Articles tagged "detective"

Thriller Thursday (9/26/19)

Joe Gunther returns + international terrorism + 19th century New York in shambles = today’s #ThrillerThursday.

BOMBER’S MOON: A Joe Gunther Novel by Archer Mayor

“[F]ans will appreciate the introduction of FARO into a mix of technological tools, which, together with Gunther’s crime-solving prowess, make for an absorbing read.”–Booklist, starred review

BLOOD IN THE WATER by Jack Flynn

“Dirty fighting, clever strategizing, and complicated romances drive this story at breakneck pace.”–Library Journal

HUDSON’S KILL: A Justice Flanagan Thriller by Paddy Hirsch

“Hirsch makes the most of his setting and has a rich vein of potential future plots to mine. Historical mystery fans will be enthralled.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Thriller Thursday (9/5/19)

1930s New York, an FBI agent versus a deadly virus, two new series openers, and the 49th Eve Dallas! Read on for this week’s Thriller Thursday spotlight.

A DANGEROUS ENGAGEMENT: An Amory Ames Mystery by Ashley Weaver

“Weaver pairs a lively plot with colorful glimpses of Manhattan just before Prohibition’s repeal. Both longtime fans and new readers will be pleased.”–Publishers Weekly

THE LONG CALL by Ann Cleeves

A September Indie Next & LibraryReads pick + an audiobook excerpt!

“The plotting is complex and intriguing, the location comes alive, and the resolution satisfies.”–Library Journal, starred review

THE EXTINCTION AGENDA by Michael Laurence

“FBI Special Agent James Mason’s search for answers to the deaths of his wife and his partner throws him deep into a decades-old conspiracy… first-novelist Laurence shows great promise.”–Booklist

readmoreremove

THE LONG CALL is a September 2019 LibraryReads Pick!

You voted, they counted, and THE LONG CALL is officially a LibraryReads pick for September 2019!

THE LONG CALL by Ann Cleeves

A September Indie Next pick!

“The plotting is complex and intriguing, the location comes alive, and the resolution satisfies. VERDICT Fans of Cleeves lamenting the end of the ‘Shetland’ series will find much to love in her new characters and setting.”–Library Journal, starred review

Now, don’t forget to read and vote for your favorite October titles by September 1st! Need recommendations? We got ’em here.

#ThrillerThursday (7/18/19)

Kate Burkholder returns and an FBI neuroscientist is on the trail of a serial killer in today’s #ThrillerThursday!

SHAMED: A Kate Burkholder Novel by Linda Castillo

A July 2019 LibraryReads Hall of Fame Inductee!

“If they haven’t already, readers looking for a fierce-female-fronted procedural should check out Catillo’s best-selling series, from the get-go.”–Booklist

BURIED by Ellison Cooper

“The combination of science and personal warmth makes Cooper’s protagonist a natural for devotees of Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta.”–Booklist

Get Your E-Galleys!

Hello giant e-galley drop! We’ve got the goods, so make sure you’re whitelisted and dive into some super exciting F19 and W20 titles.

A BETTER MAN: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel by Louise Penny

Chief Inspector Gamache. ‘Nuff said.

A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler

The author of Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald and A WELL-BEHAVED WOMAN explores the effects of class, race, and heartrending star-crossed love in a story that’s as provocative as it is powerful.

HOW TO LOVE A DUKE IN TEN DAYS by Kerrigan Byrne

Kerrigan Byrne returns with a new series–romance, dukes, blackmail, secrets, and a proposal of convenience.

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (4/25/19)

From psychological thrillers to historical mysteries, we’ve got a packed house for this week’s Thriller Thursday celebration!

I KNOW WHO YOU ARE by Alice Feeney

“For most folks, being suspected in the disappearance of their spouse would be about as bad as it gets, but not for London actress Aimee Sinclair, the narrator of bestseller Feeney’s shock-filled second thriller… The action speeds toward a finale that’s about as subtle as an ax. Fans of over-the-top psychological thrillers will be satisfied.”–Publishers Weekly

STONE MOTHERS by Erin Kelly

“Written in several parts that show the passage of time through the development of the mental institution—which is a character itself—the book’s secrets are revealed slowly. Full of blackmail and lies, this novel grows in intensity as each character’s story is told. Utterly engaging, terrifying, and unputdownable, this novel will haunt readers and have them wanting more from Kelly.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: THE WHISPER MAN

Last week’s Maximum Shelf pick was Alex North’s THE WHISPER MAN, the next creepy thriller from Celadon you won’t want to miss!

Tom Kennedy and his young son Jake are having a tough time after the sudden death of their wife and mother. A fresh start will help heal. A new beginning, a new house, a new town. Featherbank.

But the town has a dark past. Fifteen years ago a serial killer abducted and murdered five residents. Until Frank Carter was finally caught, he was nicknamed “The Whisper Man,” for he would lure his victims out by whispering at their window at night.

Of course, an old crime need not trouble Tom and Jake as they settle into their new home. Except that now a young boy has gone missing with a similar M.O. as The Whisper Man all those years ago, reigniting old rumors that he preyed with an accomplice. Detectives Amanda Beck and Pete Willis must find the boy before it is too late, even if that means Pete has to revisit his great foe in prison. The Whisper Man.

And then Jake begins acting strangely. He hears a whispering at his window…

“In the end, THE WHISPER MAN has all the hallmarks of a great murder-mystery thriller: suspense, the battle between good and evil, surprise twists and turns, fresh takes on classic detective characters and sympathetic civilians. But more than that, North offers nuance and questions about human agency. For all the darkness in this novel about serial killers and trauma, there is a sweet strain of filial love and creativity, and even a note of redemption.”–Shelf Awareness

See the full summary, review, and interview with Alex North on Shelf-Awareness.com. AND enter to win an ARC!

#ThrillerThursday (12/13/18)

You’ll see some familiar faces as we celebrate this Thriller Thursday with two continuing, critically acclaimed series:

A BAKER STREET WEDDING: A Baker Street Mystery by Michael Robertson 
A honeymoon goes awry in the sixth book following a London barrister who takes a lease on 221B Baker Street and must respond to letters addressed to Sherlock Holmes.

SINS AS SCARLET: An Inspector Iwata Novel by Nicolás Obregón 
In this follow-up to Nicolás Obregón’s critically acclaimed BLUE LIGHT YOKOHAMA, Inspector Iwata returns in a murder case in his new home of Los Angeles. “Iwata is a fallible but dedicated protagonist, and this vividly atmospheric sequel to Obregón’s debut…takes on contemporary issues as it builds suspense. A fine cross-cultural thriller.”–Booklist

#thrillerthursday (11/8/18)

Today’s #ThrillerThursday picks are perfect for Agatha Christie, Louise Penny, and Deborah Crombie fans!

HARVEST OF SECRETS: A Wine Country Mystery by Ellen Crosby
“Genealogy, history, and murder combine in a tale of passion and hatred.”Kirkus Reviews

“Crosby is a steady hand in unraveling the tangled subplots, and she populates Lucie’s world with sympathetic secondary characters who come fully alive. Fans of contemporary regional mysteries will be well satisfied.”Publishers Weekly

LOST LAKE: A Detective Gemma Monroe Mystery by Emily Littlejohn
“Littlejohn follows A SEASON TO LIE with another intricately plotted procedural that captures the story as seen through Gemma’s eyes. This well-developed novel will appeal to fans of Deborah Crombie’s ‘Gemma James’ series.”Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

2017 Bram Stoker Award Nominees (& Winners!)

We have 4 nominees (AND 2 WINNERS!!!) for the 2017 Bram Stoker Awards!

Superior Achievement in a Novel Award
ARARAT by Christopher Golden – WINNER!

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction
MAPPING THE INTERIOR by Stephen Graham Jones – WINNER!
AGENTS OF DREAMLAND by Caitlin R. Kiernan

Superior Achievement in an Anthology Award
NIGHTS OF THE LIVING DEAD: An Anthology by Jonathan Maberry and George A. Romero

The winners will be announced on March 3, 2018 during StokerCon™.

Now for a super-sized bunch of #ThrillerThursday reads:

FORCE OF NATURE by Jane Harper
A February 2018 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick and one of Elle‘s “Best Books to Read This Winter!” When a whistleblower goes missing on a corporate team-building hike, Agent Aaron Falk must uncover secrets and betrayals among friends to find out what happened in this new thriller from the New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author of THE DRY. “…[Harper] manages to match her debut’s intensity with another riveting, tension-driven thriller. Perfect for fans of Tana French and readers who enjoy literary page-turners.” — Booklist, starred review

THE LEGACY by Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Two starred reviews! “This complex, character-driven procedural, the first in a new series from Sigurdardóttir, whose recent efforts have been supernatural-tinged thrillers, is powerfully rooted in buried secrets of childhood trauma. Recommended for fans of Tana French and Camilla Läckberg.” — Booklist, starred review

A DANGEROUS CROSSING by Ausma Zehanat Khan
Two starred reviews! “This fourth in the series is a complex global thriller lifted to bar-raising heights by Khan’s thoughtful (and timely) exploration of the tragedies and dangers that refugees face.” — Booklist, starred review

THIS FALLEN PREY by Kelley Armstrong
In the third installment of bestselling author Armstrong’s Rockton thriller series (CITY OF THE LOST was a May 2016 LibraryReads pick), Casey Duncan must discover who inside the off-the-grid town is acting as a dangerous criminal’s accomplice. “The third Rockton novel is perhaps the best yet. A crisply written thriller that keeps readers guessing….” — Booklist

GIRL UNKNOWN by Karen Perry
When a young woman appears in David Connolly’s university office and says, “I think you might be my father,” the Connollys may have a chance to expand their family and how much they can love—or they may be making themselves vulnerable to menace. “Writing duo Karen Gillece and Paul Perry’s second novel (after THE INNOCENT SLEEP, 2014), is must-read literary suspense, with dueling character perspectives and sly twists forming a gut-wrenching exploration of trust, manipulation, and obsession.” — Booklist, starred review

THE PLEA by Steve Cavanagh
Two starred reviews! In this sequel to THE DEFENSE, con-artist-turned-lawyer Eddie Flynn has an innocent client, a guilty wife, and only a few days to save them both. “This is perfect for anyone who likes a locked-room mystery wrapped inside a legal thriller on steroids.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

css.php