Articles tagged "fiction"

Forthcoming #FridayReads: OONA OUT OF ORDER

A young woman explores family, love, and life as she bounces through time in Margarita Montimore’s OONA OUT OF ORDER.

Our story starts on New Years Eve 1982, which also happens to be the day before Oona Lockhart’s 19th birthday. She has big decisions to make about her future, with a boyfriend who loves her, and her whole life ahead of her. On the stroke of midnight, Oona passes out and wakes up in 2015 in her 51 year old body. Thus begins Oona’s life of jumping forwards and backwards through time to a random different year in her life every New Years Eve, experiencing life out of order. The novel is moving and surprisingly funny as it explores the power of love, the bonds of family, and wonders of life, making it perfect for readers of Chloe Benjamin’s THE IMMORTALISTS, THE TIME TRAVELLER’S WIFE, and THE CLOCKMAKER’S DAUGHTER, and definitely great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for OONA OUT OF ORDER

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “OONA OUT OF ORDER” to request a download widget.

Booklist’s 2019 Great Group Reads

Yara Zgheib’s THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET is among Booklist and the Women’s National Book Association’s favorite book club reads of the year!

THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET by Yara Zgheib

A February 2019 Indie Next pick + LibraryReads pick + Library Journal Best Debut!

A haunting portrait of a young woman’s struggle with anorexia on an intimate journey to reclaim her life.

“This is an impressive, deeply moving debut.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

2019 National Book Award Finalists

The finalists for the 2019 National Book Award have been announced, and FOUR Macmillan titles made the cut!

Translated Literature

DEATH IS HARD WORK by Khaled Khalifa, translated from the Arabic by Leri Price

Poetry

DEAF REPUBLIC: Poems by Ilya Kaminsky
BE RECORDER: Poems by Carmen Giménez Smith

Fiction

TRUST EXERCISE by Susan Choi

Winners will be announced on 11/20/19.

Library Journal “Day of Dialog”–Cambridge, Book Buzz (10/3/19)

For anyone who missed our title presentation during Library Journal‘s “Day of Dialog”–Cambridge, here’s the list:

A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler | February 4, 2020 | 9781250237279
THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER by Andy Davidson | February 11, 2020 | 9780374538552
THE MIRROR & THE LIGHT by Hilary Mantel | March 10, 2020 | 9780805096606
MISS AUSTEN by Gill Hornby | April 7, 2020 | 9781250252203
HID FROM OUR EYES: A Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne Mystery by Julia Spencer-Fleming | April 7, 2020 | 9780312606855
YOU ARE NOT ALONE by Greer Hendricks + Sarah Pekkanen | March 3, 2020 | 9781250202031
THE GOD GAME by Danny Tobey | January 7, 2020 | 9781250306142
TAKE ME APART by Sara Sligar | April 28, 2020 | 9780374272616
THE OTHER BENNET SISTER by Janice Hadlow | February 18, 2020 | 9781250129413
SAINT X by Alexis Schaitkin | February 18, 2020 | 9781250219596
SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS by Kawai Strong Washburn | March 31, 2020 | 9780374272081
FATHER OF LIONS: One Man’s Remarkable Quest to Save the Mosul Zoo by Louise Callaghan | January 14, 2020 | 9781250248947
GOOD BOY: My Life in Seven Dogs: A Memoir by Jennifer Finney Boylan | April 21, 2020 | 9781250261878
AMERICAN DIRT by Jeanine Cummins | January 21, 2020 | 9781250209764
THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS by Jennifer Rosner | March 3, 2020 | 9781250179760

Forthcoming #FridayReads: SAINT X

Today’s #FridayReads spotlight features Alexis Schaitkin’s psychological drama debut that explores grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters–welcome to SAINT X.

At the beginning of SAINT X, we meet a family on a luxury vacation in the Caribbean–there’s one 18 year old daughter and one just seven years old. One night the older daughter goes missing, and soon her body is found, with two local men who worked at the resort suspected of the murder, but ultimately released. Flash forward, the younger daughter is now an adult working in publishing in New York City. She gets in a cab one night, and that cab driver is one of the men suspected of her sister’s murder. Bum bum buuuum. She soon spirals into obsession, desperately trying to find out what happened the night of her sister’s death and who her sister really was. This debut will hit both psychological suspense and literary readers, and will definitely be great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for SAINT X:

Download the SAINT X e-galley from Edelweiss here.

Congrats to Our 2020 Carnegie Award Longlist Titles

The longlist for the ninth annual Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction has just been announced, and Macmillan has seven titles in the running!

Nonfiction

LOSING EARTH: A Recent History by Nathaniel Rich
ELDERHOOD: Redefining Aging, Transforming Medicine, Reimagining Life by Louise Aronson
IN THE DREAM HOUSE: A Memoir by Carmen Maria Machado

Fiction

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
THE GRAMMARIANS by Cathleen Schine
THE GUEST BOOK by Sarah Blake
LANNY by Max Porter

The six-title shortist will be announced on November 4, and winners revealed during the ALA Midwinter conference on January 26.

Happy #PubDay (10/01/19)

An American Midwest family drama + a new novel from the author of THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ + the return of L. Penelope’s Earthsinger, all in this week’s #PubDay celebration.

THE TOPEKA SCHOOL by Ben Lerner

“Autofiction at its smartest and most effective: self-interested, self-interrogating, but never self-involved.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CILKA’S JOURNEY by Heather Morris

“Morris’s propulsive tale shows the goodness that can be found even inside the gulag.”--Publishers Weekly

WHISPERS OF SHADOW & FLAME by L. Penelope

Two starred reviews!

“If you are looking for an epic fantasy to recommend to your patrons, this is the one to pick.”–Booklist, starred review

“This is a wonderful integration of high-stakes epic fantasy intrigue with intimate personal connections.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist says they’re perfect for teens—and we agree!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
In the vein of ANOTHER BROOKLYN and AMERICANAH, DOMINICANA is a novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother.

“YAs will be struck by the ways Ana’s coming-of-age is complicated by family needs and immigration realities.” —Booklist, YA Interest

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: December 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite December titles for the December 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due November 1!

DEAD ASTRONAUTS by Jeff VanderMeer

“VanderMeer is a master of literary science fiction, and this may be his best book yet.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THIN ICE by Paige Shelton

“Readers are left wondering up to the last exciting page what the answers are, and will eagerly await the second in this new Alaska mysteries series from the author of the Scottish Bookshop mysteries.”–Booklist

readmoreremove

2019 National Book Award Longlist

The 2019 National Book Award longlist has been announced, and Macmillan has seven books in the running!

Translated Literature

THE COLLECTOR OF LEFTOVER SOULS: Field Notes on Brazil’s Everyday Insurrections by Eliane Brum, translated from the Portuguese by Diane Grosklaus Whitty
SPACE INVADERS by Nona Fernández, translated from the Spanish by Natasha Wimmer
DEATH IS HARD WORK by Khaled Khalifa, translated from the Arabic by Leri Price

Poetry

DEAF REPUBLIC: Poems by Ilya Kaminsky
BE RECORDER: Poems by Carmen Giménez Smith

Nonfiction

THE END OF THE MYTH: From the Frontier to the Border Wall in the Mind of America by Greg Grandin

Fiction

TRUST EXERCISE by Susan Choi

Finalists will be announced on 10/8/19 and the winners on 11/20/19!

css.php