Articles tagged "Euny Hong"

Maximum Shelf Awareness: Picador Turns 20!

MaxShelf-PicadorToday’s issue of Maximum Shelf Awareness is all about Picador! Learn about the imprint’s rich 20-year history and its stellar list of authors, including Paul Auster, Jeff Chang, Michael Cunningham, Jeffrey Eugenides, Jonathan Franzen, Atul Gawande, Elizabeth Kolbert, Ann Leary, Hilary Mantel, Marilynne Robinson, Robin Sloan, Olen Steinhauer, Hector Tobar and Adelle Waldman, among others.

Recent breakout Picador original titles include:
THE BIRTH OF KOREAN COOL: How One Nation Is Conquering the World Through Pop Culture by Euny Hong
THE ALMOST NEARLY PERFECT PEOPLE: Behind the Myth of the Scandinavian Utopia by Michael Booth
PRO: Reclaiming Abortion Rights by Katha Pollitt
SELFISH, SHALLOW, AND SELF-ABSORBED: Sixteen Writers on the Decision Not to Have Kids by Meghan Daum
BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT: A Doctor’s Reflections on Race and Medicine by Damon Tweedy

Major reprint titles and movie tie-ins:
VOICES FROM CHERNOBYL: The Oral History of a Nuclear Disaster by Svetlana Alexievich
LILA by Marilynne Robinson
THE SIXTH EXTINCTION by Elizabeth Kolbert
BLACK CHALK by Christopher J. Yates
ON THE RUN: Fugitive Life in an American City by Alice Goffman
THE 33: DEEP DOWN DARK: The Untold Story of 33 Men Buried in a Chilean Mine, and the Miracle That Set Them Free by Héctor Tobar
THE REVENANT by Michael Punke
THE LADY IN THE VAN by Alan Bennett
SILENCE by Shusaku Endo

Six Highlights of the Winter 2016 List:

THE YID by Paul Goldberg
James Meader, executive director of publicity at Picador and also the book’s editor, calls it “Inglorious Basterds crossed with Ocean’s Eleven by way of the Coen Brothers.” It’s already received two starred reviews from Library Journal and Booklist!

100 MILLION YEARS OF FOOD by Stephen Le
Biological anthropologist Le explores the history of human diets, our evolution, modern eating habits and how all this information can be used to make the best food choices for our health. Anna deVries, the book’s editor, said that the book should reach different readers, interested in “health, history, sociological studies, like the sweet spot [achieved by] Jared Diamond.”

THE LONELY CITY by Olivia Laing
An expertly crafted work of reportage, memoir and biography told through the lives of iconic artists, Laing (author of the LibraryReads pick THE TRIP TO ECHO SPRING) seeks answers to the questions of: What does it mean to be lonely? How do we live, if we’re not intimately engaged with another human being? How do we connect with other people?

CITY OF THORNS by Ben Rawlence
What Katherinee Boo’s BEHIND THE BEAUTIFUL FOREVERS did for the slums of Mumbai, India, CITY OF THORNS does for a massive refugee camp in Kenya, near the border with Somalia. “By combining his own experiences with interviews with residents of Dabaab, he makes the human rights crisis—rarely covered in the media—vivid and immediate for readers.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE GOLDEN CONDOM: And Other Essays on Love Lost and Found by Jeanne Safer, Ph.D.
Psychotherapist Safer interweaves her own experiences with those of her patients to explore the frustration, humiliation, sadness and happiness that accompanies love in this provocative and compelling collection of essays.

SHELTER by Jung Yun
SHELTER weaves a bloody mystery with domestic drama into a layered portrait of race, class, money, marriage and more. Editor Elizabeth Bruce notes, “Everyone has a different takeaway, some call it THE HOUSE OF SAND AND FOG with Gillian Flynn (GONE GIRL) pacing. It leaves you hanging until the last chapter.”

Top Titles Kirkus Recommends…

Kirkus Reviews knows which books readers are eager to read and are really worth the time.

Topping their list of books that are “not just popular but pretty great to boot” is Euny Hong’s THE BIRTH OF KOREAN COOL: How One Nation is Conquering the World Through Pop Culture!

The funny, young Korean-American Journalist Hong turns her skewering lens on her own South Korean culture, which Kirkus called, “A pleasing mix of Margaret Cho, Sarah Vowell and a pinch of Cory Doctorow.”
BONUS: check out the Kirkus interview with Euny Hong.

Also on their can’t miss-list is SONG OF THE SHANK by Jeffery Renard Allen.

One of America’s most gifted novelists projects dark and daring speculations upon the incredible-but-true 19th-century story of a child piano prodigy who was blind, autistic and a slave. “If there’s any justice, Allen’s visionary work, as startlingly inventive as one of his subject’s performances, should propel him to the front rank of American novelists.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review. Even the New York Times Book Review gave SONG OF THE SHANK a front page rave review!

readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (8/5/14 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday! Today we celebrate:

DRIVING WITH THE TOP DOWN by Beth Harbison
In New York Times bestseller Harbison’s latest novel, two women set out on an antiquing road trip and get more than they bargained for when they pick up a third, stranded woman. “…it’s an enjoyable ride. Readers will want to pack this road-trip book in their beach bags.” — Booklist

A COLDER WAR by Charles Cumming
New York Times bestselling author Cumming’s masterful follow-up to A FOREIGN COUNTRY is an espionage tale that has two starred reviews and is an August Indie Next pick! “This fast-paced thriller is full of twists, turns, and surprises. With well-developed, complex characters and plenty of details about spycraft, it’s a perfect summer read for fans of Stella Rimington and John le Carré.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE KILLS by Richard House
We raved about this super-sized summer thriller longlisted for the Man Booker prize, which is actually four-books-in-one, and now your patrons will, too. “Part Olen Steinhauer spy thriller and part Roberto Bolaño art novel…THE KILLS is a work of intense artistic conviction and demands a serious commitment from its readers. They’ll be rewarded, even if the center of this dazzlingly large picture is elusive.” — Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

css.php