Articles tagged "forthcoming books"

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER

A young woman confronts ancient forces in the depths of the bayou in Andy Davidson’s gorgeous, moody, horrifying novel, THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER.

Miranda Crabtree has spent a quiet life ferrying contraband for a mad preacher and his declining band of followers to make ends meet and to protect an old witch and a secret child from harm. But dark forces are at work in the bayou, both human and supernatural, conspiring to disrupt the rhythms of Miranda’s peculiar and precarious life. And when the preacher makes an unthinkable demand, it sets Miranda on a desperate, dangerous path, forcing her to consider what she is willing to sacrifice to keep her loved ones safe.

A great combination of Gothic horror, fantastic world-building, and thrilling pacing, Davidson’s unique voice will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Joe Hill, Justin Cronin, and Jeff VanderMeer. The author’s debut was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for First Novel, so we’re very excited for him to join our list!

Download an e-galley of THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER from Edelweiss here.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: OONA OUT OF ORDER

A young woman explores family, love, and life as she bounces through time in Margarita Montimore’s OONA OUT OF ORDER.

Our story starts on New Years Eve 1982, which also happens to be the day before Oona Lockhart’s 19th birthday. She has big decisions to make about her future, with a boyfriend who loves her, and her whole life ahead of her. On the stroke of midnight, Oona passes out and wakes up in 2015 in her 51 year old body. Thus begins Oona’s life of jumping forwards and backwards through time to a random different year in her life every New Years Eve, experiencing life out of order. The novel is moving and surprisingly funny as it explores the power of love, the bonds of family, and wonders of life, making it perfect for readers of Chloe Benjamin’s THE IMMORTALISTS, THE TIME TRAVELLER’S WIFE, and THE CLOCKMAKER’S DAUGHTER, and definitely great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for OONA OUT OF ORDER

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “OONA OUT OF ORDER” to request a download widget.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE GOD GAME

Artificial Intelligence invades the real world in Danny Tobey’s fast-paced techno-thriller THE GOD GAME.

THE GOD GAME follows five friends in a high school AV club who are introduced to a secret virtual reality game with real world consequences–anything and everything, from college admissions to business success for their parents. The Game promises to get rid of all your problems…for a price. As what was once a fun game full of promise spirals out of control, they’ll have to find out if leaving the game is even possible. This fits right in the READY PLAYER ONE vein, but less future dystopia and more this could be happening here and now, as it explores virtual reality and artificial intelligence. Thriller readers won’t be able to put the book down, but THE GOD GAME also has definite sci-fi and YA crossover potential.

Librarian excitement for THE GOD GAME

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “THE GOD GAME” to request a download widget.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE SECRET GUESTS

Benjamin Black, pen name of the Man Booker Prize-winning novelist John Banville, shares a little-known secret of World War II in his forthcoming historical fiction, THE SECRET GUESTS.

Ahead of the German Blitz during World War II, English parents from every social class sent their children to the countryside for safety, and in THE SECRET GUESTS, the British royal family takes this evacuation a step further, secretly moving the princesses Elizabeth and Margaret to a Duke’s estate in Ireland, accompanied by a female English secret agent and a young Irish detective. There, suspicions, tension, and passions arise. Fun fact, the author has good information that the princesses were indeed in Ireland for a time during the Blitz, though this has never been confirmed by the royal family.

Dive into a novel as tender as the homesickness of the sisters, as intriguing as Irish-English relations during WWII, and as suspenseful and ultimately action-packed as war itself.

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “THE SECRET GUESTS” to request a download widget.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: IN THE SHADOW OF VESUVIUS

Tasha Alexander continues her historical Lady Emily Mystery series with IN THE SHADOW OF VESUVIUS.

Lady Emily and her husband Colin are in Italy when they discover a body hidden in plain sight amongst the ruins of Pompeii. Surrounded by archaeologists with secrets of their own, introduced to a shocking character from Colin’s past, and faced with someone who wants her off the case–for good–Lady Emily will find out how far below the surface can she dig before she risks burying herself along with the truth.

Praise for UNEASY LIES THE CROWN:

“Engrossing… English history lovers will be enthralled.”—Publishers Weekly

“Readers are in the author’s trustworthy hands, and the working out of the puzzle will delight mystery and history buffs alike.” —Booklist

Download the IN THE SHADOW OF VESUVIUS e-galley from Edelweiss here.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: AMERICAN DIRT

Jeanine Cummins’ AMERICAN DIRT has been making major waves in the publishing world for months now, and y’all, seriously, this is THE book of Winter 2020.

In the opening scene, a mother and her 8-year-old son are hiding in the bathroom as their entire family is gunned down by the local cartel during a BBQ birthday party. And so begins their new life, with the pair on the run–an epically fraught and terrifying journey across and out of Mexico and toward American dirt.

The author started writing this story in 2013, before immigration was quite the hot button topic it is today, and it is especially necessary now, giving a face to migrants and showing what it’s like to make that journey. There will also be an author’s note at the end of the finished book explaining Jeanine’s personal connections to the novel.

So much love for AMERICAN DIRT!

“AMERICAN DIRT will punch you in the gut one minute and fill you with hope the next. The stirring descriptions, complex characters and heart-pounding race to stay alive combine for a gripping plot, while the themes of injustice and human determination take it to a much higher level than an average thriller novel. This is an important story being told at a vital point in time. On one hand it’s a single woman’s plight, but on the other, it’s the human condition. Powerful!”–Shelf Awareness

Read an excerpt here, or email me at amanda.rountree@macmillan.com to request the full e-galley on NetGalley.

Sneak Peek: AMERICAN DIRT

We are RIDICULOUSLY excited about AMERICAN DIRT, Jeanine Cummins’s emotional gut-punch of a novel, and you should be, too! This page-turning, poignant story of a mother and son fleeing the Mexican cartels is filled with drama and humanity. ON EVERY PAGE.

Read an excerpt here.

And keep checking Edelweiss for an e-galley!

Most Downloaded E-Galleys on Edelweiss!

If your TBR pile is gettin’ low, check out our list of most downloaded Edelweiss e-galleys!

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir

Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut is the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton. The Emperor needs necromancers. The Ninth Necromancer needs a swordswoman. Gideon has a sword, some dirty magazines, and no more time for undead bullshit.

THE LAST BOOK PARTY by Karen Dukess

“In late 1980s New York, aspiring writer Eve Rosen is trying to keep up her spirits as a lowly assistant when she lucks out with an invitation to an event at the Cape Cod home of New Yorker writer Henry Grey and his poet wife, Tillie. She lucks out further when she becomes Grey’s research assistant and is invited to the couple’s oh-so-chic Book Party, but soon she’s starting to think that the publishing world isn’t so glamorous after all.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

THE MURDER LIST by Hank Phillippi Ryan

“Law student Rachel North, married to a star of Boston’s defense bar, is thrilled to be interning with the Boston DA’s office. Then the trouble starts, and she’s got to decide how to do what’s right. A stand-alone from the multi-award-winning novelist/journalist.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

readmoreremove

F19 E-Galley Drop

It may only be January, but we’re gearing up for Fall 2019 with this epic e-galley drop! Head over to Edelweiss to download some of the hot titles of the season:

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr
A gripping standalone in which a grandmother in her sixties emerges from a mental fog to find she’s trapped in her worst nightmare.

29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan
A woman being harassed by her male colleague is offered a once-in-a-lifetime deal that can make all her problems disappear. No consequences. No traces. No chance of being found out. All it takes is a 29-second phone call.

CAMPUSLAND by Scott Johnston
A laugh-out-loud first novel about one year of insanity at the Ivy-like Devon University, a blissful bubble of elite students and the adults at their mercy.

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut combines a solar system of swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers for the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton.

THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett
A speculative YA thriller in the vein of THE HANDMAID’S TALE and LORD OF THE FLIES in which girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness–and each other–in order to rid themselves of their feminine magic before returning purified and ready to marry.

A GOLDEN GRAVE: A Rose Gallagher Mystery by Erin Lindsey
The follow-up to MURDER ON MILLIONAIRES’ ROW, Erin Lindsey’s second historical mystery follows Rose Gallagher as she tracks a killer with shocking abilities through Gilded Age Manhattan.

HUDSON’S KILL by Paddy Hirsch
New York in 1803 is seething with racial tension, as a mysterious provocateur pits the city’s black and Irish gangs against each other. When a young black girl is found stabbed to death, both Justy Flanagan, now a City Marshal, and Kerry O’Toole, now a school teacher, decide separately to go after the killer in this follow-up to THE DEVIL’S HALF MILE.

css.php