Articles tagged "downloadable e-galley"

Maximum Shelf: A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Therese Anne Fowler’s exploration of class, race, and heartrending star-crossed love, A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD.

For fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult comes a stunning page-turner about two very different families living side by side in an idyllic neighborhood–and the summer that changes their lives forever.

In Oak Knoll, a verdant, tight-knit North Carolina neighborhood, professor of forestry and ecology Valerie Alston-Holt is raising her bright and talented biracial son. Xavier is headed to college in the fall, and after years of single parenting, Valerie is facing the prospect of an empty nest. All is well until the Whitmans move in next door–an apparently traditional family with new money, ambition, and a secretly troubled teenaged daughter.

Thanks to his thriving local business, Brad Whitman is something of a celebrity around town, and he’s made a small fortune on his customer service and charm, while his wife, Julia, escaped her trailer park upbringing for the security of marriage and homemaking. Their new house is more than she ever imagined for herself, and who wouldn’t want to live in Oak Knoll?

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: August 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite August 2019 titles for the August 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due July 1!

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CITY OF WINDOWS by Robert Pobi

“The FBI brings in astrophysicist, amputee, and former agent Dr. Lucas Page when a sniper takes aim in the middle of a New York blizzard… Relentless pacing, tight plotting, and a brainy, idiosyncratic new hero make this one a winner.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

Get Your E-Galleys!

Hello giant e-galley drop! We’ve got the goods, so make sure you’re whitelisted and dive into some super exciting F19 and W20 titles.

A BETTER MAN: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel by Louise Penny

Chief Inspector Gamache. ‘Nuff said.

A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler

The author of Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald and A WELL-BEHAVED WOMAN explores the effects of class, race, and heartrending star-crossed love in a story that’s as provocative as it is powerful.

HOW TO LOVE A DUKE IN TEN DAYS by Kerrigan Byrne

Kerrigan Byrne returns with a new series–romance, dukes, blackmail, secrets, and a proposal of convenience.

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: July 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite July 2019 titles for the July 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due June 1!

BETHLEHEM by Karen Kelly

With the writing chops of Ian McEwan and the storytelling of Lisa Wingate, “a haunting debut” about two intertwined families and the secrets they’ve kept buried during the steel boom in Bethlehem, PA.

THE LAST BOOK PARTY by Karen Dukess

“Mixing ambivalence, nostalgia, and the power of innocence in an idyllic setting, this journey of self-discovery is an ideal summer read for those who might shun more typical ‘beach-read’ offerings.”–Booklist

readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: THE BURNING CHAMBERS

Today’s Maximum Shelf Awareness pick is Kate Mosse’s historical epic, THE BURNING CHAMBERS!

France, 1562: Nineteen-year-old Minou Joubert receives an anonymous letter at her father’s bookshop. Sealed with a distinctive family crest, it contains just five words: SHE KNOWS THAT YOU LIVE.

But before Minou can decipher the mysterious message, a chance encounter with a young Huguenot convert, Piet Reydon, changes her destiny forever. For Piet has a dangerous mission of his own, and he will need Minou’s help if he is to stay alive.

As the religious divide deepens, and old friends become enemies, Minou and Piet both find themselves trapped in Toulouse, facing new dangers as tensions ignite across the city.

All the while, the shadowy mistress of Puivert Château–obsessed with uncovering the secrets of a long-hidden document–strengthens her power and waits for the perfect time to strike…

“THE BURNING CHAMBERS is epic in every sense of the word: it is both long, weighing in at more than 600 pages, and dense, filled with dozens of characters, intersecting storylines and multiple locations. A list of family names and locations, a detailed historical map and an author’s note about the historical background of the Wars of Religion provide context for the incredible amount of information to come, but Mosse (LABYRINTH, THE TAXIDERMIST’S DAUGHTER) never falls victim to the trap of too much detail. In her capable hands, the novel moves along at a rapid pace, loyal to the historical detail of actual events without getting lost in the annals of history.”–Shelf Awareness

See the full summary, review, and interview with Kate Mosse on Shelf-Awareness.com. AND enter to win an ARC!

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss here.

For Your Consideration: June 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite June 2019 titles for the June 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due May 1!

THE ELECTRIC HOTEL by Dominic Smith

Two starred reviews!

“A compelling plot, robust characters, and finely crafted prose richly evoke a bygone age and art.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Smith’s tale is as luminous as celluloid projected on a silver screen hung from a dirigible floating over the Hudson (yes, this happens). Highly recommended for historical fiction fans and readers who love old Hollywood novels.”–Booklist, starred review

MAGIC FOR LIARS by Sarah Gailey

“There’s something for almost all readers here: family drama, romance, high-school gossip, fantasy-world building. Above all, Gailey shows us that humans are humans, even when they are magic, and they are still flawed, damaged, and oh so interesting.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Hot NetGalley Alert!

The downloads are heating up for some of our NetGalley e-galleys! Have you reads any of these red-hot forthcoming titles?

THE FIRST MISTAKE by Sandie Jones
Author of August 2018 LibraryReads Pick THE OTHER WOMAN
“Happily remarried to Nathan after the death of her first husband, Alice is also grateful for good friend Beth. But then Nathan starts vanishing for stretches, and Alice gets the sense Beth isn’t as reliable as she thought.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

THE TIME COLLECTOR by Gwendolyn Womack
“Flashbacks to different times in history enrich the story with both tragedy and hope. The device of allowing characters to learn about each other’s pasts by touching objects is especially clever, bringing energy to necessary exposition. For fans of historical fiction who like a hint of the supernatural and cosmic connection.”–Booklist

MURDER KNOCKS TWICE by Susanna Calkins
The first mystery in Susanna Calkins’ captivating new series takes readers into the dark, dangerous, and glittering underworld of a 1920’s Chicago speakeasy.

While some are also available on Edelweiss, if you’re craving a NetGalley widget, hit me up at amanda.rountree@macmillan.com from your NetGalley account email address, and I’ll happily send you a link!

We’re Seeing Stars!

Holy starred reviews, Batman! Check out these forthcoming titles that earned two starred reviews!

THE GUEST BOOK by Sarah Blake

“This novel sets out to be more than a juicy family saga—it aims to depict the moral evolution of a part of American society. Its convincing characters and muscular narrative succeed on both counts.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Blake deftly interrogates the many shades of prejudice and ‘the ordinary, everyday wickedness of turning away.’ Blake’s brilliant and ravishing novel promises to hit big”–Booklist, starred review

LOTHARINGIA: A Personal History of Europe’s Lost Country by Simon Winder

“Winder highlights the contrasts between readers’ modern perspectives and those of the Lotharingians and their peers with a deft combination of personal observation, historical anecdotes, and humorously straightforward summaries of complex military, dynastic, and ideological conflicts. This work is highly recommended for fans of European and world history.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: A NEARLY NORMAL FAMILY

Today’s featured Maximum Shelf Awareness pick is the legal thriller/family drama of the summer: M.T. Edvardsson’s A NEARLY NORMAL FAMILY.

A legal thriller told in three acts, A NEARLY NORMAL FAMILY follows eighteen-year-old Stella, who stands accused of the brutal murder of a man almost 15 years her senior. Stella is an ordinary teenager from an upstanding local family. What reason could she have to know a shady businessman, let alone to kill him?

Chronologically told through three perspectives, readers follow both the story of a crime and the unraveling of a seemingly normal family: the father, a pastor; the daughter, a recent high school graduate; and the mother, a criminal defense attorney. Testing the moral compass of the pastor father and attorney mother, dazzling storyteller M.T. Edvardsson weaves a web in which everyone becomes entangled and nothing is what it seems.

“At its core, A NEARLY NORMAL FAMILY asks: How well do you know your loved ones? Or your best friend? Or anyone? Whom can you trust? Edvardsson doesn’t give easy answers, and even throws in commentary about the Swedish legal system when it comes to determining guilt or innocence. But the author raises provocative questions, wraps them up in a propulsive thriller and delivers an ultra-satisfying read that’s far from ordinary.”–Shelf Awareness

See the full summary, review, and interview with M.T. Edvardsson on Shelf-Awareness.com. AND enter to win an ARC!

The librarian love is already pouring in!

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss for yourself and submit your LibraryReads votes by May 1!

Most Downloaded E-Galleys on Edelweiss!

If your TBR pile is gettin’ low, check out our list of most downloaded Edelweiss e-galleys!

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir

Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut is the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton. The Emperor needs necromancers. The Ninth Necromancer needs a swordswoman. Gideon has a sword, some dirty magazines, and no more time for undead bullshit.

THE LAST BOOK PARTY by Karen Dukess

“In late 1980s New York, aspiring writer Eve Rosen is trying to keep up her spirits as a lowly assistant when she lucks out with an invitation to an event at the Cape Cod home of New Yorker writer Henry Grey and his poet wife, Tillie. She lucks out further when she becomes Grey’s research assistant and is invited to the couple’s oh-so-chic Book Party, but soon she’s starting to think that the publishing world isn’t so glamorous after all.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

THE MURDER LIST by Hank Phillippi Ryan

“Law student Rachel North, married to a star of Boston’s defense bar, is thrilled to be interning with the Boston DA’s office. Then the trouble starts, and she’s got to decide how to do what’s right. A stand-alone from the multi-award-winning novelist/journalist.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

readmoreremove
css.php