Articles tagged "e-galleys"

F19 E-Galley Drop

It may only be January, but we’re gearing up for Fall 2019 with this epic e-galley drop! Head over to Edelweiss to download some of the hot titles of the season:

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr
A gripping standalone in which a grandmother in her sixties emerges from a mental fog to find she’s trapped in her worst nightmare.

29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan
A woman being harassed by her male colleague is offered a once-in-a-lifetime deal that can make all her problems disappear. No consequences. No traces. No chance of being found out. All it takes is a 29-second phone call.

CAMPUSLAND by Scott Johnston
A laugh-out-loud first novel about one year of insanity at the Ivy-like Devon University, a blissful bubble of elite students and the adults at their mercy.

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut combines a solar system of swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers for the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton.

THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett
A speculative YA thriller in the vein of THE HANDMAID’S TALE and LORD OF THE FLIES in which girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness–and each other–in order to rid themselves of their feminine magic before returning purified and ready to marry.

A GOLDEN GRAVE: A Rose Gallagher Mystery by Erin Lindsey
The follow-up to MURDER ON MILLIONAIRES’ ROW, Erin Lindsey’s second historical mystery follows Rose Gallagher as she tracks a killer with shocking abilities through Gilded Age Manhattan.

HUDSON’S KILL by Paddy Hirsch
New York in 1803 is seething with racial tension, as a mysterious provocateur pits the city’s black and Irish gangs against each other. When a young black girl is found stabbed to death, both Justy Flanagan, now a City Marshal, and Kerry O’Toole, now a school teacher, decide separately to go after the killer in this follow-up to THE DEVIL’S HALF MILE.

Short Story Feature + Stars for RAG and INSTRUCTIONS FOR A FUNERAL

Today we celebrate the bite-size wonder of short stories with a feature on four incredible collections.

MOTHERS: Stories by Chris Power
Peopled by men and women who find themselves at crossroads or dead ends, these stories evoke the magic and despair of the essential human longing for purpose. “Power’s wide-ranging debut is confident, complex, bizarre, poignant, and elegantly crafted—a very strong collection.”–Kirkus Reviews

BONUS! If you enjoy listening to music while reading, check out Chris Power’s custom MOTHERS playlist.

WE LOVE ANDERSON COOPER: Short Stories by R.L. Maizes
Available July 23, 2019
A charmingly funny but deeply human short story collection about outsiders from a Pushcart Prize-nominee.

BONUS! Head over to Edelweiss for the e-galley.

And we’re not the only ones loving on short stories. These forthcoming collections have received multiple starred reviews!

RAG: Stories by Maryse Meijer
Available February 12, 2019
“In Meijer’s outstanding and disturbing second collection (after HEARTBREAKER), her fragmented writing style produces an intense and distilled view of isolated moments—or, conversely, makes the outrageous or aberrant seem ordinary.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

September 2018 E-Galley Recommendations

First, if you’re not whitelisted (pre-approved) for Macmillan’s e-galleys on Edelweiss, DO IT! Then download and read these fresh, forthcoming Macmillan titles:

Fiction
PAPER GODS: A Novel of Money, Race, and Politics by Goldie Taylor
CHRISTMAS AT THE CHALET by Anita Hughes

Mystery/Thriller
UNEASY LIES THE CROWN by Tasha Alexander
HEARTS OF THE MISSING by Carol Potenza
DEADLY CAMARGUE by Cay Rademacher
HARVEST OF SECRETS by Ellen Crosby
THE GIRL FROM BERLIN by Ronald H. Balson readmoreremove

August 2018 E-Galley Recommendations

Fun fact: two of the most popular/downloaded e-galleys on Edelweiss recently are Rebecca Serle’s THE DINNER LIST (a September 2018 LibraryReads pick) and Paula Brackston’s THE LITTLE SHOP OF FOUND THINGS (fingers crossed for a future LibraryReads pick). Clearly, librarians are loving these magical women!

We waved our magic wand and *poof* have exciting new e-galleys on Edelweiss to recommend!

Don’t see the green “download” button? Then get whitelisted/pre-approved.

Fiction
CAPE MAY by Chip Creek
THE WARTIME SISTERS by Lynda Cohen Loigman
MR. NICE GUY by Jennifer Miller & Jason Feifer

Fantasy
THE PRIORY OF THE ORANGE TREE by Samantha Shannon
IN AN ABSENT DREAM by Seanan McGuire
EXIT STRATEGY by Martha Wells

Mystery
THE WIDOWS by Jess Montgomery
MURDER ON MILLIONAIRES’ ROW by Erin Lindsey
NAUGHTY ON ICE by Maia Chance

Nonfiction
I.M.: A Memoir by Isaac Mizrahi
WOMEN ROWING NORTH: Navigating Life’s Currents and Flourishing As We Age by Mary Pipher
THE EATING INSTINCT: Food Culture, Body Image, and Guilt in America by Virginia Sole-Smith

Don’t forget to nominate books for LibraryReads!

July 2018 E-Galley Recommendations

First, if you’re not whitelisted (pre-approved) for Macmillan’s e-galleys on Edelweiss, DO IT! Then download and read these fresh, forthcoming Macmillan titles:

Fiction:
DAUGHTER OF MOLOKA’I by Alan Brennert
GODSEND by John Wray
PARIS ECHO by Sebastian Faulks
RECEPTOR by Alan Glynn

Mystery/Thriller:
THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
NO MERCY by Joanna Schaffhausen
THE PERFECT LIAR by Thomas Christopher Greene
REDEMPTION POINT by Candice Fox
SINS AS SCARLET by Nicolas Obregon

Nonfiction:
ONE PERSON, NO VOTE: How Voter Suppression Is Destroying Our Democracy by Carol Anderson
THE RAVENMASTER: My Life with the Ravens at the Tower of London by Christopher Skaife readmoreremove

Red Hot E-Galleys on Edelweiss!

These red-hot reads are AVAILABLE NOW on Edelweiss!!!

KINGDOM OF THE BLIND by Louise Penny

AN ANONYMOUS GIRL by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

IN AN ABSENT DREAM by Seanan McGuire

I.M.: A Memoir by Isaac Mizrahi readmoreremove

The 2018 #HoltDebutSquad

New year, new talent! Our pals at Henry Holt & Co. wanna make sure you don’t miss these exciting debut novels:

THE PARKING LOT ATTENDANT by Nafkote Tamirat
Available March 13, 2018
A haunting story of fatherhood, national identity, and what it means to be an immigrant in America today, this coming-of-age story explores what makes us who we are.

THE COMEDOWN by Rebekah Frumkin
Available April 17, 2018
A dazzling epic that follows two very different families in Cleveland, where a drug deal gone wrong forces them to become irrevocably intertwined.

NUMBER ONE CHINESE RESTAURANT by Lillian Li
Available June 19, 2018
An exuberant and deeply affecting multigenerational novel about the complicated lives and loves of people working in everyone’s favorite Chinese restaurant.

SUICIDE CLUB by Rachel Heng
Available July 10, 2018
In this exceptional, page-turning debut, set in near future New York City—where the pursuit of immortality is all-consuming—Lea must choose between her estranged father and her chance to live forever. readmoreremove

Whatcha (e-) Reading?

Here are the most popular e-galleys librarians have recently downloaded from Edelweiss* (maybe we’ll see some of them on a LibraryReads list soon!):

Mystery:
A MOST NOVEL REVENGE by Ashley Weaver
A TERRIBLE BEAUTY by Tasha Alexander
GLOW OF DEATH by Jane K. Cleland
NORMAL by Warren Ellis
SAY NO MORE by Hank Phillippi Ryan
STONE COFFIN by Kjell Eriksson
SWISS VENDETTA by Tracee de Hahn
TEETOTALED by Maia Chance
THE DRY by Jane Harper
THE INHERITANCE by Charles Finch
THE NOWHERE MAN by Gregg Hurwitz
THE OSLO CONSPIRACY by Asle Skredderberget
UNDER THE MIDNIGHT SUN by Keigo Higashino

Sci Fi / Fantasy:
FALLER by Will McIntosh
INVISIBLE PLANETS by Ken Liu
THE SUPERNATURALS by David L. Golemon
WALKAWAY by Cory Doctorow

Horror:
THE MOTION OF PUPPETS by Keith Donohue
THE GRAVEYARD APARTMENT by Mariko Koike
THE FAMILY PLOT by Cherie Priest

Nonfiction / Biography:
HOMEWARD BOUND: The Life of Paul Simon by Peter Ames Carlin
WALKING TO LISTEN: 4,000 Miles Across America, One Story at a Time by Andrew Forsthoefel

Debuts:
ALL THAT’S LEFT TO TELL by Daniel Lowe
INDELIBLE by Adelia Saunders
LOTUS by Lijia Zhang
MARLENA by Julie Buntin
THE GUINEVERES by Sarah Domet
THE NEXT by Stephanie Gangi
THIS HOUSE IS MINE by Dorte Hansen

Novels:
THE CLAIRVOYANTS by Karen Brown
PULL ME UNDER by Kelly Luce

Romance:
CHRISTMAS IN PARIS by Anita Hughes

Bestselling Authors:
BORN OF LEGEND by Sherrilyn Kenyon
NIGHT WATCH by Iris Johansen & Roy Johansen

YA:
CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber
FREEKS by Amanda Hocking
HOW TO KEEP A BOY FROM KISSING YOU by Tara Eglington
MOON CHOSEN by P.C. Cast
WE ARE STILL TORNADOES by Michael Kun & Susan Mullen
WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS by Anna-Marie McLemore
WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones

download review copy edelweissDon’t see our e-galleys/the big ‘ol green button on Edelweiss? Get whitelisted!

*Most popular as of September 27, 2016.

Macmillan E-Galleys Now on Kindle!

HUGE NEWS: Macmillan e-galleys on Edelweiss can now be read on your Kindle!

This change affects all current and future download review copies and applies to all Kindle devices and apps. We know many of you have asked for this change and we thank you for your patience.

Now get reading!

download review copy edelweissDon’t see the green button? Then get whitelisted for pre-approved access to Macmillan e-galleys!

What Are YOU E-Reading?

Here are the 5 most popular titles you’ve recently downloaded from Edelweiss* (maybe we’ll see some of them on a LibraryReads list soon!):

REDEMPTION ROAD by John Hart
ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker
SHELTER by Jung Yun
IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo
ALL THE BIRDS IN THE SKY by Charlie Jane Anders

download review copy edelweissDon’t see our e-galleys/the big ‘ol green button on Edelweiss? Get whitelisted!
readmoreremove

css.php