Articles tagged "e-galleys"

For Your Consideration: August 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite August 2019 titles for the August 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due July 1!

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CITY OF WINDOWS by Robert Pobi

“The FBI brings in astrophysicist, amputee, and former agent Dr. Lucas Page when a sniper takes aim in the middle of a New York blizzard… Relentless pacing, tight plotting, and a brainy, idiosyncratic new hero make this one a winner.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

Get Your E-Galleys!

Hello giant e-galley drop! We’ve got the goods, so make sure you’re whitelisted and dive into some super exciting F19 and W20 titles.

A BETTER MAN: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel by Louise Penny

Chief Inspector Gamache. ‘Nuff said.

A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler

The author of Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald and A WELL-BEHAVED WOMAN explores the effects of class, race, and heartrending star-crossed love in a story that’s as provocative as it is powerful.

HOW TO LOVE A DUKE IN TEN DAYS by Kerrigan Byrne

Kerrigan Byrne returns with a new series–romance, dukes, blackmail, secrets, and a proposal of convenience.

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: July 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite July 2019 titles for the July 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due June 1!

BETHLEHEM by Karen Kelly

With the writing chops of Ian McEwan and the storytelling of Lisa Wingate, “a haunting debut” about two intertwined families and the secrets they’ve kept buried during the steel boom in Bethlehem, PA.

THE LAST BOOK PARTY by Karen Dukess

“Mixing ambivalence, nostalgia, and the power of innocence in an idyllic setting, this journey of self-discovery is an ideal summer read for those who might shun more typical ‘beach-read’ offerings.”–Booklist

readmoreremove

Hot NetGalley Alert!

The downloads are heating up for some of our NetGalley e-galleys! Have you reads any of these red-hot forthcoming titles?

THE FIRST MISTAKE by Sandie Jones
Author of August 2018 LibraryReads Pick THE OTHER WOMAN
“Happily remarried to Nathan after the death of her first husband, Alice is also grateful for good friend Beth. But then Nathan starts vanishing for stretches, and Alice gets the sense Beth isn’t as reliable as she thought.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

THE TIME COLLECTOR by Gwendolyn Womack
“Flashbacks to different times in history enrich the story with both tragedy and hope. The device of allowing characters to learn about each other’s pasts by touching objects is especially clever, bringing energy to necessary exposition. For fans of historical fiction who like a hint of the supernatural and cosmic connection.”–Booklist

MURDER KNOCKS TWICE by Susanna Calkins
The first mystery in Susanna Calkins’ captivating new series takes readers into the dark, dangerous, and glittering underworld of a 1920’s Chicago speakeasy.

While some are also available on Edelweiss, if you’re craving a NetGalley widget, hit me up at amanda.rountree@macmillan.com from your NetGalley account email address, and I’ll happily send you a link!

We’re Seeing Stars!

Holy starred reviews, Batman! Check out these forthcoming titles that earned two starred reviews!

THE GUEST BOOK by Sarah Blake

“This novel sets out to be more than a juicy family saga—it aims to depict the moral evolution of a part of American society. Its convincing characters and muscular narrative succeed on both counts.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Blake deftly interrogates the many shades of prejudice and ‘the ordinary, everyday wickedness of turning away.’ Blake’s brilliant and ravishing novel promises to hit big”–Booklist, starred review

LOTHARINGIA: A Personal History of Europe’s Lost Country by Simon Winder

“Winder highlights the contrasts between readers’ modern perspectives and those of the Lotharingians and their peers with a deft combination of personal observation, historical anecdotes, and humorously straightforward summaries of complex military, dynastic, and ideological conflicts. This work is highly recommended for fans of European and world history.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Most Downloaded E-Galleys on Edelweiss!

If your TBR pile is gettin’ low, check out our list of most downloaded Edelweiss e-galleys!

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir

Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut is the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton. The Emperor needs necromancers. The Ninth Necromancer needs a swordswoman. Gideon has a sword, some dirty magazines, and no more time for undead bullshit.

THE LAST BOOK PARTY by Karen Dukess

“In late 1980s New York, aspiring writer Eve Rosen is trying to keep up her spirits as a lowly assistant when she lucks out with an invitation to an event at the Cape Cod home of New Yorker writer Henry Grey and his poet wife, Tillie. She lucks out further when she becomes Grey’s research assistant and is invited to the couple’s oh-so-chic Book Party, but soon she’s starting to think that the publishing world isn’t so glamorous after all.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

THE MURDER LIST by Hank Phillippi Ryan

“Law student Rachel North, married to a star of Boston’s defense bar, is thrilled to be interning with the Boston DA’s office. Then the trouble starts, and she’s got to decide how to do what’s right. A stand-alone from the multi-award-winning novelist/journalist.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

readmoreremove

F19 E-Galley Drop

It may only be January, but we’re gearing up for Fall 2019 with this epic e-galley drop! Head over to Edelweiss to download some of the hot titles of the season:

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr
A gripping standalone in which a grandmother in her sixties emerges from a mental fog to find she’s trapped in her worst nightmare.

29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan
A woman being harassed by her male colleague is offered a once-in-a-lifetime deal that can make all her problems disappear. No consequences. No traces. No chance of being found out. All it takes is a 29-second phone call.

CAMPUSLAND by Scott Johnston
A laugh-out-loud first novel about one year of insanity at the Ivy-like Devon University, a blissful bubble of elite students and the adults at their mercy.

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut combines a solar system of swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers for the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton.

THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett
A speculative YA thriller in the vein of THE HANDMAID’S TALE and LORD OF THE FLIES in which girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness–and each other–in order to rid themselves of their feminine magic before returning purified and ready to marry.

A GOLDEN GRAVE: A Rose Gallagher Mystery by Erin Lindsey
The follow-up to MURDER ON MILLIONAIRES’ ROW, Erin Lindsey’s second historical mystery follows Rose Gallagher as she tracks a killer with shocking abilities through Gilded Age Manhattan.

HUDSON’S KILL by Paddy Hirsch
New York in 1803 is seething with racial tension, as a mysterious provocateur pits the city’s black and Irish gangs against each other. When a young black girl is found stabbed to death, both Justy Flanagan, now a City Marshal, and Kerry O’Toole, now a school teacher, decide separately to go after the killer in this follow-up to THE DEVIL’S HALF MILE.

Short Story Feature + Stars for RAG and INSTRUCTIONS FOR A FUNERAL

Today we celebrate the bite-size wonder of short stories with a feature on four incredible collections.

MOTHERS: Stories by Chris Power
Peopled by men and women who find themselves at crossroads or dead ends, these stories evoke the magic and despair of the essential human longing for purpose. “Power’s wide-ranging debut is confident, complex, bizarre, poignant, and elegantly crafted—a very strong collection.”–Kirkus Reviews

BONUS! If you enjoy listening to music while reading, check out Chris Power’s custom MOTHERS playlist.

WE LOVE ANDERSON COOPER: Short Stories by R.L. Maizes
Available July 23, 2019
A charmingly funny but deeply human short story collection about outsiders from a Pushcart Prize-nominee.

BONUS! Head over to Edelweiss for the e-galley.

And we’re not the only ones loving on short stories. These forthcoming collections have received multiple starred reviews!

RAG: Stories by Maryse Meijer
Available February 12, 2019
“In Meijer’s outstanding and disturbing second collection (after HEARTBREAKER), her fragmented writing style produces an intense and distilled view of isolated moments—or, conversely, makes the outrageous or aberrant seem ordinary.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

September 2018 E-Galley Recommendations

First, if you’re not whitelisted (pre-approved) for Macmillan’s e-galleys on Edelweiss, DO IT! Then download and read these fresh, forthcoming Macmillan titles:

Fiction
PAPER GODS: A Novel of Money, Race, and Politics by Goldie Taylor
CHRISTMAS AT THE CHALET by Anita Hughes

Mystery/Thriller
UNEASY LIES THE CROWN by Tasha Alexander
HEARTS OF THE MISSING by Carol Potenza
DEADLY CAMARGUE by Cay Rademacher
HARVEST OF SECRETS by Ellen Crosby
THE GIRL FROM BERLIN by Ronald H. Balson readmoreremove

August 2018 E-Galley Recommendations

Fun fact: two of the most popular/downloaded e-galleys on Edelweiss recently are Rebecca Serle’s THE DINNER LIST (a September 2018 LibraryReads pick) and Paula Brackston’s THE LITTLE SHOP OF FOUND THINGS (fingers crossed for a future LibraryReads pick). Clearly, librarians are loving these magical women!

We waved our magic wand and *poof* have exciting new e-galleys on Edelweiss to recommend!

Don’t see the green “download” button? Then get whitelisted/pre-approved.

Fiction
CAPE MAY by Chip Creek
THE WARTIME SISTERS by Lynda Cohen Loigman
MR. NICE GUY by Jennifer Miller & Jason Feifer

Fantasy
THE PRIORY OF THE ORANGE TREE by Samantha Shannon
IN AN ABSENT DREAM by Seanan McGuire
EXIT STRATEGY by Martha Wells

Mystery
THE WIDOWS by Jess Montgomery
MURDER ON MILLIONAIRES’ ROW by Erin Lindsey
NAUGHTY ON ICE by Maia Chance

Nonfiction
I.M.: A Memoir by Isaac Mizrahi
WOMEN ROWING NORTH: Navigating Life’s Currents and Flourishing As We Age by Mary Pipher
THE EATING INSTINCT: Food Culture, Body Image, and Guilt in America by Virginia Sole-Smith

Don’t forget to nominate books for LibraryReads!
css.php