Articles tagged "forthcoming books"

New E-Galleys for November 2019

Hello e-galley readers! Check out some of the exciting e-galleys that were added to Edelweiss this month for your downloading pleasure:

HARROW THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir

Lesbian necromancers return to space in the hotly-anticipated sequel to GIDEON THE NINTH.

DEAD WEST by Matt Goldman

Minneapolis private detective Nils Shapiro is back for another thrilling, standalone adventure.

A SWEET MESS by Jayci Lee

Diversity! Rom-com! CAKE!

readmoreremove

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE WOMAN IN THE MIRROR

This week’s forthcoming #FridayReads spotlight features a chilling modern gothic novel of a family consumed by the shadows and secrets of its past–Rebecca James’ THE WOMAN IN THE MIRROR.

For more than two centuries, Winterbourne Hall has stood atop a bluff overseeing the English countryside of Cornwall and the sea beyond.

In 1947, Londoner Alice Miller accepts a post as governess at Winterbourne, looking after Captain Jonathan de Grey’s twin children. Falling under the de Greys’ spell, Alice believes the family will heal her own past sorrows. But then the twins’ adoration becomes deceitful and taunting. Their father, ever distant, turns spiteful and cruel. The manor itself seems to lash out. Alice finds her surroundings subtly altered, her air slightly chilled. Something malicious resents her presence, something clouding her senses and threatening her very sanity.

readmoreremove

Forthcoming #FridayReads: SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS

Explore the legends of Hawai’ian gods and an engrossing family saga in this week’s Forthcoming #FridayRead: Kawai Strong Washburn’s debut, SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS–a story of exile and the pursuit of salvation.

A young family is vacationing when their seven-year-old son falls overboard (seriously worst nightmare material). BUT a shark appears, cradling the child in its jaws and delivering him back to the mom. Now the family thinks that everything is turning around for them–they’re clearly favored by the ancient Hawaiian gods–and everyone moves off the island seeking fame and fortune… except life doesn’t always work out like that, does it? Depicting life for working class Hawai’ians–beyond hula-dancers, endless summers, and Disney’s MoanaSHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS introduces readers to a new, vital, and truly Hawai’ian literary voice, steeped in creation myths and mythology.

“Washburn’s standout debut provides a vivid portrait of Hawaiian identity, mythology, and diaspora… a unique and spirited depiction of the 50th state and its children.”–Publishers Weekly

Download an e-galley of SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS from Edelweiss here.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS

A mother and her 5-year-old daughter must hide from the Nazis in German-occupied Poland during World War II in Jennifer Rosner’s heart-rending fiction debut, THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS.

Shira, the daughter, is a musical prodigy, and in order to keep her quiet and hidden in the barn of a Non-Jewish family, her mother Róza invents the story of a garden that must remain silent and a yellow bird that tends it, and this is how they survive until Róza is forced to make a difficult choice that will haunt them for the rest of their lives. This is Emma Donoghue’s ROOM meets World War II with a taut, tense story line and magical storytelling. It is emotional and tense and magical–it will fit right in there with stories like THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ or Kristin Hannah’s THE NIGHTINGALE, and we’ll have a reading group guide available online for your clubs.

Request the e-galley on NetGalley or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com to request a physical ARC.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: BEHELD

For this #FridayReads, we travel to colonial Plymouth, Massachusetts, where the town’s first murder is shaking the fledging colony to its core, in TaraShea Nesbit’s BEHELD.

It begins with a killing. Ten years after the Mayflower struck shore on rocky, unfamiliar soil, Plymouth is not the land its residents had imagined. Seemingly established on a dream of religious freedom, the town is led by fervent Puritans who prevent the Anglican residents from worshiping as they choose. The Billingtons—Anglicans, outsiders, and rebels—have just about had enough, and that’s when a stranger arrives.

Suspenseful and literary, BEHELD is about a murder and a trial, but it’s also about the motivations—personal and political—that cause people to act in unsavory ways. Whose stories get told over time, who gets believed—and, subsequently, who gets punished? BEHELD is an intimate, personal portrait of love, motherhood, and friendship, and an exploration of what people lose and what they struggle to maintain.

Download an e-galley of BEHELD from Edelweiss here.

Library Journal Fall 2019/Winter 2020 Best Debuts

Discover new authors with Library Journal‘s Fall 2019/Winter 2020 Best Debuts round-up!

SF/Fantasy

ORMESHADOW by Priya Sharma
Burning with resentment and intrigue, this fantastical family drama invites readers to dig up the secrets of the Belman family, and wonder whether myths and legends are real enough to answer for a history of sin.

Literary Gems

WHAT IS MISSING by Michael Frank
Suspenseful and gripping, award-winning author Michael Frank’s debut novel is a psychological family drama about a father, a son, and the woman they both love.

Books to Anticipate

SALTWATER by Jessica Andrews
This “luminous” (The Observer) feminist coming-of-age novel captures in sensuous, blistering prose the richness and imperfection of the bond between a daughter and her mother.

THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS by Jennifer Rosner
In Poland, as World War II rages, a mother hides with her young daughter, a musical prodigy whose slightest sound may cost them their lives.

SAINT X by Alexis Schaitkin
A haunting portrait of grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters never truly given the chance to know one another.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER

A young woman confronts ancient forces in the depths of the bayou in Andy Davidson’s gorgeous, moody, horrifying novel, THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER.

Miranda Crabtree has spent a quiet life ferrying contraband for a mad preacher and his declining band of followers to make ends meet and to protect an old witch and a secret child from harm. But dark forces are at work in the bayou, both human and supernatural, conspiring to disrupt the rhythms of Miranda’s peculiar and precarious life. And when the preacher makes an unthinkable demand, it sets Miranda on a desperate, dangerous path, forcing her to consider what she is willing to sacrifice to keep her loved ones safe.

A great combination of Gothic horror, fantastic world-building, and thrilling pacing, Davidson’s unique voice will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Joe Hill, Justin Cronin, and Jeff VanderMeer. The author’s debut was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for First Novel, so we’re very excited for him to join our list!

Download an e-galley of THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER from Edelweiss here.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: OONA OUT OF ORDER

A young woman explores family, love, and life as she bounces through time in Margarita Montimore’s OONA OUT OF ORDER.

Our story starts on New Years Eve 1982, which also happens to be the day before Oona Lockhart’s 19th birthday. She has big decisions to make about her future, with a boyfriend who loves her, and her whole life ahead of her. On the stroke of midnight, Oona passes out and wakes up in 2015 in her 51 year old body. Thus begins Oona’s life of jumping forwards and backwards through time to a random different year in her life every New Years Eve, experiencing life out of order. The novel is moving and surprisingly funny as it explores the power of love, the bonds of family, and wonders of life, making it perfect for readers of Chloe Benjamin’s THE IMMORTALISTS, THE TIME TRAVELLER’S WIFE, and THE CLOCKMAKER’S DAUGHTER, and definitely great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for OONA OUT OF ORDER

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “OONA OUT OF ORDER” to request a download widget.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE GOD GAME

Artificial Intelligence invades the real world in Danny Tobey’s fast-paced techno-thriller THE GOD GAME.

THE GOD GAME follows five friends in a high school AV club who are introduced to a secret virtual reality game with real world consequences–anything and everything, from college admissions to business success for their parents. The Game promises to get rid of all your problems…for a price. As what was once a fun game full of promise spirals out of control, they’ll have to find out if leaving the game is even possible. This fits right in the READY PLAYER ONE vein, but less future dystopia and more this could be happening here and now, as it explores virtual reality and artificial intelligence. Thriller readers won’t be able to put the book down, but THE GOD GAME also has definite sci-fi and YA crossover potential.

Librarian excitement for THE GOD GAME

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “THE GOD GAME” to request a download widget.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE SECRET GUESTS

Benjamin Black, pen name of the Man Booker Prize-winning novelist John Banville, shares a little-known secret of World War II in his forthcoming historical fiction, THE SECRET GUESTS.

Ahead of the German Blitz during World War II, English parents from every social class sent their children to the countryside for safety, and in THE SECRET GUESTS, the British royal family takes this evacuation a step further, secretly moving the princesses Elizabeth and Margaret to a Duke’s estate in Ireland, accompanied by a female English secret agent and a young Irish detective. There, suspicions, tension, and passions arise. Fun fact, the author has good information that the princesses were indeed in Ireland for a time during the Blitz, though this has never been confirmed by the royal family.

Dive into a novel as tender as the homesickness of the sisters, as intriguing as Irish-English relations during WWII, and as suspenseful and ultimately action-packed as war itself.

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “THE SECRET GUESTS” to request a download widget.

css.php