Articles tagged "Diana Orgain"

Thriller Thursday (12/8/16 Edition)

We’ve got four great new mysteries for you this #ThrillerThursday, but first some excellent news: Ellen Hart (The Jane Lawless mysteries; FEVER IN THE DARK) has been named a 2017 MWA Grand Master!

MWA’s Grand Master Award represents the pinnacle of achievement in mystery writing and was established to acknowledge important contributions to this genre, as well as for a body of work that is both significant and of consistent high quality.

Now on to the books!

DON’T TURN OUT THE LIGHTS by Bernard Minier
Two starred reviews for the third thrilling Commandant Martin Servaz mystery, in which a serial killer he’s devoted his career to has targeted a radio show host as his next victim. “This is not your ordinary stalker thriller. It is a brilliant aria da capo, set appropriately to an operatic soundtrack, with a surprising and thoroughly satisfying conclusion. Perfect for fans of Martin Walker’s Bruno Courrèges series.” — Booklist, starred review

THE GENTLEMAN FROM JAPAN by James Church
“A complex mystery involving seven deaths in one night kicks off Church’s excellent sixth novel featuring enigmatic North Korean intelligence operative Inspector O. The pseudonymous Church, himself a former spy, makes all the plot developments chillingly plausible.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (11/5/15 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to these new mysteries & thrillers hitting the shelves this week:

TENACITY by J.S Law
A Maximum Shelf Awareness selection! Cramped, claustrophobic, and under strict command, the confines of naval submarine HMS Tenacity are unwelcoming in the best of circumstances. For Lieutenant Danielle “Dan” Lewis, the only female aboard, who must methodically interrogate a tightknit and hostile crew about a suicide and a murder, it’s her own special place in hell. “The unusual setting, skilled writing, and obvious veracity make this a bold first effort worth awaiting a second.” — Library Journal

MADE TO KILL by Adam Christopher
“The action, plot, dialogue, and characters are straight out of Chandler, while the science-fiction elements are reminiscent of the very best of that genre from the 1940s and ’50s (think Philip K. Dick and Robert Heinlein). This first in the L.A. trilogy is a fun, fast read for anyone willing to take the speculative leap—a must-add for most fiction collections.” — Booklist, starred review

MISS RUFFLES INHERITS EVERYTHING by Nancy Martin
In this series debut, Sunny McKillip lands in Texas-sized trouble caring for Miss Ruffles, the small dog who inherited a large fortune when her owner was murdered. “The prairie wind brings a welcome change for Martin, author of the ultra-arch Philadelphia-based Blackbird sisters mysteries, promising a series with real heart in the craziest small town since Maggody, Arkansas.” — Kirkus Reviews readmoreremove

css.php