Articles tagged "FEVER IN THE DARK"

2016 Agatha & Lefty Award Winners

Happy #ThrillerThursday, friends! First, congrats to our MWA Grand Masters Ellen Hart (FEVER IN THE DARK/The Jane Lawless Mysteries, Minotaur Books) and Max Allan Collins (BETTER DEAD, Forge Books), who were officially announced as part of the 2017 Edgar Award winners!

Congratulations to our 2016 Agatha Award winners

Best Contemporary Novel: A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)
Best Historical Novel: THE REEK OF RED HERRINGS by Catriona McPherson (Minotaur Books)

Congratulations to our 2017 Lefty Awards winners

Lefty for Best Mystery Novel: A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)
Lefty for Best Historical Mystery Novel (Bruce Alexander Memorial): THE REEK OF RED HERRINGS by Catriona McPherson (Minotaur Books)

Now on to our new mysteries & thrillers hitting shelves this week:

PROVING GROUND by Peter Blauner
Two starred reviews! Edgar Award-winner Peter Blauner introduces New York police detective Lourdes Robles tracking the case of a murdered criminal defense attorney and his Iraq war veteran son in this “top-notch crime novel” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review)—his first in more than a decade. “Blauner has crafted two strong and complex leads in Natty and Lourdes and given readers an intricate plot that never feels forced.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

YOUR KILLIN’ HEART by Peggy O’Neal Peden
Winner of the Malice Domestic Competition for Best First Traditional Mystery Novel, a delightful Nashville cozy featuring a plucky sleuth and the beyond-the-grave machinations of a country star. “Peden’s debut vividly captures the Nashville music scene and the city’s Southern atmosphere. Campbell is an charming amateur sleuth, loyal to a fault. Fans of Tonya Kappes’s books and readers who enjoy humorous whodunits with a strong sense of place will find this one delightful.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE FALLEN by Eric Van Lustbader
The sequel to the internationally bestselling THE TESTAMENT! “A decade later, Lustbader reopens his study of good and evil, secret cults, and God and Lucifer’s elemental struggle for world dominion. Intelligent, well-researched, and unsettling,….” — Kirkus Reviews

THE GRAVES by Pamela Wechsler
In Pamela Wechsler’s latest novel featuring upper crust Boston DA Abby Endicott, Abby becomes personally embroiled in a serial killer case whose victims are all young women. “Catnip for readers attached to Boston, believably strong women, legal intrigue, or any combination of the above.” — Kirkus Reviews readmoreremove

Groundhog Day Thriller Thursday!

groundhogthrillerthursgroundhogdayIt’s Groundhog Day! Punxsutawney Phil saw his shadow this morning, which means six more weeks of winter. Good thing we’ve got lots of great mysteries & thrillers to keep your pulse pounding during these cold days and nights:

BEHIND HER EYES by Sarah Pinborough
A January 2017 LibraryReads pick and a February 2017 Indie Next pick! “Pinborough, an accomplished author of horror, mysteries, dark fantasy, and psychological suspense, has drawn on all her gifts to tell her latest story, a masterpiece of suspense centered on a bad marriage. Give this intense book to patrons freely, but especially target those who are fatigued with the current spate of female-driven psychological suspense. It will be enough to shake things up for them (it even has a hashtag campaign, #WTFThatEnding).” Booklist, starred review

FEVER IN THE DARK by Ellen Hart
The 21st book in the Jane Lawless series from future-MWA Grand Master Ellen Hart! A video gone viral brings unwelcome attention to a newly married lesbian couple with dark secrets in their past. “Hart was inspired this time to write a tightly plotted, exceptionally engrossing mystery, one of the strongest in a popular series.”
Booklist

SNOWBLIND by Ragnar Jonasson
“The 2008 financial crash provides the backdrop for Jonasson’s sterling debut, a tale of past and present revenge, which combines the power of extreme climate and geography with penetrating psychological analysis. The action builds to a shattering climax.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

PILL CITY: How Two Honor Roll Students Foiled the Feds and Built a Drug Empire by Kevin Deutsch
Veteran crime reporter Deutsch goes undercover to investigate how two honor-roll high school students with $100 became the tech-entrepreneurs of the opiate trade during the Baltimore riots. “Deutsch lets the authentic and powerful voices of those involved reveal the ruthless tactics employed to dominate the illegal drug markets and the equally dramatic efforts by law enforcement to curtail and repair their damage. …[It] issues a siren call for societal changes. ” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Mystery Awards News & a Cozy Sampler!

Happy #ThrillerThursday, lovely librarians. We have SO MUCH great mystery awards news for you, with our nominees for the 2017 Edgar Awards, the 2016 Agatha Awards, and the 2017 Left Coast Crime “Lefty” Awards, plus a special CWA Diamond Dagger honoree!

2017 Edgar Award nominees (full list) — honoring the best in mystery

Best Fact Crime
MORGUE: A Life in Death by Dr. Vincent DiMaio & Ron Franscell (St. Martin’s Press)

Mary Higgins Clark Award
SAY NO MORE by Hank Phillippi Ryan (Forge Books)

MWA Grand Masters
Ellen Hart (FEVER IN THE DARK/The Jane Lawless Mysteries, Minotaur Books)
Max Allan Collins (BETTER DEAD, Forge Books)

The winners will be announced on April 27.

2016 Agatha Award nominees (full list) — honoring the “traditional mystery” and the cozy subgenre

Best Contemporary Novel:
A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)
SAY NO MORE by Hank Phillippi Ryan (Forge Books)

Best Historical Novel:
THE REEK OF RED HERRINGS by Catriona McPherson (Minotaur Books)

Best First Novel:
TERROR IN TAFFETA by Marla Cooper (Minotaur Books)
DESIGN FOR DYING by Renee Patrick (Forge Books)

The winners will be announced on April 29.

2017 Lefty Awards nominees (full list) — fan awards chosen by registered members of the Left Coast Crime convention

Lefty for Best Mystery Novel
A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)

Lefty for Best Humorous Mystery Novel
DIE LIKE AN EAGLE by Donna Andrews (Minotaur Books)

Lefty for Best Historical Mystery Novel (Bruce Alexander Memorial)
A DEATH ALONG THE RIVER FLEET by Susanna Calkins (Minotaur Books)
THE REEK OF RED HERRINGS by Catriona McPherson (Minotaur Books)

Lefty for Best Debut Mystery Novel
TERROR IN TAFFETA by Marla Cooper (Minotaur Books)
DESIGN FOR DYING by Renee Patrick (Forge Books)

The winners will be announced on March 18.

In more amazing mystery news, Ann Cleeves (THE CROW TRAP) is being awarded the Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) Diamond Dagger Award, which is the highest honor in British crime writing!

The award recognizes authors whose careers have been marked by sustained excellence, and have made a significant contribution to the genre. She will be honored during the CWA’s Dagger Awards ceremony in London on October 26.

Cleeves said, “It’s a huge honor to be recognized by my peers, the crime-writers whose books, friendship and support I’ve enjoyed for more than thirty years. I am privileged to have had such a happy career and I will always be grateful for the support of booksellers and forever indebted to the passion and expertise of librarians, without whom I wouldn’t still be writing today.”

Looking for a new cozy mystery author to love? Our friends at Minotaur Books have put together a complimentary COZY CASE FILES Winter 2017 sampler, available for download right now on Edelweiss and as a Read it Now! title on NetGalley.

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (12/8/16 Edition)

We’ve got four great new mysteries for you this #ThrillerThursday, but first some excellent news: Ellen Hart (The Jane Lawless mysteries; FEVER IN THE DARK) has been named a 2017 MWA Grand Master!

MWA’s Grand Master Award represents the pinnacle of achievement in mystery writing and was established to acknowledge important contributions to this genre, as well as for a body of work that is both significant and of consistent high quality.

Now on to the books!

DON’T TURN OUT THE LIGHTS by Bernard Minier
Two starred reviews for the third thrilling Commandant Martin Servaz mystery, in which a serial killer he’s devoted his career to has targeted a radio show host as his next victim. “This is not your ordinary stalker thriller. It is a brilliant aria da capo, set appropriately to an operatic soundtrack, with a surprising and thoroughly satisfying conclusion. Perfect for fans of Martin Walker’s Bruno Courrèges series.” — Booklist, starred review

THE GENTLEMAN FROM JAPAN by James Church
“A complex mystery involving seven deaths in one night kicks off Church’s excellent sixth novel featuring enigmatic North Korean intelligence operative Inspector O. The pseudonymous Church, himself a former spy, makes all the plot developments chillingly plausible.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

css.php