Articles tagged "Elizabeth Duncan"

Thriller Thursday (4/13/17 Edition)

We’ve got two amazing debuts and three excellent series entries for you this #ThrillerThursday:

IF WE WERE VILLAINS by M.L. Rio
A literary debut in the tradition of Donna Tartt’s THE SECRET HISTORY about a group of seven young actors studying Shakespeare at an elite arts school who find their friendship turned into nasty rivalry that leaves one of them dead after a teacher switches around the in-character casting. “This novel about obsession at the conservatory will thoroughly obsess you.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THREE ENVELOPES by Nir Hezroni
A thrilling debut that delves into the twisted mind of a rogue agent in the Israeli intelligence agency and his mysterious plot for revenge. “Hezroni’s superior thriller debut will send chills up the spines of even jaded genre fans. Hezroni maintains a high level of suspense as he expertly toggles between past and present en route to the heart-stopping conclusion.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

DEVIL’S BREATH by G.M. Malliet
Max Tudor must contend with his new role as a father as well as the murder of a glamorous film star in the next installment in Malliet’s wildly popular series. “Though dedicated readers may miss local favorites, it’s great to see the return of Malliet’s wit in a high-seas whodunit that deftly skewers the Hollywood high life.” — Kirkus Reviews readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (4/14/16 Edition)

Check out three new books in continuing series and one chilling debut compared to Cormac McCarthy’s THE ROAD!

POISONOUS by Allison Brennan
In New York Times bestseller Brennan’s latest Max Revere novel, the investigative reporter looks for the truth behind the death of a teenage Internet bully. “Fans of fast-paced thrillers will enjoy watching Max shuffle her suspect list as new information is revealed, and use her investigative skills to isolate the killer. Recommend this series to fans of Sandra Brown and Jan Burke.” — Booklist

MURDER ON THE HOUR by Elizabeth Duncan
In the seventh book in this cozy series, Penny Brannigan helps investigate who killed a woman and stole her quilt, which was recently featured on an antiques TV show. “The lush landscape of Wales is lovingly described along with details of art, artists, and antiques in this mystery populated with quirky characters set in a charming village. Share with readers who enjoy Jane K. Cleland’s Josie Prescott cozies with their similar antiques frame.” — Booklist

A DEATH ALONG THE RIVER FLEET by Susanna Calkins
In the next book in Calkins’ historical mystery series, Lucy Campion encounters a girl in a blood-spattered nightdress who has no idea what happened to her. “This fourth series entry stands well on its own. Lucy is a daring young woman who works hard to advance her place in life during a time when women had few options. A nice option for devotees of Anne Rutherford and Samuel Thomas, both of whom write series firmly placed during the same historical period.” — Library Journal

THIRST by Benjamin Warner
A debut literary thriller about the disturbing measures a couple and their neighbors take to survive when a strange force eliminates all water without warning. “Reminiscent of Cormac McCarthy’s THE ROAD, Warner’s spare, chilling tale paints an unsettlingly realistic picture of society on the brink and the grim choices ordinary people might have to make when faced with the urgent need to survive.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (10/24/13 Edition)

Our #ThrillerThursday picks are a bit cozier this week (it's getting cold out!), but enjoyable all the same:

ACCUSED by Lisa Scottoline
The ladies from the Rosato & Associates law firm are back! Mary DiNunzio is now a partner(!) and engaged(!!) and has an unexpected new client: thirteen-year-old Allegra Gardner, who believes the man accused of her sister's murder is innocent. "This is a long-awaited, solid entry into a terrific series that should appeal to fans of Sheldon Siegel, Rose Connors, and Steve Martini." — Booklist

Darth Cat

OUTLAW by Mark Sullivan
This high-stakes thriller continues the adventures of former CIA operative and master thief Robin Monarch (after ROGUE), who must rescue the U.S. Secretary of State and foreign ministers from China and India, who have been kidnapped. "Sullivan has created a fine adventure-thriller hero in Monarch, who fits perfectly into the Ludlum or Vince Flynn mode. The action and the surprises are nonstop. Readers will demand the next one in the series, pronto." — Booklist 

NEVER LAUGH AS A HEARSE GOES BY by Elizabeth Duncan
Who can resist a mystery involving libraries?!! Duncan's fifth book in the Penny Brannigan series "is a pleasing update of the 'body in the library' standard. In the time-honored tradition of village cozies, Duncan provides structure, subtle clues, rampant gossip, and a satisfying conclusion." — Library Journal, starred review

DUCK THE HALLS by Donna Andrews
In Meg Langslow's 16th mystery, she's tasked with finding an alternate venue for her church's holiday events while simultaneously finding a killer after a series of escalating pranks leaves another church member dead. "Andrews leavens the action with her trademark humor, including dueling Christmas dinners and an extravagant—and extravagantly funny—live nativity scene." —Publishers Weekly

What are you reading this #ThrillerThursday? Share your picks with us @MacmillanLib. readmoreremove
css.php