Articles tagged "downloadable e-galley"

Forthcoming #FridayReads: SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS

Explore the legends of Hawai’ian gods and an engrossing family saga in this week’s Forthcoming #FridayRead: Kawai Strong Washburn’s debut, SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS–a story of exile and the pursuit of salvation.

A young family is vacationing when their seven-year-old son falls overboard (seriously worst nightmare material). BUT a shark appears, cradling the child in its jaws and delivering him back to the mom. Now the family thinks that everything is turning around for them–they’re clearly favored by the ancient Hawaiian gods–and everyone moves off the island seeking fame and fortune… except life doesn’t always work out like that, does it? Depicting life for working class Hawai’ians–beyond hula-dancers, endless summers, and Disney’s MoanaSHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS introduces readers to a new, vital, and truly Hawai’ian literary voice, steeped in creation myths and mythology.

“Washburn’s standout debut provides a vivid portrait of Hawaiian identity, mythology, and diaspora… a unique and spirited depiction of the 50th state and its children.”–Publishers Weekly

Download an e-galley of SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS from Edelweiss here.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS

A mother and her 5-year-old daughter must hide from the Nazis in German-occupied Poland during World War II in Jennifer Rosner’s heart-rending fiction debut, THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS.

Shira, the daughter, is a musical prodigy, and in order to keep her quiet and hidden in the barn of a Non-Jewish family, her mother Róza invents the story of a garden that must remain silent and a yellow bird that tends it, and this is how they survive until Róza is forced to make a difficult choice that will haunt them for the rest of their lives. This is Emma Donoghue’s ROOM meets World War II with a taut, tense story line and magical storytelling. It is emotional and tense and magical–it will fit right in there with stories like THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ or Kristin Hannah’s THE NIGHTINGALE, and we’ll have a reading group guide available online for your clubs.

Request the e-galley on NetGalley or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com to request a physical ARC.

Maximum Shelf: SAINT X (11/6/19)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Alexis Schaitkin’s debut, SAINT X–a haunting portrait of grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters.

Claire is only seven years old when her college-age sister, Alison, disappears on the last night of their family vacation at a resort on the Caribbean island of Saint X. Several days later, Alison’s body is found in a remote spot on a nearby cay, and two local men—employees at the resort—are arrested. But the evidence is slim, the timeline against it, and the men are soon released. The story turns into national tabloid news, a lurid mystery that will go unsolved. For Claire and her parents, there is only the return home to broken lives.

Years later, Claire is living and working in New York City when a brief but fateful encounter brings her together with Clive Richardson, one of the men originally suspected of murdering her sister. It is a moment that sets Claire on an obsessive pursuit of the truth—not only to find out what happened the night of Alison’s death but also to answer the elusive question: Who exactly was her sister? At seven, Claire had been barely old enough to know her: a beautiful, changeable, provocative girl of eighteen at a turbulent moment of identity formation.

readmoreremove

Forthcoming #FridayReads: BEHELD

For this #FridayReads, we travel to colonial Plymouth, Massachusetts, where the town’s first murder is shaking the fledging colony to its core, in TaraShea Nesbit’s BEHELD.

It begins with a killing. Ten years after the Mayflower struck shore on rocky, unfamiliar soil, Plymouth is not the land its residents had imagined. Seemingly established on a dream of religious freedom, the town is led by fervent Puritans who prevent the Anglican residents from worshiping as they choose. The Billingtons—Anglicans, outsiders, and rebels—have just about had enough, and that’s when a stranger arrives.

Suspenseful and literary, BEHELD is about a murder and a trial, but it’s also about the motivations—personal and political—that cause people to act in unsavory ways. Whose stories get told over time, who gets believed—and, subsequently, who gets punished? BEHELD is an intimate, personal portrait of love, motherhood, and friendship, and an exploration of what people lose and what they struggle to maintain.

Download an e-galley of BEHELD from Edelweiss here.

New E-Galleys for October 2019

Hello e-galley readers! Check out some of the exciting e-galleys that were added to Edelweiss this month for your downloading pleasure:

GONE BY MIDNIGHT by Candice Fox

Crimson Lake is where people with dark pasts come to disappear—and where others vanish into thin air.

A BAD DAY FOR SUNSHINE by Darynda Jones

Police chief Sunshine Vicram finds her cup o’ joe more than half full when the small village of Del Sol, New Mexico, becomes the center of national attention for a killer on the loose.

HID FROM OUR EYES: A Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne Mystery by Julia Spencer-Fleming

New York Times bestseller Julia Spencer-Fleming returns to her beloved Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne mystery series with new crimes that span decades.

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: January 2020 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite January titles for the January 2020 LibraryReads list!

Votes due December 1!

AMERICAN DIRT by Jeanine Cummins

Email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “AMERICAN DIRT” to request a print ARC.

2 starred reviews!

“Beautiful, straightforward language drives home the point that migration to safer places is not a political issue but a human one.”–Booklist, starred review

“Intensely suspenseful and deeply humane, this novel makes migrants seeking to cross the southern U.S. border indelibly individual.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE GOD GAME by Danny Tobey

“With a pace that is fast but not too fast…and a story that keeps the reader in a constant state of suspense, the book is sure to appeal to SF readers, gamers, and anyone else who enjoys a well-plotted, well-told thriller.”–Booklist

readmoreremove

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER

A young woman confronts ancient forces in the depths of the bayou in Andy Davidson’s gorgeous, moody, horrifying novel, THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER.

Miranda Crabtree has spent a quiet life ferrying contraband for a mad preacher and his declining band of followers to make ends meet and to protect an old witch and a secret child from harm. But dark forces are at work in the bayou, both human and supernatural, conspiring to disrupt the rhythms of Miranda’s peculiar and precarious life. And when the preacher makes an unthinkable demand, it sets Miranda on a desperate, dangerous path, forcing her to consider what she is willing to sacrifice to keep her loved ones safe.

A great combination of Gothic horror, fantastic world-building, and thrilling pacing, Davidson’s unique voice will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Joe Hill, Justin Cronin, and Jeff VanderMeer. The author’s debut was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for First Novel, so we’re very excited for him to join our list!

Download an e-galley of THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER from Edelweiss here.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: OONA OUT OF ORDER

A young woman explores family, love, and life as she bounces through time in Margarita Montimore’s OONA OUT OF ORDER.

Our story starts on New Years Eve 1982, which also happens to be the day before Oona Lockhart’s 19th birthday. She has big decisions to make about her future, with a boyfriend who loves her, and her whole life ahead of her. On the stroke of midnight, Oona passes out and wakes up in 2015 in her 51 year old body. Thus begins Oona’s life of jumping forwards and backwards through time to a random different year in her life every New Years Eve, experiencing life out of order. The novel is moving and surprisingly funny as it explores the power of love, the bonds of family, and wonders of life, making it perfect for readers of Chloe Benjamin’s THE IMMORTALISTS, THE TIME TRAVELLER’S WIFE, and THE CLOCKMAKER’S DAUGHTER, and definitely great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for OONA OUT OF ORDER

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “OONA OUT OF ORDER” to request a download widget.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: SAINT X

Today’s #FridayReads spotlight features Alexis Schaitkin’s psychological drama debut that explores grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters–welcome to SAINT X.

At the beginning of SAINT X, we meet a family on a luxury vacation in the Caribbean–there’s one 18 year old daughter and one just seven years old. One night the older daughter goes missing, and soon her body is found, with two local men who worked at the resort suspected of the murder, but ultimately released. Flash forward, the younger daughter is now an adult working in publishing in New York City. She gets in a cab one night, and that cab driver is one of the men suspected of her sister’s murder. Bum bum buuuum. She soon spirals into obsession, desperately trying to find out what happened the night of her sister’s death and who her sister really was. This debut will hit both psychological suspense and literary readers, and will definitely be great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for SAINT X:

Download the SAINT X e-galley from Edelweiss here.

New E-galleys for September 2019

Gird your TBR piles–check out some of the exciting e-galleys that were added to Edelweiss this month for your downloading pleasure:

IN THE SHADOW OF VESUVIUS: A Lady Emily Mystery by Tasha Alexander
Lady Emily and her husband travel to Pompeii, where they uncover a recent crime in the ancient city.

THE JANE AUSTEN SOCIETY by Natalie Jenner
A charming and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both small and large, and a community that forms around a shared loved of the written word.

PARIS NEVER LEAVES YOU by Ellen Feldman
Alternating between wartime Paris and 1950s New York publishing, PARIS NEVER LEAVES YOU is a compelling story of resilience, love, and impossible choices, exploring how survival never comes without a cost.

readmoreremove
css.php