Articles tagged "Erin Lindsey"

F19 E-Galley Drop

It may only be January, but we’re gearing up for Fall 2019 with this epic e-galley drop! Head over to Edelweiss to download some of the hot titles of the season:

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr
A gripping standalone in which a grandmother in her sixties emerges from a mental fog to find she’s trapped in her worst nightmare.

29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan
A woman being harassed by her male colleague is offered a once-in-a-lifetime deal that can make all her problems disappear. No consequences. No traces. No chance of being found out. All it takes is a 29-second phone call.

CAMPUSLAND by Scott Johnston
A laugh-out-loud first novel about one year of insanity at the Ivy-like Devon University, a blissful bubble of elite students and the adults at their mercy.

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut combines a solar system of swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers for the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton.

THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett
A speculative YA thriller in the vein of THE HANDMAID’S TALE and LORD OF THE FLIES in which girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness–and each other–in order to rid themselves of their feminine magic before returning purified and ready to marry.

A GOLDEN GRAVE: A Rose Gallagher Mystery by Erin Lindsey
The follow-up to MURDER ON MILLIONAIRES’ ROW, Erin Lindsey’s second historical mystery follows Rose Gallagher as she tracks a killer with shocking abilities through Gilded Age Manhattan.

HUDSON’S KILL by Paddy Hirsch
New York in 1803 is seething with racial tension, as a mysterious provocateur pits the city’s black and Irish gangs against each other. When a young black girl is found stabbed to death, both Justy Flanagan, now a City Marshal, and Kerry O’Toole, now a school teacher, decide separately to go after the killer in this follow-up to THE DEVIL’S HALF MILE.

August 2018 E-Galley Recommendations

Fun fact: two of the most popular/downloaded e-galleys on Edelweiss recently are Rebecca Serle’s THE DINNER LIST (a September 2018 LibraryReads pick) and Paula Brackston’s THE LITTLE SHOP OF FOUND THINGS (fingers crossed for a future LibraryReads pick). Clearly, librarians are loving these magical women!

We waved our magic wand and *poof* have exciting new e-galleys on Edelweiss to recommend!

Don’t see the green “download” button? Then get whitelisted/pre-approved.

Fiction
CAPE MAY by Chip Creek
THE WARTIME SISTERS by Lynda Cohen Loigman
MR. NICE GUY by Jennifer Miller & Jason Feifer

Fantasy
THE PRIORY OF THE ORANGE TREE by Samantha Shannon
IN AN ABSENT DREAM by Seanan McGuire
EXIT STRATEGY by Martha Wells

Mystery
THE WIDOWS by Jess Montgomery
MURDER ON MILLIONAIRES’ ROW by Erin Lindsey
NAUGHTY ON ICE by Maia Chance

Nonfiction
I.M.: A Memoir by Isaac Mizrahi
WOMEN ROWING NORTH: Navigating Life’s Currents and Flourishing As We Age by Mary Pipher
THE EATING INSTINCT: Food Culture, Body Image, and Guilt in America by Virginia Sole-Smith

Don’t forget to nominate books for LibraryReads!

LJ Mystery Spotlight Cover Girl: Zoje Stage

We’re thrilled to see Zoje Stage gracing the cover of the April 15, 2018 issue of Library Journal!

The BABY TEETH author did an extensive Q&A with LJ (shout-out to Talia “the terror” Sherer‘s PLA book buzz to a crowd of 1,000 librarians, which made BABY TEETH the most requested giveaway ARC in our booth!), and it was included with seven other Macmillan mysteries in a genre spotlight:

Hector DeJean, associate publicity director of St. Martin’s Minotaur Books imprint, says, “Thrillers focusing on family, marriage, and other domestic relationships have proven wildly popular, and in forthcoming books by Jennifer Hillier and Sandie Jones these intimate connections of family and friendship—beyond married couples—turn deadly.” In JAR OF HEARTS (Jun.), Hillier delves into the story of a woman who survived a relationship with a dangerous boyfriend and kept secrets about her best friend’s murder, while Jones, in her debut, THE OTHER WOMAN (Aug.), focuses on a woman facing an increasingly manipulative mother-in-law.

Anxieties about motherhood and the parent-child relationship are driving other domestic thrillers. Coming in July from St. Martin’s is Zoje Stage’s chilling debut, BABY TEETH, in which silent and emotionally detached seven-year-old Hanna conspires to kill her mother. St. Martin’s executive editor Jennifer Weis devoured the book in one sitting. “I couldn’t look away as it exposed family truths, a child’s threat to her parents’ relationship, and a continuous feeling of impending doom with dire consequences. WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN meets GONE GIRL meets THE OMEN—it hits all the right notes.” readmoreremove

css.php