Articles tagged "Edgar Award"

Nonfiction on the Shelves (07/12/17)

Mothers + daughters, a celebrated writer’s home-life, female aviators during WWII and death… All topics explored in today’s featured titles:

I Need a Lifeguard Everywhere but the Pool by Lisa Scottoline, Francesca Serritella

“The Edgar Award–winning Scottoline and her writer daughter, Serritella, have been investigating human foibles in a series that now reaches its eighth title (following I’ve Got Sand in All the Wrong Places). Expect more wit and wisdom; with library marketing.”–LJ Pre-Pub Alert

Coming of Age: The Sexual Awakening of Margaret Mead by Deborah Beatriz Blum

“This biography gives us something equally rich: knowledge of her colorful, defiant, and courageous life—one of nonconformity, gender-bending, and paving new paths. VERDICT Through Blum’s narrative, Mead becomes more than a quotable female pioneer and transforms into a three-dimensional woman.” —Library Journal, starred review

Jane Austen at Home: A Biography by Lucy Worsley

“Worsley gives sharply drawn pictures of domesticity in the many homes that Austen inhabited, including her family’s rented houses in Bath and residences where she, her widowed mother, and sister visited as guests before they settled in Chawton, a site of pilgrimage for Janeites. A charming, well-researched journey to ‘Austen-land.’” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Her book is a lovely excavation of Austen’s home life, in which she provides readers access into places such as Pemberley without ever giving too much of herself away. This volume is sure to delight Austen fans, while Worsley’s examination of manuscripts will make new material accessible to scholars unable to visit the British Library, Hampshire Archives, Kent History and Library Centre, or the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust Record Office.” — Library Journal, starred review

The Women Who Flew for Hitler: A True Story of Soaring Ambition and Searing Rivalry by Clare Mulley

“Biographer Mulley comes through in a major way with this deep dive into the lives of WWII–era German aviatrixes Hanna Reitsch and Melitta von Stauffenberg…Absolutely gripping, Mulley’s double portrait is a reminder that there are many more stories to tell from this oft-examined time.” — Booklist, starred review

“This compelling work has the drama and suspense of the best movie scripts. It is the perfect choice for lovers of narrative non-fiction, especially those interested in strong females.” — Library Journal, starred review

The Art of Death: Writing the Final Story by Edwidge Danticat

“From ‘The Art of’ series, this emotional, brave work interrogates and bears witness to the ultimate unknown. Will appeal to readers looking for warmth and insight—whatever their personal circumstance.” — Library Journal, starred review

“National Book Critics Circle Award winner Danticat…takes on an unpleasant topic with sensitivity and passion.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

White Man’s Game: Saving Animals, Rebuilding Eden, and Other Myths of Conservation in Africa by Stephanie Hanes

​”For every reader who has ever been inclined to support such heart-tugging philanthropic quests,​ ​Hanes provides a cautionary tale that reveals the complex motives behind such causes and the often​ ​fraudulent machinations needed to bring them to fruition.”–Booklist, starred review

While Anne’s Away…

Anne is taking a well-deserved vacation to her hometown of Tucson, AZ for the next week! When she’s not enjoying pool time or preparing for her baby shower, here’s what she’ll be reading:

THE UNQUIET DEAD by Ausma Zehanat Khan
This haunting debut follows detectives Esa Khattak and Rachel Getty as they investigate the death of a man who may have been a war criminal with ties to the Srebrenica massacre. Anne is halfway done and can’t wait to finish it on the plane tomorrow!

FEAR THE DARKNESS by Becky Masterman
Masterman’s outstanding debut novel, RAGE AGAINST THE DYING, starring ex-FBI agent Brigid Quinn was set in Tucson, so it was a natural pick for Anne. (It’s also really, really good—it’s been nominated for Edgar, Anthony, and Macavity Awards!) Now as Brigid tries to rebuild her life and marriage, she helps a local couple investigate the death of their son, all while taking in her nineteen-year-old niece after her sister-in-law’s death.

BAD COUNTRY by CB McKenzie
The newest winner of the Tony Hillerman Prize, this Arizona-set debut mystery stars a Native American rodeo cowboy–turned–private investigator. Not only is the author a fellow University of Arizona alum like Anne, but he also modeled for Giorgio Armani!

ALL THE RAGE by Courtney Summers
In her hardcover debut, from the author of CRACKED UP TO BE and THIS IS NOT A TEST comes a powerful new young adult novel about an ostracized girl who must decide whether she wants to speak out against the boy who sexually assaulted her for a second time after someone else is assaulted or carry the burden of knowing more girls could get hurt if she doesn’t say something. (Talia read this gem and can’t stop talking about it! She says it’s Courtney’s best book YET!)
readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Today we've got a super-sized #ThrillerThursday with mysteries to satisfy every reader, from cozies to psychological suspense and more! 

PRECIOUS THING by Colette McBeth
A March 2014 Library Reads pick! "Debut author McBeth’s GONE GIRL-style psychological thriller will be a widespread hit for fans of dark drama with questionable narrators, including S. J. Watson’s BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP (2011), Sabine Durrant’s UNDER YOUR SKIN (2013), and Karen Perry’s THE INNOCENT SLEEP (2013)." Booklist, starred review

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black
Black's "pitch-perfect recreation" of Raymond Chandler's incomparable private eye Philip Marlowe goes "beyond mere thoughtful homage" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) when a seductive young heiress asks Marlowe to find her former lover. "Great fun for Chandlerians." — Booklist 

CITY OF DARKNESS AND LIGHT by Rhys Bowen
In the 13th entry of Bowen's New York Times bestselling historical series, Molly Murphy and her infant son are in Paris where she unexpectedly gets entangled in the murder of an Impressionist artist. "Molly is a smart, feisty heroine who admirably defends her investigation to a very skeptical Sûreté. Though placed a decade or so earlier, this breezy historical mystery will appeal to fans of Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple and Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs." — Booklist  

THE PLAYER by Brad Parks
In the latest book in Parks' award-winning series, Carter Ross investigates a suspicious disease, but it takes him down a path that leads directly into the arms of the local mob boss. "Parks, a gifted storyteller (with shades of Mark Twain, or maybe Dave Barry), shows his mastery of the comic absurd behind serious journalism in his fifth outing." — Library Journal, starred review  

WRECKED by Tricia Fields
"Fields’ third Josie Gray outing is emotionally taut, building to a breathtaking climax and portraying, in the process, the danger inherent in a Texas border town and presenting Josie, previously wary of commitment, with new challenges. More fine southwestern crime fiction by an author who clearly loves the locale." Booklist, starred review  

PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva
“Edgar-winner DeSilva melds moral dilemmas with a suspenseful plot in his third novel featuring Providence, R.I.–based reporter Liam Mulligan, his best yet.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Mulligan’s character, played off the vicissitudes of his job, is skillfully layered and engaging. DeSilva, who worked for decades at the AP, won an Edgar for Best First Novel for ROGUE ISLAND (2010). He knows of what he writes.” Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove
css.php