Articles tagged "Ellen Wayland-Smith"

New Nonfiction – May 2016

ONEIDA: From Free Love Utopia to the Well-Set Table by Ellen Wayland-Smith
THREE STARRED REVIEWS! “This compelling narrative seamlessly threads the unlikely alliance between a ‘free love utopia’ and a household brand name. Fans of Joseph Ellis and David McCullough will appreciate this engrossing entry.”
Library Journal, starred review

THE FIRE LINE: The Story of the Granite Mountain Hotshots and One of the Deadliest Days in American Firefighting by Fernanda Santos
A Spring 2016 B&N Discover Great New Writers selection! In the tradition of DEEP DOWN DARK, and A PERFECT STORM comes the harrowing, and tragic true-life story of one of America’s deadliest wildfires and the heroes who made the ultimate sacrifice.

THE TRUE TAILS OF BAKER & TAYLOR: The Library Cats Who Left Their Pawprints on a Small Town…and the World by Jan Louch & Lisa Rogak
LIBRARY CATS!!! Need we say more? OK, this is librarian Louch’s memoir about her pair of Scottish Fold cats who became the most famous library cats in the world. “Replete with images and stories of these feline personalities, who were wildly popular not only in Douglas County but also became national celebrities, this heart-warming treasure of a book should appeal to readers of all ages.” — Library Journal

BONUS: free, downloadable #LibraryCatProblem e-cards & a video of cute kids singing about the kitties.

THE SONG POET: A Memoir of My Father by Kao Kalia Yang
Following her award-winning book THE LATEHOMECOMER, Yang now retells the life of her father Bee Yang, the song poet, a Hmong refugee in Minnesota, driven from the mountains of Laos by American’s Secret War. “Yang builds upon that beautiful chronicle in this hauntingly lyrical tribute to her beloved father. A memorable and moving immigrant story.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Starred Nonfiction Roundup

We’ve got your cure for the case of the Mondays: two terrific nonfiction books with several starred reviews!

THE UNIVERSE IN YOUR HAND: A Journey Through Space, Time, and Beyond by Christophe Galfard
“Galfard dispenses with mathematical formulas in this foray into modern physics, making a lively imagination the only portal necessary for general readers hungry for the intellectual excitement of astral and atomic exploration. Galfard leaves exhilarated readers eager to share in the forthcoming discoveries.” — Booklist, starred review

Entertaining and comprehensive… The deft and dazzling imagery makes difficult concepts accessible, streamlining the progression through topics and fulfilling Galfard’s promise to ‘not leave any readers behind.’… Readers looking to expand their knowledge of physics and cosmology will find everything they need here.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

ONEIDA: From Free Love Utopia to the Well-Set Table by Ellen Wayland-Smith (THREE STARS!)
“In this impressively thorough and engaging work, Wayland-Smith tells the story of the Oneida Community, a 19th-century utopian Christian commune that later became known for silverware manufacturing. This book is a fascinating look into the strange history of Oneida silverware and how its origins reflect an exhilarating period of American history.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review 

“The narrative is engaging and detailed. This is a must-read for those interested in American social history, and should have broad appeal to readers who enjoy microhistories.” — Booklist, starred review

“This compelling narrative seamlessly threads the unlikely alliance between a ‘free love utopia’ and a household brand name. Fans of Joseph Ellis and David McCullough will appreciate this engrossing entry.” — Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

ALA Midwinter 2016 “Three’s Company” Book Buzz Titles

Here are LOTS of reading recommendations courtesy of Anne’s “Three’s Company” Book Buzz at ALA Midwinter 2016:

TITLE TBA* by Liane Moriarty | 9781250069795 | On Sale: July 26
MOST WANTED* by Lisa Scottoline | 9781250010131 | On Sale: April 12
THE 14TH COLONY* by Steve Berry | 9781250056245 | On Sale: April 5
ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN* by Wendy Walker | 9781250097910 | On Sale: July 12
LUST & WONDER* by Augusten Burroughs | 9780312342036 | On Sale: March 29
REDEMPTION ROAD* by John Hart | 9780312380366 | On Sale: May 3
IF I FORGET YOU* by Thomas Christopher Greene | 9781250072788 | On Sale: June 14
THE THINGS WE KEEP* by Sally Hepworth | 9781250051905 | On Sale: Jan. 19
THE LAST PAINTING OF SARA DE VOS* by Dominic Smith | 9780374106683 | On Sale: April 5
THE HEART by Maylis De Kerangal | 9780374240905 | On Sale: Feb. 9
PEACEKEEPING by Mischa Berlinski | 9780374230449 | On Sale: March 8
HYSTOPIA by David Means | 9780865479135 | On Sale: April 19
THE TREES by Ali Shaw | 9781632862839 | On Sale: August 2
THE FORGETTING TIME* by Sharon Guskin | 9781250076427 | On Sale: Feb. 2
SHELTER by Jung Yun | 9781250075611 | On Sale: March 15
THE CHARM BRACELET* by Viola Shipman | 9781250071323 | On Sale: March 22
ALL THE UGLY AND WONDERFUL THINGS by Bryn Greenwood | 9781250074133 | On Sale: Aug. 9
THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES by Kate Tempest | 9781620409015 | On Sale: May 3
THE BEAUTY QUEEN OF JERUSALEM by Sarit Yishai-Levi | 9781250078162 | On Sale: April 5
AN UNRESTORED WOMAN by Shobha Rao | 9781250073822 | On Sale: March 15
THE NORTH WATER by Ian McGuire | 9781627795944 | On Sale: March 15
THE LIFE OF THE WORLD TO COME by Dan Cluchey | 9781250077165 | On Sale: June 28
THE YID by Paul Goldberg | 9781250079039 | On Sale: Feb. 2
DESERT BOYS by Christopher McCormick | 9781250075505 | On Sale: May 3
EVERY ANXIOUS WAVE by Mo Daviau | 9781250067494 | On Sale: Feb. 9
IF I WAS YOUR GIRL* by Meredith Russo | 9781250078407 | On Sale: May 3
EVERY HEART A DOORWAY by Seanan McGuire | 9780765385505 | On Sale: April 5
CONSEQUENCE* by Eric Fair | 9781627795135 | On Sale: April 5
ONEIDA by Ellen Wayland-Smith | 9781250043085 | On Sale: May 3
THE TRUE TAILS OF BAKER & TAYLOR by Jan Louch & Lisa Rogak | 9781250081070 | On Sale: May 3
THE DEFENSE* by Steve Cavanaugh | 9781250082251 | On Sale: May 3
COLLECTING THE DEAD* by Spencer Kope | 9781250072870 | On Sale: June 28
CITY OF THE LOST by Kelley Armstrong | 9781250092144 | On Sale: May 3
MISSION HILL by Pamela Wechsler | 9781250075697 | On Sale: May 3
DESIGN FOR DYING by Renee Patrick | 9780765381842 | On Sale: April 19
A BED OF SCORPIONS by Judith Flanders | 9781250056467 | On Sale: March 1
HARD LIGHT by Elizabeth Hand | 9781250030382 | On Sale: April 19
KEEP YOU CLOSE by Lucie Whitehouse | 9781632863201 | On Sale: May 3
THE CRACKED SPINE by Paige Shelton | 9781250057488 | On Sale: March 29
TERROR IN TAFFETA by Marla Cooper | 9781250072566 | On Sale: March 22
MURDER AT THE 42ND STREET LIBRARY by Con Lehane | 9781250009968 | On Sale: April 26

Check out the handy-dandy Edelweiss collection of all titles mentioned and download and share the handout.
Click here to download a recording of the event.

*available in audio CD

ALA Midwinter 2016 – Saturday Events

Good morning, Boston!! Come by the Macmillan (adult) booth #1806 for fabulous galleys (especially during the Spotlight on Adult Literature) and show our authors some love by attending today’s events:

Auditorium Speaker Series with Isaac Mizrahi
10:00-11:00am
Boston Convention and Exhibit Center | BCEC Ballroom West

Listen to fashion designer Isaac Mizrahi discuss his forthcoming memoir I.M. which covers his growing up gay and overweight in a Jewish orthodox community in Brooklyn, his days at the High School of Performing Arts and Parsons School of Design, the waning days of Studio 54, and his rise in the fashion and business worlds.
Click here to download a recording of the event.

Spotlight on Adult Literature: ARC & Finished Book Giveaway
2:00-4:00pm
Boston Convention and Exhibit Center | Booth #1806

Visit our booth and pick up ARCs of the following titles:

Nonfiction:
Ben Rawlence’s CITY OF THORNS: Nine Lives in the World’s Largest Refugee Camp (Picador)
Ellen Wayland-Smith’s ONEIDA: From Free Love Utopia to the Well-Set Table—an American Story (Picador)
Stephen Le’s 100 MILLION YEARS OF FOOD: What Our Ancestors Ate and Why It Matters Today (Picador)
Tom Hart’s ROSALIE LIGHTNING: A Graphic Memoir (St. Martin’s Press)

Historical Fiction:
Dominic Smith’s THE LAST PAINTING OF SARA DE VOS (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
Suzanne Joinson’s THE PHOTOGRAPHER’S WIFE (Bloomsbury)
Paula Brackston’s THE RETURN OF THE WITCH (Thomas Dunne Books)
Saskia Sarginson’s THE OTHER ME (Flatiron)
Paul Goldberg’s THE YID (Picador)

readmoreremove

Macmillan Library @ ALA Midwinter 2016 (Booth #1806)

We’re ridiculously excited to see you in the Macmillan (adult) booth #1806 and at all of our great events at ALA Midwinter in Boston next month. Check out our schedule below and RSVP ASAP!
Friday, January 8

ALA ERT/Booklist Author Forum with Terry Tempest Williams
4:00-5:15pm
Boston Convention and Exhibit Center | BCEC Ballroom West

Award-winning author Terry Tempest Williams will discuss her new book, THE HOUR OF LAND: A Personal Topography of America’s National Parks as part of a panel including documentarian Ken Burns and creative nonfiction writer Mark Kurlansky, moderated by Booklist‘s Donna Seaman. A book signing will follow the program.
Click here to download a recording of the event.

In-booth signing with Roshani Chokshi
5:30-7:00pm
Boston Convention and Exhibit Center | Booth #1806

Roshani Chokshi will sign complimentary copies of her YA novel, THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN.

Saturday, January 9

Auditorium Speaker Series with Isaac Mizrahi
10:00-11:00am
Boston Convention and Exhibit Center | BCEC Ballroom West

Listen to fashion designer Isaac Mizrahi discuss his forthcoming memoir I.M. which covers his growing up gay and overweight in a Jewish orthodox community in Brooklyn, his days at the High School of Performing Arts and Parsons School of Design, the waning days of Studio 54, and his rise in the fashion and business worlds.
Click here to download a recording of the event. readmoreremove

css.php