Articles tagged "first novel"

Sneak Peek: December 2017 Indie Next List

Ho ho ho! These four Macmillan titles made the December 2017 Indie Next list!

YEAR ONE: Chronicles of the One by Nora Roberts
Two starred reviews! In the stunning beginning to an epic hardcover trilogy, #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts weaves an enthralling saga of suspense, survival, and the journey that will unite a desperate group of people to fight the battle of their lives. “Roberts’ new direction is electric and ground-breaking. A fast-paced, mesmerizing, and thought-provoking novel that will no doubt add to Roberts’ legions of fans.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THREE DAUGHTERS OF EVE by Elif Shafak
Peri, a married, wealthy, beautiful Turkish woman, is on her way to a dinner party at a seaside mansion in Istanbul when a beggar snatches her handbag. As she wrests it back, a photograph falls to the ground: an old polaroid of three young women and their university professor. This relic from a past unearths a love that Peri has tried desperately to forget and the scandal that tore the three women apart. “Shafak’s…portrait of a woman in existential crisis feels universal, shining clarifying light on Islam—and religious spirituality in general—within the frame of today’s world.” — Kirkus Reviews readmoreremove

Booklist’s Best Debuts of 2017

Booklist‘s Top 10 First Novels of 2017 list includes two of our favorite debuts:

GOODBYE, VITAMIN by Rachel Khong
Rachel returns home to help her mother care for her father as he struggles with dementia in Khong’s tender, deadpan-funny, and affecting drama about memory, self, and caregiving.

THE RESURRECTION OF JOAN ASHBY by Cherise Wolas
Joan did not want to be a mother, and, sure enough, when she ends up with two sons, all her fears come true in Wolas’ breathtaking novel, which does for motherhood what GONE GIRL (2012) did for marriage.

Fall Debuts!

Thank you Library Journal for rounding up all of the fantastic pieces of first fiction for the Fall! Why yes, I do love the letter 'F'!


POP FICTION


Thelma Adams. Playdate. Thomas Dunne Bks: St. Martin's. Jan.
Paula Brackston. The Witch's Daughter. Thomas Dunne Bks: St. Martin's. Jan.
Keith Hollihan. The Four Stages of Cruelty. Thomas Dunne Bks: St. Martin's. Dec. "...keeps readers guessing until the last page." (PW starred review)
Sam Meekings. Under Fishbone Clouds. Thomas Dunne Bks: St. Martin's. Dec. "A beautifully told love story." (PW starred review)


LITERARY


Tishani Doshi. The Pleasure Seekers. Bloomsbury, dist. by Macmillan. Sept. "This engaging tale of mixed cultures is a happy read." (LJ 9/1/10)


THRILLERS


Ben Coes. Power Down. St. Martin's. Sept. (Massachusetts) "This well-written thriller will appeal to fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor." (LJ 8/10)
Adam Dunn. Rivers of Gold. Bloomsbury, dist. by Macmillan. Oct.


MYSTERY


Toby Ball. The Vaults. St. Martin's. Sept. (New Hampshire)
Joelle Charbonneau. Skating Around the Law. Minotaur: St. Martin's. Sept. "Featuring lots of small-town charm and humor, this quirky and charming debut will attract cozy fans." (LJ 10/1/10)
Gary Corby. The Pericles Commission. Minotaur: St. Martin's. Oct. "This series opener will appeal to historical mystery fans and readers who enjoy Lindsey Davis and Kelli Stanley." (LJ 8/10)
Hilary Davidson. The Damage Done. Forge: Tor. Sept. "An intriguing psychological mystery with a fully drawn protagonist who is surrounded by real characters who either care for her or who want her to fit their idea of who she should be." (LJ 10/1/10)


ROMANCE


Tiffany Clare. Surrender of a Lady. Thomas Dunne Bks: St. Martin's. Sept.


HISTORICAL FICTON


Glen Scott Allen. The Shadow War. Thomas Dunne Bks: St. Martin's. Nov.


SF/FANTASY/HORROR


Beth Bernobich. Passion Play. Tor. Oct. Connecticut) "Brings to life a Renaissance-era world of arcane politics and romantic intrigue with a [complex] heroine." (LJ 9/15/10)
Col Buchanan. Farlander. Tor. Jan.
Lisa Desrochers. Personal Demons. Tor. Sept.


 


 

css.php