Share your #FridayReads with us @MacmillanLib. Happy weekend!
css.php