Articles tagged "family"

Happy #PubDay (10/01/19)

An American Midwest family drama + a new novel from the author of THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ + the return of L. Penelope’s Earthsinger, all in this week’s #PubDay celebration.

THE TOPEKA SCHOOL by Ben Lerner

“Autofiction at its smartest and most effective: self-interested, self-interrogating, but never self-involved.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CILKA’S JOURNEY by Heather Morris

“Morris’s propulsive tale shows the goodness that can be found even inside the gulag.”--Publishers Weekly

WHISPERS OF SHADOW & FLAME by L. Penelope

Two starred reviews!

“If you are looking for an epic fantasy to recommend to your patrons, this is the one to pick.”–Booklist, starred review

“This is a wonderful integration of high-stakes epic fantasy intrigue with intimate personal connections.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Thriller Thursday (9/19/19)

A Gilded Age paranormal mashup and a grandmother trapped in her worst nightmare…read on for this week’s #ThrillerThursday picks!

A GOLDEN GRAVE: A Rose Gallagher Mystery by Erin Lindsey

“A rousing paranormal adventure that explores the vast class differences shaping the heroine’s romance, with real historical personages adding a fillip.”–Kirkus Reviews

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr

“Fans who love Barr will devour this book, and readers who don’t want to begin a multivolume journey with one character will delight in this new stand-alone title.”–Library Journal, starred review

PW’s Big Indie Books of Fall

Macmillan has two books on Publishers Weekly‘s Big Indie Books List of Fall 2019!

KING OF KING COURT by Travis Dandro

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of Summer 2019

“[A]n extended poetic gaze on intergenerational helplessness and the violence it begets…. This gloriously scribbled story doesn’t rest on easy morals, or even attempt to forgive the past—Dandro’s triumph is drawing the reader through both the pain and beauty of his upbringing, and then moving forward.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

IN THE DREAM HOUSE by Carmen Maria Machado

“A fiercely honest, imaginatively written, and necessary memoir from one of our great young writers.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Happy #PubDay (9/17/19)

Explore one woman’s life inside Brooklyn’s Chasidic community + embark on an epic Chinese kung fu adventure in today’s #PubDay celebration!

ON DIVISION by Goldie Goldbloom

“Goldbloom, who is Chasidic and a mother of eight, vitally portrays the complex dynamics and paradoxes of a strictly regimented, unforgiving, yet loving religious enclave, and imaginatively and boldly explores the divide between tradition and compassion, community and self.”–Booklist

A HERO BORN by Jin Yong

“Newly translated into English, the ‘Legends of the Condor Heroes’ series is an epic, fantastical tale filled with betrayal, brotherhood, and kung fu energy. The first in the series shows the depth of Jin Yong’s writing, and the sobriquet of ‘China’s Tolkien’ is well deserved.”–Library Journal, starred review

Maximum Shelf: A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Therese Anne Fowler’s exploration of class, race, and heartrending star-crossed love, A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD.

For fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult comes a stunning page-turner about two very different families living side by side in an idyllic neighborhood–and the summer that changes their lives forever.

In Oak Knoll, a verdant, tight-knit North Carolina neighborhood, professor of forestry and ecology Valerie Alston-Holt is raising her bright and talented biracial son. Xavier is headed to college in the fall, and after years of single parenting, Valerie is facing the prospect of an empty nest. All is well until the Whitmans move in next door–an apparently traditional family with new money, ambition, and a secretly troubled teenaged daughter.

Thanks to his thriving local business, Brad Whitman is something of a celebrity around town, and he’s made a small fortune on his customer service and charm, while his wife, Julia, escaped her trailer park upbringing for the security of marriage and homemaking. Their new house is more than she ever imagined for herself, and who wouldn’t want to live in Oak Knoll?

readmoreremove

It’s a Biden Extravaganza

The Bidens are this week’s official power couple. With a presidential run and two memoirs between them, your patrons are ready to learn more about these influential policy-makers.

Dr. Jill Biden is a community college professor and served as Second Lady of the United States from 2009 to 2017. During the Obama-Biden administration, she advocated for military families, community colleges, the fight against cancer, and the education of women and girls around the world. She continues this work today through the Biden Foundation, the Biden Cancer Initiative, and the Beau Biden Foundation for the Protection of Children.

WHERE THE LIGHT ENTERS: Building a Family, Discovering Myself is an intimate look at the love that built the Biden family and the delicate balancing act of the woman at its center.

readmoreremove

THE DREAM DAUGHTER is an October 2018 LibraryReads Pick!

TERRIFIC NEWS! Diane Chamberlain’s THE DREAM DAUGHTER is #4 on the October 2018 LibraryReads list!

THE LOVELY BONES meets THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE in LibraryReads author Chamberlain‘s new novel about a mother who must take a mind-bending leap of faith in order to save her unborn baby girl who has a heart defect.

“Chamberlain expertly blends the time-travel elements with the wonderful story of a mother’s love and the depths of sacrifice she makes for her child. This is a page-turning crowd-pleaser.” — Publishers Weekly

“Chamberlain stretches her sense of familial relationships and toe-curling suspense in new directions, weaving in elements of trust, history, and time as she explores the things we do for love. With a little tension and a lot of heart, THE DREAM DAUGHTER will delight Chamberlain’s fans and hook new readers.” — Booklist

“The story is well-paced and the ending satisfyingly sweet….” — Kirkus Reviews readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: October 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the October 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due August 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

THE RAIN WATCHER by Tatiana de Rosnay
Also available in audio
The bestselling author of SARAH’S KEY delivers a powerful family drama set in Paris as the Malegarde family gathers to celebrate the father’s 70th birthday. Their hidden fears and secrets are slowly unraveled as the City of Light undergoes a stunning natural disaster. “Triumphant…with raw and powerful reminisces and gorgeous descriptions. This is an emotional tour de force and a thoughtful, deliberate examination of personal tragedy and the possibility of redemption.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

INVISIBLE: The Forgotten Story of the Black Woman Lawyer Who Took Down America’s Most Powerful Mobster by Stephen L. Carter
Also available in audio
A BookExpo “Shout n’ Share” & ALA Annual “Read n’ Rave” librarian pick! Carter tells the incredible true story of his grandmother, Eunice Hunton Carter, a granddaughter of slaves who became one of the most famous African American women by the 1940s for her work as a lawyer that brought down organized crime in New York City. “A vivid portrait of a remarkable woman.” — Kirkus Reviews

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Invisible.”*

A WELL BEHAVED WOMAN by Therese Anne Fowler
Also available in audio
Two starred reviews! From New York Times bestselling author Fowler comes a riveting novel of iron-willed Alva Vanderbilt and her illustrious family as they rule Gilded-Age New York. “Expect high demand from fans of the author’s Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald and those who enjoy stories of the rich and famous.” — Library Journal

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE RAVENMASTER: My Life with the Ravens at the Tower of London by Christopher Skaife
Also available in audio
Skaife shares the behind-the-scenes account of life with the legendary ravens at the world’s eeriest monument, the Tower of London. “This is an utterly fascinating book about one of those subjects you never thought you’d be interested in until, well, you were. A splendid and constantly surprising book.” — Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE DREAM DAUGHTER by Diane Chamberlain
Also available in audio
THE LOVELY BONES meets THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE in LibraryReads author Chamberlain‘s new novel about a mother who must take a mind-bending leap of faith in order to save her unborn baby girl who has a heart defect. “The story is well-paced and the ending satisfyingly sweet….” — Kirkus Reviews

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE LITTLE SHOP OF FOUND THINGS by Paula Brackston
The New York Times bestselling author of THE WITCH’S DAUGHTER begins a new series about a young woman whose connection to antiques takes her on a magical adventure. “Fans of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander collection will delight in Brackston’s new series and eagerly await its second installment. A bewitching tale of love across centuries.” — Kirkus Reviews

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Father’s Day

Father’s Day is coming up this weekend! Here are two books for the dads (and dudes) in your life:

YOUR DAD STOLE MY RAKE: And Other Family Dilemmas by Tom Papa
It’s hard being a person, especially in a family, and no one knows that better than stand-up comedian, family man, and A Prairie Home Companion head writer and performer, Tom Papa. “Lauded by fellow comedians Jerry Seinfeld and Jim Gaffigan, Papa will send readers into peals of laughter…. At times poignant, always tickling the funny bone, Papa’s first book will brighten the most challenging days of toddler and teenagerhood.” — Library Journal, starred review

Going to ALA Annual next week? Tom Papa will be there at the “The Laugh’s On Us!”

readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (5/29/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to these big new releases!

SHELTER IN PLACE by Nora Roberts
A June 2018 Indie Next pick and a Publishers Weekly’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction pick! “Roberts’ latest polished novel delivers all the literary touchstones her fans have come to expect, including high-stakes suspense, a generous dollop of romance, a thoughtful exploration of the strong bonds of family and friendship that women create for themselves, and, of course, some HGTV fixer-upper moments. As a significant bonus, the book’s chilling, brutal opening scenes should be required reading for any politician waffling on the issue of gun control.” — Booklist

THE SUMMER I MET JACK by Michelle Gable
Also available in audio
The New York Times bestselling author imagines the affair between JFK and Alicia Corning Clark — and the child they may have had. “Gable seamlessly weaves this modern love story with history, ensuring romantic tension that doesn’t end with the acceleration of Jack’s career. Based on real events, this compassionate and intelligent blend of Adriana Trigiani’s ALL THE STARS IN THE HEAVENS and Bill Dedman and Paul Clark Newell Jr.’s EMPTY MANSIONS offers massive cross-genre appeal.” — Library Journal, starred review

SO CLOSE TO BEING THE SH*T, Y’ALL DON’T EVEN KNOW by Retta
Also available in audio
In her hilarious book of essays, Parks and Recreation and Good Girls star Retta shares the stories that led to her success in Hollywood. “Whether recalling her early years doing stand-up on the college circuit, expounding on the ways TV shows reflect us, or fangirling hard for the musical Hamilton, comedian and actor Retta spins entertaining tales and hilarious phrases. As books like this one go, hers is as honest, funny, and fun to read as they come.” — Booklist readmoreremove

css.php