Articles tagged "Frances Brody"

Thriller Thursday (2/16/17 Edition)

Spies and detectives and murderers, oh my!

A DIVIDED SPY by Charles Cumming
Two starred reviews! A former MI6 officer, Thomas Kell devoted his life to the Service, but it has left him with nothing but grief and a simmering anger against the Kremlin. Then Kell is offered an unexpected chance at revenge. Taking the law into his own hands, he embarks on a mission to recruit a top Russian spy and finds himself in a high stakes game of cat and mouse in which it becomes increasingly difficult to know who is playing whom. “Bestseller Cumming’s nuanced, suspenseful third Thomas Kell novel… unfold[s] in a perfectly constructed plot that proves once again that Cumming is among today’s top spy thriller writers. ” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

AMONG THE RUINS by Ausma Zehanat Khan
In Khan’s third powerful mystery, Detective Esa Khattak is on leave in Iran when he’s asked to investigate the murder of Canadian-Iranian filmmaker Zahra Sobhani at Iran’s notorious Evin prison. Khattak quickly finds himself embroiled in Iran’s tumultuous politics and under surveillance by the regime, but when the trail leads to Zahra’s family in Canada, Khattak calls on his partner, Detective Rachel Getty, for help. “Deeply political without becoming pedantic, Khan’s crime novel offers a fictionalized yet very real look at a region that is steeped in both beauty and misery.” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

Mystery Awards News & a Cozy Sampler!

Happy #ThrillerThursday, lovely librarians. We have SO MUCH great mystery awards news for you, with our nominees for the 2017 Edgar Awards, the 2016 Agatha Awards, and the 2017 Left Coast Crime “Lefty” Awards, plus a special CWA Diamond Dagger honoree!

2017 Edgar Award nominees (full list) — honoring the best in mystery

Best Fact Crime
MORGUE: A Life in Death by Dr. Vincent DiMaio & Ron Franscell (St. Martin’s Press)

Mary Higgins Clark Award
SAY NO MORE by Hank Phillippi Ryan (Forge Books)

MWA Grand Masters
Ellen Hart (FEVER IN THE DARK/The Jane Lawless Mysteries, Minotaur Books)
Max Allan Collins (BETTER DEAD, Forge Books)

The winners will be announced on April 27.

2016 Agatha Award nominees (full list) — honoring the “traditional mystery” and the cozy subgenre

Best Contemporary Novel:
A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)
SAY NO MORE by Hank Phillippi Ryan (Forge Books)

Best Historical Novel:
THE REEK OF RED HERRINGS by Catriona McPherson (Minotaur Books)

Best First Novel:
TERROR IN TAFFETA by Marla Cooper (Minotaur Books)
DESIGN FOR DYING by Renee Patrick (Forge Books)

The winners will be announced on April 29.

2017 Lefty Awards nominees (full list) — fan awards chosen by registered members of the Left Coast Crime convention

Lefty for Best Mystery Novel
A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)

Lefty for Best Humorous Mystery Novel
DIE LIKE AN EAGLE by Donna Andrews (Minotaur Books)

Lefty for Best Historical Mystery Novel (Bruce Alexander Memorial)
A DEATH ALONG THE RIVER FLEET by Susanna Calkins (Minotaur Books)
THE REEK OF RED HERRINGS by Catriona McPherson (Minotaur Books)

Lefty for Best Debut Mystery Novel
TERROR IN TAFFETA by Marla Cooper (Minotaur Books)
DESIGN FOR DYING by Renee Patrick (Forge Books)

The winners will be announced on March 18.

In more amazing mystery news, Ann Cleeves (THE CROW TRAP) is being awarded the Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) Diamond Dagger Award, which is the highest honor in British crime writing!

The award recognizes authors whose careers have been marked by sustained excellence, and have made a significant contribution to the genre. She will be honored during the CWA’s Dagger Awards ceremony in London on October 26.

Cleeves said, “It’s a huge honor to be recognized by my peers, the crime-writers whose books, friendship and support I’ve enjoyed for more than thirty years. I am privileged to have had such a happy career and I will always be grateful for the support of booksellers and forever indebted to the passion and expertise of librarians, without whom I wouldn’t still be writing today.”

Looking for a new cozy mystery author to love? Our friends at Minotaur Books have put together a complimentary COZY CASE FILES Winter 2017 sampler, available for download right now on Edelweiss and as a Read it Now! title on NetGalley.

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (9/15/16 Edition)

Historical mysteries, a spy thriller, and a tropical debut get our #ThrillerThursday stamp of approval:

THE SECRETS OF WISHTIDE by Kate Saunders
A September 2016 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! “Combining the strengths of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin, Laetitia Rodd towers over both of these genteel sleuths in wit, tact, and ingenuity. The book is a sheer delight, with its deliciously intricate puzzle and well-drawn characters whom readers are sure to continue to enjoy in volumes to come.”
Booklist, starred review

BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
From the author of APPLE TREE YARD comes a masterful espionage thriller “in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review). “Doughty takes a page from John le Carré, crafting a riveting, psychological, morally ambiguous tale. Harper’s backstory is richly detailed, and his budding relationship with Rita is convincing. Finally, the role of mercenaries in world affairs adds a new perspective to the spy novel genre.” — Library Journal, starred review

SUN, SAND, MURDER by John Keyse-Walker
Winner of the Minotaur Books/MWA First Crime Novel Award! Teddy Creque’s life turns upside down when a tourist is murdered on his peaceful, remote tropical island, Anegada. “Spectacular as a Caribbean sunset, Keyse-Walker’s debut is a well-paced puzzler no one should miss.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (2/11/16 Edition)

Detectives are on the case in today’s #ThrillerThursday picks:

INTO OBLIVION by Arnaldur Indridason
“Set in Iceland in 1979, several years after the events of 2015’s REYKJAVIK NIGHTS, Indridason’s elegantly crafted procedural traces two parallel cases: recently divorced Erlendur Sveinsson’s private investigation of the disappearance of a school girl named Dagbjört a quarter-century earlier; and his professional probe, with his enigmatic mentor Marion Briem, of the mysterious death of Kristvin, an Icelandic mechanic who worked at Naval Air Station Keflavík, a large American military installation with an active black market between base personnel and locals. ” Publishers Weekly, starred review

MURDER ON A SUMMER’S DAY by Frances Brody
When the India Office seek help in finding Maharajah Narayan, last seen hunting on the Bolton Abbey estate, they call upon the expertise of renowned amateur detective Kate Shackleton to investigate. “Fans of Maisie Dobbs and Daisy Dalrymple will enjoy the authentic period detail.” — Publishers Weekly

What’s tingling your spine this #ThrillerThursday? Share your reads with us @MacmillanLib.

2016 Edgar Nominees & Starred Mysteries

edgarsThe 2016 Edgar Award nominations were announced earlier this week and Macmillan has 4 contenders:

Best Novel
NIGHT LIFE by David C. Taylor

Best Critical/Biographical
THE LOST DETECTIVE: Becoming Dashiell Hammett by Nathan Ward

Mary Higgins Clark Award
A WOMAN UNKNOWN by Frances Brody
THE MASQUE OF A MURDERER by Susanna Calkins

The winners will be announced on April 28.

Check out these mysteries with multiple starred reviews (you never know, they could be on a future awards list)!

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (2/12/15 Edition)

Heists, murders, detectives and psychological suspense—we’ve got a great mystery for every kind of reader this week!

AMONG THIEVES by John Clarkson
A group of tough Brooklyn ex-cons plot revenge against a corrupt Wall Street firm in a heist story that’s Oceans Eleven meets Mystic River. “Highly entertaining…. Clarkson delivers a spirited start to what is sure to be a well-received series with AMONG THIEVES.” — Associated Press

DREAMLESS by Jørgen Brekke
A young musician is murdered—her larynx slashed—and a music box is left behind playing a mysterious tune in Brekke’s “outstanding”* second novel featuring Chief Insp. Odd Singsaker of the Trondheim police department. “Fans of bleak Nordic crime fiction will find plenty to like.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE FIRST WIFE by Erica Spindler
Bailey Browne’s just married a knight with shining armor and a Louisiana horse farm, but then she learns of his first wife’s disappearance…. “This psychodrama works best for those who like to piece together carefully placed puzzle information.”
Publishers Weekly
readmoreremove

Library Journal Best of 2014

Library Journal is first out of the gate with their “Best of 2014” list, and it includes LOTS of Macmillan books:

Top Ten
NO PLACE TO HIDE by Glenn Greenwald
THE SIXTH EXTINCTION by Elizabeth Kolbert

More of the Best
FIVES AND TWENTY-FIVES by Michael Pitre

SF/Fantasy
THE GOBLIN EMPEROR by Katherine Addison
AREA X (ANNIHILATION, AUTHORITY, ACCEPTANCE) by Jeff VanderMeer

Mystery
THE GHOST RUNNER by Bilal Parker
MURDER IN THE AFTERNOON by Frances Brody

Historical Fiction
BITTER GREENS by Kate Forsyth

Thrillers
TRUTH BE TOLD by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Women’s Fiction
LANDLINE by Rainbow Rowell

Cookbooks
THE CUBAN TABLE: A Celebration of Food, Flavors, and History by Ana Sofia Pelaez

Poetry
THIS BLUE by Maureen N. McLane
CITIZEN: An American Lyric by Claudia Rankine
CARIBOU by Charles Wright

Religion & Spirituality
AN AMERICAN CARDINAL: The Biography of Cardinal Timothy Dolan by Christina Boyle

Graphic Novels
CAN’T WE TALK ABOUT SOMETHING MORE PLEASANT by Roz Chast

Memoir
THE GREAT FLOODGATES OF THE WONDERWORLD by Justin Hocking
BULLETPROOF VEST: The Ballad of an Outlaw and His Daughter by Maria Venegas

Science
INFINITESIMAL: How a Dangerous Mathematical Theory Shaped the Modern World by Amir Alexander
THE SIXTH EXTINCTION by Elizabeth Kolbert

 

Thriller Thursday (2/13/14 Edition)

cats in snowOur winter woes continue: the wind is howling like a banshee on top of the Flatiron and North Carolina is buried in snow! Good thing we've got our mysteries to keep us company on this chilly #ThrillerThursday:


WHERE MONSTERS DWELL
by Jørgen Brekke

Two gruesome murders take place half a world apart in Virginia and Norway and are somehow connected to The Book of John—a journal bound in human skin written by a sixteenth century serial murderer from Norway. "The buildup to each murder is extraordinarily well done and almost unbearably suspenseful. On the whole, the novel lives up to the edginess of this genre. Brrrr." — Booklist

THE DEALER AND THE DEAD by Gerald Seymour
"A war crime propels this stellar thriller from Edgar-finalist Seymour. How Seymour develops these characters and manipulates them until they all end up in Vukovar is a testament to his talent and skill." Publishers Weekly, starred & boxed review  
"The Bosnian conflict was spectacularly cruel. Two decades on, it continues to spur headlines and to provide potent plotlines for novelists. It’s fitting that Seymour, one of the finest contemporary espionage novelists, shines his unique light on it." — Booklist, starred review   

MURDER IN THE AFTERNOON by Frances Brody
In Brody's newest Kate Shackleton novel, Kate must help a family find a man who's presumed dead after he went missing from the local stone quarry. "The bucolic setting of the village of Great Applewick and the period atmosphere add authentic touches to this finely drawn traditional mystery with multiple storylines." — Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

css.php