Articles tagged "fiction"

#PubDay (2/19/19)

Fiction & nonfiction; short stories & novellas; historical & supernatural–you name it, we’ve got it for today’s #pubday celebration!

DAUGHTER OF MOLOKA’I by Alan Brennert
“A historically solid, ultimately hopeful novel about injustice, survival, and unbreakable family bonds. Expect high demand.”–Booklist

AERIALISTS: Stories by Mark Mayer
March 2019 Indie Next Pick!
“An ambitious collection of short stories that heralds the coming of a new voice in American fiction.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE HAUNTING OF TRAM CAR 015 by P. Djèlí Clark
“Clark (THE BLACK GOD’S DRUMS, 2018) continues to astound readers with his creativity and exploration of different supernatural entities…. This book will delight readers of all ages.”–Booklist

readmoreremove

2019 In the Margins Book Awards

Congrats to all FIVE Macmillan titles named to the 2019 In the Margins book lists!

Recommended Fiction Book List:
THE CARTEL 7: Illuminati: Roundtable of Bosses by Ashley & JaQuavis Coleman
THE DIAMOND EMPIRE by K’wan

Recommended Nonfiction Book List:
RAW: My Journey into the Wu-Tang by Lamont “U-God” Hawkins (Top 10!)
WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan-Cullors & asha bandele

Advocacy & Social Justice Award nominee:
THE SUN DOES SHINE: How I Found Life and Freedom on Death Row by Anthony Ray Hinton

readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: THE DAUGHTERS OF TEMPERANCE HOBBS

This week’s featured Maximum Shelf Awareness pick is the bewitching and eagerly-awaited THE DAUGHTERS OF TEMPERANCE HOBBS by Katherine Howe!

New York Times bestselling author Katherine Howe returns to the world of THE PHYSICK BOOK OF DELIVERANCE DANE with a bewitching story of a New England history professor who must race against time to free her fiancé from a curse.

Connie Goodwin is an expert on America’s fractured past with witchcraft. A young, tenure-track professor in Boston, she’s earned career success by studying the history of magic in colonial America–especially women’s home recipes and medicines–and by exposing society’s threats against women fluent in those skills. But beyond her studies, Connie harbors a secret: She is the direct descendant of a woman tried as a witch in Salem, an ancestor whose abilities were far more magical than the historical record shows. When a hint from her mother and clues from her research lead Connie to the shocking realization that her partner’s life is in danger, she must race to solve the mystery behind a hundreds-years-long deadly curse. Flashing back through American history to the lives of certain supernaturally gifted women, THE DAUGHTERS OF TEMPERANCE HOBBS affectingly reveals not only the special bond that unites one particular matriarchal line, but also explores the many challenges to women’s survival across the decades–and the risks some women are forced to take to protect what they love most.

“Howe’s seamless blending of fantasy, history, suspense and romance–coupled with vivid characters, dynamic tone and a thrilling pace–result in a riveting novel. She has clearly unearthed the magic recipe for crafting superb fiction, and readers will reap the rewards.”–Shelf Awareness

See the full summary, review and interview with Katherine Howe on Shelf-Awareness.com. And enter to win an ARC!

Spring 2019 Debuts to Watch

Macmillan is bringing on the talent with these exciting debuts hitting shelves near you in Spring 2019!

THE FLATSHARE by Beth O’Leary
“With likable main characters, spot-on dialogue, a fun premise, and plenty of drama, there’s a lot to like in this sweet story. A warm, enchanting love story perfect for fans of classic rom-coms.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE ESCAPE ROOM by Megan Goldin
Four Wall Street sharks are lured to a “team-building” escape room experience, only to learn someone with a darker motive is pulling the strings.

THE RIGHT SORT OF MAN by Allison Montclair
In London, 1946, the two women who recently started The Right Sort Marriage Bureau find their new livelihood endangered when a client is arrested for the murder of another.

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: April 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite April 2019 titles for the April 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due March 1! 

THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by Tracey Garvis Graves

“Smart, lovely, yet socially awkward Annika avoids the tumult of the crowd, preferring the kind of quiet discipline she finds in chess. That’s how she meets outgoing Jonathan, beating him at his first game when he joins the chess club. Soon they are planning their lives together, but they are separated by tragedy and meet again years later. She’s a librarian (of course), he’s a divorced Wall Street genius, and maybe their love has withstood what they’ve endured. Big promo, much love; from the New York Times best-selling author of ONE THE ISLAND.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

TRUST EXERCISE by Susan Choi

Three starred reviews!

“[T]he writing (exquisite) and the observations (cuttingly accurate) make Choi’s latest both wrenching and one-of-a-kind. Never sentimental; always thrillingly alive.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Fiercely intelligent, impeccably written, and observed with searing insight, this novel is destined to be a classic.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

NBCC 2018 Finalists

The National Book Critics Circle has released their finalists for the outstanding books of 2018, and Macmillan has six titles on the list!

Biography
FLASH: The Making of Weegee the Famous by Christopher Bonanos
NINETY-NINE GLIMPSES OF PRINCESS MARGARET by Craig Brown

Fiction
MILKMAN by Anna Burns

Poetry
STILL LIFE WITH TWO DEAD PEACOCKS AND A GIRL: Poems by Diane Seuss
ASYMMETRY: Poems by Adam Zagajewski

John Leonard Prize Finalist
A LUCKY MAN: Stories by Jamel Brinkley

Winners will be announced March 14.

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books:

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration.

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
“With such a dynamic ensemble of opinions and reflections, the collection will be sweet reading not just for Beyoncé’s superfans, but also for activists, feminists, and budding vocalists. An uplifting and resounding ovation.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Entertaining and illuminating, this essay collection will please readers no matter their Beyoncé fan status level.”Publishers Weekly

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion
by Tanisha C. Ford
From sneakers to leather jackets, a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet.

GO HIGH: The Unstoppable Presence and Poise of Michelle Obama
by M. Sweeney
A photographic celebration of the former first lady’s elegance and strength.

readmoreremove

SUPER MEGA Stars On Stars On Stars On Stars (1/11/19)

Forecast calls for a meteor shower! Make room on your shelves for our many STARS.

Fiction:

THE NOWHERE CHILD by Christian White
“White’s tightly woven debut thriller has already won the Victorian Premier Literary Award in Australia; its arrival Stateside comes highly recommended.”–Library Journal, starred review

“The impatient may be tempted to skip ahead, but they shouldn’t. Thriller fans will want to savor every crumb of evidence and catch every clue. White is definitely a writer to watch.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

TRUST EXERCISE by Susan Choi
[T]he writing (exquisite) and the observations (cuttingly accurate) make Choi’s latest both wrenching and one-of-a-kind. Never sentimental; always thrillingly alive.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Fiercely intelligent, impeccably written, and observed with searing insight, this novel is destined to be a classic.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

#PubDay (1/8/19)

It’s #pubday for a thrilling sci-fi series, a coming-of-age story couched in myth and history, and a how-to for dating in the modern age!

GHOST WALLL by Sarah Moss
2 starred reviews!
January 2019 Indie Next Pick
A taut, gripping tale of a young woman and an Iron Age reenactment trip that unearths frightening behavior. “This novella-length story is thought provoking on multiple levels, with insights into primitive and modern societies, and coming of age in the face of family violence.”–Library Journal, starred review

HOW TO DATE MEN WHEN YOU HATE MEN by Blythe Roberson
2 starred reviews!
A comedy philosophy book aimed at interrogating what it means to date men within the trappings of modern society. “The title of Roberson’s first book sounds like a dating manual; it is so much better than that. Instead of useful advice, she offers a survival manual for cis straight women living in a patriarchal society that undervalues their work but who still want to smooch hot guys.”–Booklist, starred review

THROUGH FIERY TRIALS: Safehold (Volume 10) by David Weber
The tenth volume in the New York Times bestselling Safehold series finds Safehold facing an uncertain future.

For Your Consideration: March 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite March 2019 titles for the March 2019 LibraryReads list!  

*Votes due February 1!

REDEMPTION POINT by Candice Fox

“Wrongly accused of abducting Claire Bingley, former police detective Ted Conkaffey is protecting himself from Claire’s murderous father by hiding out in a remote town in the Australian rain forest and trying to find the real culprit. Meanwhile, the detective inspector investigating the killing of two bartenders at the local Barking Frog Inn is a homicide first timer. Enter tattooed-to-the-hilt Amanda Pharrell, a private detective who’s done time for murder and who joins with Ted to discover who’s responsible for all the blood. Just the way Ned Kelly Award–winning Fox joins forces with James Patterson now and again.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

MAKE ME A CITY by Jonathan Carr

“The rise of Chicago in the 19th century provides the frame for a trove of colorful stories and characters in this entertaining debut novel…Carr has a sure touch, and in many extended anecdotes, his narrative skills show exceptional detail, pacing, and tension. A solid storyteller enlivens a rich patch of American history.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

css.php