Articles tagged "FAMOUS PEOPLE"

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist has deemed them to be perfect for teens—and we agree!

MOONBOUND: Apollo 11 and the Dream of Spaceflight by Jonathan Fetter-Vorm
A rich, full-color graphic exploration of our journey to the moon and a celebration of scientific achievement.

“Dense with historical, political, and scientific information but a fascinating exploration for interested older teens” —Booklist, YA Interest

THE SOL MAJESTIC by Ferrett Steinmetz
Kenna, an aspirational teen guru, wanders destitute across the stars as he tries to achieve his parents’ ambition to advise the celestial elite. THE SOL MAJESTIC is a big-hearted intergalactic adventure for fans of Becky Chambers and The Good Place.

“This coming-of-age-in-space story with a same-sex romance subplot will appeal to teen readers of quieter sf.” —Booklist, YA Interest

DRIVE-THRU DREAMS: A Journey Through the Heart of America’s Fast-Food Kingdom by Adam Chandler
We are all too familiar with the dark underbelly of the fast-food kingdom, but it is also symbolic of what we mean to be: democratic, efficient, and accessible to the masses. Chandler’s insightful and hilarious cultural study shows that the fast-food industry, though imperfect, reflects much of what makes us Americans.

“Young hamburger-flippers need not despair of their futures. Chandler tells about teens who built on what they learned from their behind-the-counter jobs to go on to fame and fortune in all walks of life.” —Booklist, YA Interest

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion by Tanisha C. Ford
In this highly engaging book, fashionista and pop culture expert Tanisha C. Ford investigates Afros and dashikis, go-go boots and hotpants of the sixties, hip hop’s baggy jeans and bamboo earrings, and the #BlackLivesMatter-inspired hoodies of today.

“YAs will enjoy the numerous cultural references and social justice theme and find Ford’s rebellious teen years very relatable.” —Booklist, YA Interest

FAMOUS PEOPLE by Justin Kuritzkes
This fresh, smart novel in the guise of a celebrity memoir probes the inner life of a mega-famous pop star.

“Teens who don’t mind the off-beat writing style will definitely see shades of their favorite teen idols and will enjoy the drama.” —Booklist, YA Interest

ARCHAEOLOGY FROM SPACE: How the Future Shapes Our Past by Sarah Parcak
National Geographic Fellow and TED Prize-winner Dr. Sarah Parcak welcomes you to the brave new world of “space archaeology,” a growing field of exploration that has brought humanity to a tipping point of mass discovery in the ancient world.

“Any teen interested in archaeology and/or space technology will claim Parcak as a new hero.” —Booklist, YA Interest

July 2019 Debuts Spotlight

Dive in to July’s delightful debuts!

STAY AND FIGHT by Madeline ffitch

A July 2019 Indie Next Pick!

“As the stakes rise, for both the family and the preservation of the region, the novel skewers stereotypes and offers only a messy, real depiction of people who fully embody the imperative of the novel’s title. This is a stellar novel.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

WHISPER NETWORK by Chandler Baker

A July 2019 Indie Next Pick + a Reese Witherspoon/Hello Sunshine Book Club pick + 3 starred reviews!

“Smart, articulate, and witty, it will resonate with a huge audience. Highly recommended.“–Library Journal, starred review

“A compulsively readable mystery with a strong message. Don’t miss it.“–Booklist, starred review

“It’s a breezy page-turner of a book, which is the brilliance of it: Under the froth is an unmistakable layer of justified rage. Over-the-top in all the right ways.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Spring 2019 Debuts to Watch

Macmillan is bringing on the talent with these exciting debuts hitting shelves near you in Spring 2019!

THE FLATSHARE by Beth O’Leary
“With likable main characters, spot-on dialogue, a fun premise, and plenty of drama, there’s a lot to like in this sweet story. A warm, enchanting love story perfect for fans of classic rom-coms.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE ESCAPE ROOM by Megan Goldin
Four Wall Street sharks are lured to a “team-building” escape room experience, only to learn someone with a darker motive is pulling the strings.

THE RIGHT SORT OF MAN by Allison Montclair
In London, 1946, the two women who recently started The Right Sort Marriage Bureau find their new livelihood endangered when a client is arrested for the murder of another.

readmoreremove
css.php