Articles tagged "DOMINICANA"

Booklist Editors’ Choice 2019

Booklist has revealed their editors’ top picks of the year’s outstanding books for public library collections, including these Macmillan titles:

Adult Books

IN THE DREAM HOUSE: A Memoir by Carmen Maria Machado
LIFE ISN’T EVERYTHING: Mike Nichols, as remembered by 150 of his closest friends by Ash Carter and Sam Kashner
LONG LIVE THE TRIBE OF FATHERLESS GIRLS: A Memoir by T Kira Madden
THE EDGE OF ANARCHY: The Railroad Barons, the Gilded Age, and the Greatest Labor Uprising in America by Jack Kelly
GRASS by Keum Suk Gendry-Kim
LOSING EARTH: A Recent History by Nathaniel Rich
FIND ME by André Aciman
THE REDEEMED: The West Country Trilogy by Tim Pears
GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston

Adult Books for Young Adults

MAKING COMICS by Lynda Barry
DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
GODS WITH A LITTLE G by Tupelo Hassman
NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo

2019 Adult Tri-State Book Buzz (10/24)

Earlier today and in the hallowed halls of Penguin Random House, we talked up the below new and forthcoming Macmillan titles:

TRUST EXERCISE by Susan Choi

RENIA’S DIARY by Renia Spiegel and Elizabeth Bellak

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz

IN THE DREAM HOUSE by Carmen Maria Machado

readmoreremove

DOMINICANA Is the Inaugural GMA Book Club Pick

Angie Cruz’s DOMINICANA is the Good Morning America Cover to Cover Book Club’s inaugural pick!

The pick was announced this morning on GMA with a special appearance by the author and an audience giveaway. Next, tune in on October 29th, when Angie Cruz will be a guest on the show to discuss the novel with Robin Roberts and other GMA hosts. You can also follow along on the show’s new Instagram page or website.

More about DOMINICANA

In bright, musical prose that reflects the energy of New York City, Angie Cruz’s DOMINICANA is a vital portrait of the immigrant experience and the timeless coming-of-age story of a young woman finding her voice in the world.

A September Indie Next pick + a Kirkus Reviews Most Anticipated Book + a 2020 Carnegie Award longlister + 3 starred reviews!

“This stirring immigration story is Cruz’s breakout book.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Cruz’s winning novel will linger in the reader’s mind long after the close of the story.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Cruz’s ability to create mood and atmosphere with her distinctive writing style make her a strong voice in Dominican American literature.”–Booklist, starred review

Congrats to Our 2020 Carnegie Award Longlist Titles

The longlist for the ninth annual Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction has just been announced, and Macmillan has seven titles in the running!

Nonfiction

LOSING EARTH: A Recent History by Nathaniel Rich
ELDERHOOD: Redefining Aging, Transforming Medicine, Reimagining Life by Louise Aronson
IN THE DREAM HOUSE: A Memoir by Carmen Maria Machado

Fiction

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
THE GRAMMARIANS by Cathleen Schine
THE GUEST BOOK by Sarah Blake
LANNY by Max Porter

The six-title shortist will be announced on November 4, and winners revealed during the ALA Midwinter conference on January 26.

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist says they’re perfect for teens—and we agree!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
In the vein of ANOTHER BROOKLYN and AMERICANAH, DOMINICANA is a novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother.

“YAs will be struck by the ways Ana’s coming-of-age is complicated by family needs and immigration realities.” —Booklist, YA Interest

readmoreremove

Three Stars for DOMINICANA

Angie Cruz’s immigration x coming-of-age breakout DOMINICANA has THREE starred reviews!

“This stirring immigration story is Cruz’s breakout book; it should be heralded alongside Julia Alvarez’s HOW THE GARCIA GIRLS LOST THEIR ACCENTS.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Cruz’s winning novel will linger in the reader’s mind long after the close of the story.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Cruz’s ability to create mood and atmosphere with her distinctive writing style make her a strong voice in Dominican American literature.”–Booklist, starred review

Kirkus’s 30 Most Anticipated Fiction Books for Fall

Watch out for Kirkus’s most anticipated Fall fiction!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz

A September Indie Next pick + 2 starred reviews! A novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother.

THE FUTURE OF ANOTHER TIMELINE by Annalee Newitz

FOUR starred reviews! A story of time travel, murder, and the lengths we’ll go to protect the ones we love.

NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo

A PW Most Anticipated + FOUR starred reviews! The mesmerizing adult debut from Leigh Bardugo: a tale of power, privilege, dark magic, and murder set among the Ivy League elite.

THE TOPEKA SCHOOL by Ben Lerner

A tender and expansive family drama set in the American Midwest at the turn of the century: a tale of adolescence, transgression, and the conditions that have given rise to the trolls and tyrants of the New Right.

SUICIDE WOODS by Benjamin Percy

A spine-tingling new collection of stories from the acclaimed author of THRILL ME and THE DARK NET.

Happy #PubDay! (9/3/19)

An immigrant’s experience + twins fighting over words + a thrilling fantasy series finale–all in today’s #pubday party!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz

A September Indie Next pick + 2 starred reviews!

“Cruz’s winning novel will linger in the reader’s mind long after the close of the story.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Cruz’s ability to create mood and atmosphere with her distinctive writing style make her a strong voice in Dominican American literature.”–Booklist, starred review

THE GRAMMARIANS by Cathleen Schine

Check out the author’s letter to librarians + listen to an audio excerpt!

“This impossibly endearing and clever novel sets off a depth charge of emotion and meaning.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

DARKDAWN: Book Three of the Nevernight Chronicle by Jay Kristoff

“Kristoff effortlessly draws together multiple threads from the first two volumes and packs in plenty of wickedly sharp, beautifully choreographed, and gloriously bloody fight scenes while offering humor, heartbreak, and a few jaw-dropping surprises. This is a poignant and exhilarating finale to a superb fantasy series.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Starred Reviews For Your #FridayReads

These forthcoming titles all received multiple starred reviews!

THE MAN WHO SAW EVERYTHING by Deborah Levy

“Multiple versions of history collide—literally—in a superbly crafted, enigmatic new story from an author of note… Levy defies gravity in a daring, time-bending new novel.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Booker Prize–finalist Levy (HOT MILK) explores the fragile connections and often vast chasms between self and others in this playful, destabilizing, and consistently surprising novel.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

EROSION: Essays of Undoing by Terry Tempest Williams

“In a collection of passionate, galvanizing essays… activist and teacher Williams (THE HOUR OF LAND) shares her intimate connection to the as-yet untamed landscapes of the American West.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Williams’ exquisite testimony of wonder and wisdom is vitalizing and crucial.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: September 2019 Indie Next List

The September 2019 Indie Next List features FIVE Macmillan titles!

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir

4 starred reviews + a Library Journal Best Debut of the Summer!

“This extraordinary opening salvo will leave readers dying to know what happens next.“–Booklist, starred review

“From the mad science joys of necromantic theory to the deliciously ever-evolving tension between Gideon and Harrow, this adventurous novel not only embraces its strangeness but wrings delight from it.“–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“At once sarcastic, sincere, heart-wrenching, and honest pulpy enjoyment, filled with dark magic, swordplay, and lesbian necromancers, Muir’s debut is a fantastic sf/fantasy blend.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Suspenseful and snarky, with surprising emotional depths.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE LONG CALL by Ann Cleeves

“Fans of Cleeves lamenting the end of the ‘Shetland’ series will find much to love in her new characters and setting.”–Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove
css.php