Articles tagged "epic fantasy"

Scary Good SF & Fantasy

This October has some scary good sci-fi & fantasy coming to your library’s shelves:

THE TIGER’S DAUGHTER by K. Arsenault Rivera
“Rivera’s wonderfully intricate Asian-inspired epic fantasy debut introduces two young women bound by fate: Shizuka, whose uncle is the Emperor Yoshimoto, and Barsalyya Shefali Alshar, whose mother is Kharsa Burqila, the ruler of the Qorin. Rivera’s immense imagination and finely detailed worldbuilding have produced a series introduction of mammoth scope.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

EDGEDANCER by Brandon Sanderson
This specially packaged pocket-sized (4″ x 6″) edition of volume 2.5 of the New York Times bestselling Stormlight Archive series finds a newly raised Knight Radiant named Lift and her spren-companion Wyndle in Yeddaw in search of another Radiant (and the famous Yeddaw pancakes). readmoreremove

Tor.com’s Spring/Summer 2017 Season

Greedy Pigs, Hungry Hippos, Demonic Deer and the Summer of Space Opera come to Tor.com Publishing!

RIVER OF TEETH by Sarah Gailey
Out: May 23
“Man-eating hippo mayhem is my new favorite mayhem. Gailey’s debut is a gift of violent, unexpected glee.” — Kevin Hearne

THE RUIN OF ANGELS by Max Gladstone
Out: September 5
The critically acclaimed epic fantasy Craft Sequence that Patrick Rothfuss called “stupefyingly good” begins anew on Tor.com Publishing, with a heist in a god-haunted desert.

THE LAMB WILL SLAUGHTER THE LION by Margaret Killjoy
Out: August 15
The Dispossessed meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in this dropkick-in-the-mouth punk fantasy that Alan Moore calls “scary and energetic.”

A SONG FOR QUIET by Cassandra Khaw
Out: August 29
A subversive Persons Non Grata Lovecraftian horror novella from Cassandra Khaw, author of HAMMERS ON BONE, set in 1940s America in the grips of Jim Crow.

ALL SYSTEMS RED by Martha Wells
Out: May 2
The first novella in the Murderbot Diaries, a new science fiction action and adventure series that tackles questions of the ethics of sentient robotics, perfect for fans of Westworld and Ex Machina.

KILLING GRAVITY by Corey J. White
Out: May 9
This debut novella begins the Voidwitch Saga—a butt-kicking, mind-expanding space opera series starring a psychic supersoldier fleeing from an organization that terrorizes the galaxy.

GREEDY PIGS by Matt Wallace
Out: May 16
The fifth Sin du Jour Affair by Matt Wallace subjects the caterers of Sin du Jour to clients fouler than demons, more decadent than goblin kings, and more dangerous than anything they’ve faced before: politicians.

LIGHTNING IN THE BLOOD by Marie Brennan
Out: May 30
In the sequel to COLD-FORGED FLAME, Ree, a roaming Archeron, spirit of legend and time and physically now bound to her current form, must fully uncover her true identity.

MAPPING THE INTERIOR by Stephen Graham Jones
Out: June 20
Walking through his own house at night, a fifteen-year-old thinks he sees another person stepping through a doorway. Instead of the people who could be there, his mother or his brother, the figure reminds him of his long-gone father, who died mysteriously before his family left the reservation. When he follows it he discovers his house is bigger and deeper than he knew.

THE GHOST LINE by Andrew Neil Gray and J. S. Herbison
Out: July 11
Not all is as it seems on the Martian Queen in this haunting work of science fiction by debut authors Andrew Neil Gray and J. S. Herbison that blends the Expanse series with the grandeur of the Titanic. readmoreremove

Booklist Spring 2017 YA webinar

Today Anne “sweet teeth” Spieth highlighted her favorite teen titles during Booklist’s Spring 2017 YA Announcements webinar (twitter hashtag #SpringYA17). For those who weren’t able to listen in, here’s what she discussed:

2017 YALSA Award Winners
AMERICAN GIRLS by Alison Umminger | Out: June 20, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250133823 | Paperback | Girls & Women | Ages 13 to 18 (also available in hardcover)
IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo | Available now in hardcover (ISBN: 9781250078407) | LGBT | Ages 13 to 18
SUMMER DAYS & SUMMER NIGHTS: Twelve Love Stories, edited by Stephanie Perkins | Out: June 13, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250079138 | Paperback | Romance/Contemporary | Ages 13 to 18 (also available in hardcover)
WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS by Anna-Marie McLemore | Available now in hardcover (ISBN: 9781250058669) | Romance/Contemporary | Ages 12 to 18
YOU KNOW ME WELL by David Levithan & Nina LaCour | Out: June 6, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250098658 | Paperback | Romance/LGBT | Ages 13 to 19 (also available in hardcover)
IN REAL LIFE by Jessica Love | Available now in hardcover (ISBN: 9781250064714) | Romance/Contemporary | Ages 14 to 18
THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers | Available now in paperback (ISBN: 9780312656744) | Social Themes/Violence | Ages 13 to 18
COMPLICIT by Stephanie Kuehn | Available now in paperback (ISBN: 9781250044600) | Social Themes/Depression | Ages 14 to 18 (also available in hardcover)
MOONCOP by Tom Gauld | Available now in hardcover (ISBN: 9781770462540) | Comics & Graphic Novels / Literary
SHIRLEY JACKSON’S “THE LOTTERY”: The Authorized Graphic Adaptation by Miles Hyman | Available now in hardcover (ISBN: 9780809066490) & paperback (ISBN: 9780809066506) | Comics & Graphic Novels / Literary

Winter 2017
WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam | Out: March 7, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250095237 | Hardcover | Performing Arts/Music | Ages 12 to 18
A CROWN OF WISHES by Roshani Chokshi | Out: March 28, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250085498 | Hardcover | Fantasy/Epic | Ages 13 to 18
THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN by Roshani Chokshi | Out: March 28, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250100207 | Paperback | Fantasy/Epic | Ages 13 to 19 (also available in hardcover)

Spring/Summer 2017 from Flatiron Books YA
DEAR READER by Mary O’Connell | Out: May 9, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250077080 | Hardcover | Books & Libraries | Ages 12 to 18
SONGS ABOUT A GIRL by Chris Russell | Out: May 30, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250095169 | Hardcover | Performing Arts/Music | Ages 12 to 18
AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS by Bonnie Pipkin | Out: June 27, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250114846 | Hardcover | Social Themes/Pregnancy | Ages 12 to 18

Spring/Summer 2017 from Griffin Teen
I AM A SECRET SERVICE AGENT: My Life Spent Protecting the President by Dan Emmett | Out: June 6, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250130303 | Hardcover | Biography & Autobiography/Political | Ages 12 to 18
THE INEVITABLE COLLISION OF BIRDIE & BASH by Candace Ganger | Out: July 25, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250116222 | Hardcover | Romance/Contemporary | Ages 12 to 18
BAD GIRL GONE by Temple Mathews | On Sale: August 8, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250058812 | Hardcover | Ghost Stories | Ages 12 to 18

GUINNESS WORLD RECORDS: AMAZING ANIMALS by Guinness World Records | Out: August 29, 2017 | ISBN: 9781910561621 | Paperback | Nonfiction/Animals | Ages 6 to 10

Introducing Wednesday Books
I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn & Allison Raskin | Out: September 19, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250129321 | Hardcover | Girls & Women | Ages 14 to 19
LOVE FROM THE FUNNY FARM by Jenny Fran Davis | Out: October 3, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250119766 | Hardcover | Coming of Age | Ages 14 to 19

Fall 2017 Preview
GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust | Out: September 5, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250077738 | Hardcover | Fairy Tales & Folklore | Ages 12 and Up
13 MINUTES by Sarah Pinborough | Out: October 3, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250123855 | Hardcover | Thrillers & Suspense | Ages 17 and Up

***
Want even more titles? Check out the full Books for Teens 2017 lineup, get whitelisted on Edelweiss to read e-galleys of these great YA books, and download or request a copy of our double-sided poster!
You can also download the full list of slides, the Excel grid of titles, and the ppt of the Macmillan presentation here. View the the archived recording of the event here.

Why I love fantasy. And our newest fantastic giveaway!

So I just finished book two of Robert Jordan's The Wheel of
Time, The Great Hunt. It was a fantastic read, and reinforced my huge,
enormous, colossal love for fantasy. Jordan really stepped up the
intrigue in the second installment. While I loved the first book, I was a bit
worried that the series might devolve into a reductive battle of good and evil.
But in The Great Hunt, he shows that there are many more factions than
we had believed, and even within those factions there is infighting as goals
clash. And that’s what I love best about epic fantasy – the fully imagined
worlds with rationally motivated power struggles, even (especially?) in the presence
of tremendous evils like The Dark One.

But now I have to put my Jordan reading on hold! Brandon
Sanderson is launching his own epic fantasy series (even while he’s finishing Jordan’s
series)! I’m about 1/2 through the massive The
Way of Kings
, and so far it’s thrilling! A culture he describes exacts an
interesting method of racism – the family lines with light
colored eyes form a noble class, while those so unlucky to have black or brown
eyes are in the bottom of the caste system. It’s a great allegory to the
equally arbitrary discrimination based on skin color.

So. Why do you love fantasy? The fifteen most interesting comments (including a mailing address, or email, so I can contact you) will receive a complementary Advanced Reader's Copy of The Way of Kings!

css.php