Articles tagged "Fall 2019"

Red-Hot Fall 2019 Drop-In Alert: JAY-Z: Made in America by Michael Eric Dyson

From the New York Times bestselling author of TEARS WE CANNOT STOP and WHAT TRUTH SOUNDS LIKE comes JAY-Z: Made in America, a powerful examination of JAY-Z as a cultural icon, published for his 50th birthday.

JAY-Z is America at its scrappy, brash, irreverent, soulful, ingenious best: as transcendent a cultural icon as Frank Sinatra, as adventurous a self-made billionaire as Mark Zuckerberg, as gifted a poet as Walt Whitman. As he reaches the half-century mark, logs thirty years as a recording artist, becomes the genre’s first billionaire, reigns as an elder statesman in a field teeming with artists half his age, and continues to make relevant rap records that chart—and that chart an artistic and political response to revived racism and renewed hostility to blackness—it is an auspicious time to examine JAY-Z’s ideas, gifts and impact, to take measure of his stride as a cultural colossus. And there is no one better suited to the task than Michael Eric Dyson, who has investigated and championed hip hop, and the work of JAY-Z, as a critical American art form, for decades.

JAY-Z: Made in America goes on sale November 26, 2019 from St. Martin’s Press.

Also available in audio.

You’re Invited to Our Fall 2019/Winter 2020 Librarian Preview!

RSVP here by Friday, July 19th.

7/17/19 UPDATE: RSVPs for this event are now closed.

Join Library Journal for its first ever Day of Dialog Cambridge!

Team Macmillan Library is heading to Massachusetts for Library Journal‘s first ever Cambridge Day of Dialog! Register today for your chance to learn more about our favorite forthcoming titles and authors!

Library Journal Day of Dialog, October 3, 2019
Cambridge Public Library
449 Broadway, Cambridge, MA

Register now!

PW Fall 2019 Announcements

Publishers Weekly included 73 Macmillan titles in their Fall 2019 Announcements! Here’s our breakdown of the books that need to be on your radar:

Art, Architecture, and Philosophy

EXTRAORDINARY DOGS: Stories from Search and Rescue Dogs, Comfort Dogs, and Other Canine Heroes by Liz Stavrinides and John Schlimm

Business and Economics

START FINISHING: How to Go from Idea to Done by Charlie Gilkey (Top 10)
INFLUENCE: How social media influencers are shaping our digital future by Sara McCorquodale

Comics and Graphic Novels

MAKING COMICS by Lynda Barry (Top 10)
YEAR OF THE RABBIT by Tian Veasna (Top 10)
THE RIVER AT NIGHT by Kevin Huizenga
SPRING RAIN: A Graphic Memoir of Love, Madness, and Revolution by Andy Warner

Cooking and Food

LATERAL COOKING: One Dish Leads to Another by Niki Segnit

Essays and Literary Criticism

BUSTED IN NEW YORK AND OTHER ESSAYS by Darryl Pinckney (Top 10)
THE COLLECTOR OF LEFTOVER SOULS: Field Notes on Brazil’s Everyday Insurrections by Eliane Brum (Top 10)
HUMAN RELATIONS AND OTHER DIFFICULTIES: Essays by Mary-Kay Wilmers (Top 10)
THE DOLPHIN LETTERS, 1970-1979: Elizabeth Hardwick, Robert Lowell, and Their Circle by Elizabeth Hardwick and Robert Lowell; edited by Saskia Hamilton
ESSAYS ONE by Lydia Davis
EROSION: Essays of Undoing by Terry Tempest Williams

History

THIS LAND IS THEIR LAND: The Wampanoag Indians, Plymouth Colony, and the Troubled History of Thanksgiving by David J. Silverman (Top 10)
THE ANARCHY: The East India Company, Corporate Violence, and the Pillage of an Empire by William Dalrymple
RETREAT FROM MOSCOW: A New History of Germany’s Winter Campaign, 1941-1942 by David Stahel
AGENT JACK: The True Story of MI5’s Secret Nazi Hunter by Robert Hutton
THE GIRL IN THE PHOTOGRAPH: The True Story of a Native American Child, Lost and Found in America by Byron L. Dorgan

Lifestyle

GOOD HABITS, BAD HABITS: The Science of Making Positive Changes That Stick by Wendy Wood (Top 10)
THE MOVES THAT MATTER: A Chess Grandmaster on the Game of Life by Jonathan Rowson (Top 10)
REWILDING: Meditations, Practices, and Skills for Awakening in Nature by Micah Mortali
HOW NOT TO DIET: The Groundbreaking Science of Healthy, Permanent Weight Loss by Michael Greger, M.D., FACLM
BREATHING FOR WARRIORS: Learn the Secret of Pro Athletes, Coaches, and First Responders to Unlock the Path to Endurance, Strength, Precision, and an Unshakable Mental Game by Dr. Belisa Vranich

Literary Fiction

FIND ME by André Aciman (Top 10)
THE TOPEKA SCHOOL by Ben Lerner (Top 10)
THE MAN WHO SAW EVERYTHING by Deborah Levy
AMERICAN DIRT by Jeanine Cummins
DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
SUICIDE WOODS: Stories by Benjamin Percy
DEAD ASTRONAUTS by Jeff VanderMeer
FALSE BINGO: Stories by Jac Jemc
CILKA’S JOURNEY by Heather Morris

Memoirs and Biographies

CARRIE FISHER : A Life on the Edge by Sheila Weller (Top 10)
HIGH SCHOOL by Sara Quin and Tegan Quin (Top 10)
THE BROKEN ROAD: George Wallace and a Daughter’s Journey to Reconciliation by Peggy Wallace Kennedy
THE UNDYING: Pain, vulnerability, mortality, medicine, art, time, dreams, data, exhaustion, cancer, and care by Anne Boyer
MORE MYSELF: A Journey by Alicia Keys
A MARVELOUS LIFE: The Amazing Story of Stan Lee by Danny Fingeroth

Mysteries and Thrillers

CITY OF WINDOWS by Robert Pobi (Top 10)
THIRTEEN by Steve Cavanagh (Top 10)
THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North (Top 10)
THE MAN THAT GOT AWAY: A Constable Twitten Mystery by Lynne Truss
THE MURDER LIST by Hank Phillippi Ryan
THE WORST KIND OF WANT by Liska Jacobs
29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan

Poetry

THE DOLPHIN: Two Versions, 1972-1973 by Robert Lowell; edited by Saskia Hamilton (Top 10)
HEED THE HOLLOW: Poems by Malcolm Tariq
LOVE AND I: Poems by Fanny Howe
I WILL DESTROY YOU: Poems by Nick Flynn

Politics and Current Events

TRANSACTION MAN: The Rise of the Deal and the Decline of the American Dream by Nicholas Lemann (Top 10)
WHY YOU SHOULD BE A SOCIALIST: How the Left Can Dream Big and Win Again by Nathan J. Robinson (Top 10)included under the former title WE’RE ALL SOCIALISTS NOW
THE PRICE WE PAY: What Broke American Health Care–and How to Fix It by Marty Makary
SHADOW NETWORK: Media, Money, and the Secret Hub of the Radical Right by Anne Nelson
WE ARE THE WEATHER: Saving the Planet Begins at Breakfast by Jonathan Safran Foer
MY TIME AMONG THE WHITES: Notes from an Unfinished Education by Jennine Capó Crucet
THE GREEN NEW DEAL: Why the Fossil Fuel Civilization Will Collapse by 2028, and the Bold Economic Plan to Save Life on Earth by Jeremy Rifkin
WHEN THEY COME FOR YOU: How Police and Government Are Trampling Our Liberties – and How to Take Them Back by David Kirby

Romance and Erotica

CHRISTMAS ANGELS by Nancy Naigle

Science

SUPERHEAVY: Making and Breaking the Periodic Table by Kit Chapman (Top 10)
THE CONTACT PARADOX: Challenging our Assumptions in the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence by Keith Cooper
THE MISSING LYNX: The Past and Future of Britain’s Lost Mammals by Ross Barnett
TRACKING THE HIGHLAND TIGER: In Search of Scottish Wildcats by Marianne Taylor

Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror

THE FUTURE OF ANOTHER TIMELINE by Annalee Newitz (Top 10)
GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir (Top 10)
NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo (Top 10)
BLOOD OF AN EXILE by Brian Naslund
GAMECHANGER by L. X. Beckett
SUPERNOVA ERA by Cixin Liu
WARRIOR OF THE ALTAII by Robert Jordan
THE GURKHA AND THE LORD OF TUESDAY by Saad Z. Hossain
RIOT BABY by Tochi Onyebuchi

Also, don’t miss PW’s audio announcements!

Fall 2019 Catalogs Now Available Online!

Exciting news: Macmillan’s Fall 2019 catalogs are now available on Edelweiss!

EVERY BOOK we are publishing from August 2019 to December 2019 awaits you… What are you waiting for???!! DIVE IN!

F19 E-Galley Drop

It may only be January, but we’re gearing up for Fall 2019 with this epic e-galley drop! Head over to Edelweiss to download some of the hot titles of the season:

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr
A gripping standalone in which a grandmother in her sixties emerges from a mental fog to find she’s trapped in her worst nightmare.

29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan
A woman being harassed by her male colleague is offered a once-in-a-lifetime deal that can make all her problems disappear. No consequences. No traces. No chance of being found out. All it takes is a 29-second phone call.

CAMPUSLAND by Scott Johnston
A laugh-out-loud first novel about one year of insanity at the Ivy-like Devon University, a blissful bubble of elite students and the adults at their mercy.

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut combines a solar system of swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers for the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton.

THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett
A speculative YA thriller in the vein of THE HANDMAID’S TALE and LORD OF THE FLIES in which girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness–and each other–in order to rid themselves of their feminine magic before returning purified and ready to marry.

A GOLDEN GRAVE: A Rose Gallagher Mystery by Erin Lindsey
The follow-up to MURDER ON MILLIONAIRES’ ROW, Erin Lindsey’s second historical mystery follows Rose Gallagher as she tracks a killer with shocking abilities through Gilded Age Manhattan.

HUDSON’S KILL by Paddy Hirsch
New York in 1803 is seething with racial tension, as a mysterious provocateur pits the city’s black and Irish gangs against each other. When a young black girl is found stabbed to death, both Justy Flanagan, now a City Marshal, and Kerry O’Toole, now a school teacher, decide separately to go after the killer in this follow-up to THE DEVIL’S HALF MILE.

css.php