Articles tagged "Dennis Lehane"

Thriller Thursday (3/15/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to chilling debuts and returning sleuths:

SOMETIMES I LIE by Alice Feeney
Also available in audio
A March 2018 LibraryReads pick and one of Bustle’s “2018 Debuts You Need in Your TBR Pile!” My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me: 1. I’m in a coma. 2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore. 3. Sometimes I lie. So opens this brilliant psychological thriller by former BBC news producer, Alice Feeney. “…a serpentine tale of betrayal, madness, and murder. Feeney is definitely a writer to watch.” — Publishers Weekly

THIS IS HOW IT ENDS by Eva Dolan
There’s plenty of intrigue, sex, and drugs in this fast-paced mystery, set against a backdrop of gentrifying London, from the writer of the Zigic and Ferreira crime series. “In this stand-alone, her ability to write a complex and nuanced psychological thriller is clearly manifest. Recommend to fans of social realism in crime fiction, from Georges Simenon straight on through to Dennis Lehane.” — Booklist, starred review

FADE TO BLACK by David Rosenfelt
Also available in audio
In the thrilling sequel to BLACKOUT from David Rosenfelt, policeman Doug Brock helps a fellow victim of amnesia untangle a murder case and discovers he may not be as distant as he thinks. “…[T]he tingly, sinister mood gives readers plenty to enjoy.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Stokercon 2018 Book Buzz (& Happy #ThrillerThursday, John Hart!)

Happy #ThrillerThursday / #BookBirthday week to THE HUSH by John Hart!
Also available in audio
A March 2018 Indie Next pick! New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Hart’s sequel to THE LAST CHILD picks up ten years later when Johnny Merrimon is living in the wilds beyond the town where a dangerous force is at play. “Hart continues to deepen his palette in this ambitious sequel, which is distinctive enough in story and tone to be read as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane’s SHUTTER ISLAND and Tom Franklin’s CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER.” — Library Journal

Today in Providence, RI, our librarian pals Kristi Chadwick & Becky Spratford are buzzing about our books to librarians at Stokercon 2018! Here’s what they covered (in addition to our 2017 Stoker Award nominees):

ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer (movie tie-in edition)
BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire
GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Mallory Ortberg
GLIMPSE by Jonathan Maberry readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: March 2018 Indie Next List

Seven Macmillan titles made the March 2018 Indie Next list!

SOMETIMES I LIE by Alice Feeney
Also available in audio
A March 2018 LibraryReads pick and one of Bustle’s “2018 Debuts You Need in Your TBR Pile!” My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me: 1. I’m in a coma. 2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore. 3. Sometimes I lie. So opens this brilliant psychological thriller by former BBC news producer, Alice Feeney. “…a serpentine tale of betrayal, madness, and murder. Feeney is definitely a writer to watch.” — Publishers Weekly

EAT THE APPLE by Matt Young
THREE starred reviews! “This honest war memoir will shock and horrify, will cause readers to tear up, and will make them wish they could tell a 19-year-old marine that everything will be okay. Highly recommended for all collections.” — Library Journal, starred review

REGISTERS OF ILLUMINATED VILLAGES: Poems by Tarfia Faizullah
Faizullah’s highly anticipated second collection extends and transforms her powerful accounts of violence, war, and loss into poems of many forms and voices—elegies, outcries, self-portraits, and larger-scale confrontations with discrimination, family, and memory.

THE HUSH by John Hart
Also available in audio
New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Hart’s sequel to THE LAST CHILD picks up ten years later when Johnny Merrimon is living in the wilds beyond the town where a dangerous force is at play. “Hart continues to deepen his palette in this ambitious sequel, which is distinctive enough in story and tone to be read as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane’s SHUTTER ISLAND and Tom Franklin’s CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: February 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the February 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due December 20Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah
Two starred reviews! From the author of the worldwide phenomenon, THE NIGHTINGALE, comes a story of a family in crisis and a young girl struggling to survive at the edge of the world, in America’s last true frontier: Alaska. “Hannah’s follow-up to her series of blockbuster bestsellers will thrill her fans with its combination of Greek tragedy, Romeo and Juliet-like coming-of-age story, and domestic potboiler. A tour de force.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


FORCE OF NATURE
by Jane Harper

When a whistleblower goes missing on a corporate team-building hike, Agent Aaron Falk must uncover secrets and betrayals among friends to find out what happened in this new thriller from the New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author of THE DRY. “…[Harper] manages to match her debut’s intensity with another riveting, tension-driven thriller. Perfect for fans of Tana French and readers who enjoy literary page-turners.” — Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


THE HUSH
by John Hart

New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Hart’s sequel to THE LAST CHILD picks up ten years later when Johnny Merrimon is living in the wilds beyond the town where a dangerous force is at play.  “Hart continues to deepen his palette in this ambitious sequel, which is distinctive enough in story and tone to be read as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane’s SHUTTER ISLAND and Tom Franklin’s CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER.” — Library Journal

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


THE CHATEAU
by Paul Goldberg

The acclaimed author of THE YID takes us behind the scenes of a Florida condo board election, delivering a wild spin on Miami Beach, petty crime, Jewish identity, and life in Trump’s America. “A master of dark, cutting humor, restless and allusive… Goldberg confirms his status as one of Jewish fiction’s liveliest new voices, walking in the shoes of such deadpan provocateurs as Mordecai Richler and Stanley Elkin.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


GIRL UNKNOWN
by Karen Perry

When a young woman appears in David Connolly’s university office and says, “I think you might be my father,” the Connollys may have a chance to expand their family and how much they can love—or they may be making themselves vulnerable to menace. “Writing duo Karen Gillece and Paul Perry’s second novel (after THE INNOCENT SLEEP, 2014), is must-read literary suspense, with dueling character perspectives and sly twists forming a gut-wrenching exploration of trust, manipulation, and obsession.” — Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


ELOQUENT RAGE: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower
by Brittney Cooper

A Barnes & Noble Spring 2018 Discover Great New Writers pick! With searing honesty, intimacy, and humor in the Black feminist tradition of Audre Lorde, America’s leading young black feminist reminds us that anger is a powerful source of energy that can give the strength to keep on fighting. “An ambitious, electrifying memoir. Recommended for readers seeking contemporary social commentary that’s unrelenting yet humorous.” — Library Journal, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

Halloween Horror Week – Wicked Wednesday!

Terror With Sherer montage
More vintage from the vault: this time Early Word has Talia's recommendations in a feature called Terror With Sherer:

IN WITH THE DEVIL: A Fallen Hero, a Serial Killer, and a Dangerous Bargain for Redemption by James Keene

CURTAINS: Adventures of an Undertaker-in-Training by Tom Jokinen

SHUTTER ISLAND by Dennis Lehane

DARKLY DREAMING DEXTER by Jeff Lindsay

How you get the pie out cat
While Talia’s got the scares, Anne’s got the sweets.
Today’s the bake-off at work. She entered the Pumpkin Granola Truffles. Wish her luck! readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday

Tuesday might not seem like a day worth celebrating, but an author will tell you otherwise. Once a year (or every other year, or a decade, or a month if you're James Patterson), there's one Tuesday that's more exciting than any other:

The book birthday! 

Today we wish a happy #BookBday to:

NECESSARY LIES by Diane Chamberlain

Bestselling author Chamberlain delivers a breakout book, mining the appalling, little-known history of North Carolina’s Eugenics Sterilization Program, in effect from 1929 to 1975. Called "Absorbing and haunting" (Booklist), and "Socially conscious melodrama at its best” (Kirkus Reviews), NECESSARY LIES is great for "Book groups and fans of Jodi Picoult....” (Library Journal, starred review) and a SIBA Fall 2013 Okra Pick
This debut novel from Finch creates a beguiling, disturbing world about a mysterious man who enters an internationally renowned refuge for writers in exile. In a starred review, Kirkus called it "Satiric, tough and very funny" and Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story says, “Once I got into The House of Journalists I couldn’t leave! In fact, I think I’m still there. Someone please call the fire department. This prose is flammable!”
BITTER RIVER by Julia Keller
Pulitzer Prize-winning author Julia Keller counts Michael Connelly, Dennis Lehane, Scott Turow, Karin Slaughter, Laura Lippman, and C.J. Box among her fans (talk about great company!). BITTER RIVER is a September Indie Next selection and Michael Connelly said, “BITTER RIVER has an elegiac force to it that is powerful and gripping. I just turned the last page on this one and I want more.”
Kitty Birthday
css.php