Articles tagged "Édouard Louis"

June 2018 Nonfiction

Add these June nonfiction titles to your library’s shelves today:

THE THIRD BANK OF THE RIVER: Power and Survival in the Twenty-First Century Amazon by Chris Feliciano Arnold
A veteran journalist traces the war over the Amazon as activists, locals, and indigenous tribes struggle to save the jungle from the threat of loggers, drug lords, and corrupt politicians. “A saddening, maddening story that draws much-needed attention to crime without punishment in a remote—but not invisible—part of the world.” —Kirkus Reviews

WHAT TRUTH SOUNDS LIKE: Robert F Kennedy, James Baldwin, and Our unfinished Conversation About Race in America by Michael Eric Dyson
Also available in audio
A stunning follow up to TEARS WE CANNOT STOP, WHAT TRUTH SOUNDS LIKE is another timely exploration of America’s tortured racial politics. This book exists at the tense intersection of the conflict between politics and prophecy—of whether we embrace political resolution or moral redemption to fix our fractured racial landscape. “After providing the backstories and historical context of the participants, Dyson offers contemporary examples of public figures who struggle for equality. The result is a moving ode to the potentiality of American social progress.” —Booklist, starred review

WHAT WOULD THE GREAT ECONOMISTS DO?: How Twelve Brilliant Minds Would Solve Today’s Biggest Problems by Linda Yueh
A timely exploration of the life and work of world-changing thinkers—from Adam Smith to John Maynard Keynes—and how their ideas would solve the great economic problems we face today. “Few economics books are able to address major problems, present leading and sometimes conflicting theories, and be accessible to the casual reader. Yueh takes current issues affecting today’s economy and attacks them through the eyes of a dozen leading economists, from the historic to the contemporary, clearly applying their work to modern problems.” —Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

2018 Lammy Awards Finalists

The Lambda Literary Foundation (LLF) announced the finalists for the 30th annual Lambda Literary Awards (a.k.a. the “Lammys”) celebrating achievements in LGBTQ literature. We’re waving our rainbow flag in support of these nine nominees from Macmillan!

Lesbian Fiction
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado

Gay Fiction
THE END OF EDDY by Edouard Louis

Gay Poetry
DON’T CALL US DEAD by Danez Smith

Lesbian Mystery
FEVER IN THE DARK by Ellen Hart

Lesbian Memoir/Biography
ABANDON ME by Melissa Febos
THE FACT OF A BODY by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich

Gay Memoir/Biography
THE WORLD BROKE IN TWO: Virginia Woolf, T.S. Eliot, D.H. Lawrence, E.M. Forster, and the Year that Changed Literature by Bill Goldstein

LGBTQ SF/F/Horror
AMBERLOUGH by Lara Elena Donnelly
AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz readmoreremove

Our 2018 YALSA & RUSA Award Winners!

Congratulations to all of the amazing Macmillan authors who won awards or were selected for YALSA and RUSA’s various reading lists this year!

2018 Alex Awards (the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences):
ALL SYSTEMS RED by Martha Wells
DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire
A HOPE MORE POWERFUL THAN THE SEA by Melissa Fleming

See the full Alex Award list here.

2018 YALSA Great Graphic Novels for Teens
DREAMIN’ SUN v.1 by Ichigo Takano, illustrated by the author
DREAMIN’ SUN v.2 by Ichigo Takano, illustrated by the author
DREAMIN’ SUN v.3 by Ichigo Takano, illustrated by the author
THE GIRL FROM THE OTHER SIDE: Siúil, A Rún Vol. 1 by Nagabe, illustrated by the author
HANA & HINA AFTER SCHOOL, v.1 by Milk Morinaga, illustrated by the author
HANA & HINA AFTER SCHOOL, v.2 by Milk Morinaga, illustrated by the author
THE WENDY PROJECT by Melissa Jane Osborne, illustrated by Veronica Fish

See the full GGNT list here.

2018 ALA Amelia Bloomer Project Book List (best feminist books)
GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust
DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire
A HOPE MORE POWERFUL THAN THE SEA by Melissa Fleming

See the full Amelia Bloomer list here.

2018 Rainbow Book List (Honors books with significant gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, or queer/questioning content, and which are aimed at youth, birth through age 18.)
DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire

See the full Rainbow list here.

Over the Rainbow Reading List (Honors adult books with significant LGBTQ content)
BESTIARY: Poems by Donika Kelly
DON’T CALL US DEAD: Poems by Danez Smith
THE END OF EDDY by Edouard Louis
ENIGMA VARIATIONS by Andre Aciman
FEVER IN THE DARK by Ellen Hart
INSOMNIAC CITY: New York, Oliver, and Me by Bill Hayes
NO ONE CAN PRONOUNCE MY NAME by Rakesh Satyal (a Top 12 pick)
THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS by Laurie Frankel (a Top 12 pick)

See the full Over the Rainbow (adult) list here.

The ALA’s Reference and User Services Division (RUSA) has announced their 2018 Notable Books, Reading, and Listening Lists, as well as the winner of the Sophie Brody Medal:

readmoreremove

New Nonfiction – May 2017

Essays, books about books, and a librarian’s memoir are just some of the new nonfiction books available this week:

THE END OF EDDY by Édouard Louis
Two starred reviews! The most talked-about European novel since MY STRUGGLE—a sexually frank, brutally honest coming-of-age story that captures the violence and desperation of life in a French factory town. “Translated into 20 languages and a huge hit in France, author Louis’ unsparingly autobiographical novel is the story of a gay boy’s attempts to come to terms with himself. …a seamless, universal portrait of the experience of growing up gay and gradually coming to accept oneself.” — Booklist, starred review

MY LIFE WITH BOB: Flawed Heroine Keeps Book of Books, Plot Ensues by Pamela Paul
Two starred reviews! The editor of The New York Times Book Review reveals her personal reading journal named BOB (a.k.a. her “Book of Books”) and the books that have shaped her life. “Titles about reading and books abound, but this memoir stands in a class by itself. Bibliophiles will treasure, but the addictive storytelling and high-quality writing will vastly increase its audience. Highly recommended.” — Library Journal, starred review

ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul
One of Buzzfeed’s “Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017!” For readers of Mindy Kaling, Luvvie Ajayi, and Rupi Kaur comes a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants, addressing sexism, cultural stereotypes and the universal miseries of life by rising star Scaachi Koul. “Simultaneously uproarious and affecting….” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

HOW TO BUILD A TIME MACHINE by Darren Manley
A librarian’s heartfelt memoir about growing up with much older parents and coming to appreciate the bonds that cross generations. readmoreremove

Nonfiction Stars

The stars are aligning for these new and forthcoming nonfiction books:

HAVANA: A Subtropical Delirium by Mark Kurlansky
“This little gem of a book by the prolific Kurlansky is a revelation. At a most auspicious moment in the history of Cuba and Havana, Kurlansky, who has spent much time in the country as a journalist, writes an eloquent love letter to one of the world’s great cities.” — Booklist, starred review

“This extremely readable book is not preachy, not dogmatic, not shrill. As in life, there is a mixture of both good and evil, and Kurlansky, a frequent Cuba correspondent, covers it well.” Library Journal, starred review

FEAR CITY: New York’s Fiscal Crisis and the Rise of Austerity Politics by Kim Phillips-Fein
“Phillips-Fein, professor of history at NYU’s Gallatin School of Individualized Study, makes municipal bonds exciting in this painstakingly researched revisionist account of the 1970s fiscal crisis that shook New York to its core. The book should be required reading for all those interested in the past, present, and future of democratic politics.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Sobering, smart reading with many pointed lessons for activists.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review
readmoreremove

css.php