Articles tagged "family"

Nonfiction Round-Up (12/04/19)

The first behind-the-scenes look at the most enigmatic FLOTUS in history, the true story of the Greely Expedition, a timely memoir on race and familial reconciliation, and a study on twentieth-century dictators–find it all in this nonfiction round-up.

FREE, MELANIA: The Unauthorized Biography by Kate Bennett

An insider’s look at Melania Trump, beginning with her childhood in Slovenia up to her days in the White House.

LABYRINTH OF ICE: The Triumphant and Tragic Greely Polar Expedition by Buddy Levy

A December Indie Next List pick!

“This gripping book is a testament to the bravery and sheer doggedness of men determined to survive despite harsh conditions. Readers of polar histories, U.S. Navy history, and other armchair adventurers will enjoy this work.”–Library Journal

THE BROKEN ROAD: George Wallace and a Daughter’s Journey to Reconciliation by Peggy Wallace Kennedy

“In this thoughtful, evenhanded debut, Kennedy, the daughter of former Alabama governor George Wallace, reflects on her life with the staunch segregationist.”–Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

Four Stars for AMERICAN DIRT!

Jeanine Cummins’ immigration saga AMERICAN DIRT–the splashiest book of 2020 so far–now has FOUR starred reviews!

“As the quartet travel, they face terror on a constant basis, with danger possible from any encounter, but also compassion and occasionally even wonder. This extraordinary novel about unbreakable determination will move the reader to the core.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Beautiful, straightforward language drives home the point that migration to safer places is not a political issue but a human one. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: With a story line sure to be much discussed this election year—plus a film in the works—AMERICAN DIRT may be the don’t-miss book of 2020.”–Booklist, starred review

Intensely suspenseful and deeply humane, this novel makes migrants seeking to cross the southern U.S. border indelibly individual.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Here, it’s the journey rather than the arrival on American dirt that counts, and readers will wonder whether they could ever have survived such a trek even as they realize that this could happen to them. An important book.”–Library Journal, starred review

Forthcoming #FridayReads: SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS

Explore the legends of Hawai’ian gods and an engrossing family saga in this week’s Forthcoming #FridayRead: Kawai Strong Washburn’s debut, SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS–a story of exile and the pursuit of salvation.

A young family is vacationing when their seven-year-old son falls overboard (seriously worst nightmare material). BUT a shark appears, cradling the child in its jaws and delivering him back to the mom. Now the family thinks that everything is turning around for them–they’re clearly favored by the ancient Hawaiian gods–and everyone moves off the island seeking fame and fortune… except life doesn’t always work out like that, does it? Depicting life for working class Hawai’ians–beyond hula-dancers, endless summers, and Disney’s MoanaSHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS introduces readers to a new, vital, and truly Hawai’ian literary voice, steeped in creation myths and mythology.

“Washburn’s standout debut provides a vivid portrait of Hawaiian identity, mythology, and diaspora… a unique and spirited depiction of the 50th state and its children.”–Publishers Weekly

Download an e-galley of SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS from Edelweiss here.

Winter 2019–2020 Indie Next List for Reading Groups Preview

Hey all you book club hosters, the Winter 2019–2020 Indie Next List for Reading Groups Preview includes 8 Macmillan titles!

Top 10

#1: SHE WOULD BE KING by Wayétu Moore

Family & Coming of Age

THE FAMILY TABOR by Cherise Wolas

Backlisted But Not Forgotten

300 ARGUMENTS by Sarah Manguso
PYONGYANG: A Journey in North Korea by Guy Delisle

Nonfiction & Memoir

ONE PERSON, NO VOTE: How Voter Suppression Is Destroying Our Democracy by Carol Anderson

Relationships

MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson
THE THIRD HOTEL by Laura van den Berg

Thrills & Chills

MACHINE by Susan Steinberg

Happy #PubDay (10/01/19)

An American Midwest family drama + a new novel from the author of THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ + the return of L. Penelope’s Earthsinger, all in this week’s #PubDay celebration.

THE TOPEKA SCHOOL by Ben Lerner

“Autofiction at its smartest and most effective: self-interested, self-interrogating, but never self-involved.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CILKA’S JOURNEY by Heather Morris

“Morris’s propulsive tale shows the goodness that can be found even inside the gulag.”--Publishers Weekly

WHISPERS OF SHADOW & FLAME by L. Penelope

Two starred reviews!

“If you are looking for an epic fantasy to recommend to your patrons, this is the one to pick.”–Booklist, starred review

“This is a wonderful integration of high-stakes epic fantasy intrigue with intimate personal connections.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Thriller Thursday (9/19/19)

A Gilded Age paranormal mashup and a grandmother trapped in her worst nightmare…read on for this week’s #ThrillerThursday picks!

A GOLDEN GRAVE: A Rose Gallagher Mystery by Erin Lindsey

“A rousing paranormal adventure that explores the vast class differences shaping the heroine’s romance, with real historical personages adding a fillip.”–Kirkus Reviews

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr

“Fans who love Barr will devour this book, and readers who don’t want to begin a multivolume journey with one character will delight in this new stand-alone title.”–Library Journal, starred review

PW’s Big Indie Books of Fall

Macmillan has two books on Publishers Weekly‘s Big Indie Books List of Fall 2019!

KING OF KING COURT by Travis Dandro

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of Summer 2019

“[A]n extended poetic gaze on intergenerational helplessness and the violence it begets…. This gloriously scribbled story doesn’t rest on easy morals, or even attempt to forgive the past—Dandro’s triumph is drawing the reader through both the pain and beauty of his upbringing, and then moving forward.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

IN THE DREAM HOUSE by Carmen Maria Machado

“A fiercely honest, imaginatively written, and necessary memoir from one of our great young writers.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Happy #PubDay (9/17/19)

Explore one woman’s life inside Brooklyn’s Chasidic community + embark on an epic Chinese kung fu adventure in today’s #PubDay celebration!

ON DIVISION by Goldie Goldbloom

“Goldbloom, who is Chasidic and a mother of eight, vitally portrays the complex dynamics and paradoxes of a strictly regimented, unforgiving, yet loving religious enclave, and imaginatively and boldly explores the divide between tradition and compassion, community and self.”–Booklist

A HERO BORN by Jin Yong

“Newly translated into English, the ‘Legends of the Condor Heroes’ series is an epic, fantastical tale filled with betrayal, brotherhood, and kung fu energy. The first in the series shows the depth of Jin Yong’s writing, and the sobriquet of ‘China’s Tolkien’ is well deserved.”–Library Journal, starred review

Maximum Shelf: A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Therese Anne Fowler’s exploration of class, race, and heartrending star-crossed love, A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD.

For fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult comes a stunning page-turner about two very different families living side by side in an idyllic neighborhood–and the summer that changes their lives forever.

In Oak Knoll, a verdant, tight-knit North Carolina neighborhood, professor of forestry and ecology Valerie Alston-Holt is raising her bright and talented biracial son. Xavier is headed to college in the fall, and after years of single parenting, Valerie is facing the prospect of an empty nest. All is well until the Whitmans move in next door–an apparently traditional family with new money, ambition, and a secretly troubled teenaged daughter.

Thanks to his thriving local business, Brad Whitman is something of a celebrity around town, and he’s made a small fortune on his customer service and charm, while his wife, Julia, escaped her trailer park upbringing for the security of marriage and homemaking. Their new house is more than she ever imagined for herself, and who wouldn’t want to live in Oak Knoll?

readmoreremove

It’s a Biden Extravaganza

The Bidens are this week’s official power couple. With a presidential run and two memoirs between them, your patrons are ready to learn more about these influential policy-makers.

Dr. Jill Biden is a community college professor and served as Second Lady of the United States from 2009 to 2017. During the Obama-Biden administration, she advocated for military families, community colleges, the fight against cancer, and the education of women and girls around the world. She continues this work today through the Biden Foundation, the Biden Cancer Initiative, and the Beau Biden Foundation for the Protection of Children.

WHERE THE LIGHT ENTERS: Building a Family, Discovering Myself is an intimate look at the love that built the Biden family and the delicate balancing act of the woman at its center.

readmoreremove
css.php