Articles tagged "downloadable e-galley"

Forthcoming #FridayReads: IN THE SHADOW OF VESUVIUS

Tasha Alexander continues her historical Lady Emily Mystery series with IN THE SHADOW OF VESUVIUS.

Lady Emily and her husband Colin are in Italy when they discover a body hidden in plain sight amongst the ruins of Pompeii. Surrounded by archaeologists with secrets of their own, introduced to a shocking character from Colin’s past, and faced with someone who wants her off the case–for good–Lady Emily will find out how far below the surface can she dig before she risks burying herself along with the truth.

Praise for UNEASY LIES THE CROWN:

“Engrossing… English history lovers will be enthralled.”—Publishers Weekly

“Readers are in the author’s trustworthy hands, and the working out of the puzzle will delight mystery and history buffs alike.” —Booklist

Download the IN THE SHADOW OF VESUVIUS e-galley from Edelweiss here.

Elif Shafak Makes the 2019 Man Booker Shortlist!

The 2019 Man Booker Prize shortlist has been announced, and Elif Shafak’s 10 MINUTES 38 SECONDS IN THIS STRANGE WORLD made the cut!

The winner will be announced on October 14, and while we wait, you can download an e-galley now!

For Your Consideration: November 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite November titles for the November 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due October 1!

THE RISE OF MAGICKS: Chronicles of The One, Book 3 by Nora Roberts

“Deftly wielding her own brand of literary magic, Roberts once again merges mesmerizing characters, inventive plotting, and propulsive pacing as she presents the compulsively readable finale to her altogether bewitching Chronicles of The One trilogy.”–Booklist

MURDER OFF THE PAGE: A 42nd Street Library Mystery by Con Lehane

Email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with a “MURDER OFF THE PAGE” subject line to request a NetGalley download widget.

“Those who love New York City and libraries will be rewarded.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Most Downloaded E-Galleys on Edelweiss

Pile on to that virtual TBR with one of our most downloaded Edelweiss e-galleys!
A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler

From the author of A WELL-BEHAVED WOMAN and Z comes a stunning page-turner about two very different families living side by side in an idyllic neighborhood–and the summer that changes their lives forever.

THE GIRL WHO READS ON THE METRO by Christine Féret-Fleury

A modern fairy tale about a French woman whose life is turned upside down when she meets a reclusive bookseller and his young daughter.

HOW TO LOVE A DUKE IN TEN DAYS by Kerrigan Byrne

The first book in a new and stunning historical romance series by the USA Today bestselling author of the Victorian Rebels series.

readmoreremove

News Flash! 10 MINUTES 38 SECONDS IN THIS STRANGE WORLD Moves to December 2019

Originally scheduled for Spring 2020, Elif Shafak’s Man Booker Prize Longlister 10 MINUTES 38 SECONDS IN THIS STRANGE WORLD will now publish December 3, 2019.

In the pulsating moments after she has been murdered and left in a dumpster outside Istanbul, Tequila Leila enters a state of heightened awareness. While the Turkish sun rises above her and her friends asleep soundly nearby, she contemplates her mortal existence before eternal rest.

Tequila Leila’s memories bring us back to her childhood in the provinces, a highly oppressive milieu where a loving mother is no match for a strict, unforgiving father. Escaping to Istanbul, Leila makes her way into the sordid industry of sex trafficking, finding a home in the city’s historic Street of Brothels. This is a dark, violent world, but Leila is tough and open to beauty, light, and the essential bonds of friendship.

In Tequila Leila’s death, the secrets and wonders of modern Istanbul come to life, painted vividly by the captivating tales of how Leila came to know and be loved by her friends. As her epic journey to the afterlife comes to an end, it is they who bring her story to a buoyant and breathtaking conclusion.

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss here.

For Your Consideration: October 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite October titles for the October 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due September 1!

NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo

Email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with a “NINTH HOUSE” subject line to request a NetGalley download widget.

4 starred reviews!

“Fantasy readers, particularly those who love ghosts, will hungrily devour this novel.“–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Demand alone would necessitate purchasing multiple copies in all formats, but this is genuinely terrific.”–Library Journal, starred review

“With an aura of both enchantment and authenticity, Bardugo’s compulsively readable novel leaves a portal ajar for equally dazzling sequels.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This atmospheric contemporary novel steeped in the spirit of a mystical New Haven is part mystery, part story of a young woman finding purpose in a dark world, and is the first in a potential series.”–Booklist, starred review

CILKA’S JOURNEY by Heather Morris

From the author of the multi-million copy bestseller THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ comes a new novel based on an incredible true story of love and resilience.

readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Therese Anne Fowler’s exploration of class, race, and heartrending star-crossed love, A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD.

For fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult comes a stunning page-turner about two very different families living side by side in an idyllic neighborhood–and the summer that changes their lives forever.

In Oak Knoll, a verdant, tight-knit North Carolina neighborhood, professor of forestry and ecology Valerie Alston-Holt is raising her bright and talented biracial son. Xavier is headed to college in the fall, and after years of single parenting, Valerie is facing the prospect of an empty nest. All is well until the Whitmans move in next door–an apparently traditional family with new money, ambition, and a secretly troubled teenaged daughter.

Thanks to his thriving local business, Brad Whitman is something of a celebrity around town, and he’s made a small fortune on his customer service and charm, while his wife, Julia, escaped her trailer park upbringing for the security of marriage and homemaking. Their new house is more than she ever imagined for herself, and who wouldn’t want to live in Oak Knoll?

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: August 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite August 2019 titles for the August 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due July 1!

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CITY OF WINDOWS by Robert Pobi

“The FBI brings in astrophysicist, amputee, and former agent Dr. Lucas Page when a sniper takes aim in the middle of a New York blizzard… Relentless pacing, tight plotting, and a brainy, idiosyncratic new hero make this one a winner.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

Get Your E-Galleys!

Hello giant e-galley drop! We’ve got the goods, so make sure you’re whitelisted and dive into some super exciting F19 and W20 titles.

A BETTER MAN: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel by Louise Penny

Chief Inspector Gamache. ‘Nuff said.

A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler

The author of Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald and A WELL-BEHAVED WOMAN explores the effects of class, race, and heartrending star-crossed love in a story that’s as provocative as it is powerful.

HOW TO LOVE A DUKE IN TEN DAYS by Kerrigan Byrne

Kerrigan Byrne returns with a new series–romance, dukes, blackmail, secrets, and a proposal of convenience.

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: July 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite July 2019 titles for the July 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due June 1!

BETHLEHEM by Karen Kelly

With the writing chops of Ian McEwan and the storytelling of Lisa Wingate, “a haunting debut” about two intertwined families and the secrets they’ve kept buried during the steel boom in Bethlehem, PA.

THE LAST BOOK PARTY by Karen Dukess

“Mixing ambivalence, nostalgia, and the power of innocence in an idyllic setting, this journey of self-discovery is an ideal summer read for those who might shun more typical ‘beach-read’ offerings.”–Booklist

readmoreremove
css.php