Articles tagged "first novel"

2018 Locus Award Finalists

Congratulations to our out-of-this-world 2018 Locus Award finalists!

Best Science Fiction Novel
WALKAWAY by Cory Doctorow
LUNA: Wolf Moon by Ian McDonald
SEVEN SURRENDERS by Ada Palmer
THE COLLAPSING EMPIRE by John Scalzi
BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer

Best Fantasy Novel
THE STONE IN THE SKULL by Elizabeth Bear
THE RUIN OF ANGELS by Max Gladstone
THE DELIRIUM BRIEF by Charles Stross
HORIZON by Fran Wilde

Best Horror
UNIVERSAL HARVESTER by John Darnielle
AFTER THE END OF THE WORLD by Jonathan L. Howard
BEHIND HER EYES by Sarah Pinborough
MORMAMA by Kit Reed

Best Young Adult
CHALK by Paul Cornell

Best First Novel
AMBERLOUGH by Lara Elena Donnelly
WINTER TIDE by Ruthanna Emrys
AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz

Best Novella
RIVER OF TEETH by Sarah Gailey
AGENTS OF DREAMLAND by Caitlin R. Kiernan
PASSING STRANGE by Ellen Klages
DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire
BINTI: HOME by Nnedi Okarafor
ALL SYSTEMS RED by Martha Wells
THE BLACK TIDES OF HEAVEN by JY Yang
THE RED THREADS OF FORTUNE by JY Yang

Best Anthology
THE YEAR’S BEST SCIENCE FICTION: Thirty-Fourth Annual Collection, edited by Gardner Dozois
INVISIBLE PLANETS, edited by Ken Liu

Best Collection
SIX MONTHS, THREE DAYS, FIVE OTHERS by Charlie Jane Anders
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado

Best Non-Fiction
NOT SO GOOD A GAY MAN by Frank M. Robinson readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: December 2017 Indie Next List

Ho ho ho! These four Macmillan titles made the December 2017 Indie Next list!

YEAR ONE: Chronicles of the One by Nora Roberts
Two starred reviews! In the stunning beginning to an epic hardcover trilogy, #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts weaves an enthralling saga of suspense, survival, and the journey that will unite a desperate group of people to fight the battle of their lives. “Roberts’ new direction is electric and ground-breaking. A fast-paced, mesmerizing, and thought-provoking novel that will no doubt add to Roberts’ legions of fans.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THREE DAUGHTERS OF EVE by Elif Shafak
Peri, a married, wealthy, beautiful Turkish woman, is on her way to a dinner party at a seaside mansion in Istanbul when a beggar snatches her handbag. As she wrests it back, a photograph falls to the ground: an old polaroid of three young women and their university professor. This relic from a past unearths a love that Peri has tried desperately to forget and the scandal that tore the three women apart. “Shafak’s…portrait of a woman in existential crisis feels universal, shining clarifying light on Islam—and religious spirituality in general—within the frame of today’s world.” — Kirkus Reviews readmoreremove

Booklist’s Best Debuts of 2017

Booklist‘s Top 10 First Novels of 2017 list includes two of our favorite debuts:

GOODBYE, VITAMIN by Rachel Khong
Rachel returns home to help her mother care for her father as he struggles with dementia in Khong’s tender, deadpan-funny, and affecting drama about memory, self, and caregiving.

THE RESURRECTION OF JOAN ASHBY by Cherise Wolas
Joan did not want to be a mother, and, sure enough, when she ends up with two sons, all her fears come true in Wolas’ breathtaking novel, which does for motherhood what GONE GIRL (2012) did for marriage.

Fall Debuts!

Thank you Library Journal for rounding up all of the fantastic pieces of first fiction for the Fall! Why yes, I do love the letter 'F'!


POP FICTION


Thelma Adams. Playdate. Thomas Dunne Bks: St. Martin's. Jan.
Paula Brackston. The Witch's Daughter. Thomas Dunne Bks: St. Martin's. Jan.
Keith Hollihan. The Four Stages of Cruelty. Thomas Dunne Bks: St. Martin's. Dec. "...keeps readers guessing until the last page." (PW starred review)
Sam Meekings. Under Fishbone Clouds. Thomas Dunne Bks: St. Martin's. Dec. "A beautifully told love story." (PW starred review)


LITERARY


Tishani Doshi. The Pleasure Seekers. Bloomsbury, dist. by Macmillan. Sept. "This engaging tale of mixed cultures is a happy read." (LJ 9/1/10)


THRILLERS


Ben Coes. Power Down. St. Martin's. Sept. (Massachusetts) "This well-written thriller will appeal to fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor." (LJ 8/10)
Adam Dunn. Rivers of Gold. Bloomsbury, dist. by Macmillan. Oct.


MYSTERY


Toby Ball. The Vaults. St. Martin's. Sept. (New Hampshire)
Joelle Charbonneau. Skating Around the Law. Minotaur: St. Martin's. Sept. "Featuring lots of small-town charm and humor, this quirky and charming debut will attract cozy fans." (LJ 10/1/10)
Gary Corby. The Pericles Commission. Minotaur: St. Martin's. Oct. "This series opener will appeal to historical mystery fans and readers who enjoy Lindsey Davis and Kelli Stanley." (LJ 8/10)
Hilary Davidson. The Damage Done. Forge: Tor. Sept. "An intriguing psychological mystery with a fully drawn protagonist who is surrounded by real characters who either care for her or who want her to fit their idea of who she should be." (LJ 10/1/10)


ROMANCE


Tiffany Clare. Surrender of a Lady. Thomas Dunne Bks: St. Martin's. Sept.


HISTORICAL FICTON


Glen Scott Allen. The Shadow War. Thomas Dunne Bks: St. Martin's. Nov.


SF/FANTASY/HORROR


Beth Bernobich. Passion Play. Tor. Oct. Connecticut) "Brings to life a Renaissance-era world of arcane politics and romantic intrigue with a [complex] heroine." (LJ 9/15/10)
Col Buchanan. Farlander. Tor. Jan.
Lisa Desrochers. Personal Demons. Tor. Sept.


 


 

css.php