Articles tagged "Elizabeth George"

Thriller Thursday (8/27/15 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to two series favorites, a debut, and a new novel from a writer serving a life sentence in prison (no joke!):

THE NATURE OF THE BEAST by Louise Penny
The outstanding 11th book in #1 New York Times bestselling author Penny’s Inspector Armand Gamache series is an August 2015 LibraryReads pick, a September 2015 Indie Next pick, and has THREE starred reviews, including this one from Library Journal: “A strong sense of place, a multilayered plot, and well-crafted (and for Penny’s fans, familiar) characters combine for a thoughtful, intriguing tale.”

LAST RAGGED BREATH by Julia Keller
Two stars for the next Bell Elkins novel in which the West Virginia prosecutor must work with a man who, until recently, lived off the grid, but now finds himself charged with murder he didn’t commit. “A beautifully crafted mystery in which Keller explores love, hate, and poverty in a place of stunning natural beauty with pockets of overwhelming ugliness. The ending may leave you in tears.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review
readmoreremove

Librarians “Shout ‘n Share” Their Favorite BEA 2015 Picks!

Last Friday we rounded out a terrific BEA 2015 with the annual Shout ‘n Share panel. Here’s what your librarian pals found on the show floor to rave about:

Columbus Metropolitan Library’s Robin Nesbitt kicked it off with some genre love, highlighting THE TRAITOR BARU CORMORANT by Seth Dickinson (“It’s like THE HUNDRED THOUSAND KINGDOMS meets GUNS, GERMS, AND STEEL!”) and Sarah Ward’s debut mystery, IN BITTER CHILL, which she said is perfect for fans of Louise Penny, Sharon Bolton, and Elizabeth George.

New York Public Library/Bookops’s Charlene Rue was captivated by Damon Tweedy’s medical memoir, BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT, which was also a BEA Editor’s Buzz pick.

Massachusetts Library System’s Kristi Chadwick loved Elsa Hart’s historical mystery debut about an exiled librarian, JADE DRAGON MOUNTAIN. “The language, the prose is so beautiful it takes you into the story and keeps you going page after page.” She also gave two enthusiastic thumbs up for Jenny Lawson’s humorous memoir of mental illness, FURIOUSLY HAPPY, saying, “she knows how to hit the heart and make sure you know you’re not alone if you’re struggling with this.”

Baltimore County Public Library’s Jamie Watson tweeted that if she had more time she would have called out Maggie Mitchell’s PRETTY IS.

Library Journal‘s Wilda Williams shared that reading THE KILLING LESSONS by Saul Black “will make you want to lock all the doors in your house,” and she revealed that Saul Black is a pseudonym for bestselling author Glen Duncan, who wrote THE LAST WEREWOLF. She also recommended THE MARK AND THE VOID by Paul Murray, noting that “it has the same humor, warmth and pathos as SKIPPY DIES.”

From the floor, Michael Santangelo of Brooklyn Public Library gave a shout out to THE BURGLAR’S GUIDE TO THE CITY by Geoff Manaugh.

Curious about other buzzworthy books? Check out Publishers Weekly‘s recap of the AAP Librarian’s Book Buzz, Part 2 which includes a photo of Anne and our other library marketing pals!

Thriller Thursday (Stars Edition)

Today’s #ThrillerThursday picks are superSTARS!

THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny
Penny’s highly anticipated tenth Chief Inspector Gamache novel is here! Booklist and Library Journal loved it with the latter warning, “The heartbreaking conclusion will leave series readers blinking back tears.” Keep an eye out for upcoming major media for THE LONG WAY HOME, including NPR’s “Weekend Edition,” the New York Times, the New York Times Book Review, USA Today, Washington Post, and much more!

SUMMER OF THE DEAD by Julia Keller
In Keller’s third Bell Elkins novel, a spate of violent crimes cast suspicion on a struggling young woman’s family while Bell must deal with her sister’s release from prison. Booklist and Library Journal gave it starred reviews with the latter saying, “The gritty Appalachian setting and plot will keep readers’ attention locked on the pages. This title will especially appeal to fans of such rural noir authors as Tom Bouman and Daniel Woodrell.”

NINE DAYS by Minerva Koenig
On Sale: September 9, 2014
“Texas architect Koenig’s complex and intriguing suspense debut introduces ‘Julia Kalas’—the name the WITSEC program assigned her after neo-Nazis made her a widow. Fans of distinctive female characters like Nevada Barr’s Anna Pigeon and Becky Masterman’s Brigid Quinn will be thrilled to add Koenig to their ranks.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Small-town Texas is vividly brought to life in this atmospheric and entertaining debut that also introduces a memorable and unusual protagonist. It’s bound to delight fans of Tricia Fields, Lori G. Armstrong, or James Lee Burke’s ‘Hackberry Holland’ books.” — Library Journal, starred review
readmoreremove

css.php