Articles tagged "Flatiron Books YA"

Day’s YA – TIN HEART

Happy Friday, YA librarians!

My latest pick is chock-full of heart, wit, & just the right amount of absurdity.

TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza
9781250312761
Ages 12 to 18
Available March 12, 2019 from Flatiron Books

After seventeen-year-old Marlowe undergoes a life-saving heart transplant, all she wants to do is start living a normal life and thank her donor’s family. But her life was never normal and her donor’s family has no interest in hearing from her. After Marlowe’s letters of gratitude are rejected, she takes on a fake name and befriends Carmen, whom she believes is her donor’s sister. On top of all of that, Marlowe, the daughter of a self-proclaimed Vegan warrior, is falling for the butcher’s son! (#SCANDAL) Could her life get any more complicated? Probably.

readmoreremove

Our 2019 YALSA Award Winners!

Congratulations to all of the amazing Macmillan authors who won awards or were selected for YALSA’s various reading lists this year!

2019 Best Fiction for Young Adults
THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert
SADIE by Courtney Summers
MIRAGE by Somaiya Daud
SKY IN THE DEEP by Adrienne Young
FRANKIE by Shivaun Plozza

See the full 2019 BFYA list here

2019 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
SADIE by Courtney Summers (in the top 10!)

See the full 2019 Quick Picks list here

2019 Great Graphic Novels for Teens
THE STRANGE by Jérôme Ruillier

See the full 2019 GGNT list here

2019 Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults
SADIE by Courtney Summers (in the top 10!)
THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert

See the full 2019 Amazing Audiobooks list here

readmoreremove

YA E-Galley Recommendations

First, if you’re not whitelisted (pre-approved) for Macmillan’s e-galleys on Edelweiss, DO IT! Then download and read these fresh, forthcoming YA and YA-okay titles:

ENCHANTÉE by Gita Trelease
IN ANOTHER LIFE by C.C. Hunter
YOU’D BE MINE by Erin Hahn
WICKED SAINTS by Emily A. Duncan
THIS IS NOT A LOVE SCENE by S.C. Megale
AGAIN, BUT BETTER by Christine Riccio
RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston
PLEASE SEND HELP by Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin

readmoreremove

Winter 2019 Flatiron YA Sampler

Start your year with a sneak peek of two 2019 titles from Flatiron Books YA!

Available for download on Edelweiss, this sampler features excerpts from the following upcoming YA titles from Flatiron Books YA:

ENCHANTÉE by Gita Trelease (available February 5, 2019)
This lush and imaginative debut fantasy is about an impoverished girl who must use magic to impersonate an aristocrat in Versailles to provide for her sister as her own political awakening forces her to choose sides in the French Revolution.

TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza (available March 12, 2019)
When Marlowe gets a heart transplant and a second chance at life, all she wants to do is to thank her donor’s family. Maybe then she can move on. Maybe then she’ll discover who she is if she’s no longer The Dying Girl. But her second chance is about to take an unexpected turn . . .

readmoreremove

Two stars for TIN HEART!

Shivaun Plozza’s charming and romantic second novel, TIN HEART, has received two starred reviews!

“Funny and direct, this book by Plozza is capable of balancing heartbreak, first love, mortality, and the absurd—or, as Marlowe puts it, “that moment when you’re standing in front of Bert’s Quality Butchers holding a speaker blasting ‘Meat Is Murder.’”” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Without didacticism, the text offers a glimpse into two sets of rare challenges: those faced by Marlowe, grappling with the fact that her life was restored by another’s death, and those faced by Carmen and her father, still grieving over 16-year-old Luis, whose organs were donated after a car accident. Readers will cheer for Marlowe’s bildungsroman—simultaneously unique and universal.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Philly Book Buzz Highlights (12/14/2018)

Earlier today, we presented our favorite new and forthcoming YA titles during the Philadelphia Book Buzz. If you weren’t able to attend, here is a list of the titles we presented. You can also download our handout here.

THE GILDED WOLVES by Roshani Chokshi

ENCHANTÉE by Gita Trelease

WICKED SAINTS by Emily A. Duncan

FINALE: A Caraval Novel by Stephanie Garber

COURT OF LIONS: A Mirage Novel by Somaiya Daud

BIRTHDAY by Meredith Russo

IN PARIS WITH YOU by Clémentine Beauvais

YOU’D BE MINE by Erin Hahn

THIS IS NOT A LOVE SCENE by S.C. Megale

RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston

PLEASE SEND HELP by Gaby Dunn + Allison Raskin

readmoreremove

Day’s YA – ENCHANTÉE

Welcome to the final Day’s YA post of 2018!

Read on for magic, deception, and hot air balloons! And see you all back here in 2019!

ENCHANTÉE by Gita Trelease
9781250295521
Ages 12 to 18
Available February 5, 2019 from Flatiron Books and Macmillan Young Listeners

In order to provide for her chronically ill sister and to escape an abusive thieving brother, Camille uses forbidden magic to transform herself into Cécile Descharlots, Baroness de la Fontaine. As the Baroness, Camille swindles wealthy young Versaille aristocrats out of their precious coins. The glamorous palace life and the attention of a handsome hot air balloon inventor are intoxicating—but the line between her two disparate lives begins to blur as the French Revolution ignites around her.

 

ENCHANTÉE is a Cinderella-esque story with more layers than Marie Antoinette’s cakes. The stakes are high, the magic system is unlike that of any other YA fantasy, and the descriptions of Paris and Versailles are simply enchanting. The cast of characters that Camille encounters are equally humorous and maddening, and their obsession for excess and luxury juxtaposes perfectly with the poverty experienced by Camille’s family.

readmoreremove

2019 Texas Tayshas List

We’re proud to have two Macmillan titles on the 2019 Texas Tayshas Reading List!

CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber
CAMP VALOR by Scott McEwen and Hof Williams

The Tayshas Reading List is a recommended reading list developed by public and school librarians from the Young Adult Round Table (YART). The purpose of the list is to encourage students in grades 9-12 to explore a variety of current books for recreational reading. Click here to view the full Tayshas list. readmoreremove

ENCHANTÉE: Free Chapter Sampler

Gita Trelease’s YA fantasy debut is lush and imaginative and now you can get a taste of the magic for yourself!

Click here to download a free chapter sampler of ENCHANTÉE!

Love. Magic. Revolution. It’s CARAVAL in the world of Marie Antoinette! ENCHANTÉE is Gita Trelease’s debut fantasy about an impoverished girl who must use magic to impersonate an aristocrat in Versailles to provide for her sister as her own political awakening forces her to choose sides in the French Revolution.

“An immersive, glittering debut that intriguingly blends history and fantasy.”
Booklist

“Camille’s desire to be a voice of change for the oppressed will resonate.” —Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Teen Talk (11/28/2018 Edition)

Hey, YA librarians!

Check out our latest & greatest YA titles from the past two months, then join us on Twitter today at 2:30pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading & loving!

TEEN TRAILBLAZERS: 30 Fearless Girls Who Changed the World Before They Were 20 by Jennifer Calvert, illustrated by Vesna Asanovic
9781250200204
Ages 12 to 18
Click here to download a preview!
TEEN TRAILBLAZERS tells the stories of 30 awe-inspiring young women, from authors to activists, painters to politicians, inventors to icons. These pioneers are proof that every girl has the power to speak up, to speak out, to innovate, to inspire, to ask questions, and to challenge injustice. Each of these young women was “just a girl” until the day she wasn’t anymore—until she became a trailblazer.

“The age-appropriate content offers chances to hold discussions about how women have been challenged to overcome historical cultural norms . . . Ultimately, readers will enjoy rediscovering the subjects in this diverse collection of girls who had major positive impacts on their worlds.” —Booklist

WIND RIDER by P.C. Cast
9781250100788
Ages 12 to 18
In this blazing conclusion to the Tales of a New World trilogy, love and goodness are put to the ultimate test. Mari, Nik, and their newly formed Pack are being hunted. Thaddeus and the God of Death will stop at nothing until they are obliterated from the earth. But Mari and Nik have one goal: to reach the plains of the Wind Riders in order to band together to stop Thaddeus from destroying all that Mari and Nik hold dear.

SELFIE MADE: Your Ultimate Guide to Social Media Stardom by Meridith Valiando Rojas
9781250196743
Ages 12 to 18
Part personal stories, part how-to guide, SELFIE MADE teaches you how to launch your career on the internet. Sharing her personal stories while providing real-world advice, Meridith Valiando Rojas gives readers a sneak peek behind the curtain of her company, DigiTour Media, and what it’s been like working with major internet stars.

FANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell (trade paperback)
9781250042613
Ages 13 to 18
The beloved New York Times bestselling novel by Rainbow Rowell is now available in trade paperback!

“This is an epic writ small; the magic here is cast not with wands but with Rowell’s incredible ability to build complex, vivid, troubling, and triumphant relationships. Fans of ELEANOR & PARK and other bookish, nerdy types will thrill at finding such a fantastic and lasting description of one of their own.” —Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

css.php