Articles tagged "Ellen Hart"

Groundhog Day Thriller Thursday!

groundhogthrillerthursgroundhogdayIt’s Groundhog Day! Punxsutawney Phil saw his shadow this morning, which means six more weeks of winter. Good thing we’ve got lots of great mysteries & thrillers to keep your pulse pounding during these cold days and nights:

BEHIND HER EYES by Sarah Pinborough
A January 2017 LibraryReads pick and a February 2017 Indie Next pick! “Pinborough, an accomplished author of horror, mysteries, dark fantasy, and psychological suspense, has drawn on all her gifts to tell her latest story, a masterpiece of suspense centered on a bad marriage. Give this intense book to patrons freely, but especially target those who are fatigued with the current spate of female-driven psychological suspense. It will be enough to shake things up for them (it even has a hashtag campaign, #WTFThatEnding).” Booklist, starred review

FEVER IN THE DARK by Ellen Hart
The 21st book in the Jane Lawless series from future-MWA Grand Master Ellen Hart! A video gone viral brings unwelcome attention to a newly married lesbian couple with dark secrets in their past. “Hart was inspired this time to write a tightly plotted, exceptionally engrossing mystery, one of the strongest in a popular series.”
Booklist

SNOWBLIND by Ragnar Jonasson
“The 2008 financial crash provides the backdrop for Jonasson’s sterling debut, a tale of past and present revenge, which combines the power of extreme climate and geography with penetrating psychological analysis. The action builds to a shattering climax.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

PILL CITY: How Two Honor Roll Students Foiled the Feds and Built a Drug Empire by Kevin Deutsch
Veteran crime reporter Deutsch goes undercover to investigate how two honor-roll high school students with $100 became the tech-entrepreneurs of the opiate trade during the Baltimore riots. “Deutsch lets the authentic and powerful voices of those involved reveal the ruthless tactics employed to dominate the illegal drug markets and the equally dramatic efforts by law enforcement to curtail and repair their damage. …[It] issues a siren call for societal changes. ” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Mystery Awards News & a Cozy Sampler!

Happy #ThrillerThursday, lovely librarians. We have SO MUCH great mystery awards news for you, with our nominees for the 2017 Edgar Awards, the 2016 Agatha Awards, and the 2017 Left Coast Crime “Lefty” Awards, plus a special CWA Diamond Dagger honoree!

2017 Edgar Award nominees (full list) — honoring the best in mystery

Best Fact Crime
MORGUE: A Life in Death by Dr. Vincent DiMaio & Ron Franscell (St. Martin’s Press)

Mary Higgins Clark Award
SAY NO MORE by Hank Phillippi Ryan (Forge Books)

MWA Grand Masters
Ellen Hart (FEVER IN THE DARK/The Jane Lawless Mysteries, Minotaur Books)
Max Allan Collins (BETTER DEAD, Forge Books)

The winners will be announced on April 27.

2016 Agatha Award nominees (full list) — honoring the “traditional mystery” and the cozy subgenre

Best Contemporary Novel:
A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)
SAY NO MORE by Hank Phillippi Ryan (Forge Books)

Best Historical Novel:
THE REEK OF RED HERRINGS by Catriona McPherson (Minotaur Books)

Best First Novel:
TERROR IN TAFFETA by Marla Cooper (Minotaur Books)
DESIGN FOR DYING by Renee Patrick (Forge Books)

The winners will be announced on April 29.

2017 Lefty Awards nominees (full list) — fan awards chosen by registered members of the Left Coast Crime convention

Lefty for Best Mystery Novel
A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)

Lefty for Best Humorous Mystery Novel
DIE LIKE AN EAGLE by Donna Andrews (Minotaur Books)

Lefty for Best Historical Mystery Novel (Bruce Alexander Memorial)
A DEATH ALONG THE RIVER FLEET by Susanna Calkins (Minotaur Books)
THE REEK OF RED HERRINGS by Catriona McPherson (Minotaur Books)

Lefty for Best Debut Mystery Novel
TERROR IN TAFFETA by Marla Cooper (Minotaur Books)
DESIGN FOR DYING by Renee Patrick (Forge Books)

The winners will be announced on March 18.

In more amazing mystery news, Ann Cleeves (THE CROW TRAP) is being awarded the Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) Diamond Dagger Award, which is the highest honor in British crime writing!

The award recognizes authors whose careers have been marked by sustained excellence, and have made a significant contribution to the genre. She will be honored during the CWA’s Dagger Awards ceremony in London on October 26.

Cleeves said, “It’s a huge honor to be recognized by my peers, the crime-writers whose books, friendship and support I’ve enjoyed for more than thirty years. I am privileged to have had such a happy career and I will always be grateful for the support of booksellers and forever indebted to the passion and expertise of librarians, without whom I wouldn’t still be writing today.”

Looking for a new cozy mystery author to love? Our friends at Minotaur Books have put together a complimentary COZY CASE FILES Winter 2017 sampler, available for download right now on Edelweiss and as a Read it Now! title on NetGalley.

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (12/8/16 Edition)

We’ve got four great new mysteries for you this #ThrillerThursday, but first some excellent news: Ellen Hart (The Jane Lawless mysteries; FEVER IN THE DARK) has been named a 2017 MWA Grand Master!

MWA’s Grand Master Award represents the pinnacle of achievement in mystery writing and was established to acknowledge important contributions to this genre, as well as for a body of work that is both significant and of consistent high quality.

Now on to the books!

DON’T TURN OUT THE LIGHTS by Bernard Minier
Two starred reviews for the third thrilling Commandant Martin Servaz mystery, in which a serial killer he’s devoted his career to has targeted a radio show host as his next victim. “This is not your ordinary stalker thriller. It is a brilliant aria da capo, set appropriately to an operatic soundtrack, with a surprising and thoroughly satisfying conclusion. Perfect for fans of Martin Walker’s Bruno Courrèges series.” — Booklist, starred review

THE GENTLEMAN FROM JAPAN by James Church
“A complex mystery involving seven deaths in one night kicks off Church’s excellent sixth novel featuring enigmatic North Korean intelligence operative Inspector O. The pseudonymous Church, himself a former spy, makes all the plot developments chillingly plausible.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

Pride Month LGBTQ E-Book Sale

June is Pride Month and we’re celebrating with an e-Book sale on select LGBTQ titles!

Running May 30 through July 4, nearly 20 e-Books will be discounted 30% off (with our regular lending terms), including these acclaimed & award-winning titles:

A HOME AT THE END OF THE WORLD by Michael Cunningham
EVERY HEART A DOORWAY by Seanan McGuire
THE TALENTED MISS HIGHSMITH by Joan Schenkar
THE CRUEL EVER AFTER by Ellen Hart
AND THE BAND PLAYED ON by Randy Shilts

Click here to download the spreadsheet of all available titles with exact price changes.

2016 Lammy Awards Finalists

The Lambda Literary Foundation (LLF) announced the finalists for the 28th annual Lambda Literary Awards (a.k.a. the “Lammys”) celebrating achievements in LGBT literature. We’re waving our rainbow flag in support of these eight nominees from Macmillan!

Gay Fiction
A POET OF THE INVISIBLE WORLD by Michael Golding
STILL LIFE, LAS VEGAS by James Sie

Bisexual Literature
IRREPRESSIBLE: The Jazz Age Life of Henrietta Bingham by Emily Bingham

Gay Poetry
RECONNAISSANCE by Carl Phillips

Lesbian Mystery
THE GRAVE SOUL by Ellen Hart

Gay Memoir/Biography
CHASING LOST TIME: The Life of C. K. Scott Moncrieff: Soldier, Spy, and Translator by Jean Findlay
A HOUSE IN ST. JOHN’S WOOD by Matthew Spender

LGBT Children’s/Young Adult
ABOUT A GIRL by Sarah McCarry readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (10/8/15 Edition)

A couple of cozy mysteries will take the chill off this #ThrillerThursday:

THE HAUNTED SEASON by G.M. Malliet
In the fifth installment in the series, former-spy-turned-cleric Max Tudor must contend with his new role as a father as well as a murder all too close to home in Nether Monkslip. “As always, the mystery is as delicious as the tarts and as full of surprises as the Christmas cakes sold in the local bakery. The first three books in the Max Tudor series—WICKED AUTUMN, FATAL WINTER, and PAGAN SPRING—have been nominated for Agatha Awards, and no wonder: she has the cozy formula and tone down pat…” — Booklist, starred review

THE GRAVE SOUL by Ellen Hart
In Hart’s “riveting”* 23rd mystery featuring Minneapolis PI and restaurateur Jane Lawless, the investigator searches for the truth behind the death of Kira Adler’s mother, which has haunted Kira for many years. “Readers will be caught up in this harrowing look at the damage done in the name of family preservation.”
— *Publishers Weekly

What are you reading this #ThrillerThursday? Share your picks with us @MacmillanLib.

2014 Lambda Award Winners

The 27th annual Lambda Literary Award winners were announced and two Macmillan titles were honored!

Lesbian Mystery
THE OLD DEEP AND DARK: A Jane Lawless Mystery by Ellen Hart

LGBT Graphic Novels
SECOND AVENUE CAPER: When Goodfellas, Divas, and Dealers Plotted Against the Plague by Joyce Brabner and Mark Zingarelli

Plus, John Waters (CARSICK) received Lambda’s Trustee Award for Excellence in Literature!
readmoreremove

2014 Lambda Award Finalists

The 27th annual Lambda Literary Award finalists were announced today and we have eight terrific nominees from Macmillan!

Gay General Fiction
BITTER EDEN by Tatamkhulu Afrika

Gay Memoir/Biography
INSIDE A PEARL: My Years in Paris by Edmund White

Lesbian General Fiction
NEW YORK 1, TEL AVIV 0 by Shelly Oria

Lesbian Mystery
THE OLD DEEP AND DARK: A Jane Lawless Mystery by Ellen Hart

LGBT Graphic Novels
SECOND AVENUE CAPER: When Goodfellas, Divas, and Dealers Plotted Against the Plague by Joyce Brabner and Mark Zingarelli

LGBT SF/F/Horror
AFTERPARTY by Daryl Gregory
CHILD OF A HIDDEN SEA by A.M. Dellamonica
FULL FATHOM FIVE by Max Gladstone

Winners will be announced on June 1 in New York City. Click here to see the full list of nominees.

Thriller Thursday (10/9/14 Edition)

It’s finally Fall! Temperatures are dropping and our blood is running cold after reading these great mysteries & thrillers:

MALICE by Keigo Higashino
The #9 October 2014 LibraryReads pick is a literal locked room mystery: an acclaimed novelist is found brutally murdered in his home office—a locked room within a locked house—by his wife and best friend who both have solid alibis. It’s received starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Library Journal, which said, “With each book, Higashino continues to elevate the modern mystery as an intense and inventive literary form.”

TRUTH BE TOLD by Hank Phillippi Ryan
Ryan’s latest Jane Ryland and Jake Brogan mystery also received two starred reviews! Reporter Ryland learns the truth behind a big-bucks home eviction scheme and the surprising players who will stop at nothing, including murder, to keep their goal a secret. “The third entry in the series packs a powerful punch, and offers a clever mix of mystery, corruption, and romance.” — Library Journal, starred review
readmoreremove

css.php