Articles tagged "December 2016/January 2017 LibraryReads list"

THE DRY and BEHIND HER EYES are January 2017 LibraryReads Picks!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has two mysteries on the December 2016/January 2017 LibraryReads list!

Coming in at #3 is THE DRY by Jane Harper

A Library Journal “Summer Promise — Debut Novels” pick with THREE starred reviews!

“Luke lied. You lied. Be at the funeral.” This is the note Federal Agent Aaron Falk receives after hearing that his childhood best friend Luke has been found dead after committing a terrible crime in Jane Harper’s first mystery. When Falk reluctantly returns to his hometown amid the worst drought in a century to see if there’s more to Luke’s death than there seems to be, a long-buried mystery from Falk’s past resurfaces and he finds that small towns have always hidden big secrets. “A stunner… It’s a small-town, big-secrets page-turner with a shocker of an ending… Recommend this one to fans of James Lee Burke and Robert Crais, who mix elements of ‘bromance’ into their hard-boiled tales.” — Booklist, starred review

Click to listen to an excerpt of the audiobook.

Available from Flatiron Books and Macmillan Audio on January 10.

 

The #4 pick is BEHIND HER EYES by Sarah Pinborough
Destined to be a blockbuster book in 2017, BEHIND HER EYES is a psychological thriller with a to-die-for twist for fans of Jessica Knoll’s LUCKIEST GIRL ALIVE and Stephen King. “Pinborough, an accomplished author of horror, mysteries, dark fantasy, and psychological suspense, has drawn on all her gifts to tell her latest story, a masterpiece of suspense centered on a bad marriage. Give this intense book to patrons freely, but especially target those who are fatigued with the current spate of female-driven psychological suspense. It will be enough to shake things up for them (it even has a hashtag campaign, #WTFThatEnding).” Booklist, starred review


Click to listen to an excerpt of the audiobook. readmoreremove

LibraryReads 2016 “Favorite of Favorites” Shortlist Voting Now Open

LR favorite of favoritesThe LibraryReads 2016 “Favorite of Favorites” shortlist of 25 titles was just revealed and it’s up to you, librarian friends, to vote for your top 10 favorites once again. Macmillan titles still in the running include:

A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny
TRULY MADLY GUILTY by Liane Moriarty

Read ’em? Loved ’em? Want to make sure they end up on the final list? Then vote for ’em and your other top picks from now until November 15. Your votes will determine the ultimate “Favorite of Favorites” list to be revealed on December 1!

CLICK HERE TO CAST YOUR VOTE!

Don’t forget you can also vote for the next monthly list (December 2016/January 2017, nominations due 11/20)! Check out our suggestions, including the #ewgc-approved THE DRY by Jane Harper.

css.php